The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Ethan Abbott A Good Handyman / Ethan Abbott

1 Denver Metro, CO, United States Review updated:

Hired to do some outdoor work and they stole a bunch of stuff out of my storage shed. When I confronted him over the phopne, he started screaming expletives and stated he was going to put a lien against my condo and that he had photographs of the "work" he had performed.

I think he and his associates take on small jobs and then steal as much valuable equipment as they can from the homeowner. There are other posts on other sites that tell a similar tale of deceit and thievery.

I wasn't home for part of the time they were on the property and they cleaned out tools, construction equipment, etc. from a storage shed. I think they are based out of Brighton according to their web site www.agoodhandyman.com.

Completely dishonest thieves!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      14th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Judging from your comments, it seems as if the subject line of your complaint is a little deceiving. I'm just saying...

    Dr M A CARNARVORO

  • Ne
      18th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    He ripped us off too. Performed a "video scope" of a sewer line but will not deliver tape. When confronted, he did the same thing to us... threats with liens and law suits.

  • Ne
      18th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    From the BBB.org:
    BBB Accreditation
    This business is not a BBB Accredited Business.

    Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of F.
    Reasons for this rating include:

    * 7 complaints filed against business
    * Failure to respond to 5 complaints filed against business.
    * BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating.
    * BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business.
    * One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

    Click here for an explanation of BBB Ratings

    Back to top

    Business Contact and Profile
    Name: Good Deal Services
    Phone: (303) 667-8345
    Address: 6700 W. 44th Ave
    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033
    Website: www.yourplumberindenver.com
    Principal: Mr. Ethan Abbott, General Manager
    Customer Contact: Mr. Ethan Abbott, General Manager
    File Open Date: July 2007
    BBB Accreditation: This company is not a BBB Accredited business.
    Additional DBA Names: API Restoration
    Good Deal Plumbing
    Associated Professionals

  • Bk
      23rd of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    This guy had an add on craigslist so i call him for a job and i start working for him, the first two week he pay next two starting to talk bad to me. so when pay day came hi was any where to be found and his girlfriend is another theft. with him. he own me $1080 they press charges on me for asking for the money he own me i took him to the labor board but they could help me.
    so yes he is theft
    yes some one need to show this guy some respects.

  • Jk
      19th of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    This guy has burned a bunch of people. He doesn't list any "real" home or business address, so he is tough to track down. Ethan Abbot is total thief & a psycho to boot. Stay away from this guy!

  • Et
      29th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Here is some more info on this guy. He has done similar stuff to me where he yells on the phone and threatens to bring you to court and put liens on your house. I can't tell if the work he did was good or not.


    6700 W. 44th Ave, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033, United States
    I'm not sure what that address is but it was on his invoice.

    I am getting even more concerned about this guy. Here is the info I've been able to find on the internet about him:

    Ethan C. Abbott, 32, of Arvada, 2nd degree assault of a peace officer, obstruction of police, resisting arrest, May 16, 2009;
    http://www.skyhidailynews.com/article/20090519/NEWS/905199995/1007/NONE&parentprofile=1067


    http://www.complaints.com/2008/november/13/Ethan_Abbott_-_Thief_192680.htm
    "This man is a psychopath!!!"

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/ethan-abbott-a-good-handyman-c164171.html
    -newest comment written 9 days ago, ... "Hired to do some outdoor work and they stole a bunch of stuff out of my storage shed. When I confronted him over the phopne, he started screaming expletives and stated he was going to put a lien against my condo and that he had photographs of the "work" he had performed."

    http://www.merchantcircle.com/business/Good.Deal.Services.Lakewood.CO.303-667-8345
    "I have yet to hear of anyone he didn't steal from"

    from google (can't get to actual webpage):
    Phone: 720-495-6253 This man, Ethan Abbott is a criminal. He is a blackmailer, extortionist, and terrorist. He claims to have done work, and it is not complete. ...

