The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Appraisal Group of America LLCAppraisal Group of America LLC

D Review updated:

Subject: Appraisal Group of America refuses to refund money for services NOT rendered.

I would like to file a formal complaint against Auto Appraisals Group of America based out of Portland Oregon.

1. While deployed to Southern Iraq in 2008, my vehicle was involved in a total loss on April 15th while I was deployed. In hopes of getting assistance in my insurance settlement, I hired the services of Appraisal Group of America via telephone calls from Forwarding Operating Base Camp Bucca, Iraq.

2. Appraisal Group of America states the following services on their website:
http://www.appraisalgroupofamerica.com/customerService.htm
? We can inspect your vehicle in any of the 50 U.S. states at your convenience. (They did not provide a physical appraisal because they charged more for this)
? We will call the body shop and get your repair order and review the repair estimate line-by-line with you (Total Loss, Not applicable)
? Analyze the type and extent of the damage and discuss the information with you.
? Provide an 8 to 10-page report to you and your insurance company.
? Call to verify your insurance company received the appraisal.
? Provide ongoing assistance with the claim through the entire process.
(NONE OF THESE SERVICES WERE RENDERED TO ME)
(A) Monica Fisher whom I have hired, DID NOT speak or communicate to my adjuster/insurance with USAA and I have written proof that USAA never had any contact with Appraisal Group of America.

3. Appraisal Group of America did send me a rough draft of their appraisal that was only WEB Based and was not a physical appraisal. I received a final draft with my changes and editing almost 2 weeks later.
THEY COULDN'T EVEN ADD THE FIGURES CORRECTLY.

4. I contacted Monica Fisher on May 20th stating my disappointment that I had heard nothing from them for over 2 weeks – and also complained that USAA claimed to not have ever heard from their company.

5. After having to settle my own claim after so long and without the assistance of Appraisal Group of America, I tried to get my money back because the ONLY service they provided was emailing me a random price sampling of similar vehicles from the internet that was formatted into a letter. NO OTHER SERVICES WERE RENDERED.

6. In their rebuttal, their company boldly claimed that my adjuster stated that I received more money from USAA simply because of their company's work/appraisal. This was a complete lie, proven by the statement from my insurance company. I am hurt by this statement because I did all the work to reach a settlement while my insurance company never spoke to this 3rd party appraisal company.

7. I paid a hefty price of $595.00 for their services of helping me with the services stated above. I have been lied to constantly as they claimed to negotiate for my insurance settlement in which they DID NOT.

Iraq veteran
Great Mills, MD, Maryland
U.S.A.

Very wrong what they did to this Veteran. I decided to post the complaint again while feeling sorry for him.

Responses

  • Sh
    Shannon Lynne Turner Apr 21, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CAUTION! DANGER! Autoloss.com, as of this date, is not authorized by their home state of Oregon to be doing business under this name! I was lied to and mislead by Monica Fisher on several occasions. Her references and credentials are false, at least in part. Autoloss and Appraisal Group of America have been found to be guilty of False Advertising at a minimum. Do Not believe their 100% Money Back Guarantee! Contact your local Police Department Div. Of Financial Crimes as well as your State Attorney General please! Let's work together to stop their deceptive business practices.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roy H. Sonkin Jan 16, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Shannon Lynne Turner I too had a similar experience with Autoloss.com. Promises were made by Monica that were unsubstantiated and meaningless. Initially I was told by her that I had a very good case and should receive $17, 000 plus for my diminished value claim. She produced a "cookie cuter" report of no value. Next she told me I should receive approximately $14, 000, again a lie. Finally she told me to settle for $10, 000, again a lie. No offer was given by the insurance company. I live in New York and filed a formal complaint with the State Department of Finance. I appealed the decision and was told by them that "the law (NYS) does not allow for both reimbursement for repairs and diminished value".
    This is the opposite that I was told by Monica. She said "I have had several successful cases" in New York. I ask how is this possible when the LAW states otherwise? I think that their operation is a scam!!! Ill equipped and dishonest. Monica's attitude was argumentative and demeaning. I suggest avoiding this operation!

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    e cherie Jul 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everything posted here is a complete fabrication with the exception of the two dissenting comments that appear to be genuine. I find humorous that every "claim" that was made that they got exactly the dollar amount that was requested. I assure you that doesn't happen. How do I know this? Cause I work in the auto industry and I am a liaison for the auto dealers and salvage yards. Now is there potential for Diminished value claims? Sure there is but, it’s a case by case scenario. Most often cars are put back in pre-loss condition and that is technically all the insurance companies owes anyone. There are exceptions and those exceptions should qualify given the severity of damage, permanent or unresolved issues. Most of this stuff is being promoted by companies like AGA strictly for greed and then you have opportunist taking advantage of the system if you will. The Insurance industry is losing money by the billions from all the real catastrophes now common in our time. It will not be long before most of the insurance companies will be drained of their resources and will fold. People that seek self-entitlements and free money will eventually have no options when it comes to legitimate claims.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Biswesh Amatya Mar 09, 2015

    Autoloss prepared the Diminution Value (DV) report feb 2014 with random comparison of other different vehicle. The DV report was fully denied and not recognized by the Insurance Commissioner and the insurance company. The DV report could not generate even a penny. When i have told them to refund the money, they ignore my email and call for long time and finally they gave me 90 days wait period to refund the check. They crossed the 90 days and the check has not been refunded. When the dispute was filed with the credit card company, Monica Fisher CEO of Autoloss mentioned that she would approve it to refund the transaction. But when the credit card company called them, they didn't honor to refund the money. They are nice until they receive the money. After they receive the money, they simply do not care. Their business should be shut down from my point of view. The real crooks you will see is Autoloss.

