The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Royal Indian Raj / fraud

1 AZ, United States Review updated:

The message from "Ranga" is hilarious because it was clearly written by Manoj Benjamin. No lawsuits on file? There are SIX lawsuits on file against Royal Indian Raj at the Vancouver Law Courts dating from 2002 to 2007. Manoj Benjamin was bankrupt when he incorporated RIRIC in 1999, that's a fact. His father, Collins, fled Canada rather than face lawsuits from angry customers and investors in another failed company, Carriage Lane Fine Homes. All this has been properly verified and documented by Vancouver Sun columnist David Baines. The web site www.royalindiansham.com has documented every misrepresentation uttered by Manoj Benjamin, all of which were clearly intended to mislead investors into believing the company owned thousands of acres of land in India. Now that Manoj Benjamin has been exposed for what he is, a fraud and a scam artist, he wants everyone to believe he's working diligently on his customers' behalf. FRAUD! He has taken monies from customers, he has spent it on a lavish lifestyle and he will NEVER build anything in India. It is my belief he NEVER intended to build anything in India.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mm
      7th of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    To Whom It May Concern:

    May it hereby be noted that I have thoroughly reviewed the Web Site RoyalIndianSham and find it to be completely factual and an accurate portrayal of the history of the company Royal Indian Raj Corporation (RIRC) and its relationship with its Investors. If you have yet to review this Site yourself, I would encourage you to do so.

    Please note that I am an Investor of $50, 000.00 (10, 000 Shares at $5.00 each) in RIRC, having made this investment over ten(10) years ago. At the time of investment, I was assured that RIRC was going to be taken "Public" within six(6) months of my initial investment and any and all Shares would then become liquid at that time; I was told that the Initial Public Offering (IPO) was going to be valued at $18.00 to $20.00, thereby providing what was portrayed to be a very exciting investment opportunity.

    Over the past 10 years, I have made numerous attempts to communicate with RIRC's CEO Mr. Manoj Benjamin to express my concerns and to seek refund of my investment; with the exception of one extremely vitriolic response, Mr. Benjamin deigned to ignore my communiques. My primary contact was the former Director of Public Relations, Mr. Patrick Hinds, who had first presented the investment opportunity to me and a friend (who also became an Investor.). I would periodically ask Mr. Hinds for updates as to when I might see a return on my initial investment and the answer was always along the lines of "...it won't be long now..." I also received inquiries from RIRC asking if I would be interested in investing even more funds! Somewhere in the latter part of 2007, in an Investor Communique from the Chairman, Mr. Manoj Benjamin alluded to "...exciting news for our investors..." would be forthcoming towards the end of the year. True to form and just as before, nothing yet has come to fruition.

    It is my opinion. based on the aforementioned personal experience, that Royal Indian Raj Corporation, Mr. Manoj Benjamin, and all of RIRC's Principals have perpetrated a huge scam on their Investors and continue that duplicity today. Consequently, I am very pleased to see that a couple of organized efforts have emerged as vehicles seeking to bring these charlatans to legal scrutiny and ultimate prosecution.

    Sincerely,

    M.E. Mallette

  • To
      19th of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    Royal Garden Villas is STILL promoting a Jack Nicklaus Golf Academy under the Amenties section of RG Villas. I also received an email from RIRIC two days ago, that linked me to the same lies they've said before! Jack Nicklaus ended his contract with Royal Indian Raj yet one month later, the Royal Indian thieves continue to manipulate, defraud, and swindle innocent people so they can enjoy living the high life. How I wish the RCMP would jump on this sooner than later. Investors will never see their money again, and the Raj's, let's not let them run from their responsibilities!

  • To
      10th of Jan, 2009
    +3 Votes

    I agree full heartedly that Manoj Benjamin sat for hours at his desk typing more false statements to save his ###. I am amazed at how the Benjamin family manages to contrive lie after lie, and I am more amazed at how many people were suckered in by their scam. The Royal Indian Raj does not walk their talk. No action other than false and misleading promises. Manoj C Benjamin and his cohorts continue to live high on the hog while they ruin the lives of the innocent. Royal Indian Raj is an outright FRAUD, SCAM.