    http://www.tvtalkshows.com/board/archive/index.php/t-125933.html
    Open letters written in 2007 from Ethan and his girlfriend complaining that it is not fair that Ethan is being sued for stealing. It says it is not fair because Ethan is Bipolar and has stomach problems among other things


    I've also identified many many different websites, phone numbers and addresses for this guy.
    303-380-8863
    720-495-6253
    970-308-4768
    303-380-8863
    303-977-1709
    303-997-1702
    303-997-1711
    303-997-1719
    303-977-1743
    303-997-1784
    303-977-1785
    303-997-1787
    303-667-8345
    1-866-302-HIRE
    1-866-302-4473
    1-866-632-HIRE
    1-866-632-4473
    1-866-87 FLOOR
    1-877-286-6902
    1-877-335-6630
    1-877-222-1331
    1-877-35 TRASH
    1-877-81 PAINT
    1-888-5WATER4


    http://www.conxerv.com/
    http://www.homesretailer.com/
    http://www.yourplumberindenver.com/
    http://www.totalwaterdamage.info/
    http://www.thebestinvestment.biz/
    http://www.reallyStateEtc.us
    http://www.flatrateplumbing.us/
    http://www.agoodhandyman.com/
    http://www.all-prohandyman.com/
    http://www.handyman4bid.com/
    http://www.303handyman.com/
    http://www.denverbailbonds.biz/
    http://www.antiquesindenver.com
    http://www.thedeadbeatlist.org/
    http://www.smokinjoesbar.com/ ??
    http://fixitplace.blogspot.com/
    http://www.denver.commonsenseplumbing.com/
    http://www.commonsenseplumbing.com/
    http://25dollarhandyman.com/
    http://187725handy.com/
    http://www.junkvehiclemoney.com/
    http://www.186687floor.com/
    http://www.dryout.us/
    http://www.atlantahandymanservices.com/
    http://www.bestpricedwaterheaters.com/
    http://www.oddjobz.com/detail.php?siteid=51
    www.ForHireInc.com
    List of more sites: http://www.agoodhandyman.com/index_files/Page876.htm
    360 sites owned by conxerv: http://www.domaintools.com/registrant-search/?all[]=ConXerv+LLC&none[]=

    Aalphabailbonds@yahoo.com
    yourservicesource@gmail.com
    Service@conxerv.com
    Ethan@ReallyStateEtc.us
    ethan@apiservice.us
    DebtorPost@TheDeadBeatList.org
    Connectserve@gmail.com

    Is this a bar he goes to or owns? It is referenced on several of his websites.
    Smokin Joes Bar and Grill
    4700 Kipling, Wheat Ridge

    5059 Ward Rd, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033 - advertised as cheap outside self storage with night watchmen and security dogs, also advertised as office space and storage for other contractors, 303-667-8345, looks like there is a house here along with office space and a lot of open storage. I can't tell if he owns (or lives there?) or someone else owns it, but he sees somehow related to this property


    5400 E.88th Ave, Henderson CO 80640 (looks like he lived here in 2003 2004 time frame, own by MURAWSKI AGNES who looks like a unlicensed electrician)
    Box 5472 Denver, Colorado 80217

    This is one of his business names that I could actually find as a registered Colorado business and it seems to be the on he uses the most I think he considers it an umbrella business for this other business names:

    ConXerv Inc, Delinquent January 1, 2006
    Registered Agent: Associated Professionals Inc
    Registered Agent Street Address: 6700 W. 44th Ave, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033, United States
    Formation Date: 11/12/2004

    Another Business:
    Name: Associated Professionals Inc, Delinquent January 1, 2008
    Registered Agent: e c Abbott
    Registered Agent Street Address: 6700 w 44th ave, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033, United States
    Formation Date: 10/25/2004

    Name: FOR HIRE ENTERPRISES PLUS INC., Delinquent December 1, 2007
    Name: Ethan Abbott Disability Trust Co, Delinquent December 1, 2005

