Bancorp ION Visa Prepaid CardHOLDING CUSTOMER MONEY

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Just started using the new ION VIsa Bank Card last week ( . Through Money Tree.) Money tree has provided EXCELLENT service for years. I have not ONE complaint, recently Ion has contracted with them. I switched Visa Debit cards to Ion. 1 week later, I load my card, go to the gas station, and I can't USE MY CARD!!! I go to ANOTHER gas station.. CAN'T USE MY CARD!!! I called customer service .. 17 MINUTE WAIT!!! He tells me the system is UPDATING.. and it will be an HOUR before I can USE MY CARD !!! MY MONEY IS HELD UP !! I waited and drove to another gas station, STILL no access after an hour !! I was on my way from a job interview to the dentist to get a crown.. takes weeks to get in for. And I was STRANDED 20 miles away.. Finally the gas station attendant felt sorry and gave me 5.00. 2 days later.. I try to swipe my card.. CANT USE MY CARD!!! I call CUSTOMER SERVICE AGAIN... and they tell me I will not get to use my money due to a pre-auth that can take up to 7 days to RELEASE with no remedy for this.. for GAS I did not get to purchase .. due to their ION CARD UPDATING!!!??? I am going to let the WORLD KNOW and call the attorney generals office and the FTC. The previous VIsa I had. I could call the company and get them to fax to release authorization and I do not know why in GODS WORLD I would EVER HAVE A HOLD FOR a PRE- AUTH 7 day of my MONEY!!! I think this institution is BROKE. and using other people's money!!! Updating the system my ###.. I am now AFRAID to put money on this card. I am afraid that my bills will not get paid on time and I might be late for work if I can't get GAS!!! WITH MY OWN MONEY!!! WHILE THEY ARE MERCILESSLY USING AND HOLDING MY MONEY which is NOT THEIR MONEY!!! I asked to talk to a supervisor.. and was put on hold for 3 or 4 minutes. Supervisor SCOTT. employee # 857.. if that is even REAL.. And he told me they can't do anything for me. Well.. up yours. ION.. here is your complaint .. I suggest that anybody else who has had problems .. to complain to MONEY TREE so they CUT THEM OFF!!! I am so sorry that I closed my other VIsa account with them. So sorry. REPORT THEM TO THE ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE ONLINE.. And your REGIONS FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION!!! I am doing this right now.. Complaint board was my first stop.

Responses

  • Ke
    Kelly Watkins Nov 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    had a similar issue, I was unable to use 70.00 after using the card the night before at a gas station./Turns out it has to do with using the outside pump authorizes for that amount not aware of what it was gonna take to fill. So although we just capped the gas off it had the remainder of the money held up for 7 days. I am still confused of the reasoning and whether it was safeway gas that causes that to happen or the card. What is clear is Not to use the outside payment option. Unless you just got it like that and can afford the holdup (pun intended).
    One more thing that is clear is moneyttree saying they are no longer going to use ion visa and are using Net Spend /just a name change on the surface, Still Bancorp in the background

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Connie Hyde Sep 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had my ion card for over 2 years and have never had a problem. Quite frankly i think you exagerate just a little for the drama. You might want to check the back of other cards you have, chances are they say Bancorp on hem also. Oh and by the way, that's how banks make money is by using your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimber belieu Mar 09, 2015

    Ion is the worst prepaid card company ever they have made it so my power is getting turned off my water is getting turned off and my phone is getting turned off this is absolutely ridiculous they have sent me 4 cards in the last week and I can't use any of them and I am waiting on a express shipment card and it was sent out on Tuesday and they still haven't gotten a tracking number for so I call to talk to a supervisor and they said that one would call me back within 24hrsi recommend that if anyone wants a prepaid card do not use ion they will take your money and

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lizzo101 Sep 07, 2013

    I LOVE ion. I've had several, SEVERAL different prepaid cards and have ALWAYS been crazy opposed to PAYING to put money on my card. There is no logic what-so-ever. So I was thrilled when I found ion (because of the zero charge to reload at money tree.) I too have called customer service to get account and routing numbers. I was able to use my pre-paid just like a checking account on eBay and Paypal to be able to accept payments. Sounds dumb but you could say I'm a teensy bit smitten w my pink ion! ANY WAY everyone's experience will differ I suppose, but it sounds like they are shooting for customer satisfaction, by trying to 'right' it.

