The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
ACCESS FINANCIAL SERVICES/USA MEGAFAKE CHECK @$4800.00

i HAVE RECV. 2 CHECKS FROM THESE COMPANIES;ONE FOR $4800.00 FROM ACCESS FINANCIAL SVS.W/ THE CONTACT AS "JIM MORRIS" @ [protected] AND THE OTHER FROM WORLD FINANCIAL GROUP FOR $4998.00 W/ THE CONTACT OF "STEVE BROWN" @ [protected] W/ THE TAX AGENT AS "ELAINE PEAWEE"

Responses

  • Ve
    vencinia Nov 10, 2009

    I also received a check from
    Access Financial Services 37 BOND AVE. SYDNEY NS CANADA B3L 3C8
    for the usa mega under the international sweepstakes saying that i matched 5 lucky winning numbers on july 16 of this year. It stated that i won 450, 000 dollars and that payment will be made by certified check and be delivered by their special courier company. I also received a check with my letter for 4, 800 dollars with a tax amount of 3, 750 to pay to my claims agent Jim Morris at [protected] to activate my check and to call him before cashing the check to avoid misapproprition and mishandling of prize monies.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Sparkydude Nov 10, 2009

    I received a check today for $4998 stating I was a prize winner "American family publishing" sweepstakes.
    I should contact : Elaine Peawee, taxagent
    The numbe I'm supposed to call is [protected]

    I'm supposed to cash the check they sent and wire them $4400...Fat Chance!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not so stupid111 Nov 16, 2009

    I have recieved the same check. Are they cashable? If so then cash them and keep the money. I'm going to the bank today and cashing the check.

    3 Votes
  • Ub
    Ubdang Nov 16, 2009

    Don't do it. The check will bounce and your financial institution will charge/impose a fee for between $15 and $35 for bounced check fees. Be smart and just say...no...

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    WhoseDaddy Nov 18, 2009

    I been a check $4800.00 check also; stating I won a $450, 000.00 International Sweepstakes drawing held on July 16th, 2009. Tired to Google and Mapquest this business what turned up is your complaint. Thank you for following thru to get to the bottom of this supposed contest. Really, Folks how many second place winners are there anyway ? File -13 next stop. Jim H.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    richard Waller Nov 18, 2009

    same deal here with all the above matching information.Also last week i received six phone calls from people representing a group that wanted to "give" me 2 and 1/2 million if i would only send them a check for the 5% OF THE TAXES which I would be responsible for. all six of the callers had accents and i would not be surprised if their calls were coming from Africa.

    richard

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Char S. Nov 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recieved a check for $4800.00 also. I supposedly won 2nd Prize in the USA Mega(under the International Sweepstake.)It was sent by Key Technology 150 Avery St. Walla Walla WA 99362 written on a bank, Wells Fargo 999 3rd Ave 11th Floor Seattle Wa 98104. Both are actual places. However, it was from Avofit Financial Inc. 14 Roman St. Sydney NS Canada B31 3C8 tel. [protected]. I couldn't find a thing on the internet about this institution. Nor could I Find anything about the claims agent: Joe Morrison @[protected] affiliated with Avofit. I was to sign the check and give it to a representative from the special courier company in exchange for a Certified check for $480, 200.00. With the economy the way it is and so many people out of work something like this could give someone real hope to get out of a financial mess. It is SHAMEFUL for some people to try to take advantage of other people like this. Charlene S.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jessiej1981 Dec 16, 2009

    i got a check to ! figured it was fake and called a friend of my family who is also a lawyer she said its most likely a scam lol crazy people stop sending fake checks i only want green paper (cash only please )arrrrrggggggh!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    CLMs Dec 18, 2009

    Well my elderly father fell for this - he was asked to wire money to two different people to pay the taxes on his winnings and is now out $4, 000 plus a LOT of overdraft fees. Check bounced after the fact (initially cleared I believe). Lots of info on this at Attorney General's office and FTC... don't fall for the trap.

    As if that wasn't bad enough, a couple weeks later, someone else called (maybe from same contest/maybe a different one) and said he won millions and a car - he wanted to meet my father at Western Union for the same purpose. When my father refused, the guy told him he hopes he dies... nice, real nice...

    You cannot imagine how much work this is causing for us, not to mention the incredible financial loss for an elderly person on social security.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emmett9151 Jan 02, 2010

    I just received a check in the amount of $4800.00. The routing number for Central Pacific Bank checked out. However, the BBB gives this this company an F rating. The claims agent is one Jim Morris at [protected]. I do not intend to fall into this fraud!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    timeca joseph Jan 21, 2010

    "i'm mad as hell what if i did go try to cash that check?"