  • Bi
      23rd of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Royal Indian Raj continues to mislead the public and misrepresent itself. At this point, no one should be surprised by their tactics for they are familiar to all. The Royal Garden Villas web site continues to promote a Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, despite the fact that Jack Nicklaus withdrew from the project months and months ago. Royal Indian Raj even has the gall to claim that the Nicklaus-designed course is under construction! Of course, the same company claims to have offices in the UK and U.S. and everyone knows that's not true, so continuing to promote Jack Nicklaus as a partner is par for the course...

  • Bi
      25th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Well, the great scam artist, Manoj Benjamin, has crawled out of his Vancouver penthouse to speak. You can blame me for all your ills, Manoj, but your customers and investors see through you. They have read my web site (www.royalindiansham.com), they have read your own words, and they know you're a liar and a fraud.

    Why don't you explain to your investors why in the 10 years since Royal Indian Raj was incorporated, you haven't returned one dime to a single investor?

    Why don't you explain to your customers who have requested refunds why no money is forthcoming? Tell them the truth, Manoj. You and your brother and your father have spent all their money. Do you have anything to show for the $16 million you have taken from investors and customers? Any land ownership in India, aside from 17 acres? No, not a single acre.

    Why don't you explain to your customers that instead of placing their monies in an escrow account, you simply spent it.

    More importantly, why don't you explain to your customers that you could be granted government permission to bring bulldozers on the site tomorrow to start construction, and you couldn't. You have no money for construction and the only way forward is to scam more customers into handing over more hard-earned money to fund your "project."

    It's curious, Manoj, that you haven't been able to refute a single claim on my web site. Your own words, your many, many lies, have come back to haunt you. Your failure to disclose your bankruptcy, your failure to disclose you and your father's involvement in another insolvent company, the dozens of lawsuits filed against your father, your lies to investors, it's all coming out now.

    And the lies continue. Manoj, do you really think you're fooling anybody into believing Jack Nicklaus is still working with Royal Indian Raj?

    I will continue working diligently to make EVERYONE aware of your history and your current scam. And I will work just as diligently with law enforcement officials to see you brought to justice.

  • Bi
      25th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    To Manoj Benjamin:

    Here are some corporate statements you have issued in the past.

    1. In a June 2004 term sheet for investors, RIRIC states it owns 3, 000 acres of clear title, mortgage-free land outside Bangalore, India.

    2. In an April 13, 2004 press release, RIRIC states its corporate land treasury consists of 13, 000 prime clear-titled acres in Bangalore and New Delhi alone.

    3. In a September 27, 2004 article in the Business Standard, Manoj Benjamin describes Royal Garden City as the largest building project in Asia.

    4. In an October 7, 2004 article in The Asian Pacific Post, Manoj Benjamin said that RIRIC will be listed on a European stock exchange in 2005.

    5. In a September 2006 newsletter to shareholders and investors, Manoj Benjamin states “the firm is finalizing on an additional 10, 000 acres near the new (Bangalore) International Airport site.”

    6. In an October 17, 2006 press release, RIRIC states that RGC Bangalore is a 3, 000 acre sub-city development situated between downtown Bangalore and the new Bangalore International Airport.

    7. In a February 28, 2007 press release, RIRIC claims it will be launching its Royal Garden Villas and Resorts brand in Mumbai, Goa, Delhi, Chennai and Pune over the next 12-18 months and is investing an estimated $8-10 billion in the resort projects alone.

    8. Manoj Benjamin is quoted in the Times of India on April 13, 2007 as saying, “We have acquired 3, 000 acres of land for Royal Garden City in Bangalore.”

    9. In an April 11, 2008 invitation e-mailed to shareholders and investors, Manoj Benjamin states that construction has started on the “Jack Nicklaus Signature” Royal Indian Golf Club outside Bangalore.

    10. RIRIC states in an April 14, 2008 press release that it is one of India's largest foreign direct investors in the real estate sector.

    Anybody see a pattern here?