    0 Votes
  • 1b
    1bigtrustee Apr 23, 2013

    They divest your hold money times 1000's or more worldwide. After making a considerable gain they refund/return your money but not the interest made from the surety they created with your money (NAME). That is what you can call FRAUD everyday of the week, and twice on Sundays

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    JTTJ Feb 26, 2013

    I fell your pain guys. I have stayed at the D Hotel in Las Vegas 5 times in the last year, and this past time ION is still holding my money after 10 days. The wait is only supposed to be 7 days according to The D, but ION says it can take up to 30 DAYS!!! I have called and complained. I asked to talk to a supervisor, they gave me some bs that no supervisor was available. The nice people at The D even sent over a fax to Bancorps office even though they shouldn't have had to. I am still waiting. Today the same jerk I talked to yesterday told me that even though they faxed that info it could take a couple days before the money can be refunded. I am taking these crooks to small claims court. It is your right people. I know it takes time out of your day, but if I can be the 1st person in line to make these thieves changes their ways it will make me feel better. All the court costs these guys will be spending on money will force this. Take action people. The more complaints, the more impact we have. Contact your Congressman, or the AG's office.

    0 Votes
  • Mz
    mzwilson Feb 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I cant stand Ion prepaid card services has my made life for me and my children hell...I had my fin aid deposisted on feb15 on my son's father card. All my stuff was stolen id and all n i was n the process of moving...He was great in helping just to have ION HOLD IT AND THEY ARE STILL HOLDING...faxed n all documents id ss card notary award letter ..My kids ages 6mos to 7 are devasted we are going from relative to relative and at time ahelters besides me goin to school still and my kids...i am looking to actually pursue a case for unnessary harsahiip..and the experience of being homeless with kids..Please if you know where i can go plz direct me...[protected] devasted mother Nd determined

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    luckylady Feb 17, 2013

    wow hate to hear the horrible problems that a great deal of people are having with their ION debit card. Luckily my experience has been the exact opposite, since receiving my card I have not had one problem with it. When I load money on the card it's available immediately and I have not had any trouble. When I've called customer service for simple questions like requesting my routing number I'm usually on hold less then 3 minutes. I love my ION visa debit it is actually the best prepaid debit card I have owned. I'm evening loading my tax return on my card.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marj325 Feb 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WE have the same issue i started using ion from money tree not even a month.. So i got direct deposit at my job.. Its my first direct deposit i got paid feb 6 till now dont have my money on my accnt.. Its been 3days now been calling them many times to asked what happend they keep telling me to verify my employer for the routing and accnt number.. So my employer gave me a tracking no. For the direct deposit that the money went through on my accnt.. So i give that to them 3x but still they said they cant trace the money.. So i look online to see if ION Is really safe to used then read ur complaint about them!! If u read this i NEED UR HELP IF U CAN CONTACT ME AT [protected]!! Hope to hear from u soon

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chery0205 Nov 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ion customer service, possibly somebody from corporate or upper management called to apologize a few days after I placed these complaints on complaint board. I was still pretty ticked and was not interested and speaking with them. Apologies are nice, but they had me so upset.. just better for my health to have little to do with them, so I said, "thank you" and hung up, , they kept calling me back. A few days later I discovered 20.00 they had placed onto my Visa Card. I am not sure why, but if it was something they did to apologize, then that is very nice. I have not used the card but once since the complaints . I order the old Cash Solutions Card ., now I will use both and end up paying 15.00 a month for fees if I use both cards. I will check and see if i can depend on this card in about a month or two when things should be more settled after so many people coming over to this card from Money Tree. We will see. Normally I am more gracious to apologies? But was little a early for that when they called and not over the horror of it all. . I was out on a job interview that day and just HORRIFIED over the thought that I could have been stranded in the morning before work and lost my job or got a bad record due to not being able to access my own money. But I DO have to say thank you and i am impressed with your at least attempting to provide good customer service after the fact. This shows good character and in good taste. So thank you for that.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.