SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Telepacific Communications / Disconnect/Billing

1 Marin County, CA, US Review updated:

We recently had a terrible experience with Telepacific that I want to warn you about. We notified them on May 19, 2009 that we wanted to disconnect our service with them. We were moving offices, and we did not want to use their service at our new location. On May 28, 2009, we received email confirmation from them (from their disconnect department) that our account would be disconnected on June 19, 2009, which would also be our billing end-date. I should note that up to this point we had had no issues with them.

As part of our move process, we issued a port request for a single fax number, and this is where the fun began. On the billing end-date (6/19/09), they denied the port request. Their rationale was that I was not an authorized user on the account. Huh? I opened up the account for my company, and I was the ONLY user authorized on the account.

So, how could they deny the port request? Well, after doing some research, it turns out that this is a common Telepacific practice. They block the initial port request to extend the billing period. And, as anyone who has tried to port a number knows, it often takes 30 days (or more) to port a number, so when they block the first request, they know that they've got another thirty days (or more) to bill you. If you don't believe me, take a look at this: http://www.topix.com/forum/city/los-angeles-ca/TPRSG5C1EGDTDEPUE

But, it gets better. So, the port request is resubmitted, and Telepacific provides a new port date of July 30, 2009. Well, apparently the port is approved on that date, BUT they decide not to release the number until August 12, 2009. So, now, they've not only blocked the first port request to extend billing, but they've now delayed the release of the number for nearly two more weeks to continue running up the service charges.

During the period from June 19 onward, they billed us twice (we were on autopay so they hit our credit card!), with total charges of more than $2, 100.00. As you can imagine, we were not standing by idly during this period. In fact, we (I) made more than 12 phone calls to the customer service department, the billing department, the porting department, the disconnect department...in other words, anyone who would listen. And, each time I called, two things happened: 1) the person from Telepacific indicated that it was "some other department's responsibility (i.e. billing said it was disconnect, disconnect said it was porting, etc.) to resolve the problem"; and 2) they said that they would have someone call me back with a solution. Well, each time, no one called me back. I even tried the "executive escalation" numbers that Telepacific provided on its website. I guess even the executives don't want to take responsibility for what their company does...

In fairness to Telepacific, I doubt that they are the only carrier that pulls these types of stunts, but you should be forewarned that they (or any other carrier) may try to pull the same stunt with you. Unfortunately, I don't know what to recommend to avoid this, since it was a dishonest and deliberate act on the part of Telepacific.

I have subsequently contacted the PUC to file a complaint and my credit card company to dispute the charges. We'll see what happens from here, but I can assure you that we'll never be a Telepacific customer again.

More Telepacific Communications Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sb
      Oct 19, 2010

    I have been trying to disconnect service with Telepacific since August...now here we are in mid-October...We have found them to be completely unreponsive and obstructive to our requests to shut off service...I guess it behoves a seemingly desperate company to hold on to their final meal for as long as possible!

    After 8 years on the service...we couldn't get them to port our numbers either...they rejected every request and couldn't give an adequate reason as to why!

    At first I thought they were just incompetent or understaffed...now I believe the delays are systematic...if a class action suit were to come up...I'd be happy to volunteer!

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Oct 22, 2010

    i have same problem with telepacific too. i try to port out the number from telepacific to vonage, everytime they decline our request to port out. its been taking over a month now. what should i do?

    0 Votes
  •   Dec 08, 2010

    Yea, telepacific.com, telepacific.net they are spammers and scammers. The company behind, is Internap.

    In my case they are sending spam and no opt-out. I could provide spam messages I got from them over the past 2 years.

    Attempts to publish to wikipedia about this of course are "censored" by the cartel they run.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Dec 08, 2010

    TelePacific is a Competitive Local Exchange Carrier and does not condone or allow the use of SPAM email. If you have experienced a problem recieving SPAM from TelePacific or a domain hosted by TelePacific, please report the abuse by calling the Internet Abuse Complaints line at [protected].

    0 Votes
  •   Dec 08, 2010

    pamela7476, telepacific.net is spam company without opt-out. I am not calling spammers.

    I report every email that comes to me or to my clients servers to spamcop.net. The latest spam email from telepacific was reported today:
    extrovert4.murgent.com (extrovert4.murgent.com [::ffff:70.42.212.21])

    As far I am I know, spam reports sent to [protected]@telepacific.net are ignored and deleted.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
      Jan 10, 2011

    We had the same experience when we ended our contract with Telepacific. They delayed the date of disconnect and caused me to pay way more time than I actually used plus a HUGE contract fee on top of that that I never paid and am now going to court over. Anyone have any advice for small claims court over the contract fee? I had asked repeatedly what the fees would be for ending service at the time my business had to relocate and never once did they mention a fee related to the contract. I even tried talking to the head of the company and he said he would research the matter and get back to us then never did and the bills just kept coming.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
      Jan 10, 2011

    And in addition to that I had been with the company by default when they bought out Arrival who I started with from ground zero. They took it over and my contract started over. Then I had to switch service because they said they wouldn't be able to change our service over quick enough. It would have taken us 45 days to get internet, phone and fax up and running again. Now I am with ATT because of that.