  • Ri
      20th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    I am an investor with RIRIC and got sucked into investing a huge amount for their RGVILLAS project in Bangalore. Till date I have not seen anything built and now the company and its owners refuse to return my money. My refund was due Dec 21 2008. The truth as you said in plain English is the money is gone and I have been scammed.
    As an angry Investor after losing bunch of blood and sweat money I am not going to allow the Benjamin's to live in peace. I am currently looking for investors who have invested more than $100K USD into the RGVILLAS (www.rgvillas.com) project for a joint law suit against the company and all individual perpetrators of the scam.

    Any investors reading this and would want to join the group please respond via email to me at sujoy_majumdar@yahoo.com

  • Bi
      1st of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    For 10 years, Manoj Benjamin and Royal Indian Raj have been all talk and no action. Ravi Benjamin likes to spout off about a $100 million lawsuit against me, but when he and Royal Indian Raj have to appear in court or produce documents, guess what? They're no-shows. My guess is Manoj and Ravi Benjamin simply don't have the guts to actually show themselves in court because they know what's in store. They're going to be exposed as the scam artists they are. They certainly don't want any judge questioning all the lies they have produced over the years.

    So, my suggestion to Manoj Benjamin and Ravi Benjamin and Royal Indian Raj is simple. If you want to meet me in court, let's go right now. Tell your lawyers to stop delaying. We're ready to take you and your scam company on today. And tomorrow and the day after.

    Of course, you won't. Because like all bullies, when you're faced with someone who isn't afraid of you, who laughs at you, you back down like the cowards you are.

    By the way, I notice that you haven't responded to the recent ruling by the British Columbia Financial Institutions Commission, which has forced you to stop marketing Royal Garden Villas in British Columbia.

    Care to respond, cowards?

  • Bi
      3rd of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    My goodness, another "corporate statement" from the scamsters at Royal Indian Fraud. Curiously, the two leading scamsters, Manoj Benjamin and Ravi Benjamin, never sign their names. They hide behind their "corporate statements" like the cowards they are. Come on out Manoj and face the music. I notice that you haven't mentioned in any of your "corporate statements" how you have refused to return monies to customers who have, per their contracts with Royal Indian Raj, requested refunds. And I noticed nowhere in your "corporate statement" have you mentioned that you are now banned, per government decree, from marketing in British Columbia.

    I assume you're going to file a lawsuit against the government agency that banned you since that is your offical corporate response to anyone who stands up to you and describes you for what you are - a scam artist.

  • Cu
      27th of May, 2009
    +3 Votes

    "If anyone would like to verify the truth, please feel free to contact us at 604.685.7442"...
    Don't waste your time. Nobody will answer your call let alone giving you the truth. Benjamins, Bob Brown, Ken Corey, and Jett are the biggest liers and cheater you will ever deal with. They have been doing this for 10yrs. I am not sure how Canadian Govt is letting them do business?

  • An
      2nd of Jul, 2009
    -3 Votes

    Does the customer have a name ?
    Please do continue to obtain the truth. We are open and available for any information that may be required by our customers. Please call 0 91 080 4128 9765/66/67 in India where the company also resides .

    It is a fact that we have been in India for the past ten years engaged in trying to participate in the exciting task of building a new India and attempting to surmount difficulties in the nascent Real Estate industry. The Chairman of the DLF company, in one of the several interviews he gave to the Times of India newspaper, observed that compared to China the turn around time it takes to grant permissions etc in india is insane running into several years. The DLF company has been getting geared up for the last 25 years and thanks to the existing political and beaurocratic setup it has only recently emerged as India's largest Real Esate player. The inordinate lag that it takes to get geared up in India does not necessarily constitute fraud and or a scam. Most of our esteemed customers from India and now working oversees are not aware about what it takes to operate in India and their frustration arises when they compare the workings in India to that of the western countries where Real Estate is an art form and the regulatory systems are superb especially designed to aid the developers and those who are connected with the real estate industry. We understand their frustration but the customer need to understand that the delay only works in their favour by way of escalating prices. Delay cannot be interpreted to mean a "scam". With the housing shortage in India hovering around thirty five million mark the prices are headed only one way and that is upwards. Not true in the western countries where the housing markets are saturated.

