The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Comet / Poor Repair Service

1 Dunfermline, Scotland, Fife, United Kingdom Review updated:

Getting really angry right now,
I used to work for Comet a few years back and while i was there I bought a 32inch panasonic TV with a 5 year cover, on the 8th of aug it went broke down making it unusable, called the comet repair line and they said someone will be out to in within 5days.
so i thought fair enough atleast someone will come fix it.
the guy came out and messed about with it and said oh i need to order a part we'll be back out a week today, fine i thought.

6days later I get a call "oh we cant order that part anymore, someone will be out a week today to remove the fault part for repair"
and they did!
after countless phone calls complaining and such I got a phone call saying no we wont replace the TV and its still going to be another 10days till we repair it.
so thats going to be jsut about 2months.

When i worked in the shop a few years ago non of this stuff was going on, we always made sure that everything went though fast i think the max time i seen for a repair was 12days, there is no way im going to buy anything from comet again in my life

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Tu
      1st of Aug, 2009

    Myself and my husband went into the store 30/7/09 for a digital camera of which I explained to the sales assistant that I would need to purchase on that day as I was 2 days over due in my pregnancy and hadn't time to wait for one. The camera I wanted was a W215 sony cybershot, after about an hour of being in the shop I was still waiting for the shop assistant to find the box, I had to leave to attend my midwife appointment as I was already extremely pushed for time and asked the man on the desk firstly if he worked there, he replied yes to which I explained my situation and the fact that I would be back for the camera and was that ok as it was the last one, an agreement was made and I left to attend my appointment. Upon returning to the shop, please note that I tried to call the store to double check everything was still ok to no avail, I just got put on hold twice in a call centre que as no direct number could be found for the Boston store so I travelled 10 miles to the store for the second time, upon arrival the assisstants I delt with weren't there, the manager - David who was there at the time was there but denied all knowledge of the situation when we realised he had sold the last one that I had asked for, we then asked if he could offer a similar product for the same price to which he replied 'NO' 'we don't reserve products for customers, it's not my fault you left the store, he was coming down the stairs with the box as you left and the man you spoke to on the desk works in our warehouse'. Firstly, does this or does this not imply that he was lying about not knowing anything about it and seconly I should have been told this before leaving as the manager was still on the shop floor, he was behind the desk so what else am I to assume? This situation would fustrate anyone, he was also extremely abrupt. Bearing in mind the fact that I am heavily pregnant he showed absolutely no compassion or understanding as to why the camera was so important nor did he try to rectify the situation. I am absolutely appauled with the way I have been treated and after leaving the shop in tears after the way I was treated, I will not be taking my business to any of your stores again and think you should seriously revise the type of people you have working at your stores. I run a business myself and would never dream of speaking to a customer in the way I was spoken to!
    I would appreciate a reply

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      11th of Aug, 2009

    Our fridge broke down on the 29/7/09 and was told it would be 5 days before an engineer would attend then he said he neede to order a part that has not arrived yet now been without a fridge for 2 weeks without any appoigies

    0 Votes
  • Su
      20th of Oct, 2009

    I picked up and installed a new washing machine to replace the faulty machine which had in turn replaced the previous faulty machine. It worked for two days. On this occassion I have been without a working washing machine for over four weeks. I have explained to comet that i am a single parent with four children. My eldest daughter is disabled and wheelchair bound but more importantly doubly incontinent. Every time one of the machines has broken down it has taken 4-6 weeks to try to repair the fault before they replace. I am exhauseted.
    The engineer is due to call out on thursday. I do not expect it to be repaired on that day. I have asked for a refund but told no as this is at the discretion of the service centre. I asked to return the machine to the shop and get another one. Again no. I quoted the sale of goods act to them but they seem to be the only company the law does not apply to - what am i to do now? I am exhausted and have spent a fortune on phone calls, time off work and the stress is unbelievable.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      29th of Dec, 2009

    One word for Comet really and thats totally incompetant with Monkeys for enginers who have no idea of wha they are doing. To top all that its true of course that if you pay peanuts you get monkeys but im sure that those that lead these gibbons must just sit in the trees all day pick their ### and scoff bananas...sounds somewhat familiar to the after service i have just received and all they needed to so was change over a kitchen hob. Rocket science? Must have been it took three visits, thick as F..k.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      27th of Feb, 2010

