The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Goguen Photography / Lack of professionalism & customer service skills!

1 United States Review updated:

I would like to post a comment about Goguen Photography based out of Cambridge, MA. Mr. Robert Goguen was the photographer for my June 18th 2006 wedding & I have yet to receive my photos. My husband & I have put pressure on him for our photos & he's been rude & nasty about finishing our project (stating that he'll finish it when he has time or adding 3-4wks to each original time-frame that he gives us). My husband & I were extremely disappointed in his work anyway b/c he didn't capture any of the common sense group pics that any REAL photographer knows to take but b/c our wedding day as come & gone I didn't make a big deal out of it & just want my pictures. We're getting close to our 1 yr anniversary w/ nothing to show for it & we paid him $700!!! We funded our entire wedding ourselves & we have a child so money is precious to us & right now we have nothing to show for $700. I hope you list this complaint. I have ALL of our corresponding emails if you need more documentation of his lack of professionalism & customer service skills!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ch
      9th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    The person you need to address the complaint is Robert Goguen Photography. That is the official name of his company. I have been running Goguen Photography since 1989 and you've never been a client of mine. Robert Goguen Photography has acquired wwww.goguenphotography.com but that is not the name of his company. Please relabel your complaint as I've had almost 18+yrs capturing fond memories for many and although sorry that he has taken your money, you need to direct the complaint at the actual company. Thank you

    Chris Goguen

    Goguen Photography

  • Ro
      12th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    Chimere Desilier was a very happy customer up until the point of trying to get a free album via frivolous complaints. She emailed me four months after her wedding to tell me that she could not afford to pay me the balance on her wedding package. I told her that I could downgrade her package to "Basic" and she would owe me $100, she agreed. I also stated that the timeframe would be 3-6 months for the completion of the package. Within a couple months; Chimere emailed me with a strange story about how her husband likes the "Photo Book" package (in her contract) but what she wanted was a traditional album... I told her the the album and her specifications would cost alot more money... she wasn't very happy and things went downhill from there... she became VERY hostile and demanded service or she would complain ALL over the Internet...

    Chimere has an online slide show@
    http://www.goguenphotography.com/clients/chimere-joel/iframe.html

    Thank you,

    Robert Goguen

  • Ro
      13th of Feb, 2007
    0 Votes

    from chimere goldsboro
    date Sep 7, 2006 10:34 AM
    subject: Payment

    Hi Bob,

    I would like to apologize for not sending in a payment in awhile. Joel & I are absolutely in love with how you were able to capture our day. We are struggling a little bit right now but I hope that you hold on to our photos. I am trying to set up a system of paying you monthly until the balance is paid. Once again thank you for your beautiful work!


    Chimere & Joel

  • Cj
      23rd of Mar, 2007
    0 Votes

    Here are several emails from MR. ROBERT GOGUEN to myself or my husband. Now would you have him capture your day???

    Bob Goguen wrote:

    In case you are not familiar with Small Claims Court; you are going to be asked "How much money are you are suing me for " AND guess what when the judge will ask me; if I will do your project the answer from me will be NO not unless you pay me.

    The bottom line is this: YOU WILL GET YOUR MONEY BACK ($600.00) LESS THE $100 DEPOSIT! AND NO PICTURES THAT WILL GO IN THE TRASH !

    On 2/28/07, chimere goldsboro wrote:
    Please do not contact us again. We will see you in court. None of these charges have been agreed to so, please stop with your non-sense. You cannot bill for administrative charges its not even legal. And as far as the extra charges for the wedding day we can all see that your making amendments because your upset. We agreed to a $700 digital package & thats all your getting.

    Chimere

    --- Original Message ----
    From: Bob Goguen
    To: chimere goldsboro
    Sent: Wednesday, February 14, 2007 3:46:21 PM
    Subject: Re: Joel & I are absolutely in love with how you were able to capture our day


    Apparently you aren't familiar with Small Claims Court! The most you will get if my hard drive crashes and everything is lost is your money back! AND IF that happens I will pay you back in PAYMENTS: $10 PER MONTH!!

