The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Dr. Richard Levin / Dishonest and Either Incompetent or Lazy!!

1 Louisville, KY, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Please save yourself the heartache and financial loss of dealing with this Dr. There is a reason he doesn't deal with private insurance at all, doesn't issue any kind of itemized bill, and pays the hospital for their fees "under the table". The hospital was atrocious - stains all over the carpet, wires hanging out of the wall where a clock would normally have been, wallpaper peeling off the wall, the scale fell apart while I was getting on it. One positive note- the hospital staff and anesthesiologist were great. The worst part was probably when my husband showed me the photo of the surgery schedule screen after my failed procedure. Dr. Levin had told my husband and I before we paid him that my procedure would take 2 1/2 to 3 hours due to the pelvic scarring/adhesions I had sent him records on and told him about. He had multiple other patients scheduled back to back beginning ONE HOUR after my surgery start time- which clearly shows he never intended to successfully complete my procedure unless it was "easy". Dr. Richard Levin is a smooth talker with used car salesman schmoozing skills- but beware of using this man for your tubal reversal if you've had any previous C-sections or surgeries that might cause adhesions or if you aren't 100% sure that your procedure will be a simple, easy one. His operation is a "reversal mill." My surgeon here was shocked after reading Dr. Levin's operative report and said he's not sure if it's incompetence or outright fraud- but that it's wrong, whichever it is.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Li
      22nd of Feb, 2012
    0 Votes

    I know this lady and she is telling a big story. She failed at her surgery because she was 40 pounds fatter than she told the doctor she would be and thatr made her bad insides even harder to deal with. The doctor works hard to make these cases work and he has worked many miracles. She needs to learn to own her own issues and stop ragging on such a wonderful doctor.

  • Ky
      26th of May, 2012
    +2 Votes

    Wow. That doesn't sound like the same doctor or hospital I went to! I had my surgery in 1999. I went with a friend who had hers later that same year. I also went with my daughter-in-law who had her reversal this year. Each time, Dr. Levin, his staff, and everyone at the hospital was professional, courteous, and caring. Dr. Levin is also very honest about telling you exactly what happened in the surgery and what your chances are for a successful outcome. Until he actually opens you up, he can only tell you his opinion based on what your doctor who did your tubal reported, and that is not always accurate. I obviously wasn't there when the above woman was, but I find it very unlikely that Dr. Levin would overschedule. My guess is that the person who was scheduled after her was actually scheduled to begin the pre-op stuff, not her actual surgery. (BTW, I have 4 children who would not be here if it hadn't been for Dr. Levin. I gave birth to my last child when I was almost 46. Dr. Levin clearly knows what he is doing.)

  • Cy
      25th of Mar, 2014
    +1 Votes

    This is so wrong. I just had my tubal reversal done March 24, 2014. I am two days after my tubal and I am in excruciating pain due to me bleeding more then usual, because the doctor that did my tubal ligation did a horrible job. However, when we arrived at the Fair Field Inn in Louisville, they are the most kindest, caring people you would ever meet in your life. They go above and beyond to help you with whatever you need. When you arrive at the hospital, the staff there that preps you before surgery are very friendly and kind hearted. The anesthesiologist are amazing. Dr. Levin and his nurse that has been with him 37 years, are beyond kind! There isn't words to explain how nice they are. He is an amazing doctor and she's an excellent nurse. Even with the little complications I had, he did an amazing job. I don't agree with what people say bad about him or his nurse. There is a reason he is the best in the country. You don't like him cause you lied to him. One thing you never do is lie to your doctor or lawyer! Thank you Dr. Levin and Vanneesa! Sincerely, Cynthia Hill and Brandon Reed

  • Fr
      25th of Apr, 2014
    0 Votes

    I had my reversal done on March 6, 2014 and I would not have picked anyone else in the world to do it but Dr Levin!! He is thorough and very knowledgeable, his staff and the hospital staff are professional and very pleasant. Whatever this woman's problem is it's definitely not what I experienced