    We bought a TV on 22/01/2005 and bought the 4 + 1 insurance to stay covered until 22/01/2010. The TV has just stopped working today (27/02/1020) and now I can't make a claim to have it fixed. 1 month after the expiry it breaks? That must be rigged somehow!
    :(

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      22nd of Jul, 2010
    Comet - laptop
    comet
    England, Buckinghamshire
    United Kingdom

    got a laptop out of comet 2 years ago.when it was 7 mths old it started to play up .2 years down the line it been fix 4 times now.got it back yesterday.and they have broke it again.so it got to be fix again.all l've wanted was for them to give me a new laptop.but no .they will never give me a new laptop.they will keep fixing it.when now it them that braking it.there a joke.never bye for comet.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      22nd of Jul, 2010
    Comet - comet
    comet
    Milton Keynes
    England, Buckinghamshire
    United Kingdom

    are all comet staff who work at the customer help desk.trained up to be complete ### holes.because the one called keith who works at the rooksley branch in milton keynes is the biggest one i have ever met.he thinks he can repair anything if he was that good he would be an engineer and that he aint.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      28th of Nov, 2010

    i am currently involved with an ongoing saga with comet service. A kef surround sound system was took in for repair on the 5 of october 2010, we are entering our 8th week and its still in their repair shop, having had 3 new parts fitted and still no joy.We keep phoning and feel we are getting fobbed off .comet service is a absolute joke

    0 Votes
  • Tu
      31st of Jan, 2011

    I bought an Acer laptop and 30 days later a key dropped off. I saw that this had already been repaired before (just glued back in). Getting suspicious, I checked the box and found that there was another broken seal under the one that I opened. Obviously, I had a reconditioned (badly) laptop although I paid for a new one. Comet did not want to know. They said they would repair it, but I wanted and paid for a brand new one. I didn't want a repaired again second hand one. They refused to do anything but send it off for repair. Comet, never, ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      16th of Feb, 2011

    One word for comet - unbelievable! I bought a Toshiba TV for £360 two years ago, had a 3 year extended warranty with it for £90. It suddenly stopped working, and an engineer was sent out to fix it. The TV had smoke pouring out of it by the time he had finished 'fixing' it! He unplugged it, took the back of then switched it back on! Said it was fine now as there was no longer any smoke and left. 1/2 hour later the TV letout a horrendous stench, went bang and lost picture!!! Made a complaint, agreed for senior engineer to come out this week, then I got the same engineer calling me on the Monday to say the TV will be replaced. Then to add insult to injury, I get a call today offering me a Samsung TV (similar spec) that according to their website is worth £250!!! Never again will I shop with Comet.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      9th of Mar, 2011

    i got a samsung tv from comet the screen got broken the repair man come and see the tv took the back of then left the tv on the floor with glass evrywere i have to little girls.so i phone a shop to come out and remove the broken screen as was un safe and now there saying im not getting a new tv i paid for 5 years warrenty aswell so iv lost all the money.there is only one place im going with this and that is to court they still have my tv and i got a letter saying its been approved and a recorded phone call saying it will be repaired today well i phone them up today and they said no its not going to be repaired.stay away from comet there only want your money

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      9th of Mar, 2011

    comet wont give money back for insurance i paid for as they would not fix my tv they also said i was coverd no matter what happends.well thats a lie.they have had my tv now at there servis center for 1 month and its not being repared.iv got a letter from them stating it will be fixed and i have recorded phone calls from oncall saying its repaired well thats a lie i phoned them and they said there going to send the tv back to me un repaired with no tv screen rip off comet
    like i say wot goes around comes around.they are dirty scamming c***ts stay away they have broken evry law im taking this matter to court now and im going to claim alot more than just the tv as iv taken time of work made loads of calls to them and sent loads of letters
    and iv even spoke with aig theere insureance underwriters.its not looking good for them.and if my tv is not back my end of this month im going to call the police and tell them oncall have stolen my tv as iv hard nothink from them we can all play there dirty games

    0 Votes
  • Br
      24th of Mar, 2011

    You say Comet is breaking your laptop? Is this a lie - is this you breaking your own laptop so you can replace it with a newer model? Its people like you who make Comet act like they do !! grow up, and buy a new laptop !!

    0 Votes
  • Br
      24th of Mar, 2011

    Customer help desk staff have been trained to deal with any problem put towards them. Most off the time the customers who are reurning 'Broken' items have not cleaned then properly or have 'broke' them themselves. So to answer your question, yes they are [censor]s, but they are better than you and are better trained at that job, than you !