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Balsonchin Punchindic Jan 21, 2010

    You people are falling for a well known scam. DO NOT CASH THE CHECKS! They are bogus. You will not only be responsible to the bank for the lost money but subject yourselves to bank fraud, a federal offense.

    0 Votes
  • Vo
    vonn Feb 17, 2010

    I also received a check for$4800.00 of which $3, 800.00 of it will go to pay the taxes. What a laugh! These people are insane! Don't fall for this mess, because it is a scam. These sick people are preying on poor innocent people and they ought to be ashamed of themselves. They know how people are struggling and are desperate to make money these days.
    One day I received a check for $4, 885 saying I was a 2nd place winner in the 7 contest. Wow! I was so excited, because my husband and I were unemployed at the time. We really needed the money. I deposited the check in the bank and 5 days later, found out that the check was fake. Yes, please people do not fall for this mess, it is all fake!

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom knoeppel Feb 19, 2010

    I received a check for $4800.00 with a tax amount of $3800.00. but the name and address is forex financial services at 220 pineview ave. sydney ns, canada b3l 3c8. the claim agent is carolyn myers at [protected]. the promotion manager is oscar lewis. thanks for spreading the word about this fraud being perpetrated on the american public. it also has the claim of me winning $450, 000.00

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherry Saunders Feb 20, 2010

    I Sherry Saunders received a check for $4800.00 saying that I won $450, 000.00 and I was about to go and cash that check. Why do people always trying to get you. Its sad, we all are having hard time as it is, so I hope they catch whoever is doing this

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    rmw06 Feb 20, 2010

    Yep, same thing happened to me with 220 Pineview Ave. Sydney NS, Canada B3L 3CS address. Claims agent was Oscar Lewis at [protected]. A check for $4800.00 with a tax amount of 3800.00. I was suspicious when there was no return address on the envelope. Who do you turn this information into?

    0 Votes
  • No
    nopichic Feb 21, 2010

    I got the exact same thing as the person above me, Everything was the same even the "so-called" claims agent!!! If I could find these ppl...Its just too bad that the law or justice system cannot do anything to catch these ppl!!! MAKES ME SOOOOO MMMAAADDD!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    ram.p Feb 22, 2010

    have the same deal from 220 Pineview Ave. Sydney NS, Canada B3L 3CS address. Claims agent was Oscar Lewis at [protected]. A check for $4800.00 with a tax amount of 3800.00, that i won 450, 000.00 0. i know it was fake so i called the African and play along and mess with this F-ing dunce head, could barley speak English. They pick the wrong man to pull a fast one on. Be careful peace - ram

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Hilda Saez Feb 22, 2010

    First of all I would like to thank everyone who took the time to share their own experiences. If it wasn't for this site I would have fallen for this scam. I received this check today for 4, 800 and and after a long period of financial issues, I was so excited and felt as if it was my turn to have good fortune again. The best part of it was that it was just the beginning, I really believed that I had won the 450, 000 as stated in the letter... When I first called the number listed, I found it funny that the person on the line barely spoke English correctly. These people should be ashamed of themselves!. I wish there was something that we could do to put these people in Jail.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sailor Sam 701 Feb 28, 2010

    My mother just received one of these. Names, banks, dates, etc have changed a bit but the basics all match. Thanks to everyone for helping me keep my mom for making a big mistake.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    lloydofpw Mar 01, 2010

    I got the same letter as rmwo6 and I actually deposited the check.

    After seeing this website, I called the bank and they were able to stop the check.

    I also sent the bank a copy of the letter so they can trace this fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Conrad L Mar 03, 2010

    Yes thanks so much for all the information. My mother as well recieved this check for 4, 800 I looked it up (Avofit Financial Inc..) and it brought me here, all I can say is I'm glad this thread was here but to be honest don't think I would have let her follow through with it seeing as how there was no information whatsoever about the group so hooray for the Internet!.. Thanks to all for being informative and hopefully no one else falls for these scams..

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jack the mack Mar 08, 2010

    love your site

    1 Votes
  • 40
    402pretties Mar 08, 2010

    We got a check for the same as everybody else...we called the bank that was on the check and they said that the funds were not there and said that the check is bad...Please do not fall for this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SICKOFIToo Mar 14, 2010

    I TOO RECIEVED A CHECK TODAY FOR 4800 i AM KIND OF DISAPOINTED BECAUSE i AM ALSO IN A FINANCIAL CRUNCH IT PAINS ME TO KNOW THAT THERE ARE SO MANY JERKS OUT THERE WHO ARE THIS INCONSIDERATE. I HAVE NO IDEA WHY PPL DO THIS BUT THIS IS JUST ANOTHER SURE SIGN THAT IGNORANCE IS STILL ALIVE AND THRIVING AND PREYING ON INNOCENT PPL. SICK.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annis Mar 17, 2010

