Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Gap Insurance / fraud

88% 24
Contact information:
JM&A Group
PO Box 8566
Deerfield Beach
Phone: 1-800-722-4603
Car was totaled and burned, complete loss. Took 4 months to settle claim and wanted me to still make the car notes and did not have the car in my possesion. I will never ever buy Gap Insurance again!! The dealerships need to go to "GAP class" to be able to explain it more clearer to the purchaser. My car was in the impound lot for 3 weeks until they came and got it to start their investigation on my claim. I am obligated to pay that bill which I should not have to pay! Gap is not wanting to pay the loan off on my car or all the other fraudulent charges. So now I have a piece of ### car because of them, when before I had a brand new Honda Fit!!!


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  21st of Apr, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
My car was totaled at the end of December 2008. This is April 2009 and the claim is still not paid. I bought GAP from Florida Toyota dealership "The ONE GAP" in Missouri
I filed about 2nd week in January, they sent me a checklist of all the documents that I needed to send to them, which I did. I took 3 weeks for them to tell me they received documents and they will pay finance company by Mar 23. I called them when payment was not made, they said I needed to send insurance declarations page. I am still waiting for check to be sent, another 2 weeks passed and they now said they needed Buyers orders (something from the dealership), who faxed it to them. Still waiting, it has been 3 1/2 months and still not paid yet. Meanwhile I have to continue making payments on a car to finance company, when I don't have something decent to drive. I called company and gave person a piece of my mind, they claim they will put "urgent" on it for the underwriters. They said I will get my payment reimbursed, but the problem is coming up with the extra payments while car is totalled.

I will never get GAP from dealership again. They take too long to pay claim, in the meantime you are responsible to pay finance company. I am getting ready to complain to Attorney's General Office.
N  25th of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
my car was stolen and burned in march 2009, it took my ins. co.3 1/2 mons. to investigate and find out i had nothing to do with it. in april i filed my GAP ins. claim through JM&A the amount of paper work was rediculous, and then they kept saying they never received a certain document or it wasn't what they needed, finally my credit union where my loan was through contacted them, OH they paid alright, out of the 7678 that was left after my car ins. the GAP only paid 4441, i still owe 3197 on a car that doesn't exist. i can't get another car loan until this outstanding car loan is paid off. so now i am car less with no credit! what am i suppose to do.