    WHAT DO YOU SAY TO THAT... AND if you smear me all over the net. I have a fix for that to; And an easy one at that!

    You don't scare me... not with Complaints.com or BBB or any other stupid-### thing you can think of.

    YOU STARTED THIS... just keep pushing... none of this had to happen... you are a strange bird that likes to fight without ANY cause.

    I just don't get why the hell you did this...


    ----- Original Message ----
    From: Bob Goguen
    To: chimere goldsboro
    Sent: Wednesday, February 14, 2007 2:43:02 PM
    Subject: Re: Joel & I are absolutely in love with how you were able to capture our day.


    Apparently you do not want your images and they are about to be ...
    HARD DRIVES CRASH>>> HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!! GUESS WHERE YOUR STUFF IS!!! Do you wanna laugh some more? Laugh all you want... I could care less... You are my BRIDEZILLA!

  • Cj
      9th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    My husband & I took Robert Gogoen to court yesterday at The Brockton Trial Court & sued him for our photos or the money and he refused to give us our photos and would rather give us back our money. He's a terrible person and should never deal with a bride and her wedding day. He has ruined my entire wedding experience. I have no photos of my wedding day. How spiteful can you be to want to hold onto to pictures that you'll never use just to piss off your clients. I hope no one ever uses this man for their wedding photography services. He's not a man of his word at all.

  • Ro
      28th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Chimere Goldsboro is a liar and a cheat! She tried to con me into a free white leather album, large enough to hold 100 enlargements, and also with complaints and scare tactics... I PROMISED HER THAT NON OF THAT STUFF WOULD WORK WITH ME AND IN THE END SHE WOULD GET HER MONEY BACK... but she laughed at me and thought small claims court would force me to do business with her.

    I will not do business with her until she apologizes for all of the lies and pays me the entire amount that she (and her husband) owe me. When they do that... they can have copies of there images.

    CHIMER GOLDSBORO IS MY ONLY BRIDE(ZILLA) AND MY LAST! This was an experience that I learned from... I tried to give them a break when they conned me into thinking they were in trouble and couldn't pay me on time...

    I have hundreds of references...

    An email from a client this past weekend 5/27/07:

    Hi Bob and Jaimie!

    First I want to say thank you so much for being a part of our day. I want you to know that I meant what I said when I invited you into our family. I felt as though you were both a very special part of our day, and not just because you were taking photographs. I felt as though I have always known you and it was so special to have you both there enjoying every moment. I truly hope you enjoyed yourself and had fun even though you were working. It was a pleasure and honor to have you both there with us. You are both wonderful people and know I welcome you both into our family for any occasion with open arms. I feel so lucky to have found you.

    The picture you put up on the website of Anna and I is such a gorgeous shot and I am honored to be a part of your beautiful website.

    Also, let's go with the Appalachian Sunrise for the music.

    I hope you had a good day today and thank you so much for being such good people and for making me feel so comfortable and like I was a movie star.

    I'll never forget a single moment.

    Warmest regards,
    Chris & Alan

  • Cj
      28th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    This man will stop at nothing to prove a point that only exists in his mind. I never tried to con anyone I just clearly stated to him that the photobooks he's trying to peddle as high quality are from Snapfish.com for $19.99. And I sent him other photographers prices & he became enraged. All I wanted was my digital photo package that he promised and he never produced anything. I'm devastated over this and he still hasn't paid us & we are due back in court 7/18/07. I have no reason to apologize unless he's giving me my pictures.

  • Cj
      2nd of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    Also, I forgot to mention if this man had any rationale to his "case" and my husband & I owed him money then why would the court rule in our favor and place a judgment against him to pay us back in full plus accumulating interest?

  • Ro
      13th of Jul, 2007
    -1 Votes

    She's not VERY devastated... or she would make this ALL go away and negotiate for her digital images... I've done a few hundred weddings so far and she is the ONLY nasty person that has ever pulled this kind of tactic.

    THE RATIONALE (you stupid idiot) IS THAT YOU SCREWED YOUR SELF BAD WITH THIS ONE!!!

