Carrousel CatteryVicki Carter

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I rescued a sick precious kitten from Mrs. Carter approximately two weeks ago. We received the kitten in the evening on Sept 18th, 2012. It’s ears were red & chapped on the outside, black on the inside, nose stuffed & crusty, it’s eye red & swollen & barely able to open, it’s white coat was dis-colored yellow & smelled of urine, and it wouldn’t move or walk around at all. She just slept & ate & used the bathroom from an upset stomach all night long. She was starving & extremely underweight. I took her to the vet the next morning, Sept 19th, 2012, at 9am.

At the vet, they pretty much said she was on her death-bed. They discovered she was covered in fleas, had an upper respiratory infection, diarrhea due to an over-growth of bacteria, ringworm on her ears & eye brows. The vet told me that any one of these issues stand-alone were enough to kill her at her age with her immune system being so weak. I contacted animal control immediately and reported the neglect.

They nebulized her twice, gave her some fluids underneath her skin, medicine to kill the fleas, Panacer (a de-wormer), Erythromycin eye ointment, and Enisyl (anti-viral Lysine paste). She had to be administered Amoxicillin twice a day for 10 days for her upper respiratory infection & diarrhea, Panacer once a day for four days for a de-wormer, Enysil twice a day for seven days, Erythromycin eye ointment twice a day for seven days, and Lamisil twice day everyday still to today for ringworm treatment. We took her back into the vet the following Monday, Sept 24th, 2012, for a sulfur-lime dip to further treat her ringworm. This process dips the cat into a potent mixture consisting of lime&sulfur and must be done at least four times in one-week increments. She goes back for her second dip tomorrow. We’ve also had to treat the kitten plus our other three animals for fleas numerous times.

On September 28th, 2012, I noticed a couple red spots appear on my chest. I went to the local Urgent Care center and was diagnosed with ringworm and given a Diflucan pill and a Clotrimazole Cream to treat it. Over the course of the day on the 28th and the 29th, the ringworm spread from a few spots on my chest to covering my scalp, face, neck, shoulders, arms, chest, groin, legs, etc. I used the entire bottle of 1.59 cream in one day and had to go back to the Urgent Care on Sunday, September 30th, 2012 and was prescribed an anti-fungal tablet, cream, and shampoo.

This experience has not only proved very taxing monetarily, it’s also been a huge weight emotionally to have to watch our little kitten be fighting for her life. We’ve had to isolate her in a back room of the home all by herself since her arrival. I can only imagine the emotional weight and effect this experience is having on her current and overall well being- having been taken away from her mother then isolated alone for almost two weeks now. At first she was so sick that she never moved from the spot we left her. Now, after a swift and courageous recovery from most of her ailments minus the ringworm, she scratches at the door and meows to be let out. It breaks my heart to hear her and know there’s nothing I can do. I too have had to isolate away from everyone and everything and will probably still be treating my own even when she’s recovered.

Other things to note were that when we asked what type of food she was eating so we didn’t upset her stomach by giving her something different, Mrs. Carter said that she fed her kittens raw chicken ground up with the bone and all. She also as we were leaving applied some Monistat 7 to the kitten’s ears. She said that it would help prevent ear infection. The vet says this is a lie and that it was to treat the ringworm that Mrs. Cater knew the kitten was carrying. When we asked for her shot records Mrs. Carter found a blank feline records sheet and filled it in as we sat there. We were never given any official papers, health certificate, or warranty as she advertises on her web-site. We couldn’t even get a clear answer on when the kitten was born. Lastly, she told us that her mother cat had given birth to a litter of 12 and they all died, then she gave birth again and they all died but one. We stayed in the front room of her home. She never showed us where the kittens were staying or growing up. These cats are sick and being seriously neglected and it breaks my heart.

To date, the money invested to recover from the sick kitten that Mrs. Carter sold me totals $778.45. This does not include the $450.00 we paid for the kitten or the $101.10 that her lime-sulfur dip will cost tomorrow. With those included, the grand total equals $1, 329.55. I do not regret purchasing this sweet adorable kitten but I do feel an obligation to make sure this frightening misfortune is not experienced by other innocent persian kitten seekers. I am in love with her and dedicated to her recovery and excited about her eventual introduction to our family. The doctor says it could be weeks, even months before we're able to.

I found Mrs. Carter and her family to be pleasant and polite people. I am sorry that for whatever reason she was unable to, as a professionally acclaimed CFA breeder, identify, treat, or disclose the obvious woe malaise & ailments of the kitten she bore me.