    2 Votes
  • Fi
    fisherceo Nov 06, 2011

    horrible attitude. all are right about monica and nr fisher the ceo. lol he posted that he used his own service and he acted like a customer the day after a complaint on this site. All compliments are a day after complaints. Ironic. terrible

    1 Votes
  • Da
    dave you Jun 11, 2010

    Very Happpy with Service. Easy and I received an extra significant sum. Would use again if I ever get in another wreck, hopefully never again. NC.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dave you Jun 11, 2010

    Excellent Company. They filed the report and Geico Insurance Company send me the extra $1, 900 they owed me. Would refer anyone to them. Dave in NC

    0 Votes
  • To
    toddvalll May 02, 2010

    OMG. What a great company. I was having the hardest time with the insurance company and due to this company they cut me a check. I have no idea what the guy is talking about above. The insurance company sent me a check for what I was owed and they only offered me $500 before. Everytime I called them they helped me and it was so easy. I was scared to sign up because I had a older car with high miles but everything worked like AGA said it would. I even gave thier number to my mother because she was in a wreck a few months ago. Thanks so much.

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    MFisher69 Apr 02, 2010

    LIES...The people that got "cut checks" are people that drove expensive cars or with expensive modifications. For every other hard working American that has a regular car, you can expect no big difference in offers when appraisal group signs on. If you think you need Appraisal Group then grab a few hundred dollars...walk into your bathroom and flush it down the toilet. It has the same effect.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    holiday3321 Apr 02, 2010

    I hired Appraisal Group of Ameirca and the insurance company cut me a check for the exact amount I was asking for. Very Happy Customer in NC. Holiday.

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    MFisher2121 Apr 01, 2010

    HORRIBLE, TERRIBLE, WORST PURCHASE...You DO NOT NEED Appraisal Group of America, TotalLoss.com, or their newest name. You can do all of this yourself. If you are challenged, CONTACT your states INSURANCE COMMISSIONER. They are a free government entity. YOU DO NOT NEED APPRAISAL GROUP OF AMERICA. Unless you want to pay hundreds of dollars for someone to print off form documents. If thats the case I would be willing to fight your case for 100.oo dollars. Appraisal Group of America is a sham product. Maybe American's really are just lazy. IDK.

    Monica...do you see what attitude gets you?

    1 Votes
  • Dr
    drber Apr 01, 2010

    I fought with Farmers for 2 months regarding the total loss value on my vehilce and all they did was use something called CCC. Once I hired Appraisal Group of America they were forced to hire their own appraiser and I received over $4, 000 more then what CCC says I would be able to get. Appraisal Group of America payed off big time for me and the fee was $399.. I have no idea who the above hired. I would hire them again in a minute. John Till Seattle Washington

    1 Votes
  • La
    last2chance Mar 29, 2010

    All of you WONDERFUL people are great. However, Appraisal Group of America, AutoLoss.com, Total Loss.com and whatever their name might be at the time...do not do anything that YOU yourself couldnt do. They send in form letters to your insurance. YOU can all do this yourself and keep an extra 6 hundred in your wallet. I don't know...why not get the money your owed plus keep 6 hundred. If your insurance company hassles you...contact your states Insurance Commissioner. They are a free entity provided by the good ol'e US of A.

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    edhun Mar 29, 2010

    This is the 1st time I have ever been in a wreck so I was a little nervous during the process. My fellow employee told me to call Autoloss so I thought I would. I spoke with Monica and she explained the process clearly. I called them back in 2 months once my vehicle was fixed and she again explained the process. I talked to my wife and we decided to go with them. I paid them $399 and they inspected my vehicle and completed a report. They took care of everything and Progressive sent me a check for $8, 090. Exacly what they stated I was owed. I am a very happy customer. Ed Hunter, NC

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    swahington Feb 27, 2010

    I was very satisfied with Appraisal Group of America. I had been fighting with USAA for 6 months regarding the value of my vehicle. USAA refused to look at my new engine/ transmission to increase the value of my vehicle. I contacted Appraisal Group of America and paid the fee of $400. They send me a report that they filed with USAA and in 30 days Terry called me with a new offer of $5, 000 more. USAA had decided finally that I should be reimbursed for my new engine/ transmission. Duhh... I hope I never have to use Appraisal Group of America again but I was very pleased with everything they did. I only wish I would have hired them earlier. Barry L. Washington