    0 Votes
  • Yh
      Apr 12, 2011

    I signed up with Mpower (which is now Telepacific) back in 2006 with a 3 yr contract. Then in Feb 2009, I reniewed my contract for another 2 yrs (till Feb 2011). And guess what.. Another company offered me a better rate and faster internet and Telepacific Rep can not match the new rate I am getting. So I swithced to a new provider towards the end of March 2011. And to my surprise, Telepacific told me that there is a $50 disconnect fee (or fee change). What a bunch of belony..when I signed the contract with them, there is no such thing mentioned on the contract under the terms and services...then they claimed they made the changes on the terms and conditions which I am not aware of. For all Telepacific customers, I just want to let you know that even if you fulfill your contract with them, there will be a $50 disconnect fee no matter what!!! After being a customer of Telepacific for a little over 5 years.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 15, 2011

    After switching everything from Cox to Telepacific because of 'supposedly' better rates around the same time of this original complaint, we learned that the contract didn't include all of our numbers — so right off the bat, we were bumped to a higher rate. Then, nothing worked - phonelines and Internet were down on several occaisons (24 hours is apparently within 'normal' per their agreement with no compensation-huh?). We opened at least 10 tickets with only one response to our tech. Finally after three months, we terminated our agreement for lack of performance and were hit with a contract balance bill in the multiple thousands, and like this complaint - they wouldn't port numbers back. Now two years later, they are coming back to us for the "early termination" . Telepacific is possibly the worst company we've ever dealt with - it cost us not only the roll over twice (from Cox to TP, back to Cox), but headache upon headache, and chaos with our clients. Telepacific has no customer service, no acknowledgement, no attempt to right the wrongs even when given the opportunity. The straw that broke the camel's back? When it took 14 hours to download an 8kb file (yes, that's smaller than a text message) and they still wouldn't acknowledge the upload/download times were malfunctioning — and ditto what everyone wrote - same issues —

    +1 Votes
  • H1
      Nov 25, 2011

    I had someone hacker from 209.58.228.219 (Telepacific IP range 209.58.228.216-209.58.228.223) register a soft phone by spoofing my IP address and attempted to make several long-distance calls. After searching Google I discover that there were many such complains and figured that it would be more problematic to complain, as they might pass along my email to a spamer.

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Aug 14, 2012

    TelePacific regrets and accepts responsibility for any negative customer experience. We have implemented internal processes that would prevent and address the stated complaints here on this website. We welcome any questions, comments or needed support and can be contacted by visiting: http://www.telepacific.com/support/corporate-contacts.asp. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Yn
      Aug 23, 2012

    Terrible service for business customer. No service in the weekend. Charge penalty for auto renew without notice. Terrible in the after service department. As a business owner; do not use them.

    0 Votes
  • My
      Oct 15, 2012

    STAY AWAY FROM TELEPACIFIC!!! TP took over our telecommunication services after acquiring PacWest (a great company with excellent customer service). What followed were nothing but problems. T1 problems were not properly escalated, farmed out to a TP vendor and poorly handled resulting in many, many lost hours of production (on one occasion, our T1 (phone and data) were down for 4 days!!! Upon learning of our decision to change vendors, our TP account rep kept us on a string for months and months while promising to give us a "great deal" that none of their competitors could match. Eventually, we realized the ploy, asked for instruction on how to terminate and found a better provider at more than a 50% savings.

    Then, the REAL fun began. After following the termination instructions from our TP account representative, we received an invoice for Early Termination Fees of over $2, 000 - just days after termination. Our account rep said NOTHING about this during our dozens of email exchanges, so I immediately went back to our TelePacific Service Agreement (4 pages long) which also contained NOTHING about Early Termination Fees. After speaking to 3-4 different collection-type people, Mary Lumford at TelePacific emailed me a pdf file with 6 pages of Terms & Conditions attached to our original 4 page contract. Terms and Conditions that were NEVER provided to us (I have the original emails and shared them with TelePacific). What Ms. Lumford failed to note was that I returned the 4 page contract to TelePacific by fax so our fax header appeared on the contract. The 6 pages of Terms and Conditions added by Ms. Lumford DID NOT. Hello, do you think I am a complete idiot?!! So when I brought this to Ms. Lumford's attention, and the attention of our account representative, what was the response? Zero, until a couple of months later when TelePacific hired an attorney and is now suing our business.

    I have since discovered a class action lawsuit filed in Orange County, California against TelePacific relating to these Early Termination Fees, Brennan v. TelePacific Communications. After being dealt some setbacks in that litigation, TelePacific has apparently agreed to attend mediation. I have also located countless individual lawsuits filed by TelePacific and its bully lawyers against former TelePacific clients due to Early Termination charges. Judging from the complaint boards, many others are in the exact same boat as us (no disclosure of the "Terms and Conditions"), obviously an unfair business practice someone must challenge.