N  26th of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Gap paid claim on May 11, 2009, to the finance company, which was approximately 5 months later and paid one car payment short of the balance due. I even had problems and long wait in getting my refund from the finance company. It took another 2 months to get my refund. I had been without a car since December 2008. THEY DON'T SEEM TO CARE.
N  2nd of Nov, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
My truck was set fire at my residence at 430 am Oct 31, 2009. I called the police when i found it burning. Good thing I got dogs that woke me up. I called my insurance agent 5 hours later. He filed the claim promptly. I remembered i bought GAP insurance from Ford Dealer on October 17, 2007. I refinanced it to go from 8.74 interest rate to 5.0 at my local bank. THAT voided my GAP policy. Line E on the back. ALL YOU DAMN CAR DEALERS READ THIS BOLD PRINT. DON'T SHOVE THE DAMN FORM IN FRONT OF A CUSTOMER AND SAY "THIS WILL COVER THE PORTION YOUR INSURANCE WON'T PAY WHEN IN THE EVENT YOUR VEHICLE IS TOTALED. It's just a process like the form we sign as you shove them under the ink pen you hand us. Explain the forms in DETAIL. If you don't know what it is, then damn it learn. Great rackett you got going. Hope all you ### hole lose you F...jobs and the auto market goes bust. ###. I take my 50% fault for not setting back and reading it in FULL. YOU ###S TAKE THE OTHER 50!
N  18th of Feb, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I also had purchased JMA Gap insurance and full coverage insurance with Geico as well. I bought a brand new Honda civic in March 2009. On January 11, 2010 I was involved in a accident with a careless 70 yr old lady who failed to yield and also ended up totaling my car. She received a citation too. The car was worth 16, ooo when I bought it and financed it and in total I would of had to pay 24, 000.00. During that 10 month period I was paying on time and it got down to 21, xxx thousand something.Anyway like 2 or 3 weeks later Geico estimated that my car was worth 15, 000 something and paid that to the SUNTRUST BANK where I financed it. Anyway the remaining balance was around 5 thousand something. Anyone would think that once you have GAP insurance you would be clear of car payments right? WRONG!!! After 2 weeks of contacting JM&A GROUP GAP INSURANCE they would always say that they still didn't receive the payment history from the bank. I made the bank send it FIVE TIMES to them then so happens they finally received it. Anyway they only gonna pay 1, 600.oo. So that means Im ###ed with paying my car's remaining balance of 4, 400.00. I ALSO READ ALOT ABOUT JM&A GROUP GAP INSURANCE ONLINE THAT THEY ARE KNOWN FOR DOING THAT SORT OF ###... I ALSO READ THAT I COULD SUE THE OTHER DRIVER IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT SO SHE COULD PAY OFF THE REMAINING BALANCE OF MY NON EXISTING CAR..
A  8th of Jun, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
We had a horrible car accident on March 21, 2010 and our vehicle was totalled when someone on a cellphone ran a red light and hit us head on. I am finally healing from the injuries. However, the biggest injury is to my credit report! JM&A Group has been dragging feet on paying the balance of the loan. Again, claiming the insurance company and also the bank did not send the required paperwork. In the same token, the financing bank is calling to say we need to make payments on again a vehicle we do not have. Insurance company has AGAIN sent the required paperwork to JM&A Group which now we are told by one of the many operators that you will never speak to again, takes three days to show received in their computer system. HUH? the building is small! Get off your lazy [censor] and check the machine for god's sake and lets take care of this once and for all. I am going to contact the Florida Department of Consumer Affairs, Department of Finanical Services and Office of Insurance Regulation. I will let you all know how I make out. This is terrible.
A  3rd of Oct, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree -1 Votes
I am having problems with Gap Insurance as well. I don't know how any of what I'm reading is ok? Why are people always being pulled through the mud by banks and we can't do anyhing about it except see our credit reports suffer.
July 25, 2010 - My 2006 parked Ford Taurus is totaled by drunk driver. He is captured. Insurance denies claim because it was his brothers car and they have a bunch of other excuses. So my full coverage covers 5, 000 of 10, 000 I still owe on car. They deducted $750 for prior damage and the $500 deductible. Because I'm left paying for my own rental at $200 a week, I visit same dealership I financed my car 3 years before. They talk me into financing a new car even though the situation still exists. We have no public transportation, I can't afford any more car rentals, and as a single mother I need my job and I work 45 minutes away, so I finance a new car at $350 a month thinking the situation will work itself out. I ask for my first extension on the totaled car because I don't have an extra $336 a month to continue making payments. My Ins company pays Toyota on the claim quick. Then Gap can't be filed until they receive an $89 refund from a maintenance aggreement. It takes over 6 weeks for the dealerhip to send the stupid check. At this point I have had a second extension request on the loan. I can no longer ask for more extensions even though I've never been late on any payment in 3 years. Gap was finally filed. I'm told check again in a few weeks to see what they have paid. I receive a letter now stating they need paperwork. It's Toyota dealership. It's Toyota Gap. I was told they will take care of everything and I don't have to do a thing. WTF Now I have to call tomorrow and find out whats going on. Meanwhile I'm suppose to pay $336 on Oct 6th or I'm going to see my credit fall through the floor along with my mother who was the co-signer. And I know this is just the beginning. I know Gap is going to find a million reasons not to pay in full. I will see reductions along with any extended and late payments be deducted from their payment. I'll be shocked to see if they even pay half of what I still owe. I don't know what to do and why is this all allowed when I wasn't even in the car...
Oh and to make matters worse, beyond missing work after this happened, I had to miss half a day for a court date that the drunk driver never showed up to. Then the court doesn't even file a warrant on the man. Apparently he signed up for the ARD program which allows him to get the criminal charges dropped and can request that the court expunge the arrest if he completes the program. So she gave him the benefit of the doubt and rescheduled the court appearance. Meanwhile, who is going to expunge my car payments? Who is going to make up for the 12 grand I invested in my car in the form of monthly payments. I had two years left to own her and now I have to start again and wont own my new car for six years! Who gives me the $245 I spent on car rentals that is sitting on my credit card accumilating interest becuase I don't have the money to pay it in full? Who is giving me the money for all this missed work? After rent and bills, I can't afford food let alone the money I'm going to own on the previous loan. I feel so taken because I work so hard and pay everything on time and am left with pennies to my name. Yet this man can borrow his brothers car (already was drinking according to his sister-in-law who I had a conversation with) and he can drive up and down my block doing Fast and Furious moves (according to neighbors outside) and then he can destroy my car on a Sunday night. My car! The only person I think who works in the neighborhood to boot! I just feel why do I try so hard to work and pay bills and live this life when it obviously in vain.
And this isn't the first time I had the end of the stick where an uninsured driver had hit my parked car (another parking lot) and got away with paying me anything or even getting a ticket! My ins had to come to the rescue-minus $500 deductible which I never got back! And the police said it was a private parking lot so there was nothing they would do. She's driving uninsured and destroyed my property! Why do I pay insurance when others dont need to and get away with it????
N  27th of Dec, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Yeah, its a racket alright, but what can we do? I bought a 2008 NISSAN from a dealership in 2009, had State Farm Full coverage, and Great American GAP insurance. Tropical Storm Hermine flooded it in Sept 2010. Total Loss. After fighting with the First Third bank about payments, Dennis Eakin Dealership about extended warranties, and Great American GAP for months, I ended up still owing 1200.00+. What was the GAP for anyway?
N  15th of Jan, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I brought an 2006 gto, my car got stolen the insurance of course didn't pay off full amount the car, and this is where the gap insurance was suppose to kick in nooot. Safe Guard Gap ins is a scam a big scam. My balance of the car was 5000 still in the whole, a refund for my extended warr went to the lender 1180.00 and yes the gap ooh the gap they only gave the lender 1400. I ask you what is the hell gap insurance is good for when you still owe. I was told that whatever the insurance don't pay off the gap will cover and that was not the case. The car was stolen for crying out loud and yes you got exposed so the gap insurance is a big ripoff you are better off not even purchasing this type of insurance because my balance is still 2500 in the hole and it might as well be 5000 in the hole because I still owe. What a freeking ripoff that gap company is.
N  28th of Apr, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have been dealing with Dennis Eakin Mazda for almost a year trying to get my refund from a extended warranty! What a bunch of crap! I even drove back to TX from AL and turned in the trade in paperwork. The office manager gives me the run around everytime! I am going to see about hiring a lawyer and suing them. It will only be about 600 dollars but for plain principle!
A  12th of Dec, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I purchased Gap insurance as well and I can assure you that this is the biggest rip off going. I am going to file a complaint with the insurance commision. I purchased a Ford Excursion and the last few vehicles I have purchased I have always purchased Gap because I was told that in the event my vehicle was totaled or ever deemed a total loss that my gap insurance would pick up the remaining balance . WRONG!!! My vehicle was stolen and after filing my claim with the insurance co. I remembered that I had gap. I called and was told that I would have to provide them with my original documents, well they were in the glove box with all the documents that I had on the vehicle since I bought it .They told me to contact my dealer but he had since been closed down but I gathered anything and everything I could from whatever source I could, police reports etc. while they found me in their system. Strangely the correspondence I got from them had my gap policy number on it so that was good or so I thought.Today I got a letter from them that stated that I had been late on some of my payments and that my insurance co had actually over paid my lien holder to the tune of 2500.00 {as if } and that my loan should have already matured even though I always paid the late fee when late and never differed a payment or refinanced and my payments where to date at the time the vehicle was stolen and the mature date through my lein holder gives one date that was stated when I purchased the vehicle gap didn't agree they state it should have already been paid for, REALLY !!! I didn't write the contract and I know how this was presented to me and I am now told that they can't give me a copy of my original because all they have are numbers in a system, they told me they could give me something similar to the document I signed but not the exact because that is what your dealer keeps, REALLY !!! They can't provide you with any documents showing you that this is there policy or any other proof that what they are spewing is valid. To put it in a nut shell this is the BIGGEST RIP OFF !!!SCAM all they way stay away from Gap. They have your money and now it's sorry bout your bad luck...Pay up.
N  18th of Dec, 2012 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I bought GAP for a 2011 Chevy 1 ton from the dealer because the truck was to be up fit with a $12000.00 dollar bed. I bought it in case something happened and I wouldn't be stuck paying off an upside down note. Truck was stolen and totaled and my insurance ( sure enough) settles for $12000.00 less than note because it was aftermarket bed. I filed my gap claim which took forever and It was denied because that policy won't cover a 1 ton vehicle or larger. The dealership said they would refund my $2000.00 for gap claim but not responsible for selling me the wrong policy. Should I be stuck with the $10000.00 that is left when I thought I had gap all along? Please help!!!
N  6th of Apr, 2013 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I totaled my car dec.23, 2012 and we had gap insurance through ed mounds in Bradford Pa well my car insurance paid what they were suppose to and the bank is still waiting for the other rest from gap which edmounds told me that they were faxing all the stuff in and never did . so now i am getting statements from the bank because that loan is behind. Is there anything that can be done with this . It is my credit that is getting bad because of them.
A  1st of Oct, 2013 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I purchase GAP Insurance when I purchase my Nissan Rogue 2008 for $400. I was into a car accident on 8-10-13 and my car was totaled. My insurance company paid the bank $16, 000, there was still a balance of $390 which I thought GAP would pay. I received a letter from GAP two months later stating that they weren't going to pay for the remainder. I will call my attorney to complaint because when you purchase a vehicle, all they tell you is that GAP has you cover in case of a total loss. It's a bunch of lies. All they want is to keep your money. The money I paid GAP is not refundable. So I have to paid the bank the balance due. I do not recommend GAP Insurance.
N  21st of May, 2014 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Good morning;

