The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
BFY Obsolete PartsScam and lies

I ordered a gas tank for my car from this company on Sept 3rd. They took my money from my account on the 4th. The website said products were shipped within 24-48 hrs. I contaced the company 3 days later to ask for a shipping number and never recieved a response. After 2 more emails, I called the company and was told that they had to order the tank, and it would be in on the 12th. After not hearing from them, I contacted them on the 16th to see about getting a tracking number again. I was told the package was in the shipping dept and was leaving that afternoon. I never recieved a package, and contacted them again on the 23rd. I was told that someone from shipping would call me. After 3 more days, I recieved no call, and contacted them again on the 26th. I was told that Fedex lost my package and would I like a refund. As it had almost been a month, I told them yes, I would like my money back. I checked my bank account this morning, the 30th, and still no refund, so I once again contacted them. The first email went unanswered, so I sent another one, mentioning that I was taking all of my paperwork and emails from them to my local JAG office. I was told that my email was being fowarded to someone in the refund dept and I would get my money. That was at 1300 their time, 1600 my time. So I knew it would at least take a few hours to hear back from the so called refund dept. At 1700 their time, 2000 mine, I get an email from Fedex, saying that a package had been sent via this company, to my address. I was outraged. I have been lied to for a month. They NEVER sent the package off to me to begin with, that was all a lie. I was lied to saying that I would get my refund. Basically, someone there screwed up, and instead of telling me about it, they lied and tried to put me off. I would have been able to deal with the truth better. Now, after spending a weekend fixing my car the best way I could, I have a freaking gas tank on the way that would have helped me had I recieved it almost a month ago, when I ordered it. My main complaint here is that if it was out of stock, I should have recived an email after I ordered saying that it was out of stock, and asking me if I would want to wait for them to get it in. That way I could have been given the choice to wait, or try to get it somewhere else. As it was, I was without my car for almost a month. These people are scam artist, and liars, and do not deserve the business of hard working people. I will also be contacting Fedex to let them know that this company is basically blaming their screw ups on them. Also, all emails I have with this company have been kept and printed out in case I need to prove what I am saying.

Responses

  • Ex
    ex-imvumember Jan 15, 2014

    Darren Dudley is a worm. I didn't get cheated but man.. I feel bad for you guys. The guy just didn't care about me getting my car fixed at the body shop. Guess what, it sits in my garage now and looks like a brand new car. My body shop didn't buy the apron from this a-hole and they decided to salvage what I had and they did an immaculate restoration of the vehicle. Darren Dudley, you caused me to stop buying parts from your store. You are a shame to people who restore vehicles.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Webb Jan 14, 2010

    Similarily, I only had a bad experience from "shipping". Took a month of calls to get the error straightened out

    0 Votes
  • Ww
    WWG Dec 17, 2009

    Update:

    I called the Orange PD, and there's really nothing they can do since this is a civil matter. It looks like I will have to take this to small claims court, but it's probably a long shot.

    Also, I found the receipt, and I paid over $500, not $375.

    Good luck everyone!

    0 Votes
  • Ww
    WWG Dec 17, 2009

    WOW! I had no idea any of this was going on! I paid $375 for a headliner and window seals for my 77 bus about 2 years ago, and I checked in every 2 months or so but never really pressed to get it since I was waiting to paint the bus before installing those parts, and never got around to it. Now I guess I'm screwed?! That sucks! Well, I plan to contact Anaheim PD right now, I will repost any updates.

    With any luck, we will get some justice!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dario Dec 09, 2009

    Darren es un ladron me robo 581 dolares hace mas de un año que hice el pedido y cuando fui me dijo que me los hacia llegar que el pagaba los gastos de envio a colombia luego me dijo que me devolvia el dinero y mentiras nunca revirtio la operacion ¡¡¡¡¡¡ no compren ¡¡¡¡¡¡

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    Jreeves-SC Dec 03, 2009

    I am in the same boat as everyone else but my problem is bank will not reverse or dispute charges--has anyone contacted D.A. if so could i get a name and telephone number? Darren has cut off his phone and web site (surprise)

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    Jreeves-SC Dec 03, 2009

    I am having the same problem as everyone else except i can not get charges reversed nor can i get in touch with darren--my only option would be to contact D.A. Maybe--has anyone gone further with their complaints?