    Denver court records:
    http://www.denvergov.org/apps/newcourt/court_select.aspx
    Enter in Ethan Abbott
    It looks like he as been sued 3 times (once under the spelling Eathan), but at least one has been unsuccessful. He was charged with aggravated motor vehicle theft (I could be wrong) can't tell if they convicted him of it or not, also has a record for driving without a valid license. Also has a record for criminal mischievous.


    http://www.tvtalkshows.com/board/archive/index.php/t-125933.html
    Open letters written in 2007 from Ethan and his girlfriend complaining that it is not fair that Ethan is being sued for stealing. It says it is not fair because Ethan is Bipolar and has stomach problems among other things

    He advertises heavily on Denver Craigslist

  • Et
      24th of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    I agree with all these complaints. I worked for this jerk for about 3 months doing his office duties. To this day he still owes me $1100. Even after taking him to court, and winning, I never got a dime out of him. I hope more people read this, and he gets no more business.

  • Fo
      10th of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    I have also had negative dealings with this jerk. I hired him (off Craigs) thinking I would throw the little guy some business. He brought in additional help who spent 80% of their time sitting in a hole waiting for him to return. Then charged me crazy amounts of labor. When I disputed the bill...same thing...threatened a lein...flipped out...actually scared me a bit. Then when we agreed on an amount(mostly just to get rid of him) he would not give me an invoice or receipt or anything. Have a feeling that I am not finished with him yet. Do not use this guy!!! I have yet to check if he lifted anything from the property. What a crook!!!

  • Si
      7th of Sep, 2010
    +1 Votes

    THIS GUY IS NOT TO BE TRUSTED AT ALL!! DO NOT CALL HIM FOR ANY WORK. ANYONE WHO'S BEEN SCREWED BY THIS GUY NEEDS TO CALL TOM MARTINO RIGHT AWAY. HE THREATENS TO TAKE EVERYONE TO COURT FOR HARRASSMENT ETC. BUT ON THE BUSINESS END OF IT, HE HIRES PEOPLE TO WORK UNDER THE TABLE AND THEN DOES NOT PAY THEM (I KNOW OF TWO FOR SURE). THEN HE TELLS THEM HE HAS THIER CHECK AND HOURS AND SAYS HE'LL MEET THEM TO GET IT, AND NEVER SHOWS UP. WHEN THEY ASK FOR WHAT HE OWES, HE THREATENS LIENS AND CHARGES. HE IS A THIEF AND LIAR!!! WE ALL NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS GUY!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT LET THIS THIEF AND LIAR IN YOUR HOUSE OR LIFE IF U VALUE ANYTHING U HAVE!!

  • Et
      18th of Feb, 2011
    +1 Votes

    Ethan Abbot is one of the craziest sociopathic liars/thieves I have ever met. I have rented space from this guy. He is a specialist in petty theft. He knows how to work the system, and will not stop until he's behind bars. He specializes in not paying people for work they do for him, stealing from your home while he's contracting there, overcharging on work he does at your house, animal abuse, and just lying and cheating any chance he gets. He's a rare bird, just hope you're lucky enough not to have this wingnut show up at your house when you call for someone to fix your drain or do work on your house!!!

  • He
      28th of Mar, 2011
    +1 Votes

    The wingnut gypsy is at it again. Now he's working under:
    XPert Property Services
    720-675-8621
    His plumbing license has been revoked "Ethan C. Abbott". The guy is so shameless he states on his site that he donates 10% of his proceeds to charity!
    Also:
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/XPert-Property-Services/154268097919951
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Colorado-Water-Damage-Xperts/101190859956155
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Colorado-Snow-Removal-Xperts/142716882452920
    Get revenge. Wreak havoc with him by sending him to bid on jobs in the burbs to non-existent locations!

