Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Cat Breeders Review of Chivalry Cattery
Chivalry Cattery

Chivalry Cattery review: bad cat breeder 52

G
Author of the review
5:44 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

“Customer/Cattery Alert Program” of the THE TRADITIONAL CAT ASSOCIATION, INC. ©1987®™
http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/2004/ComplaintOctober92004.pdf
http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/alerts.htm

Rockford Register Star newpaper article
http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/2007/Beller052907.pdf

http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/2007/BellerWed%20July%2011.pdf
Wed July 11, 2007 10:02 AM
SUB: Chivalry Cattery
Hello,
I would like some help on how to deal with a woman named Roberta Beller who
owns the above mentioned cattery. I signed a contract to buy a snowshoe kitten
from her. I talked to her once on the phone and she was pleasant however after
that phone call, she did not answer e-mails that I sent requesting pictures or
information about the kitten. She cashed the $600.00 check (the price of the
kitten) I sent in June. The kitten was to be shipped to me in Florida from Chicago
IL, and despite repeated requests about what airline she would be using, how
much the fare was, she never responded. The kitten was to be shipped July 11th.
Several days before that I called and e-mailed her, asking her to get in touch with
me.
She e-mailed me on July 9th, telling me she would send me my money when she
sold the kitten (my kitten), and insulted me.
I will be contacting the better business bureau in Chicago, the sheriff’s office, and
Cat Fancy Magazine (where I saw her advertisement). Can you suggest any
other action? I have now heard this is not the first complaint about her.

