Cole Muffler And MavisBrake service

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

The Cole Muffler shop in Auburn, NY, located at 35 East Genesee Street in the City of Auburn, New York commenced work on my front brakes after I just brought it in for an estimate. All the The Cole Muffler Shops are now owned by Mavis, another poor tire and car service company. I did not sign any documents to begin taking parts off, and replacing them with new front brake parts. I was sitting in their tiny customer waiting area for the estimate when I noticed through a window, a mechanic was replacing calipers, rotors, and brake pads on my car. I ran out to him and yelled that I did not authorize any repairs so what the heck is going on!! I then located the manager outside who was taking care of a customer's complaint on his car that had the struts almost go through their engine hood after Cole/Mavis worked on his car! Now I knew what kind of shop this was! I complained to the manager and he said I verbally told him to look and repair my van. I told him I did not, and where was my authorization on the repair. There was no estimate, no piece of paper that he gave me to sign. He said he told me. I said he did not. He then said it was dangerous to drive with disintegrated brake pads he brought to show me. He then showed me the estimate on his hard to read computer screen, and I was astounded that the bill was over $700 with tax for 2 rotors, 2 brake calipers, 2 sets of pads, labor, and rotor cleaning magic stuff. I was astounded and said to remove the parts the mechanic installed, and he then lowered the price to about $600 with tax! I was floored at that price. Now do I go to another shop and wait around again?? I was pissed off that Cole Muffler would stoop to the sales tactics of replacing all the parts needed without my authorization, then tell me that they could take off the parts and replace them with the old ones, and send me on my way. They preyed upon my good nature, and I have the bill I did eventually pay, without my signature which states that if I signed the document, it will waive my rights to an estimate. I did not waive my rights. This could be used in a court of law I was told. Seems that this sales tactic is immoral, and unethical. I then went to other brake and muffler shops in Auburn and got estimates with tax of about $425 at Monro Muffler, and $450 at Midas. Calling the Cole Muffler Shop back he said he is the new manager since the old manager was no longer there, and he would have to talk to his boss. I then called him back and he said that his own estimates from Monro and Midas were higher than his at Cole/Mavis and that I must have a relative that works there to get the low prices! I told him I do not know anyone that works at those other shops!!! No satisfaction was given for this disservice at Cole/Mavis and I would tell anyone now to get a written estimate, and tell the service manager that, before any work is being done, or expect to be ripped off. I also would never suggest to anyone to go to Cole/Mavis for anything!! Their customer relations and customer service after the sale needs improvement.

Responses

  • Ro
    Roger Alexandre May 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchase the special, from Cole Muffler about 3 years ago, or less. It was that special, at that time for brake special, for $59.99.It was suppose to be a lifetime warranty, on pads, and labor.I went back to them to tell them about the brakes, and labor, and the Mgt, said the labor was not included, but yet the add is still running at $69.99, including labor.I fell cheated.What happen to that warranty, from a couple of years ago.It doesn;t seem fair.Roger Alexandre [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rogers Alexandre Apr 25, 2012

    I had my from brakes replace, with their 59.99 special, back a couple of years(008-2009)with a lifetime warranty, and labor. They ran the same ad, except it was $10.00 more.I told the i should have the same warranty, as in 2007, and they replied, No, just the pads, not to include labor.Biy yet the new ad, read, it included the labor.What s BS was this. Roger

    0 Votes
  • Co
    COLE CROOKS Jan 26, 2012

    Back to this lovely place of business for the 7th time for service on our muffler. Yes 7 times, had to have the same parts replaced twice in a few spots and three times in another spot, always had to have new parts every time we went. When I went back the fourth time, the tiny waiting room was filled, I asked for the manager and said, well I hope the 4th time is the charm. This is my daughter's car so yes it is an old car but still a good car - toyota camry. Today on our 7th trip back, this saga started back in 2009 (twice that year) once in 2010, 3 times in 2011 all within 2 months of each other and then today 1-25-12. So happy I am not. So my daughter and I (female) drop the car off for them to look at again since it sounds like a mac truck again. I was waited on by the Manager Steve, I showed him all of our old receipts and said to have them look at it, DO NOT FIX, just look at it and give me a call. So a few hours later Steve calls, said he was waiting to hear back from us, his mechanic supposedly left a message for us, never got a message. So anyways, he says well, the only part on the muffler you didn't fix, the cadillac converter needs to be replaced and then also the hanger needs to be replace and reattached because is has come off. Now, the first clue was the noise was front up front, not towards the back and the car had not lost any power whatsoever. The car passed inspection not long ago. So in order to fix this, they wanted $350.00. I told him not today because I didn't have the funds today. He also said we needed new struts, but would give me a deal if we did both for $942.00. I said no way are we doing struts, the car is 19 years old, kid going to college in August and then we don't need the car. So i told him to print out estimate, he said he had everything and that we would pick up the car and my other paperwork from all my prior visits later in the day. So now, my husband and I go to pick up the car after they have closed. Once the car was started up, you could see the exhaust coming from the front, so my husband crawls under there to take a look. Sure enough, the cadillac converter is not the problem the darn hanger that they welded to the pipe on July 2011 broke lose and put a hole in the pipe (yeah the same pipe they replaced twice). That is where the noise is coming from and the exhaust. Where they welded the hanger on, it was a mess and sloppy work, no wonder it broke off. So nice try on taking advantage of a teenager and a women. Shame on you. This is the worst place in the world, ### mechanic's and people running the place, complete liars. I will never return to this place or give them another penny! Do not go there for anything. So glad I reinforced to him to not do any work until I spoke to him, unlike what they did to the other person above. You should not be in business!