    I am beyond words at how disgusted I am with TelePacific and its total and complete lack of ethics. Seriously, stay away.

    0 Votes
  • Er
      Aug 06, 2013

    We tried using TelePacific for both internet and voice services. The T1 internet was a complete joke. It was like going back to a "Dial Up" internet service. Yet the TP sales rep insisted that his service outperformed our former 10 and 2 cable internet, (10 megs download and 2 megs upload). He stated that the 10 and 2 service varied upon network traffic and was not dedicated. While his comment was true about the variance in speed, our former 10 and 2 service never dropped below 4 megs per second download. The TelePacific dedicated 1.5 meg T1 line was 3 time slower than our former service. There was no comparision. I literally had to kick employee's off from using the internet just to send and receive files. After a week of this experiment and many emails explaining my disappointment. I switched back to our old internet provider. As for the voice service. It lasted 4 weeks until we lost all voice service for 2.5 days. After that problem I canceled my service with TP. Before we entered into our service contract with TP, our sales rep stated that we could "Cancel our Service" if we were not happy within the first 90 days. And so I did.

    Now we have been receiving early termination Fees exacting a demand for $4800! TelePacific is a complete fraud. They "Shake Down" small business with their contracts. That is how they make their money. Buyer beware. Stay away from TelePacific.

    +2 Votes
  • De
      Feb 18, 2015

    Bait & Switch.

    TP offered us a great deal on internet services, but when they went to install them it turns out it was a Ethernet over Copper solution (bonded t-1) rather than the FiberOS solution we had been requesting. When I realized they had done a bait and switch on me, I immediately canceled our contract. I did not receive any notice from our agent that there would be a major cancelation fee, and since this was prior to our term even starting I figured it would be a simple cancelation. We did not have 1 day of service from them, yet they send us a bill for over $11, 000 for canceling our service.

    They are total rip off artists, and I will fight this fee with my last breath.

    +2 Votes
  • Ba
      Feb 23, 2016

    I am a business located in Southern CA and I am just starting the discussions with Tele Pacific why they are charging me cancelation fees. The contract was for 3 years and we cancelled 3 years 1 months into the agreement. We have been notified that the contract is reinstated unless you cancel the contract at the end of your contract. Has anyone resolved this issue with Tele Pacific? Would appreciate any input. thanks

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 23, 2016

    I have been fighting Telepacific an the BUYOUT of my renewed contract because they automatically rolled over my contract to another 3 year term when the initial contract was completed. I did not agree to this passive renewal of my contract and never would have. I have been told it is in the contract I signed yet it is in absolutely NOTHING I was given. Apparently there is a box I signed that says I have received and read everything. How would I know if they did not give me something??? They now want $1300 early termination fee. That is blackmail!

    +2 Votes
  • Ms
      Jun 23, 2016

    Our contract had expired around Sep of 2015 so a few months prior and I submitted in writing that we would not be renewing but instead would stay on as a month to month basis. I submitted a cancellation notice in mid-January as we were moving our facility and decided to move to a different carrier. As others have reported, they canceled the port out ticket and didn't notify me until almost 2 weeks later, however I was able to get this over turned and the ticket reinstated. They also tried charging me a $50 disconnect fee plus a late fee which again I disputed and was successful. Which now brings us to June, keeping in mind that we haven't been a customer of theirs for approx 4 months now. However we have now received a bill for $1370 claiming non-return of equipment. I had asked the rep numerous times about scheduling the return of any equipment prior to the cancellation of services due to the fact that we were moving and I would no longer have access to the utility room. I was told "NO, there is nothing else that you need to do". Now over 4 months later they are saying I was negligent in fulling my obligation. Sorry TelePacific, but you have extremely poor business practices, you have horrible customer relation skills and are just a shady company all the way around. I am like a dog with a bone and this is another one that you are not going to win. Cheaters Never Prosper!

    +1 Votes
  • Fr
      Aug 24, 2016

    I don't get it. Everything in the blogs I believe it is true and they are still in business. I am in the same contract from hell with Telepacific. I cannot get out of the contract or downgrade our phone lines. Basically we are force to pay until our contract end in another couple years. Not calling back and pretending nothing happen is common trend from them. Is there anything we can do to this company? I cannot wait to cancel the contract.

    0 Votes
  • Cz
      Mar 01, 2017

    Same boat as everyone here, this is the most crooked phone company we have ever worked with and they really do not care, I am going thru the same BS of trying to get out of contract and their response was do you want to contact our legal? please advise if there is any class action lawsuit in order to participate this is totally unacceptable and plain bad business.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Jun 13, 2017

    omg same thing with me now they have drafted my account with out permission I really don't even know what to do at this point this company is so full of [censor]

    0 Votes

Post your comment