http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/2006/April2006.pdf
April 2006
What follows is a series of emails that deal with, are sent from, or are about a cat breeder
by the name of Roberta Beller, the owner of Chivalry Cattery.
Roberta Beller
Chivalry Cattery
5352 Joshua Court
Gurnee, IL 60031
[protected]
www.chivalrycattery.com
or
5087 Wilderness Trail
Rockford, IL [protected]
She is not part of the Traditional Cat Association, Inc. and never has been.
We have chosen not to include several other emails that contain profanity. We believe
there is sufficient information provided to allow you to draw your own conclusions.
If you receive unsolicited emails from this person, you have several options in which to
respond. We recommend that you do so to eliminate further harassment to yourself and
others by her.
She has repeatedly demonstrated continued email harassment of people in response to her
fabricated issues. Unless you are interested in receiving emails like these we recommend
disassociating with her any anyone whom she deals with.
You may also consider contacting the
Federal Trade Commission
Consumer Response Center
9015 Junction Drive Suite #2
Annapolis Junction, MD 20701
1-877-FTC-HELP
Direct Marketing Association
To opt-out of receiving unsolicited commercial email, use the DMA online form at
www.dmaconsumers.org/offemaillist.html which is effective for one year.
I have spoken with the person who was attacked about the recent spew of hatred coming forth from Roberta Beller,
Chivalry Cattery. It is clear from Beller's ranting that she is a very hateful person. Her attacks are completely irrational
and unprovoked. Her remarks crossed the line from cat-related issues to ugly personal statements about religion
and business and scurrilous remarks about her cattery (which Beller has never seen). She said that this attack felt like
Beller had plunged a knife into her heart. The remark about her religious belief was out of line entirely, and was most
upsetting to her. To insult anyone's beliefs is crossing a line, in my opinion, and is unacceptable.
According to her, Beller also made ignorant remarks about an individual she knows, calling the woman names such as
"###". These horrible E-mails were sent to her, a kind person whom Beller has never met, but whom she chose to
attack with cruel words and without any reason whatsoever.
To make matters worse, Beller carbon-copied these hurtful e-mails to a long list of recipients on her e-mail list. Many of
these persons are other cat breeders. It humiliated her.
That behavior of this sort is a misdemeanor, and is called "E-mail harassment." It is a illegal to harass, (such as
stalking, ) and such uncalled for E-mails can be reported to the police, whose job it is to take the evidence (the E-mails)
and investigate the person who is accused of harassing another. No one is allowed to disturb the peace of another by
phone, or by e-mail. There are laws protecting the public from this sort of cruel harassment. Police will take this
seriously.
The means of fighting back are our rights as citizens. We do not need to spend money on lawyers. We have the power at
our disposal, all we need to do is act.
Step Number One: Report the harassment to your local police. Bring copies of the E-mails. This is
evidence. If anyone should send me any such e-mail I would consider it to be harassment. I would file a complaint
against that individual with the local Police. The case would then be turned over to a Detective. After the detective has
investigated the matter, a disposition would be made. Perhaps an indictment would be brought. Perhaps only a warning
to desist. Perhaps the perpetrator would have to appear in court and explain to a judge why it was necessary or prudent
to send venomous, harassing and even threatening e-mails to a person. And furthermore, the detective might investigate
why the perpetrator sent copies of the ugly and insulting e-mail to other breeders, causing such anguish. She was so
traumatized by Roberta Beller that she was afraid to read any of her e-mails for days afterwards. She was the victim of an
attack. And she had done absolutely nothing to deserve the vicious attack.
Step Number Two: A second consideration is the fact that Beller finds her victims by means of ads in national
cat magazines. Cat Fancy and Kittens USA magazines have editorial policies about cat breeders whose ethics render
them unworthy of the privilege of advertising in that magazine. In order for a magazine to deny a breeder the right to
advertise, the editor of the magazine must receive at last 3 written complaints, signed, from persons who have
experienced ill treatment at the hands of the accused advertiser. An editor cannot take steps to deny a breeder a listing
unless there is evidence that the breeder has behaved in such a way as to bring the magazine's reputation into question if
the ads are continued. Those horrible E-mails are evidence.
Step Number Three: another way to stop a person who is guilty of a pattern of viscous e-mail harassment is to
complain to the e-mail server. Beller uses AOL to perpetrate her attacks. No Internet server wishes to continue to serve a
client who uses their server for harassing other people, slandering and insulting them and making rude comments about
their religion and businesses. They have Customer Relations Departments that are staffed with people whose job it is to
protect their employer by preventing the service from being ill-used.
Their address is: Community Action Team
America on Line
22265 Pacific Blvd.
Dulles, VA 20166
I have outlined three ways that Beller can be stopped, but it will take courage and determination on the part of each of
