SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Axe Body Wash For MenInappropriate

1 Review updated:

The commercial for Axe body wash for men is completely inapproriate. It talks about men washing their balls. Yes they do use balls such as soccer and golf balls but anyone with half a brain can tell thats not what they are talking about. I do not believe its appropriate for tv.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Na
      Sep 08, 2010

    lighten the hell up

    +1 Votes
  • Na
      Sep 08, 2010

    ha..i just saw it..i laughed so hard and now i want my balls that clean

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 09, 2010

    Get over yourself...lighten up...ashamed of her sexuality...move to Utah...maybe you should
    GROW UP!
    In this world of de-moralized and spineless zombies who will follow the trend or turn of whatever is put in front of their face, a point that requires some moral individuals with backbones step to the plate and stand for what is good, pure, honest, and respectable . Only a complete ### would think sexual content in any format is humorous for children to view. We certainly are all aware of the fact that children watch T.V.. The insertion of some sort of sexual twist to draw attention to a products in marketing campaign is reprehensible and enough is enough.
    These types of commercial campaigns mark the decline of mature individuals in the workplace and the simply places adolescents (those having gone through puberty but not reaching full maturity) in charge of selling a product with full adult responsibilities. Adolescents are generally known for wanting their own way, thinking they know everything, and not wanting any accountability.

    The professionals in our markets do however have a responsibility and are held accountable by those who have a backbone to stand up and say no more.

    CLEAN UP YOUR OWN ACT AXE!

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 09, 2010

    Doubt they have ever seen who signs their paycheck...

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 09, 2010

    "The Real World" I wasn't aware there was more than one ?

    I understand the me and my four...the rest of them can look out for themselves.

    And the fact that my kids know right from wrong; some kids get great parents.

    Sadly, every day I meet a lot who don't and definitely need someone to care. So, I care. So shoot me down if it floats your boat. That will not change my mind and you are entitled to your opinion.

    +3 Votes
  • Sh
      Sep 09, 2010

    Yes, actually I am actively involved in our community to promote awarness concerning the moral dacay of out nation. And as for my vote I research the candidates and vote as an informed person not following a group like cattle. Wehave done without many extra's in order to provide our children a private Christian education while paying ever rising taxes for a public school system we never receive any benefit from. So not only am I concerned with what my childeren are learning, which is none of the things you supposed, I actively step out of a comfort zone and put action to my words.

    +3 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    The commercial is being shown at 7:15 pm and is being viewed by my children 8 & 11. First off, the commercial is completely inappropriate, especially for broadcast television and especially for that timeslot which is viewable by children. What happened to the time when adult-themed programming was reserved for the 10:00 pm slot? Do decency boundaries exist anymore or have we finally reached the point of societal devolution where impulsive behavior based upon immediate and short-term gratification overrides self control necessary for the long-term preservation of society as a whole?

    Lighten up? No children, grow up.

    +1 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    Brenda:

    Are you saying that my kids should not be allowed to watch TV within a time-slot historically referred to as the "family" slot? If the networks want to show this type of material beginning at a set time, say 10:00 pm, and run it through another set time, say 5:00 am, I am okay with it as I can regulate my childrens' viewing habits. However, to show material which is completely inappropriate at times when kids typically watch tv is not okay.

    Does this make sense?

    +1 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    Aszure:

    Sorry, I intended to address my last response to you, not Brenda.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    Brenda:

    I'll bite.

    The cohesiveness of a society is based upon the establishment and maintenance of social boundaries. Without boundaries (rules & regulations), the ID-based uncontrollable wants and desires of the individual will soon come into conflict with the well-being of society as a whole. An example of this incompatibility includes an individual who choses to increase his wealth position using unethical means such as thievery (via a gun or via Wall Street) or through the sale of narcotics. Society is hurt by these actions as the individual prospers.

    Of course you are thinking what does drug sales and thievery have to do with a commercial that some (including myself) find somewhat humorous? The common thread is once again boundaries and society's willingness to maintain a standard of appropriate behavior. Our boundaries continue to errode and eventually the wants and needs of the individual will supercede that of society. At that point, society as we know (knew?) it will be gone.

    Is this realistic? I can not say for certain that moral decay will be the downfall of the United States as I am not a sociologist. However, history does tend to repeat itself and keeping that in mind, I encourage you to research the fall of the Roman Empire.

    Best regards.