    The disturbed customer is mis-informed and is venting in bad taste. He seems to be influenced by David Baines of the Vancouver sun and the likes of him who are ignorant. David Baines is a master of innuendos and half truths by his own admission which when translated only means that he makes a living by telling and dissemenating information which is far short of the "truth" and without any real substance .

    For a sample Mr Collins Benjamin has never been declared a bankrupt nor are there any law suites against him. He did not run away from Canada and he has never been convicted for anything in his life. In the building industry having a lien does not constitute any grave offence. By the same token Mr Manoj was declared bankrupt only once nearly twenty years ago because the mortgage company that was financing his developement went bankrupt on him. I see no great offence in that considering the great nation of America is in similar position. If I am not wrong Walt Disney went that way nearly six times before it became a success and a hit to boot. There are so many examples of great projects and great men behind them who have faced similar challenges as the Benjamin's. So why the demonization of a business group ?

    I suggest the customer take a pill and settle down and smell the roses.

  • Ri
      13th of Nov, 2009
    +3 Votes

    Royal Indian Raj doesn't even have an office in Vancouver, despite claiming to still be operating out of Suite 610 - 375 Water Street, since RIRIC was kicked out of their office for failure to pay their lease.

    This is the current tenant at #610 375 Water St. Vancouver:

    http://globalterminals.com/contact

    This can also be confirmed via the office leasing company. Note the address in the 2nd column showing Global Container occupying that office:

    http://www.the-landing.com/commercial.html

    It is true there ARE no current lawsuits in Canada against Collins Benjamin because he's not in Canada. There HAVE been dozens however in the past as already cited on posts throughout this forum.

    Manoj Benjamin should stop swilling Scotch and using linguistic tricks of past/present tense in his pathetic game of trying to dupe honest people out of hard earned money. Give up you delusional charlatan and seek therapy.

  • Du
      18th of Nov, 2009
    +2 Votes

    Royal Indian Raj customers and investors take note:

    California Law: Deceit and fraud are defined separately in statutes. Deceit is defined in Civ. Code §§1709 and 1710, while fraud is defined in Civ. Code §§1572 (actual fraud) and 1573(constructive fraud).

    Copy and paste into internet browser for Source:
    http://www.kinseylaw.com/clientserv2/civillitigationserv/fraud/fraud.html

    Below are just a very few court orders and newspaper/magazine articles exposing Royal Indian Raj and their crimes.

    Court Orders against Royal Indian Raj and International Newspaper/Magazine Exposure:

    Financial Institutions Commission orders Cease Marketing Order Against RIRIC :

    http://www.fic.gov.bc.ca/pdf/enforcement/restate/redma20090313.pdf

    British Columbia Securities Commission Investigation:

    http://royalindiansham.com/BCSC-Summons.php

    Invest Right Investor Alert: Beware of investment ploys touting foreign direct investments in India:

    http://www.investright.org/alerts.aspx?id=169

    Canadian Business Magazine – All About The Benjamins:

    http://www.canadianbusiness.com/managing/strategy/article.jsp?content=20080929_198710_198710

    Jack Nicklaus Withdraws Services:

    http://www.nicklaus.com/nicklaus_news/news112608.php


    Royal Indian Raj investor gets royal runaround:

    http://www.canada.com/vancouversun/news/business/story.html?id=1d8f8cf1-d9cb-40fb-852f-45a5ee50e3d7

    Royal Indian Raj Scrounging for Money:

    http://www.vancouversun.com/entertainment/Royal+Indian+scrounging+money/1715565/story.html

    Call the office at 604.685.7442 by all means. RIRIC was kicked out in summer 2009. Still promoting 610 - 375 water street vancouver as their address. Just on more big fat lie from the cowards. What a bunch of clowns!

  • Ro
      16th of Dec, 2009
    +1 Votes

    No Answer at Indian Office. Guess its hard to keep regular business hours when you're on the lam:

    Royal garden City Enterprises Ltd. Bangalore India - Public Warning Issued involving Collins Benjamin and Royal garden City Enterprises Ltd.