    I guess her daughter will track me down for the images 15 years from now!

    THE IMAGES ARE HERS IF SHE PUTS EVERYTHING BACK THE WAY IT WAS AND PAYS ME THE BALANCE!

    More lies and dishonesty...

    Yes it is true that Photo books are made by many online photo companies; but many photographers also bind there photos using the "Perfect Bind" system. The Equipment cost around $1600.00 for everything and can be purchased here:

    http://www.mybinding.com/.sc/ms/dd/ee/1970/New%20BindIt%203%20
    Heater%20Covermate%20for%20HardCover%20Binding

    All of the photo book images are color corrected, touched-up and black/ white is also included... Then carefully bound using the Perfect Binding System.

    Chimere had the option of purchasing a white leather album for a couple of hundred dollars more than her package price... she wanted it included in her package without any additional cost... she tried to convince me that I bate and switched them to begin with!

  • Cj
      19th of Jul, 2007
    +1 Votes

    This guy will stop at nothing I mean nothing... what exactly is he talking about? He was SUED by my husband & I in a court of law. Brockton District Court to be exact. He had a chance to put forth a cross complaint against us and he had no case which was determined by a clerk magistrate & a JUDGE.

    I was willing to pay extra for a white album and I was willing to let this man keep my money if he would just turn over the master disk w/ my wedding photos & he refused stating that my husband & I should pay him for coming to court... HELLO GUY you were required to show up or risk arrest.

    We were in court yesterday 7/18/07 & this man has 30 days to pay us in full or give us the photos. HE adamantly refused to give us our photos. So, the JUDGE ordered him to give us back our money w/ interest in 30 days or risk being arrested.

    So, this man is crazy and probably on meds for just that but he acts like the patients at my place of employment and he's rude, unprofessional and shouldn't be allowed to shoot photos for any other bride. Why would you risk damaging your reputation, your credit report b/c this judgment goes on his credit & more time out of work when you can just give people there photos??? People you don't even know??? Why would you want them? And after the Judge ordered him to pay or supply the photos in 30 days he commenced to threatening me by saying once I send you the check your images will be destroyed!!! What kind of man would do that? Not a nice one!!!

  • Je
      20th of Jun, 2008
    -1 Votes

    I actually came across this page randomly when I looked up Bob's page to check my online slideshow...I'm seriously glad that I didn't bookmark his page, because I never would've seen this nonsense.
    Bob has been hired to do our wedding for next Saturday. Not only is he going to shoot our wedding, he also did an engagement photo package, which I was extremely satisfied with. Let me give you a little info here to emphasize his character...
    For our engagement photo shoot, he arrived with 3 surprises: one, he bought pizza for us, which was really awesome, because he did not have to do that. He also brought a kite along, in case we'd like to get shots of us flying the kite on the beach. And on top of that, he offered to throw in a complimentary 'dress' photo shoot for after the wedding, to help build up his new gallery. He was very good with our son, who was present for the first 1/2 of our shooting, and he has a very nice and funny personality. I was laughing alot of the time we were taking our photos and I felt very comfortable and at ease during the session.
    I looked at many different photographers and for the amount of money we are paying and the quality of his work, I'd say it's a bargain! I myself am going to school for photography, so I know a thing or two about a good photographer and I think Bob is hands-down, a great photographer to have on your wedding day!
    I think this person spreading this stuff all over the internet is just one unhappy customer. I personally can't wait to work with Mr. Robert Goguen come our wedding day and we are both so happy that we hired him. He comes highly recommended in my book, and I just wanted to put that out there.
    Here is the link to my photos on his website:
    http://www.pbase.com/bobgoguen/jenna_ryan

  • Ch
      20th of Aug, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I may be one unhappy customer but the courts agreed with me and if this man provided services for you and they were fine then God Bless you because he was awful to me.

  • An
      31st of May, 2011
    -1 Votes

    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1344660868732.2041692.1597582446
    the theme is 'the beauty photography'
    but to me.. it is ###.. if u cant see.. this photos are all edited to be nice.. 100% fake photography.. and she claims that she is a pro to the edited photos..

Post your comment