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    pham Dec 02, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a transmission and paid total $945.00 on August 4th, 2009. I contacted them by phone and came their stores, but they closed their store and their tel number didn't work too. I don't know how to get my money back. Can anyone help us??? If someone will take action to them, please contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ai
    airwa97 Nov 29, 2009

    i totally agree, purchased some parts and with in a month out of bussiness.
    no new phone number, no human is available any longer,
    the phone number 1-800 just take you around and around.? what with that!!
    totally bad. i sure they had this information in hand.
    rip off duds... let reverse the charges,
    what a idea..
    auto just sitting now!!!
    no.ca
    fah<<<<51>>>

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carrera76 Nov 28, 2009

    Hello from Spain, my name is Oscar Garcia, and I made an order to BFY last May of about 196 $. I did not received anything from them. What do you recomend to me, should I contact with Anaheim Police?
    Many thanks

    1 Votes
  • Rk
    rkillam2 Nov 27, 2009

    I had a police report made out through the anaheim police department and the California Attorney General. My son has lost >$500 in parts he never received. Please contact me if you have any questions. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary St.Germain Nov 24, 2009

    The CS took payment Via creditcard and never shipped the parts
    thay dont answer the phone.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rong Nov 16, 2009

    I thought I was alone in my dealings with Darren and BFI. I returned some parts that fell far short of restoration quality ( after he assured me they were when I ordered) After numerous calls, I finally gave up. I guess I should count myself lucky he only scammed me for $40.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian128 Nov 16, 2009

    he screwed me for $650. i have read that there is a case with the DA. im still trying to get the DA's name and #. from what i have read on other forums is to contact the DA and give them your info.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Fernando W Nov 10, 2009

    Hi everyone, my name is Fernando and I m writing from Ecuador, I ordered a house light assembly for $ 58, 00 on October 5th and by the 6th my credit card was charged. A cousing in Miami called this people like 3 weeks ago and the answer was that they were on inventory for two days, when he tried to call two days later no one answered. Now I m trying to reach this people and it is imposible, phones dissconected, the web page is not longer avaiable and so on. As all of you guys, I would like to recover my money, unfortunately as I read the complaints I realize its going be hard, specially for the people who do not live in the US. Any suggestions are welcome and of course if I can contribute to do something, please do not hesitate.

    Sorry in advance for any gramatical mistake.

    Fernando W

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hailey Larry Nov 10, 2009

    Thanks for the heads up, I was just about to place a large order with BFY... What does the State Attorney general has to say

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cOqUe Nov 04, 2009

    My name is Alvaro, I'm from Ecuador. I ordered from BFY some small things for my bug (luckily, only $45). That man always told me the order was shipped and didn't have a tracking number since it shipped by USPS (the order said FedEx Ground) Now, The phone is offline, even the DNS servers can't resolve his domain name (if you know what i'm talking about). It just looks like he dissapeared... If you people find him, just let him suffer for all he has done to us, and to our bugs...

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenn Nov 03, 2009

    That is very true, i ordered a set of gravel guards about five months ago and it still never came... at first i contacted them and they said it's on order, then contacted them again a month later and said it shipped out...it never came again they said it was lost in the mail so they'll ship another one... they never contacted me with no tracking number or any information on the products..during this five month period they never called or answered my emails..now recently they don't answer the phones or it goes straight to answering machine...know what to do? this company doesn't stand up to their name... the people who's trying to restore their VW just can't complete their projects with people that do dishonest buisness. Keola

    0 Votes
  • Tb
    tbirdie Oct 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I live in Toluca Mexico. Same thig as all of you. Went a day to OC, found their place and placed an order. It was charged the very same day and never sent. $2, 300 USD . I have called daily for over a year and a half now. Does anyone have an AMEX statement with the business number or accout for BFY???? They are asking me for that information and I do not have it.

    0 Votes
  • Bf
    BFY Is a Crook Oct 28, 2009

    Only owes me $100 or so, but still, a crook is a crook:

    DARREN DUDLEY
    12411 COUNTRY LN
    SANTA ANA, CA 92705

    -1 Votes
  • Tm
    tmylmmac Oct 28, 2009

    You all have it right ... I have been having to deal with him for the past year now... He has always had reasons why the things that I ordered did not arrive .. I have given Darren about $3, 500 over the past year and last month I asked for a refund ... I work close to the shop so I was ablr to go down at any time and always talked to him and he was very nice when he sits there and lies to your face... last month I brought some things back to him in the amount of$500 for a refund.. I have not received my refund not to mention I have close to $600 worth of things that I have had to get from other places that I need to return to Darren .I have called no answer I have been been there at the shop many of times and all there is are notes from other people that have been ripped off .. Darren I hope you are reading this you know who this is... I will find you and I WILL get my money that you owe me one way or another!!! remember I work in the computer industry and I will have no problen finding you to get my money back that you told me would be refunded 2 months ago..

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CMMCSP Oct 25, 2009

    I submitted all my paperwork to the Anaheim Police Economic Crimes division and had an approved case number. I haven't heard anything else from them since that time though (over 5 months ago) but I'm sure they're doing whatever they can to take Darren down. The Samba forum is reporting that his business has been vacant for a couple of weeks. Maybe he has skipped town!