her victims. She can be effectively shut off from spewing this venom all over the Internet.
She is not the first person who has been attacked by Beller. And she won't be the last unless someone fights back.
[protected]@gmail.com
From:
To:
Sent: Wednesday, March 15, 2006 9:50 AM
Subject: I am voiceing a complaint to alert members about!
Page 1 of 1
3/19/2006
Dear Diane,
I was checking out Breeders and came across a Cattery called Chivalry
so i e-mailed her and asked if she had any Lilac Balinese, she replied back and told me she had
kittens and the price, i then informed her that i was interested in purchaseing a kitten to breed. Then she got
back to me again and asked if i was a CFA breeder? I got back to her and told her i was and then she
proceeded to send me some very nasty e-mails, I would like to send them to you so you can see for yourself.
She swore at me insulted me and also talked about you over the internet, she then included people in the emails
she sent me, she contacted Breeders and involved them, and made this into a nightmare, i hardly slept
last night and the girl who i have been working with to make my website she knew of her and did damage to her
cattery in the past i found out, she contacted breeders and made up lies about her cattery and the girl closed it
down. I am so outraged at this woman and she has sent me 2 more e-mails today.The womans name is Roberta
Beller and she said some horrible things about The Traditional Cat Association too.
[protected]@gmail.com
From:
To:
Sent: Wednesday, March 15, 2006 2:32 PM
Attach: Re_ Hello i am looking for a lilac kitten Balinese.eml
Subject: Fwd: Hello i am looking for a lilac kitten Balinese
Page 1 of 2
3/19/2006
In a message dated 3/14/2006 8:52:30 PM Pacific Standard Time, RobertaBeller writes:
In a message dated 3/14/2006 10:40:32 PM Central Standard Time, [protected]@purfectpoints.com writes:
Notice that none can write and all lie. It takes an extremely low IQ to be recruited by Fineran
and her phony fancy.
This is exactly why either TCA needs to be shut down OR we all need to spay and neuter
kittens before they leave us.
I would never want any of my babies in the hads of people like this. On her website her King
is pictured in a dirty pen with a litter box full of ###.
Her "Applehead" cats are not Appleheads.
Diana Fineran is misguiding, misinforming and PROMOTING people to behave like this...
----- Original Message ----
From: [protected]@aol.com
To: [protected]@aol.com; [protected]@zianet.com;
bernadette.[protected]@comcast.net; [protected]@purfectpoints.com
Sent: Tuesday, March 14, 2006 11:27:29 PM
Subject: Fwd: Hello i am looking for a lilac kitten Balinese
-----Inline Message Follows-----
From: [protected]@aol.com
Date: Tue, 14 Mar 2006 23:26:16 EST
Subject: Re: Hello i am looking for a lilac kitten Balinese
In a message dated 3/14/2006 10:18:31 PM Central Standard Time,
writes:
Roberta,
Yes i am a C.F.A breeder.
When another breeder contacts me inquiring about kittens, I expect a formal
introduction and mention of breeding in the FIRST correspondence. Otherwise, you
are to be considered dishonest. You went so far as to ask me for a price of a pet. You
obviously have not been,
Roberta A. Beller
http://chivalrycattery.com/
Page 2 of 2
3/19/2006
[protected]@gmail.com
From:
To:
Sent: Wednesday, March 15, 2006 8:55 AM
Subject: Re: TCA, INC. BREEDING QUALITY FOR SALE
Hi Diana,
My friend, (a TCA member), had the horrible misfortune to have crossed paths with
Roberta Bella of Chivalry Cattery. She sent me the copy of their communications. Bella
claimed she was out to deceive her because she only inquired about the availability of
kittens in the first e-mail and then informed her of her interest in breeding in the second email.(
If she were trying to deceive her she never would have volunteered her interest
in breeding rights at all) Apparently this unleashed Roberta's famous tirade of assault
which involves sending the transcripts of the e-mails to several other breeders at the same
time in an effort to launch her attack..My friend was so upset by her verbal
abuse that she couldn't sleep and called me.This has happened to another breeder that I
know and can only assume that it is not an isolated event. She was also quite insulting to
the TCA organization as well.
I do know her and she is a wonderful caring breeder who certainly didn't deserve that
kind of treatment.
I can't help thinking that this is one very angry destructive person.My friend is concerned
with the damaging affects of Robertas instant vicious gossip chain and really feels
worried.
[protected]@gmail.com
From:
To:
Sent: Friday, August 18, 2006 11:49 PM
Subject: Re: TCA, INC. INFORMATION
Page 1 of 1
8/19/2006
Hello Diane,
Last year I had a huge blow out with Roberta Beller from Chivalry Siamese, she is associated with Louis
from Permes Cattery, as well as BluesCats, Glasslipper, Obsession Cattery, Shoobox Cattery, and one
other that escapes me. I do not associate, nor condone the behavior that they display. They are mean,
back stabbing, aweful people that have done nothing good for the breed. I was once good friends with
the girl from Obsession cattery, and have much inside knowledge to the workings of these above listed
catteries...they are nothing more than high priced kitten mills. Inbreeding is prevalent, as well as birth
defects. One of shooting cattery, associated with Permes, asked me about trading a kitten once...they
asked if I would be ok with them "hanging papers"... so much for a pedigree that is true, and correct
huh? Needless to say I didn't bother to return emails.