    Public Notice Issued October 2009 Warning that “any person entering into any kind of transactions in respect of the schedule properties with Mr. Collins Benjamin and Royal garden City Enterprises Ltd would be doing at there own cost and risk.”

    http://www.publicnotice.in/show_notice_details.php?id=8328


    Collins Benjamin of Royal garden City Enterprises Ltd. Bangalore India has criminal charged brought by local Police after UK based doctor claims he was cheated out of Rs 4.40 crore ($1.04 Million USD)

    A UK based doctor convinced the State of Karnataka to bring criminal charges against Collins Benjamin of Royal Garden City Enterprises Private Ltd.

    http://www.bangaloremirror.com/index.aspx?page=article§id=10&contentid=20091116200911160037477035ebba5ed


    High Court of Karnataka Rules Against Collins Benjamin of Royal garden City Enterprises Ltd. Bangalore India:

    Petition to Quash Criminal Charges against Collins Benjamin Rejected by Judge

    After having a petition fail in Karnataka High Court, Collins Benjamin of Royal Garden City Enterprises Private Ltd. will face legal prosecution for criminal activity brought against him by The State of Karnataka JC Nagar Police, for “Breach of Trust” and “Cheating” under sections 420 and 406 IPC :

    High Court of Karnataka:

    http://164.100.80.145:8080/dspace/handle/123456789/139354

    View Judgment:

    http://164.100.80.145:8080/dspace/bitstream/123456789/139354/1/CRLP762-09-06-07-2009.pdf

  • Ro
      19th of Apr, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Benjamin Idiots. You are now trapped outside the safe zone. The real world will rain terror down upon you. At every turn you will meet fear. You have brought down the sword of fate upon your own necks.

  • Ro
      13th of May, 2010
    +1 Votes

    "Another Customer" ... are you [censor]ed or just a Benjamin? (What's the difference really?) You pose as "another customer" yet you say in your post: "It is a fact that we have been in India for the past ten years engaged in trying to participate in the exciting task of building a new India"

    You as "another customer" of RG Villas in Bangalore India are part of a group that is trying to build a new india?

    Have another drink, bozo.

  • El
      16th of Oct, 2010
    +1 Votes

    The Bangalore Police have arrested Collins Benjamin on Criminal Charges of Cheating and Breach of Trust.

    A UK based doctor convinced the State of Karnataka to bring criminal charges against Collins Benjamin of Royal Garden City Enterprises Private Ltd.

    http://www.bangaloremirror.com/index.aspx?page=article§id=10&contentid=20091116200911160037477035ebba5ed

    If you have also been cheated, contact the Bangalore Commissioner of Police at:

    Phone Number ( +91 - 80)
    Commissioner of Police 22260707 / 22942222

    To submit your evidence if you have also been cheated in the purchase of a luxury villa or flat at Royal Garden Villas in Bangalore India, contact the Commissioner of Police in Bangalore and also report the website rgvillas.com to the cyber crime unit of the police in Bangalore india.

    http://www.cyberpolicebangalore.nic.in/

    The time is now to bring Collins Benjamin Manoj Benjamin Ravi Benjamin Maya Benjamin and Anjula Benjamin to justice.

  • To
      20th of Oct, 2010
    +2 Votes

    Let's hope justice avails in all cases.

    Royal Indian Raj and it's associates (Manoj Benjamin, Ravi Benjamin, Collins Benjamin, Anjula Benjamin, Sherri Vaters, Patrick Hinds - to name a few) are also being sued in Florida. Just another lawsuit to add to growing list of other fraud charges in Canada, India, California.

    http://www.courthousenews.com/2010/09/14/Ponzi.pdf

    Note some of the additional business names listed in this suit. Very interesting.

  • Un
      23rd of Oct, 2010
    +2 Votes

    Manoj Benjamin and Ravi Benjamin are certinaly cowardly Little Leprechauns aren't they?

  • Un
      23rd of Oct, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Manoj C. Benjamin - Royal Indian Raj

Post your comment