    +1 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    Aszure:

    First off, I want to say I agree with you regarding Iranian situation. The manner by which the Iranian society treats its' people is absolutely despicable. God (or Allah) forbid that we ever fall into a state where we need the absolute iron fist of government to regulate our societal behavior. However it is interesting to note the destabilization of the Iraq society after Saddam Hussein was removed from power. Perhaps, as disagreeable and sad as this is to say, individuals within certain societies may no longer be able to self-regulate their behaviors and thus may actually require a tyrannical style of government.

    Anyway, back to the main discussion. You have described my views as puritanical but can we first agree that this label is purely subjective? Based upon a subjective interpretation of obscenity, you have indicated that "some model licking soccer balls and saying that Axe clean balls are great for licking" would cross the line and I of course would agree. What about the scene in the commercial where the model is fondling two golf balls in her hand for an extended period of time. Is fondling okay but licking not okay? Again, where is the boundary?

    What if scenario: Let's assume that a grocery chain were to advertise its produce section by having a scarcely clan female model stroke a cucumber up and down and with a devious smile on her face say that "YYZ grocery store had the plumpest, juiciest, largest cucumbers around that are guaranteed to p l e a s e." Even though the implied reference was just to a body part, would you consider me puritanical if I found this ad offensive?

    Also, I still must disagree with your point that I should have to turn off a publicly broadcast channel because the station elects to show inappropriate material at random times during the day. To me this is analogous to walking down a street and having to listen to constant profanity and observing lewd behavior but being told that if I did not like it, I should just stay inside my house.

    There are many things that occur in today's society that I find extremely offensive such as the items you have listed and others such as the government's buy now and let your grandchildren pay for it later attitude but these issues are all symptomatic of my earlier point that individual liberties are beginning to be valued above societal cohesiveness. Adoption of this attitude is gradual in nature and is rooted in the belief that what was unacceptable yesterday is now considered acceptable today.

    Thanks for the reply.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    I believe a blog from a gentleman named Michael Prescott does a good job of summarizing my concerns in this matter. The blog can be found at:

    http://michaelprescott.typepad.com/michael_prescotts_blog/2007/10/decline-of-ci-2.html

    "The adultification of children by childish adults."

    "Previously, I speculated that the waning of religious values has led to a cultural vacuum. There's probably some truth to this, but the more I look at it, the more I think that the real culprit in our cultural decline is the demise of any concept of personal responsibility. And the main villains may be the entertainment and advertising industries, which relentlessly appeal to the most narcissistic and irresponsible aspects of human nature.

    The message of much of today's pop culture boils down to "if it feels good, do it; get yours and screw the other guy; only sex, wealth, and power are worth living for; only wimps fail to grab whatever they want when they want it; youth is king and maturity is for losers." Bombard the public with this message 24/7 throughout their lives (and especially in their formative years), and you've got a potent recipe for social disintegration."

    +1 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    Stealth Pilot:

    I have got to say that I am in 100% agreement with you regarding disapproval of our public school system educating and supporting gay lifestyles. Now before I get flamed any more than I have already, let me say that I disapprove of the public display of the activity but not the people who engage in it. If people want to partake in abnormal behavior, have at it. Heck, bring farm animals and consenting relatives into the mix if you want; just do whatever you want to do in the privacy of your own home.

    It is interesting to note the degree of correlation that exists between the above point and the Axe commercial discussion. Both issues were socially taboo in the past and it was only through gradual propaganda perpetrated by the media that social acceptance grew.

    +1 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 10, 2010

    Brenda:

    I agree, 1 out of 3 ain't bad as long as it is not made into a public spectacle.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Sep 11, 2010

    People STOP!! We have bigger issues than balls. We are all adults and it is nature men and boys have balls to clean!!!

    How about illegals? No there is an issue!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Sep 11, 2010

    Excuse me!! We see tampon commercials aand Trojan rubbers, so why not balls? Watch television in the real world. Sex is real and body parts are real!!!

    GROW UP!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 12, 2010

    Isn't it funny how these things go... never even heard of this commercial until I saw this thread and then I saw it yesterday AM.

    I totally agree with you gina 39!