    0 Votes
  • No
    nocolemuffler Jan 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Cole Muffler owner has not paid his taxes in over a year. Would you do business with this business to fix your cars??
    Read On!

    Fireside Inn near Baldwinsville 'temporarily closed'
    Published: Tuesday, January 17, 2012, 3:21 PM Updated: Tuesday, January 17, 2012, 3:29 PM
    By Bob Niedt / The Post-Standard News

    Syracuse, NY -- The Fireside Inn in Lysander was “temporarily closed” this afternoon, although a manager who answered the telephone at the restaurant and tavern would not say why.
    Town and county tax offices say the owner of the Fireside, Cole Realty Holdings, is behind on its 2011 taxes and has other property and school taxes that are currently due.
    County records show Cole Realty Holdings hasn’t yet paid $43, 810.50 for its 2011 town, county and school taxes.
    Betty Nardelli, Lysander’s receiver of taxes, said the back taxes for the Fireside, at 2345 W. Genesee St. near Baldwinsville, includes a school tax levy that is due.
    The Fireside is owned by Baldwinsville business owner and operator Don Cole, whose family founded the Cole Muffler retail chain, among other businesses.
    The manager at the Fireside who answered the phone this afternoon said they could not provide Cole’s contact information.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nocolemuffler Jan 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When Cole Muffler was sold to Mavis Tire, the same unethical sales tactics continued. It was on 60 minutes recently that Cole Muffler duped many customers and did work that was not necessary. Stay away from Cole Muffler in Auburn, NY, Syracuse, NY, Binghamton, NY, and all other Cole Muffler and Brake shops, because they are now Mavis, but still have large signs that have Cole Muffler and Brake.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nocolemuffler Jan 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Fireside is owned by Baldwinsville business owner and operator Don Cole, whose family founded the Cole Muffler retail chain, among other businesses.
    Syracuse, NY -- The Fireside Inn in Lysander was “temporarily closed” this afternoon, although a manager who answered the telephone at the restaurant and tavern would not say why.
    Town and county tax offices say the owner of the Fireside, Cole Realty Holdings, is behind on its 2011 taxes and has other property and school taxes that are currently due.
    County records show Cole Realty Holdings hasn’t yet paid $43, 810.50 for its 2011 town, county and school taxes.
    Betty Nardelli, Lysander’s receiver of taxes, said the back taxes for the Fireside, at 2345 W. Genesee St. near Baldwinsville, includes a school tax levy that is due.
    The Fireside is owned by Baldwinsville business owner and operator Don Cole, whose family founded the Cole Muffler retail chain, among other businesses.
    The manager at the Fireside who answered the phone this afternoon said they could not provide Cole’s contact information.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nocolemuffler Jan 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Syracuse, NY -- The Fireside Inn in Lysander was “temporarily closed” this afternoon, although a manager who answered the telephone at the restaurant and tavern would not say why.
    Town and county tax offices say the owner of the Fireside, Cole Realty Holdings, is behind on its 2011 taxes and has other property and school taxes that are currently due.
    County records show Cole Realty Holdings hasn’t yet paid $43, 810.50 for its 2011 town, county and school taxes.
    Betty Nardelli, Lysander’s receiver of taxes, said the back taxes for the Fireside, at 2345 W. Genesee St. near Baldwinsville, includes a school tax levy that is due.
    The Fireside is owned by Baldwinsville business owner and operator Don Cole, whose family founded the Cole Muffler retail chain, among other businesses.
    The manager at the Fireside who answered the phone this afternoon said they could not provide Cole’s contact information.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Customer X Jan 16, 2012

    Avoid this company. They are dishonest and take advantage of people. Esp. in Auburn, NY 13021

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cole catcher Jan 16, 2012

    I am took my car to Cole Muffler and found out it is now Mavis Tire, in Auburn, NY Plus there is new workers and managers who are trained to rip people off. My inspection was suppose to be $21 in New York State. It was going to cost me hundreds more, when they discovered tiny flaws to stop getting inspections. Seems as bad as Good Year service center, that is next door to Cole. Both are now laundry list service centers, giving you a laundry list of repairs. They also prey upon woman who think they do not know anything about cars. I went to Monro Muffler and they passed the car and told me that Cole Muffler being under new ownership of Mavis are jerks, and rip offs. Beware

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cole catcher Jan 16, 2012

    Cole Muffler in Auburn, NY is a rip off service shop. Stay away. Their sales ethics and also their customer service department workers are not helpful. They will do anything to rip people off.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cole catcher Jan 16, 2012

    Cole Muffler and now Mavis service centers have been ripping off customers for a while now. Their service, and customer service for work has gone down hill since Mavis Tire has taken over in Auburn. The business signs still say Cole Muffler, but it is now Mavis. There was a service manager at Cole in Auburn for as long as I can remember, maybe 15-20 years, and he was fair to customers, and would go out of his way to please customers and give them discounts or find a way to get the cost of repairs lower.
    Now Cole/Mavis is all about money and how can they screw the customers. Stay away from the Cole Muffler shop, now Mavis in the city of Auburn, NY at 35 East Genesee Street

    -1 Votes
  • Mu
    Murphy12 Mar 15, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Cole catcher Mavis in Auburn NY has terrible service their manager Justin needs to be taught some Customer service skills I will never go back their for any of my car repairs they told me there was things on my car that needed to repaired that were not even broken or pricing was way over priced

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.