  • Ka
      9th of Jul, 2014
    +1 Votes

    Dr levin did my surgery in feb 2014. The hospital and staff were actually the best I have experienced, I have been to multiple hospitals and doctors throughout the country; Arizona, Maine, Vermont, Georgia, New York, etc. At no time was i ever dissatisfied with any of the services, in fact I was really amazed at how good the services were since we really had all ready paid and had only had the chance to do internet research and that can be a little iffy. I felt, and so did my husband that everyone really went above and beyond for us both professionally and then also for those little things that you might want/need when you are away from home-both the medical staff as well as the hotel staff were awesome i would definitely recommend dr levin to anyone who is seeking to have a tubal reversal done

  • Lo
      30th of Dec, 2014
    +1 Votes

    I had my reversal performed by Dr. Levin in 2004. I was 38, and like her, overweight and had many previous surgeries. It took me 5 years to get pregnant, through no fault of Dr. Levin's...but he stayed in touch the entire time and without his help and encouragement it wouldn't have happened. My tubes had been burnt during the TL and Dr. Levin didn't have much left to sew together. Other doctors wouldn't touch me due to age, overweight, other health issues, etc. But Dr. Levin not only fixed my tubes, he gave me the best surgical experience I've ever had, and I've had many! I love this doctor and will always respect him, his staff, and loved the hospital too.

  • Je
      5th of Jan, 2015
    0 Votes

    The most dedicated Dr I have ever met. Had my reversal in the hospital with stellar service and clean. I have a lethal anesthesia allergy and this hospital (directed by Levin) provided the safest and most expensive alternatives for anesthesia. Dr Levin covered all the added expenses and never asked for an extra dime.
    Prior to choosing Levin, I interviewed every specialist in Oregon and they all quoted me 12-14, 000 for a standard surgery - no follow up care, no hospital fees included, no fertility treatment if needed. Most said they wouldn't try it because my tubes were both cut and burnt for over ten years.
    I had also had a
    Previous c-section didn't cause a problem for the successful surgery. I got pregnant the first try. I miscarried and my local Dr said my tubes were 100% blocked and I would
    Never conceive naturally. I sent the X-rays to
    Levin and he offered to see me in his office that same day free of charge. I asked if there was any chance to fix my tubes if they were really closed and he said he would provide his services free but there may be a hospital fees. This guy is not out for some ladies money. He read my X-rays and assured me the test was wrong. He encouraged me to try for a few more months before flying out to see him. We got our miracle rainbow baby just a month later.

  • Lu
      24th of Jan, 2015
    +1 Votes

    Dr. Levin is a good surgeon but doesn't provide the follow up care he says he will. He is more responsive prior to the surgery. If all you want his the surgery from him then good but follow up, he sucks at. He is short and doesn't follow through with providing the care that he guarantees. He is not versed on everything as he professes to be. Sorry for me it was a waste and he can careless how heartbroken you are at the end.

  • Am
      23rd of Feb, 2015
    +1 Votes

    Had my reversal in 2013 everything was great till I got pregnant 1 year later and because I was going through a miscarriage and seen another physician he canceled me as a patient. He does not give the follow up care he promises. His staff & him very rude about the whole situation.

  • Il
      12th of Jul, 2015
    +1 Votes

    I had my reversal last 2008, and here's the outcome, we had a cute little boy, turning five this coming October

  • La
      4th of Apr, 2016
    0 Votes

    He is a Doctor, a human being not a miracle worker. Everything and every procedure will not be perfect.

  • Je
      19th of Oct, 2016
    0 Votes

    I had my tubal done in January 2008 and I have no complaints. The hospital was clean and looked like a normal hospital no complaints. Dr Levin was amazing and warm hearted. I DON'T regret choosing him to preform my reversal I am blessed with 2 more babies. He is no miracle worker I believe the upset patients are most likely the ones who couldn't conceive. It toke 8 months after my procedure to get pregnant but I changed my eating habits and exercise regimen. I always recommend Dr Levin when I meet someone who is interested in having a reversal. My 1st was born in 2009 and my 2nd 2015.

  • Gv
      27th of Oct, 2016
    0 Votes

    I just had my reversal done today October 27 2016 by
    DR.LEVIN. He will be coming to see me tomorrow, but I just have to say, since I arrived I've been treated with respect and cared for. The attention is wonderful and tge hospital staff was very sweet, loving and caring throughout the whole process. DR.LEVIN explained everything very well.