  • Mg
      1st of May, 2011
    -1 Votes

    I have known Ethan for 20+ years and he stands by his principals and does his best to give back to the community. He is a hard working young that takes pride in his workmanship. He has done many jobs for me and my family and friends and we have nothing but good things to say about his fairness and quality of work. He is honest to a fault. Sometimes not charging us what he should have for the time he put in. I would not hesitate to trust him in my home. As far as i can tell he has never been convicted of the above mentioned offenses. If he had done these things why has nobody contacted the police and pressed charges. He would no longer be doing this type of work if he was half as bad as you say he is. People are posting here because they can hide behind the site and dont have to have any proof. Sincerily, Marebel Glass Golden Colorado

  • Sc
      17th of Nov, 2011
    +2 Votes

    oh my gosh..We feel so violated... We hired Ethan to do some plumbing work at our home. We left for half an hour and upon our return, Ethan had left the back door was wide open though I had locked it half of my daughters underwear drawer was near empty, all my prescriptions are gone, and most of our tools from our garage went missing...When we contacted the police...they said that there was nothing they could do sense we didn't see him do it... the address he gave us was to some storage lot on ward rd

    Isn't there anything that anyone can do about this creepo

  • Je
      29th of Nov, 2011
    +1 Votes

    I personally worked for Ethan for about 4 months in 2006ish. Took him to court for 4500. I won the case and yet to see a penny. He was too much of a coward to show up at court. I had papers showing every hour I worked. He also stole about 250 worth of my tools. Threatened to call the cops if I stepped foot on his property. Cops showed up and did nothing. So I had to leave the property. I took him to court under his name and not the name of the company because he is notorious for dropping companies and getting another name for one. He hires unskilled labor to do everything. And then does not pay them. He is one of the biggest crooks I have ever met... and to the person that said they have known him 20+ years. That's probably him covering his own tail. I would HIGHLY reccomend not having anything to do with him.

  • Bb
      1st of Dec, 2011
    +1 Votes

    Try contacting this guy...Harl Leon Hargett at 2080 Braun Dr., Golden, CO 80401.

    He is the Registered Agent for the Businesses associated with Ethan Abbott.

  • Ho
      23rd of Dec, 2011
    0 Votes

    Ethan C Abbott, he's calling himself the "Street Scholar" now. I can assure you he came from the gutter, aka Ec Abbotts. He's currently got 11 ads on craigslist at the number 720-675-8621.
    Here's the latest on the gypsy wingnut. He's expanded heavily into Facebook and Twitter, not just Craigslist.
    $79 Drain Cleaning in Denver - A Service Of Drains 911 llc
    XPert Property Services llc
    The Plumber llc
    Water Damage Xperts - An Xpert Property Services llc Service
    ... Colorado Heating and Air Xperts - A Service of Xpert Property Services llc
    Colorado Tree and Bush Xperts - An Xpert Property Services llc Service
    $25 Handyman by Xpert Property Services llc
    970 Snow Services by Xpert Property Services llc
    Ground Works - Dirt Moving - An Xpert Property Service llc
    Watch Out:
    http://twitter.com/themrfixit
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Xpert-Property-Services-Firescapeing-101/152581734804199
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Westminster-Xpert-Property-Services/178805572169892
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Water-Damage-Xperts-An-Xpert-Property-Services-llc-Service/126242740776489


    Keywords: Scam Artist, Grifter, Psychotic, Gypsy, Con Artist, Cons, Scams, Borderline Personality Disorder, Thief

  • Ch
      7th of Feb, 2012
    0 Votes

    Rented storage space off of this nut job pulled my stuff out before the first moth was up called him to tell him to keep my deposit than he went ballistic could not get a word in edge wise like talking to a 8 year old! believe all of the negative comments on this guy they are all true and with that many complaints why would anyone in there right mind deal with him. I think his mother must have wrote the only positive thing about him! He is also doing drive beys at my personal residence which is making me a little nervous reported it to the police! STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS NUT JOB!!!