I am writing in regards to my GAP Protection that I purchased along with my car at Carmax in Harbison, SC on August 15, 2014. My total finance payment was $12, 585.00 and the car total was around $10, 900.00. Now I know that GAP is supposed to also consider the negative assets also as well as the good ones. I paid my car payments practically on time more so than late. I am entitled to some assistance of the rest of the total owed on my car which is $2, 000.00. We put down $2, 000.00 on this car. At least give us what we put down on it or something back towards the payoff of this car. I’ve had this car since August 2009 and you mean to tell me that I can’t get any assistance from GAP Protection? That’s the reason why I purchased it because of something like this happening. That’s the reason why people get GAP it’s added on in with the payment for the car monthly and I paid it. The accident happened March 1, 2014 that totaled my car near an unfamiliar intersection I knew anything about; it was dangerous, had a blind spot and needed a light. My air bags went off, the gas tank popped open, the parts under the car came off and etc. Yes, I did get the ticket failure to yield right of way, which I did stop at the light but I waited a little while before I actually pulled out and creeped across the road and didn’t see the oncoming car until the very final moment. I am doing a lot of research about GAP Protection and what it is supposed to take care of. (Your gap car insurance will pretty much cover most any total loss that your regular car insurance company did not cover, what will gap insurance not cover.) The day I filed my claim at Safeguard no one ever called me, ever tried to contact me ever. I had to keep calling Santander about the status of GAP Protection, my claims adjuster for Farm Bureau and so forth. They really seem like they are not interested in helping you but yet, you purchase their product hoping to get assistance whenever needed. I really don’t think this is right and something needs to be done about this. I am really stressed out and now beginning to have pains and aches due to stress over this situation. I hope something can be done because I need assistance, I don’t have $2, 000.00 to pay for a car I no longer have. GAP is supposed to cover the total loss amount that the primary insurance company does not cover.