    0 Votes
  • Bf
    BFYHATER Oct 24, 2009

    GOT ME FOR 815.00, HOWEVER NICE GIRL AT aNAHEIM pOLICE DETECTIVES OFFICE IS WILLING TO TAKE MY CRIME REPORT. aNAHEIM pOLICE SAYS THEY HAVE MANY COMPLAINTS ON BYF, BUT NOBODY IS FOLLOWING THROUGH WITH THE PAPERWORK. WE ALL NEED TO FOLLOW THROUGH AND PUT THIS TURD OUT OF BUSINESS.

    P.S. I AM ALSO A COP, AND I PUT GUYS LIKE THIS IN JAIL EVERY DAY, HOWEVER IM ON THE WRONG COAST. I WILL SEE TO IT THAT MY CASE GETS FOLLOWED THROUGH TO THE END.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    COCONUT Oct 22, 2009

    he got me for 369.00$we have to do something about this fool..

    0 Votes
  • Co
    COCONUT Oct 22, 2009

    Ive been waiting for my parts for over a month now. Cant even get a hold of these scam artist even went down to the shop to try to catch them and they wernt even open. I am very disappointed with them. He kept telling me that the part will be here the following day and i never got a call. I finalley called a week later to seee what was up and still no responce. Ive been calling everyday and still no answer. Still pending

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    Darren Dudley a.k.a. dead man walking-soon to be headlines!

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    Darren Dudley a.k.a dead man walking.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    Yes it would certainly make great reading"Darren Dudley a local con artist found dead under suspicious circumstances", lets face it people have been murdered for a lot less!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    WON;T ANSWER THAT, AGAIN ON MY PAGER PLS.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    Ever seen someone caught up in razor-wire?Very messy!!

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    Hey SEANeb you are of course right we hard working Americans should conduct our own trial...i find him GUILTY, next stage punishment...lets group up and show Darren Dudley and his team of rip off workers what where about!He and his team are enjoying our money..ill be happy to post any info. pictured of him, his family, and workers along with address/contact numbers...Yes Darren be afraid it's a matter of time for your lot to face many angry cries!!!SMASH HIM AND HIS WORKERS!I'M DOWN $2, 600+++ WE'LL FIND YOU.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    Ghetto_vw Oct 21, 2009

    Sound

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SEANeb Oct 21, 2009

    DARREN DUDLEY MUST PAY FOR HIS ACTIONS PLEASE CONTACT ME WITH ANY INFO. I AM CONDUCTING MY OWN RESEARCH AND WILL BE HAPPY TO SHARE IT...I'LL KEEP YOU POSTED...THOUGHTS GO OUT TO HIS VICTIMS.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SEANeb Oct 21, 2009

    I WILL PAY FOR INFORMATION ON DARREN DUDLEYS LOCATION PLEASE POST HIS HOME ADDRESS SO WE CAN PAY THE ### A VISIT...I'M SURE YOUR HEADING FOR A FALL DARREN DUDLEY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skk4rwkkr0w Oct 19, 2009

    Just got my credit company to reverse a 250 dollar charge to them that was 5 months old because I STILL don't have parts...

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    verolore Oct 05, 2009

    I am from argentina and i have the same problems...he took 380 dollars from me!!!

    0 Votes
  • Nh
    N Harpt Aug 13, 2009

    They are either incompetent, or dishonest. Their customer service is pathetic. I waited 3 months for back-ordered items that would be in "any day". They gave different answers for my order status each time I called and the parts never came in. I finally canceled my order and was assured I would get a prompt refund to my credit card. After nearly 4 months of waiting and 5 contacts, I still do not have my refund.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sianbear Aug 01, 2009

    I am in the same situation as everyone else here. I ordered fenders and have called every day to get a shipping number but so far have received nothing but lies. I just got of the phone with my credit card company and am filing a dispute over the charge. BFY should be drummed out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    gezza Jul 20, 2009

    I am in Australia & have ordered a disc brake conversion in July 2008. After numerous emails & phone calls I received 1/2 of the order in December 2008. Further communication via email & phone to Darren Dudley proved futile. This Darren Dudley is a real piece of work...very smooth with the lies - tells me exactly what I want to hear - And absolutely no result - never able to obtain any shipping reference & the story changes many times. I have now asked for a refund & Darren will not respond.

    Please beware - this company has no ethics and will take your money and provide unlimited lies...I am really annoyed with myself for trusting and hoping Darren was genuine...What a sucker I was...Please don't let this happen to you.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    Pikngrapes Jul 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I experienced the same run around from Darren and waited six months with only part of my order ever being shipped. Fortunately, I live close enough to BFY and paid them a visit a few weeks ago. After I walked in, I waited about ten minutes before Darren was off the phone and could finally help me. In that ten minute period he received three phone calls from angry customers demanding refunds. One of the phone calls he had to take in the the back room because of how heated the exchange was. I peaked down their hall and could see the storage area was a mess not to mention a stack full of customer orders loosely spread out everywhere with no sense of real organization. Long story short, I was able to get a refund, but I do consider myself lucky for getting my money back. BFY Obsolete needs to be put out of business and Darren needs a foot up his ###!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.