What follows is a series of emails [images] that deal with, are sent from, or are about one Roberta
Beller, the owner of Chivalry Cattery.
She is not part of the Traditional Cat Association, Inc. and never has been.
We have chosen not to include several other emails that contain profanity. We believe
there is sufficient information provided to allow you to draw your own conclusions.

http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/2005/Alert082005.pdf

http://www.newsletter.traditionalcats.com/Alert/2007/BellerSept%202.pdf
Mon Sept 2, 2007 10:02 AM THIS REPORT IS FROM A TCA, INC. BREEDER
SUB: Roberta Beller Cattery Closing!
I just heard from a Bengal breeder in Illinois, that Robert Beller of Chivalry Cattery in Rockford,
Ill had a stroke last month and it was discovered that she had been collecting cats. There were
over a 150 cats found in deplorable conditions, and were seized by breed rescue in Sycamore, Ill.
Roberta also has stage 4 cancer. The cats were all sent to a friend of hers who has also been in
trouble before for keeping cats in deplorable conditions. This lady's name is Mindy located
outside of Rockford, Ill. I have personally been to this residence and have seen the conditions
there. Terrible! I hope that we can spread the word, and I hope that Roberta or her friend are
never able to purchase another cat in the United States again!
The Bengal breeder that I got this information from had sold her a cat, not knowing that Roberta
had gotten way in over her head, and didn't know how sick she was. The breeder was frantic
trying to get the cat she had sold her back, but unfortunately all were seized by the rescue
yesterday.
I hope that we can spread the word to all registries as well...CFA, ACFA, TICA, ACA...etc.
Roberta worked with all of these for her Balinese, Siamese, Snowshoe, and Bengals.
I know that everyone who has been terrorized by Roberta in the past will let out a big sigh of
relief...she was a monster, and I know this is awful to put into words, but the world will be a
better place with out her! I currently do not know her health status after the stroke last month,
just that she was removed from her residence and unable to care for the cats any longer. Many of
the cats were said to be candidates for euthanasia due to them being in such poor health, and also
feral!
Also, may I be the first to say how ironic that the person who was so vicious to others on the care
and housing, and backyard breeders...turns out to be one herself...and not just a backyard
breeder, but a hoarder/collector/ creepy old cat lady in the neighborhood! And to be so
neglectful to the cats!
Unfortunately though, "cutting off the head" of the snake isn't going to end all the problems.
The following catteries: (Permes, Louis Azcarate, Poulsdo, WA.), (Glasslipper, Cindy R.
Delanoy, Las Cruces, NM.), (To-Lyn, Linda Yamamoto, Stockton, CA.), (BluesCats, Laura
Rando & Paul McLaughlin, Burnswick, ME.), (BurnapBrooke, Bernadette McBride, Andover,
CT.), (Shoobox, Shirley Miller, San Diego, CA.), (Obsession/Serenade, Adriene Batta & Rhond
Reed, Macy, IN.), ( Lake Affect Pets Golden Retrievers, Eridani Cattery, Kara L. Van Den Berg,
Wyoming, MI.) (Purfect Points, Wanda - Wendy Colvin, Ravenna, OH) and (Old Siam, Paula
Schenebeck, AR.) have all worked very closely with Roberta in the past and have consistently
demonstrated the same temperament for nastiness. Many of our members can attest to that! All
but one are CFA breeders and are considered representative of all CFA breeders.
It has been reported to me that Shoobox Cattery, Shirley Miller, San Diego, CA. (former
president of tacci) has also been raided and had cats seized last year due to over crowding and
poor care. And one of the owners to that cattery is a Veterinarian!
Please pass this along to everyone in the cat business! It is my goal that Roberta Beller never be
able to own another cat again!
Thanks!

Update by GoodCitizen
Jan 20, 2010 2:19 pm EST

I posted a second notice about a breeder using a new cattery name in the same area. Their website went up over night with the same royal there and the WhoIs public information showed the web domains of chivalrycattery.com and this new Siamese cattery website were registered to the same person. The information was deleted from Consumer Complaints Board even thought the names and information was publicly available. Since I posted that notice the owner has change the registration to "private". Be wary of buying from a breeder in that area of Illinois. If you are dealing with them do web searches on their names and email addresses, check the WhoIs database for registration infor on the domains to see what is out there that matches them up with the breeder above.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

52 comments
Add a comment
Thai Dee Maew
Thai Dee Maew
Waterford, US
Nov 30, 2014 8:30 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

There is nothing to be jealous of on my end of either Louis of Permes or Patrick and his wife from Midgards Cattery. Apparently, you Patrick, don't even know the definition of slander. But your own defamation of TCA and Diana Fineran is plain as day on your own website as you have stated, 'Not all Cat Registries are the same...
With everything in life their are people in the world who are out for a quick buck. The cat world has its fair share of them. I would like to focus on just one.