Car insurance exclusions:
Common Gap Car Insurance Exclusions:
1. Cars that Are Not Covered by Both Comprehensive and Collision Insurance
2. Any Equipment On the Car that Was Not Factory Installed
3. Money that Was "Rolled" Into the Car Loan Such as From a Trade-in or Leased Vehicle
4.Costs for Any Other Products Added to The Loan or Lease Such as Extended Warranties
5. Unpaid or Overdue Lease or Loan Payments
6. Financial Penalties or Security Deposits on Leased Vehicles

· As I’m researching I don’t see that I’m supposed to be turned down so cold heartedly like I am being. I had Comprehensive and Collision coverage on my car, full coverage and I can’t get help? I am researching I have other people helping me research to see what all GAP Protection Insurance is supposed to be doing for me. I’m reading things on the internet that Safeguard GAP is a Scam, I’m reading a lot of bad reviews about GAP not paying people’s claims off. I don’t want to be in that number, I want to have something good to say in spite of all this negativity going on about this Safeguard GAP Insurance. Please forward my email to the Corporate office as well please. All I want is my $2, 000.00 paid off in full on my GAP insurance claim. Thanks for your time. What Is Gap Insurance? Gap insurance, or “GAP insurance, ” stands for “Guaranteed Auto Protection”. This insurance protects you from paying out what can be a significant difference between:
The amount you owe on your car loan.
ANDThe car’s current estimated value.It is common for a driver to assume that in the event his car is stolen or totaled, his collision and comprehensive insurance will cover all the costs.
Several months later, you get into an accident and your car is totaled. What happens? You currently owe $27, 000 on your car loan.Your insurer estimates the car’s fair market value at $21, 000 and pays you as such through your collision coverage benefits.You are left with a $6, 000 difference between the amount you owe your lien holder and the amount your insurance carrier pays. Gap insurance eliminates this deficit, saving you from this potential financial holehttp://www.dmv.org/insurance/gap-insurance.php http://www.dmv.org/insurance/gap-insurance.php