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    martha v Feb 04, 2010

    I just used Appraisal Group of America and had great results. The adjuster at Allstate said it was the best diminished value report they had ever seen and they sent me a check for the full amount. I did not even have to haggle. I sent the adjuster the receipt for the report and the adjuster even re-reimbursed me for the report. I think it is a miracle. Martha Valasquez

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    rupdike Jan 30, 2010

    I called Appraisal Group of America and found the service great. They are BBB members and every time I called I spoke with an employee that helped me and Progressive sent me a check for the amount they stated I was owed. I read the above reviews after I hired them. I found them to do exactly what they said they would do. I wish them the best. I told my co-worker about them. Ralph Updike

    -1 Votes
  • Mf
    MFisher Jan 26, 2010

    AUTOLOSS.com is a SCAM...you can do everything they do YOURSELF...and save the 600 dollars they charge...Please do not read these "positive" posts...if you'll notice most posted on the same day...AUTOLOSS.com is A SCAM!!! You can figure diminished value yourself and save 600 dollars.

    1 Votes
  • To
    todds Dec 12, 2009

    I had not been in a wreck for 20 years and the insurance commissinor told me to call www.autoloss.com. I hired Terry Fisher and Farmers sent me a check for over $5, 000 after denying my diminished value claim for 6 months. Forever Gratefulll in Florida..

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scotp. Nov 14, 2009

    This is the second time I have filed a claim with Appraisal Group of America. Both my wife and I seem to get in a wreck a year. My wife on her 09 Lexus was able to get $6, 000 for diminished value against Allstate and I received a check from Farmers on my 04 Toyota Camry for over $3, 000. Both claims were pretty easy and I could call and talk to the staff at Appraisal Group of America anytime. Nothing but great service. I work with Customers all day and I know it is impossible to make everyone happy. I just wanted to give my story too. I think they are terrific. Scott P. CA

    0 Votes
  • An
    anh lyn Sep 25, 2009

    Appraisal Group of America filed a claim for me. I asked for $5, 000. from USAA and USAA only wanted to offer me $500. Once I spoke with Monica I did feel better. I looked at some of the complaints regarding the company and noted they appeared to be from only 2 people. I decided to go with them and they helped me thru the DV process and within 4 weeks I had a check from USAA for $4, 000. Monica did send me a demand letter and I did have to fill in my claim number but what do people expect for $300. I was extremely thrilled with their company and have referred my friends to them.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anh lyn Sep 25, 2009

    I was very happy with them. Appraisal Group of America faxed in a 20 page diminished value report and State Farm sent me a check just like they said they would. I was very happy to get the full amount. AnhL.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    BunnyZakChewy Sep 21, 2009

    I still have to find out if this is the same case for me before I start to complain as well. I took their services almost 3 weeks now since the accident happened..and I paid $299 for an 8 page report they generated that I edited as well before they fax it to the insurance company. They didnt look at my vehicle just the repair estimate and they figured out from that point the DV claim.. The insurance denied my claim stating that they dont know about AGA, so I asked Monica for next steps, looks like Ihave to still create a demand letter myself and explain the situation and prove that I have a claim. My car is now fixed and I still have to do all the things like go get a dealer trade in value etc to prove it.. I thought wait a minute thats what I paid for them to do to appraise my vehicle!!! If they are licensed appraisals their appraisal should be honored. I gave them the benefit and I went to a local dealer and they physically appraised the car stating it was in good condition. Now Im asking AGA to do what they ar supposed to do and help me out of this DV claim and appraisal the vehicle as how its supposed to be appraised.. I havent really received any phone call back from Monica, only emails even If I called specifically for her turns out she's busy and not getting any phone calls but she does replies thru email. The only phone call conversation we has was when she called me that I have a great claim and to get the appraisal started and pay for $299.. So I have to wait a little longer and see if AGA will do something to help me out of this claim.

    1 Votes
  • Jl
    j.love Apr 10, 2009

    I just got a check for $5, 000 extra for my DV claim. They are great and the customer service is great.. They walked me thru the whole process. J. Love Texas, Houston

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Girl from Seattle Mar 17, 2009

    This is the first time I have used Appraisal Group of America and we are still in the beginning process. I've heard a lot of bad stuff about them, and it makes me scare since I have already paid them for the service. I guess only those who are not satisfied with their service file complaint. Those who are happy probably kept their mouth shut (as always the case). I will update this as soon as I am done with the claim. 3/17/09. Seattle, WA.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jim stevens Mar 15, 2009

    I have used Appraisal Group of Ameirca many times over the last fewyears. I have teenagers so they are always getting in wrecks. I have completed 2 Diminished Value Claims with Appraisal Group of America and one total loss claim. Each claim I recevied thousands of dollars more then the offer from the insurance company and had great customer service. Also, they inspected each of my cars and reviewed my repair orders. I dont know why the above person had problems.. I think they are great and I have told my friends about them. Jim Stevens, Seattle Washington

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.