    Lessa'

    Yes I also received a check in the mail, sa as above 220 pineview ave, sydney ns, Canada. I live in St.Lucia The $4800 check they sent claimed to be for help with taxes since I am a non resident. People don't fall for that crap. I hope those ### get arrested. Claims agent - Oscar Lewis & Promotion Manager Carolyn Myers - learn to speak proper english first before trying this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    mcdonalda Mar 21, 2010

    me to

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TRULY BLESSED Mar 24, 2010

    THANKS FOR THAT INSIGHT. SAVED ME TIME AND BANK FEES. I HAD THIS HAPPEN ONE TIME BEFORE. LIKE THE SAYING GOES "first time shame on them, second time shame on me"

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mommy_of_2 Mar 26, 2010

    I got a check for 4800.00 Why in the hell is people sending this stuff to other people, and single moms and that need money to live on... I'm glad I didnt go cash it! Stupid poeple piss me off! A** holes! Stop sendin me these things... IS there away we can stop this?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    pet 3 Apr 06, 2010

    I left the bank found out check is bogus please do not try to cash the check bank will say it is fraud

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mikeydf69 May 01, 2010

    i received the same check and tried to get on a website for forex scams and my computer went haywire telling me i was being attacked by computer trogan programs as viruses.so these ### aren't only trying to defruad all of us out money, but apparently trying to load viruses to anyones computer who tries to find out any information about them being scams.

    0 Votes
  • Jf
    jfromFlorida May 13, 2010

    Since March 3, 2010 I have receive four different checks and three phone calls asking me to send them the taxes so they can send me the money I won. The last one said he was from Publishers Clearning house and asked me to send $2500 to them for the taxes. I told him I didn't have the money and he said I sounded honest so he gave me his checking acount number and routing number to have my Credit card put the money in his account. I was to call him back when I completed the transaction. I called the real PCH and they told me I didn't win anything that it was a scam. I gave them the info and I sure hope they go after them. He called back later that night and I told him I didn't have a credit card with that amount on it and said to give the money to a chairty and hung up. He called back again and my husband answer and said I just had a heart attack and died. No more calls for a week!!

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    rlwright045 Aug 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Serial Number 5928549 <------ Attached to my name apparently. So Called Lucky Numbers [protected]

    Certified Check will be delivered by special courier Company. Says don't cash check until I contact claims agent to avoid misappropriation and mishandling of prize monies.

    I returned home yesterday from vacation to come home to the same 2nd prize winner letter. The check amount is 4, 800 and tax amount 3, 750. I am to contact agent Jim Martins @[protected]. The promotion managers name is Steven Morrison. I do have to say I was excited but new it was a scam almost immediately. The skeptic that I am I goggled 167 Green Ave Sydney NS Canada B3L 3C8 and this address brought me to this Scam page. Thanks for sharing your scam info because I really think this will save some people from a major financial bust!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    ruddy silva Sep 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    rudy silva here from austin tx. have a check here for 4800, 00 sent to the bank had call the agents back so i told them that i alredy deposit the check send them 4100.00 so i told that i can't because te check got a hold for 9 days so she told me after 9days when it clear s0 call her back it will clear or not bye that time the check fake right can somebody tell me what to do...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manesi Oct 24, 2010

    My Mom, who is 76 years old, received one of those checks from Chartered Financial Services...thank goodness she asked for my opinion. I googled the address and was brought to this website. Thank You..the check has been put in the recycle bin.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fraud .has. no. heart Nov 25, 2010

    I have experience the same situation. I received the same check for $4800. In the letter the stated that I was second place winner for $ 450, 000. In order for me to receive the money I have to deposited the money and cash it out. I talked to the guy name Jim Martins. He told me to send the money to three difference people and the next day I would receive the $450, 000. which is today morning [protected]). Last night I got so bored. I look up the company on line. I just realize that this people are fraud. I'm so mad and confused. why do people do this to people. I hope what they done to us will got back to them.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick21N Aug 14, 2011

    My mom has early alzeimers slowly progressing and she had become obsessed by these lotteries, PUblishing Clearing House,
    and now the same letter you are all talking about. We will win $450, 000.

    This has or is the largest scam I have seen. I wrote to the Attorney General of Massachusetts, they are too busy to deal with
    this. I figured out my mom had spent about $6, 000 oer two years. ANyone out there have any ideas how we can stop this.
    I just can't beleive the Federal Government cannot help. You are given addresses, E-mail sites, and more. Why would this
    not be mail fraud. If anyone know how the system works or who we could contact as a group, it would be great. Many elderly are sending in monthly payments to get to the next prize level.

    I am not a wizzard with a computer but I would love to forward all this to the proper Federal level folks.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.