Responses

  • Ma
    Marlene Spolane May 26, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On September 19th my husband bought me a baby Persian kitten from Vicki Carter and her partner Shellie Johnson. My twins were off to college and we had more love to give. Little did I know then the heartbreak I was about to endure. My little guy was sick from day one. He had a ringworm that was NOT disclosed to us. Shortly after he came home, I discovered the ringworm and took him to the vet. I contacted Vicki just for her to deny, deny, deny but then admitted that one of his kitten mates had it so she wasn’t surprised he had it too. He had a sore on him and when I questioned her about it, she said he was playing to rough with the other cats. He came home on three preventative meds and one was for ringworm. I didn’t know that it’s not normal to give a kitten ringworm meds if it doesn’t have ringworm. He went downhill from there. He suffered several upper respiratory infections, pneumonia, skin staph infection then the ringworm returned with a vengeance. My vet called yesterday with the devistating news that he has FIB, which is a deadly feline immunity disease (basically kitten AIDS). We made the horrific decision to put him to rest, out of pain and finally peace.
    Shame on you Vicki Carter! Your karmic path is yours to walk. I have no idea how you sleep at night. I will see you in court and a judge will decide your fate.
    Rest In Peace Shayna Punim Ketsul I love you and will always think of you sweet boy ❤️

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    frastrich May 25, 2018

    I truly can’t believe this breeder is still in business. My dear friend purchased a kitten from Vicky Carter and from day one the cat had ring worm and an immune issue. She took the kitten to two vets and spent hundreds of dollars and countless hours trying to nurse him back to health. Blood tests came back yesterday showing he had a fatal disease and had to be euthanized. This so sad and it should not happen again. Vicki Carter did nothing to help with vet bills. She even tried to deny that the cat was sick. She offered to give her another cat after finally admitting she sold him with ringworm. Who would want another sick cat? Probably inbreed too!!!
    DO NOT PURCHASE A CAT FROM THIS PERSON OR FROM ANYONE ASSOCIATED WITH HER. PLEASE DO YOUR RESEARCH.

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    JPSrosen May 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My best friend bought a very sick kitten from her a few short months ago .. during that time she and her family fell in love with their new pet only having to put him to sleep yesterday after MONTHS of having to watch this precious INNOCENT animal suffer... she KNEW this kitten was ill.. this women doesn't care about these animals or the people she sells them to... it's been agonizing watching my best friend in tears on a daily basis trying to save this poor little kitten.. it's now my mission to let anyone and everyone I know about this dishonest and in my mind heartless breeder

    VICKY CARTER I HOPE YOU REALIZE THE PAIN YOU HAVE CAUSED ME, MY BEST FRIEND, EVERY ONE OF THESE PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT YOU AND THE POOR ANIMALS THAT HAVE TERRIBLY PAINFUL LIVES SO YOU CAN HAVE MONEY IN YOUR POCKET!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fraziesj Nov 12, 2015

    Oh. My. Gosh... It is so sad to see that all of her kitties are sick and in a filthy environment.

    I bought a kitten from her in 2012 and the kitten had all of the same problems that you have mentioned above.. I spent a ridiculous amount of money on the kitten as well as on myself from an unnamable rash and ring worms that also spread to 13 of my friends...crazy, I know..

    The kitten eventual died after about a month of having her from an internal disease, my mother and grandmother were very upset about the situation and asked for a refund and the only thing Vicky would do is give us another cat... I was obviously very against getting another cat from her because of my terrible experience with the first kitty

    I ended up going to her house to pick up my next kitten (Vicky was extremely hateful because I wouldn't go into her house and screamed at me and slammed the door in my face... Grabbed the kitten and came back outside, put the kitten into my crate and I left right away) and went straight to the vet with him. He was sick and flea/ring worm infested as well, I left him at the vet overnight and my grandmother cared for him until he was healthy and well (about 3 months)

    I still have my cat (George Clooney) and he is so sweet and such a sweet cat!!

    I hope Vicky has stopped breeding animals... At first I felt bad about buying a cat from a breeder instead of rescuing one, but as far as I'm concerned any cat that is taken out of her home is rescued...

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH VICKY CARTER

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChantelW Nov 17, 2013

    I also got a kitten from Vicki Carter. My cat had all of the same ailments that you just described. He had ringworm so badly that his tail had no fur!! She lied to us and said it was just because he was young and she was sure it would grow in. Well she definitely mislead us! She knew it was ringworm. We however did not. My entire family also got ringworm, multiple times. My poor cat suffered through these awful dips from the vet and 4 months of daily medication. He also had diarrhea due to an overgrowth of bacteria in his stool. And again had to suffer through months of diarrhea, gas and bloating. It also smelled like something had died every time he had a BM, which was no fun for anyone.

    I have spent about $1500 to get this kitten in good health. And it has taken 3 vets to finally figure out how to cure his stomach/digestive problems. He was also extremely small and thin when we got him. Ms. Carter said he was the runt, but I am starting to think that was a lie after seeing your complaint. I am so upset that all of my worst fears about where he came from were true. We love our cat and he is finally healthy and happy. We don't mind that we had to pay so much to get him healthy only because we know we saved him, he would not have survived living there.

    Ms. Carter did give me a $50 refund when I told her about all of the fleas, ringworm and other ailments that were making our kitten so sick. She claimed she had no idea about any of this. I always suspected that was a lie and now I now for sure.

    And he has the thickest, furriest, fluffiest tale I have ever seen on a cat! We just love him! I hope Ms. Carter either stops breeding cats or that she starts giving them the care they deserve. I am heartbroken to know all of these kittens are living this way.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.