  • Gr
      7th of Nov, 2012
    0 Votes

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAM ARTIST! He came to our home when we had a major plumbing leak late one night. Such a smooth talker, we fell right into his trap of lies and scams. He needed pay from us to order part and to ensure we would not hire someone else after he took the time to come out. Never returned, then when we tried to call we were avoided, hung up on, you name it. He actually did more damage to the pipe when "pretending to fix it", so it not only cost us the money we STUPIDLY paid him, but a lot more to fix his damage. He will take your money and avoid you like the plague afterwards. If you ever do happen to actually reach him after he takes off with your money, he will scream, yell expletives, and threaten you to the point where you want nothing to do with the psycho. He also gets advertising all over the place, but never pays the bill. DO NOT CALL THIS SCAMMER AND DO NOT FRONT HIM ANY ADVERTISING. I sure feel stupid that I let him take our money - we were desperate and thankful someone came out at 10pm, . So very unlike us, and STUPID of us. STAY AWAY FROM THIS MAN OR ANY BUSINESS HE CLAIMS TO OWN

  • So
      13th of Nov, 2012
    0 Votes

    This man came to my neighbors house to repair a sewer line and dug a trench 14 inches from a 35 foot box elder tree, completely severing the root ball. 4 days later the tree fell, knocking down my 6' wood privacy fence, demolishing my wood shed, and knocking out my cable lines. He emailed me that he would fix everything, but will not return phone calls and has been a no show for repairs. When Katie his receptionist answers the phone at The Plumber (970-599-1147) she says their company names are drains 911, xpert property services, The plumbing pro, Clear Water plumbing and Rocky Mountain Plumbing pros. If you get a message it directs you to another company name and number of 720-515-2564, which directs you to another company at 720-675-8621. This guy (who didn't leave a name) called my phone number and left a message screaming into my phone that if I didn't stop calling his company he would call the police. He is shady, dishonest, unlicensed-and very hard to get a hold of!!!
    He has an add on Craigslist right now that says they will perform services for free or for whatever you can afford on 11/14/12 as a way to help people in these tough economic times. I feel sorry for the people he is going to "help" they might get alot more than they bargained for!!! Please- do not hire this man or company- and if you meet him in person make sure there is someone with you, take a picture of his vehicle and license plate. Cover your bases- or better yet steer clear of him- do not pay any amount up front, REAL Companies will never ask you to pay anything before the job is finished.

  • Wy
      12th of Feb, 2013
    0 Votes

    I am so glad this guy blew me off to clean my main line...here is my story that i was posting on craigslist warning them about him...

    Be careful who you hire through here! I saw their ad for $79 for main line cleaning. Went thru the web site and saw there wasn't a charge for toilet removal and putting it back. Called them Saturday and they were too busy that day. made an appointment for Sunday morning with a two hour window. Was up early and waiting, saw I had a note on my facebook to call them. Found out the truck supposedly broke down because the driver used water instead of antifreeze and a hose blew or something.

    They said my phone line was "busy" every time they called but i had no trouble reaching them at 9 AM. So I waited and waited and kept messaging them through their web site and called and called and NOTHING!

    They went on their Facebook page, deleted half of my messages asking where they were and gave the lame excuse my line was busy thats why they never showed up. I think as they were late and had other appointments so they thought frack me they will just go to the next appt as not to piss anyone else off...I guess you get what you pay for. Here is their web page and contact info.

    Prompt Professional Experienced Service I didn't see any of that today


    Budget Priced Drain Cleaning- By True Pro - FREE 2nd Opinions (Denver metro)
    720-515-CLOG (2564)
    https://www.facebook.com/denverdrainpros
    20+ yrs exp
    Prompt Professional Experienced Service
    720-515-2564
    Credit Cards Welcome
    $79 Drain Cleaning
    $75 Sewer Scopes

    Here is his response:

    Maybe if You had a clue and an actual job you would not have the time to harass us for not coming out when every time we called you line was busy? Why would we drive to your home without calling when we were headed that way? You need to figure out that we tried repeatedly to reach you and take care of your service request - But we told you that we needed a phone number that you could be reached at - and you failed to provide a number that we could reach you - If you continue your behavior - we will take necessary legal action to protect our interests... Sorry you think we should just drive over there when NO ONE here could get ahold of you... Good Luck - and stop with the nonsense...

Post your comment