    0 Votes
  • Ks
      Sep 12, 2010

    I love it! It is safe to use AXE on your balls. I think a necessary message for many.

    www.savethemoon.net

    +1 Votes
  • Gh
      Sep 15, 2010

    This commercial belongs on late night cable, playboy channel, etc... I don't have a problem with them showing it in an appropriate setting. We were actually watching a family movie, early evening before kids bedtime, told kids they were going to bed after the movie. I was watching the movie WITH them. half way thru the movie, I told them I would make them popcorn in the microwave. I got up to make the popcorn, and came back with a bowl of it, to this trash! The girls are 10 and 13... This is so inappropriate. I DO monitor what they watch, certain channels are blocked through programming our channels, this channel, I have never had a problem with, NOR would I think that a "commercial" could be so offensive! But this is just my opinion, to which I am entitled, just like the rest of you are entitled to yours, pro or con. I will put my money where my mouth is, and not buy any more of their products, which are many! There is a reason this commercial was banned in Canada. Anyway like I said, it does have it's place, but not during daytime and early evening hours, and should be on more adult oriented stations. Children shouldn't be up that late during the weekday anyways, not should they be watching or have access to those types of stations. So, play the advertisement by all means...just put it where it should be.

    -1 Votes
  • Ba
      Sep 15, 2010

    This is ridiculous. The commercial isn't overtly sexually. It discusses the human anatomy. Big whoop. I saw that commercial for the first time with my fiance and he responded with genuine excitement. Apparently, some soaps can cause irritation, given the sensitivity of that area. So yes, that would indeed be one of their selling points seeing as ALL MEN HAVE BALLS and that is their target audience.

    That is all.

    +2 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 16, 2010

    Wow. You are in for it, arn't you? It is a commercial and you don't have to watch it. If you are so easily affended, why don't you move to where there is no human contact?

    +2 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 16, 2010

    You know what always amazes me is the sheer hypocrisy of folks who feel that their moral righteousness is so great and profound that they feel they can dictate to the entire country what should offend us and what we should and should not expose our children to. They talk about THEIR freedom of speech and THEIR rights, while trying to hamper ours. Yet the thing I always find so highly informative are what the numbers say.

    For instance... states that have the highest number of live births to teenage girls ages 15-19: (states with * infront of them are considered conservative, "bible belt states")

    * 1. Mississippi
    * 2. Texas
    3. Arizona
    * 4. Arkansas
    5. New Mexico
    * 6. Georgia
    * 7. Louisiana
    8. Nevada
    * 9. Alabama
    *10. Oklahoma

    The states with the * are also states that lead the nation in divorce, teeange drop outs, lottery purchases, adult literacy issues and they also receive a higher rate of federal funding while giving less back in taxes.

    Maybe, just maybe if people actually climbed up off of their "moral" high horses and minded their own back yards, front yards, bedrooms, ect instead of dictating to the rest of us what we should, should not watch, should not be doing where, how we should be offended by some locker room humor and take time to talk to their own kids... maybe their states wouldn't be leading the nation in the hypocrisy awards!

    You all have a right to be offended, you can complain, ect but you cannot dictate to the rest of us what where when and how... maybe in MY household I want these silly opportunities to open discourse with my kids about a wide range of issues concerning the human body and sexuality... but that's just me I guess!

    +2 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 16, 2010

    If something like this offends some, simply Change. The. Channel.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Sep 16, 2010

    Having grown up in Europe and having seen MUCH MORE explicit commercials, I find AXE funny.
    Young children will not get the double meaning, and when they are old enough to get it, they find it funny.

    Why are all movies with sex rated "R" in North America, but anything with violence will be rated "PG"
    Should make us think twice about our priorities.

    PS:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7O5DJMIRvZo
    look at this French commercials for condoms on youtube! But make sure, your kids aren't around.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 18, 2010

    Lol trollz. Makes me think of those creepy, useless, rainbow colored Don King haired dolls.

    So let me get this straight... there's a competition between complainers? Really? What's the winning prize? A year long, membership to the international whine club?

    But seriously... there's really criteria for quality angst? "The articulation of our forums problems are better than yours?"

    Wow, I ... wow!

    -1 Votes
  • Li
      Sep 18, 2010

    OMG! My man doesn't use Axe...so...what if they're not clean enough???? I'VE FAILED HIM MISERABLY!!!


    *Heads to the store to buy some Axe*

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Sep 18, 2010

    Lianimal your man's balls are dirty then!!! Holy CR*P!!! Go get him some AXE package wash! It's the gift of LOVE :)))

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Sep 19, 2010

    The commercial works!!! Look at all the publicity you all are giving the product. Anyone that can associate round things with testicles is a bit whacked anyway. Get a life. It is a shame your imagination is taking over where your parents forgot to teach. I bet you cant watch baseball, basketball, golf, without getting hung up on some testicles. Which by the way are not round!