The Traditional Cat Association or TCA is a scam. TCA has sued other Registries when they go to register with other associations copyrighted all TCA breed names for the ability to sue. TCA pedigree cats are as well not pedigreed cats, the TCA requires no proof of heritage and registers them all just the same. TCA promotes Backyard breeding and passes off sickly cats onto other breeders to sell kittens. They don't run any shows and no improvement of the breed is put into consideration.

I have personally and watched other people get taken advantage of by the TCA. Be warned of purchasing any kitten with TCA paperwork. " TCA has complaints against you and your wife a mile long that are on file for all their members to see. Due your aggressiveness, you've been asked to leave the organization. Your revenge tactic is to defame TCA on your website. So come file a claim against me here in Michigan and I can guarantee there will be a counter claim. I have had enough of your internet harassment and defamation of character, especially on facebook. The lies you tell never end. Patrick, you should be MORE concerned about your cat with hung papers from Louis and trying to get to the bottom of that issue rather than threatening me openly on a public complaint board with a lawsuit. It speaks volumes about your integrity and your character as a breeder. For the record, again, I have nothing whatsoever to be jealous of concerning you or your cattery so stop saying these lies about me online just to satisfy your ego. I'm not a jealous person and if you knew me, you'd never accuse me of it. I have worked with famous and elite people from all over the world and if there was ever a person to be jealous of it would be one of them, not YOU and certainly not your Permes knockoff cattery.

Thai Dee Maew
Thai Dee Maew
Waterford, US
Nov 30, 2014 9:03 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

It is well worth mentioning that Louis of Permes was mentored for years by Roberta Bellar of Chivalry and I was told recently that he learned everything he knows (about cat breeding and marketing) from her. They exchanged cats regularly and the pedigrees reflect this. Birds of a feather flock together. I have no doubt that he knew about her breeding practices for years and even followed the same. Many other breeders I've spoken to who claim to have been shafted by him report to me that he has scores of cats that amount to what they deem a 'cat mill' operation and he's been retiring from this business for 15 years. Seriously, I've only spoken to one breeder out of MANY who had a single kind word to say about him. Most of them want him gone. This is nothing to be jealous of. His reputation is one of the worst I have ever encountered in any business. Exposing someone like him as a bad breeder is our right and the purpose of these complaint boards.

A
A
ALittleGlitter
Staten Island, US
Feb 09, 2015 12:11 pm EST

I purchased a kitten from Louis of Permes Cattery in November of 2014. I am must say that I am totally disgusted by some of the comments that have been written about him by people that seem to have never even spoken to him. Louis is one of the most kind, knowledgeable and wonderful breeders out there. The kitten that I purchased from him is in perfect health and he is extremely intelligent and loving. I would not hesitate in purchasing another cat from him in the future or recommending Permes Cattery to friends and family.

L
L
LittleBirdy
US
Feb 24, 2015 10:59 pm EST

I agree with Veritas1. After reading through this thread, that has been ongoing for several years. I've decided that I'll stick with the Animal Humane Society.

C
C
cat aficionado
Los Angeles, US
Aug 05, 2015 8:41 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Hi Veritas and LittleBirdy--I haven't been on this site in a super long time--not sure why my photo shows me as a man now, but anyway I considered buying a kitten from an out-of-town breeder (central US) for the first time, but after all of the arguing that went on months back on this site (mostly with some breeder named Ascarate who I guess thinks my name is Vanessa---huh?! Strange dude!) I decided to buy locally, and I'm very glad that I did! I have a beautiful cat now who is such a joy! All the cats that I've owned have been purchased in my home town. I highly recommend doing so because you can personally check out the cattery, meet the breeder and observe how the kittens are being raised/cared for. I also agree with the idea of getting a cat from a shelter. There are so many kittens/cats in shelters who desperately need good homes. Good luck to you both!