Mrs. Felder
N  4th of Dec, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
@Fashionfair I feel your pain Santander Gap suck
N  22nd of Oct, 2014 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Gap Insurance - Refinacing voids this? WTF
All of them
Tampabay FL
United States

Got car in 2012
Got into wreck in 2014
Refinance in 2013
Whole banking/loan community should burn to the ground. I basically got 8.5k stolen from me.
A  17th of Nov, 2014 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
GAP insurance is complete ###. I paid for SEVEN years and when I totaled my infiniti they said due to extensions they didn't have to pay my loan off! Complete ###. I'll never buy GAP insurance again. I'm still fighting with them. I had to buy a piece of crap car and pay 26% interest for 42 months because of this.
A  15th of Dec, 2015 by 
Agree Disagree -2 Votes
I purchased a vehicle through Toyota of Sanford, NC. My car was fully insured. I financed through SunTrust Bank and obtained GAP coverage through JM&A Group, (James Moran & Associates) of Deerfield, FL. My car got totaled in a wreck and my insurance company paid the value of the car without a problem. JM&A is delaying payment and I recently discovered from the lender (I don't think the young woman was supposed to tell me that they refused payment, but JM&A have NEVER informed me of that fact.) The reason she told me that they were refusing to pay was totally fraudulent and that's probably why they didn't inform me. I will never do business with Toyota of Sanford (and possibly no Toyota facility again (part of their sales technique is to keep you there for hours so you get tired and less alert) SunTrust Bank and absolutely not JM&A. From what I see here GAP coverage is a complete scam altogether.
A  16th of Sep, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I BOUGHT a 2011 Nissan for $15, 000. The salesman sold me on the GAP insurance through OLD REPUBLIC. I had paid $8700.00 on the note when I was rear ended and the other driver's insurance paid $7, 800 on the claim. That left $900.00 I still owed on a car I no longer owned. Upon looking up my contract, I found I had purchased the GAP, so I was relieved. As I started to unravel the GAP insurance contract, I found that I had to come up with a ton of paperwork for a lousy $900.00. There were nine separate items I had to retrieve, sign and send off to OLD REPUBLIC. After spending about 12 man hours putting all of it together, I sent it in. About 10 days later I received a letter stating how SORRY:( they were for my accident and even though I had bought the policy in good faith and had paid for it, they were denying my claim. Why? They said the condition of the car at the time of the accident. There was nothing wrong with the car except for normal usage, however they made up some number because it was not in show room condition. Of course not, I bought it used. Did they give me a discount for the condition at the time of the policy purchase? Nooooo! This is a huge scam pulled over the eyes of the American car buyer. This is dirty, it feels dirty, and I will be filing a formal complaint with my state Attorney's General Office. I don't understand why any legitimate company would do this which leads me to the conclusion this is worse than any pyramid scheme. Never buy any GAP insurance. You're better off tipping the salesman that money. At least you won't have a false sense of security and you won't have to spend several days and the money for shipping useless papers. Plus the time put in to write this complaint!
A  4th of Dec, 2016 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Santander screwed me twice my Volvo was totaled some years back and because my finance company arranged two of my payments to the end of my loan because I had surgery and was off work for three months they refused to pay the remainder of the bill leaving me in the to owe so why pay for GAP Insurance when they find any reason not to pay. Then I paid a balance to the finance company on my own. My next car was bought without GAP and the dealer stated I had to buy it I'll save money in a separate account since for what every reason (Illness ) I have a lost again. Someone need to start a Class action law suit on GAP Insurance.
N  20th of Jan, 2017 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
@MRS Booker lets get a class action law suit on Gap insurance started.

Post your Comment


Reply to