    +1 Votes
  •   Sep 21, 2010

    I must admit when the lady is caressing those golf balls, it's kinda hot.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Sep 22, 2010

    I am a 25 mother of a 5 year old boy. No I'm not up tight or afraid of sexuality. I can not believe this company would air such a commercial. Really??? My son knows what "balls" are due to kids at school and I think this commercial is disgusting. If P&G can't air the herbal essence commercials then these people should never be able to air again. To the ones who say lighten up, you're probably the ones complaining about how bad kid are these days, complaining about teen pregnancy and wellfare... well here is why! !!! We don't need to lighten up, we need to tighten up.

    -1 Votes
  • Er
      Sep 24, 2010

    lol, it's a great commercial. People love double entendres. Shakespeare was full of them. What I don't think the complainers realize is that commercials all over do this. Do you REALLY not know that the Charmin bears with the toilet paper pieces all over their ### is taken from "does a beat sh**t in the woods"... roflmao. too funny.

    +2 Votes
  • Pu
      Oct 14, 2010

    honestly when a child watches something like this they dont think sexual thought's. only adult's do an then get all bent out of shape over a commercial designed to promote shower gel. take a step back an think about when you were a kid if you would have seen this commercial would you honestly thought sexual thoughts. no you'd sit there an wonder would it really clean a ball. all the people crying an moaning over the sexual content of this commercial need to shut up already. your the ones spinning a sexual term into it. you get offended over a commercial that says ball's? do you let your kid's on the net unsupervised to. do you not monitor your children's text messages. you really need to stop an smell the rose's here an stop complaining about a commercial telling people that axe can clean your ball's just like any other body wash can. this company just has more "ball's" to come out with a slogan about washing your ball's. if you dont like it enable your v chip on your tv's an make sure to check up on all the activities your children are doing on the net an on there cell phone's you hypocrites. cause im pretty sure that they are seeing an doing MUCH worse on those two things then that commercial could ever do to them.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
      Oct 14, 2010

    honestly this isnt as bad of a commercial as people are making it out to be. when your a child you dont see the sexual nature of commercials you see only what's infront of you. they had ball's on there so children would think exactly that. unless you sat there an pointed out the sexual nature to your child in that aspect its your own fault for it to be unappropriated in the first place. children are nieve they dont sit there an think about sexual things so by arguing that this is morally wrong an crap like that is just stupid. the company had the "ball's" to come up with a slogan to say there body washes work better or may work better then other body washes out there for your ball's, if your going to sit on a site an complain about a commercial that YOU yourself took wrong not your children then YOU yourself should shut off the tv or flip the channel. or even lighten up. ball's isn't even a dirty word to begin with. You people complaining about it are acting like they are showing nudity in the commercial. if you really have this big of a problem with this commercial go find the owner's manual to your tv enable the V-chip an you wont ever see this sort of thing again. an while your at it MAKE sure you go an check what your CHILD has been doing on the net. there cell phone's oh an if you own a video game consul Listen to what your children say to other's online an make sure YOU deal with that as well. or are YOU people that are crying an moaning about this just Hypocrites??? an only want attention??? if that's the case grow up go enable your v-chip's an zip it.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 19, 2010

    Come on now... really?!?!? Get over yourself! Your kids shouldn't be watching TV anyway. Have them read something, unless you are for burning books too.

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      Apr 16, 2011

    Really??? I think it was a cleaver concept. Anyone able to read between the lines - was probably old enough to handle it. It was meant for you to be read between the lines by the way.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Apr 16, 2011

    this is w hats wrong with our country today! some people will go out of their way to voice their nagging about a commerical that clearly wont be understood by anyone except those of us that the advertisement is targeting.ADULTS!! I bet those same persons wont put the same time and energy into voteing or supporting our troops.

    0 Votes
  •   Sep 10, 2011

    I was watching Kingsley and he was funny about it. But when I saw it, it was super nasty. They were like:
    "Let's clean small balls *cleans golf balls* Now they're fun to play with. Go ahead play with them."
    "*plays with them for so long* Wow...I can play with these all day..."
    "What about my ball sack?"
    Dirty Commercial.

    0 Votes
  • Jp
      Sep 10, 2011

    Axe is a German company and in Germany dont have a lot of decency.

    Some countries like their ads on tv, some dont.

    Maybe Germanys TV rating, is not that strict.

    Banned axe commercials.

    http://www.google.com/#sclient=psy&hl=en&source=hp&q=axe+banned&pbx=1&oq=axe+banned&aq=f&aqi=g5&aql=&gs_sm=e&gs_upl=42435l47247l4l48289l10l5l0l0l0l0l4030l7902l7-1.0.2l3l0&bav=on.2, or.r_gc.r_pw.&fp=3e82efc6cc141df0&biw=800&bih=549

    0 Votes

Post your comment