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      21st of Apr, 2011
    Comet - Atrocious service for fixing TV fault
    Comet
    England, Kent
    United Kingdom

    Have had our Samsung television less than 3 years. Bought online, then on the 2nd April it just went off.

    Looked online and spoke to Comet, paid them £125, and awaited a visit on the 5th April, they visited and told us the powerboard needed replaced. Part ordered and due for repair on 14th April. Right box, wrong part. Part re-ordered for repair on 21st April. Once again right box, wrong part. After a heated discussion, they agreed to have a look elsewhere for the part and would get it installed within 24 hours. Phone call at 1600, to say a part had been delivered but cant be fitted until 27th April. I asked if they had checked the part, and they said no, they would do that on Wednesday. I called the Comet helpline, who then got back in touch with the service dept to check the part, so at present I am waiting on a call back AGAIN!!...

    I think they have a group of untrained chimpanzees working in services dept at Comet. Its absolutely rubbish.

    Dont ever rely on Comet to fix your TV, you will be waiting a long, long time.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      9th of Jun, 2011
    Comet - hotpoint washing machine
    comet
    clifton moor, york
    york
    United Kingdom

    i bought a hotpont washing maching from them and reported it faulty within 24 hours. they first insisted it had to be repaired but after a heated argument they agreed to deliver a new one. the delivery drivers then ripped my kitchen flooring. this has been going on since march 2011 and its now june and we are only now getting an offer from their insurance company for the floor and they are saying we have to pay towards it as the floor wasnt new. i tried to get help from comets managing director but he coulnt care less and was told by a person in his office that as it had gone to the insurance company, they would not get involved further. this has been the most annying frustrating experience of my life and i wouldnt use this company again if my life depended on it. in the end, they damaged my floor so why the hell should i have to pay a single penny towards getting it replaced. we are not trying to rip them off. we even got someone round to inspect the floor and make out a full insurance quote to show we were being upfront. didnt make any difference.

    if i can offer one piece of advice to anyone thinking of making a purchase...DONT USE COMET, THEY ARE USELESS AND COUNDT CARE LESS ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      23rd of Jun, 2011
    Comet - lap repairs service
    COMET
    KEIGHLEY
    England, North Yorkshire
    United Kingdom

    i bought a laptop which from day one was faulty and over a period of year it had be sent back several times to the point i had to replace the laptop and bought a new one for my daughter has it was necessary for school work, i finally sent it back for the last time after several returns of being unfixed they said it wasn't fixable and they would compensate me the money i paid for it, so i was expecting a cheque of the amount only to find out after many visits and calls that i would be offered 2 laptops that i could choose from and having explained to them the above reason that i no longer required a laptop as i had replaced it as it has took to long to resolve the problem so when the insurance told me i had to go to the shop i bought it from to choose they was rude and the issues i have had with them and top of that having to travel a 16 mile journey every time and being disabled has made it more difficult for me and the managers response to that was your health and how you get here is not there problem and told me i couldn't go for anything else from the shop and by the time i left i was so distressed and in alot of pain so i am now left with no information how to resolve this issue and feel i have been conned and left with no paper work or details how to resolve this and what i can do about it

    0 Votes
  • Tw
      23rd of Jun, 2011

    You could try contacting trading standards and see where you stand. I think you might find that the insurance policy will only cover a replacement laptop and not a cash equivelent but take some advice to see where you stand.

    0 Votes
  • Em
      27th of Mar, 2012
    Comet - repair
    comet
    England, North Yorkshire
    United Kingdom

    Washing machine broke down on 2nd march engineer came on 7 th march had to order parts, comet said they would be here following week and and engineer would be here on the 14thmarch, what a lie i keep being fobbed off every week that the parts will be here i phone every week i have been told they would be here today 27th but what a suprise they are not i phoned yet again to be fobbed off and telling me they may arrive by 2nd April, i was told that after 28 days which will be this friday 30th march i be be issued with a new washing machine, but they sre saying this is not right.WHAT ARE MY RIGHTS

    0 Votes
  • Ct
      5th of Apr, 2012

    well i have had same problem been going on since 31st january 2012, been out 3 times wrong parts also found comet very unhelpful, brought my warranty when purchased the machine, was told nothing can be done my machine was finaly fixed yesterday 4th april 2012, its a disgrace would never buy anything from them again .mrs c turner

    0 Votes

Post your comment