  • Cc
      18th of Jan, 2017
    0 Votes

    @gvs!!! Do you have a phone number so I can contact him? The one on the website doesn't work anymore. Please, email me at ccole0609@yahoo.com

  • Ls
      20th of Feb, 2017
    +1 Votes

    @ccole0609 502-584-7877

  • Bm
      16th of Nov, 2016
    +1 Votes

    I'm in total shock at the negative comments left about Dr Levin. I had my reversal done in April 2010, my tubes had to really be stretched because they were burnt and clipped. We had to wait 6 wks before trying, we started immediately after our wait was up. I was pregnant 6 months later. Dr Levin ordered my blood work every wk for several wks. I started spotting and my levels were not doubling. Dr Levin said I may be at risk of miscarriage, and said he was going to prescribe me a medication he wanted me to start on ASAP (can't remember the name) I did as he said. He kept ordering my blood work, my levels started going up, and my bleeding stopped. We had a healthy baby girl Sept, 2011. Dr Levin was never rude, short, or uncaring towards me, Linda was always very nice, and prompt on getting back with me. I will forever be grateful for Dr Levin and his staff.

  • Sa
      22nd of Jan, 2017
    0 Votes

    Can someone tell me an estimated cost?

  • Ls
      20th of Feb, 2017
    0 Votes

    @sarahmiller36 6200-7200 depending on weight and I am going to schedule appt on thurs 2/23/17 my email is masonstark86@gmail.com if yu wanna talk further

  • Ye
      31st of Jan, 2017
    +1 Votes

    I am shocked to hear this complaint. it is so untrue and false! I don't know how human can do this...
    Dr.Levin is the Doctor of the Universe. He is not just a Doctor - He is Miracle Doctor. Whoever wrote the complain shouldn't do this. After 15 years of not having any signal pregnancy, doctor Levin did miracle and we had our first son in 1998 and second son in 2000. I do thank God every day for the moment he gave me when I met Dr. Levin.
    Dr, Levin is the hero and we take our hats off to show our recognition to him.
    Yelena, Alex, Michael and Jacob

  • Sy
      28th of Jun, 2017
    0 Votes

    I'm looking to get my tubal reversal done this year in late August early September 2017. I had my TL done in 2010. Had gallbladder removed 2016. I'm very interested in everything as to how long it takes every to conceive, any complications good news and bad. I have had my tubes burned. Do I'm looking for any advice for me that will help. I'm looking forward to meeting Dr. Levin and his staff. I'm very open to advice and knowledge from everyone. Thank you smithsylvia816@gmail.com

  • Te
      9th of May, 2018
    -1 Votes

    I am not sure how ppl can say that others experiences are lies or false. I just had my reversal done last month, I would not recommend Dr. Levin to anyone. He was very rude, I read previous reviews about his bed side manner and ignored it. Prior to surgery he told me I wld Be good with a bikini incision and then changed it the day of, to a mid line cut and stated that I can either take it or go home and cancel everything. I asked him long before I cld drive, only bc my husband and I Cldnt recall what the paper said and were debating, Dr Levin rudely responded that he can already tell that I’m going to be a horrible patient and this is going to be a bad case! I might as well call the surgery off. That was easy to say once after we had already paid, and paid for flights and took leaves from work so we proceeded. I had several questions after the surgery because the wound has become infected. I sent 9 emails from my gmail, but for some reason one of his responses he sent to another email that I contacted his office on months ago, so I let him know that I didn’t receive his last response, his response was...I’m never emailing you again. I’m upset all over again by the way This man has treated me. I’m starting to think he may be experiencing a decline in mental health, he is a lot older than the pic he has on his website. I wish that I wld have listened to the other reviews!! I have attached pics and also other reviews, and after reading these comments and more. He did a horrible job with my incision he was over booked the day of. I have posted pics of the email, and others reviews. I can also post pics of the incision the day of surgery.

  • Ve
      10th of Aug, 2018
    0 Votes

    @Teena Geefive This is scary as i was thinking about scheduling a consultation.

Post your comment