C
C
cat aficionado
Los Angeles, US
Aug 05, 2015 8:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Well, I guess the photo shows the right gender after all, LOL!

Thai Dee Maew
Thai Dee Maew
Waterford, US
Aug 05, 2015 9:31 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Cat Aficionado, Louis Azcarate of Permes has one of the worst reputations I have ever come across in my (and mother's) 27 years involvement in the cat fancy. He has burned more bridges between himself and his clients (or potential clients) than anyone I have ever known or heard of. Please do not hold all breeders to account for what he does. We are only responsible for ourselves and stereotyping whole groups of people is not very PC in this day and age. There are good and bad breeders everywhere.

There are very badly run 'shelters' out there too, but I wouldn't bash all shelters and rescues just because I came across a particularly bad one that I heard about on the internet. If you can find a cat from a good shelter and you are fine about the risks involved, by all means save a life. However, some people are very allergic to cats, so they are only looking for kittens that will not cause their allergies to flare up. I breed Balinese, which are suitable for them. These people could never step foot in a rescue or shelter. So I am not taking a home away from a shelter cat. You'd be very hard pressed to find purebred Balinese kittens in shelters. Most of the time, shelters falsely advertise that they have Balinese when they in fact do not. We see them falsely advertising their cats all the time and they think nothing of it.

C
C
cat aficionado
Los Angeles, US
Aug 05, 2015 11:33 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

You bring up some good points, Thai Dee. I don't have any allergies so I don't have to narrow my cat choice to a few breeds. But I can see how some folks would have to. I've never bought from an out-of-state breeder, and in my case I would probably continue to buy/adopt locally. And I understand what you're saying about not holding all breeders to account for how Azcarate behaves. My only experience with him is on this message board, but just because he is very offensive doesn't mean that all breeders are that way.

T
T
TruthHurtsLiars
US
Oct 04, 2015 7:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thai Dee Maew, you are such a joke! Beller bred for less than 4 years in the early 2000s and you say that she was Louis Azcarate's mentor! Beller was also in her early forties and not the 'old lady' that Dianna Finneran lies about having met. Louis Azcarate has been breeding Siamese cats for 25+ years now. GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT or ARE YOU INTENTIONALLY LYING?!

Thai Dee Maew
Thai Dee Maew
Waterford, US
Feb 13, 2016 8:33 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

TruthHurtsLiars, you wrote this defamatory and FAKE 'complaint' about my cattery, cats and myself, "Thai Dee Maew — Kittens" "This breeder is a terrible breeder and an even worse person. I purchased two kittens from them who both later died of panleukopenia. My vet said that there was no way that these precious kittens were every vaccinated. Lying at the expense of two tiny kittens is despicable and you need to be closed down. I have talked to others with kittens from the same and different litters who experienced the same. THIS BREEDER REFUSED A REFUND. No way would I take a replacement because THIS ENTIRE CATTERY IS INFECTED." It's totally bogus! You're a breeder with a malicious intent to destroy my reputation over your political gain. You NEVER bought any kittens from me you liar! Louis, you have stooped to a new low. This is low even for YOU! BTW, the person who told me that you learned everything you know from Roberta Bellar is none other than Maria from Tia Maria in Virgina. She also hates your guts and she was one that you mentored and got into breeding years ago. You've made so many enemies with people who've done breeding business with over the years! The list is endless.

M
M
Maria Joao Cattery
Milton, CA
Jan 04, 2019 7:56 pm EST

The person that is the breeder of Thai Dee Maew cattery tries to cause problems for other breeders. I wonder if she does this out of Jealousy? I have never met this person nor ever purchased a cat or kitten from her. She tried to cause problems for me because because I am friends with Louis from Permes Cattery. Has very beautiful Cats and kittens.