SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Werner Ladderfaulty hinges

1

The hinges on my 4 year old model 2210 just sheared off over the weekend - I fell hurt my elbow. See pictures below. Filed complaint with CSPC - no other complaints have been filed to date yet clearly this is not an isolated occurrence. Contacting Werner for a replacement ladder - don’t have any confidence that the replacement hinges will suffice.

faulty hinges

More Werner Ladder Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Tv
    tvb Jan 06, 2010

    WARNING: There have been numerous reported incidences of the hinges on this model breaking, with little use, resulting in serious injury to the user. Just do a google search with the search words: Werner s2210 broke.

    If you've had problems with this model, please call the consumer protection hot line at 1-800-638-2772 and report these problems so there may be a recall.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jaybeesmith Feb 14, 2010

    Same issue with my S2210. I'll report it, although, I don't have a warm fuzzy anything will be done.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    BruceBap Apr 04, 2010

    I have had the same issue with mine--the hinges on my S2210 are made of a CAST POT METAL which everyone knows is about the most brittle material made--they would probably be better if they were made of plexiglass (sarcasm). What is more frustrating to me is attempting to find replacement hinges--the rivits could be easily drilled out and replaced if there was a replacement part available, but if you go to their website and try to find any information on that model, they act like there is no such thing. It has been a nice ladder, and the expense of replacing it is just not acceptable considering the initial cost in the first place---I suppose maybe I'll mill out my own replacements, and then I can be sure that at least that part of the assembly is not made of INFERIOR Material. I would just hope that Werner would address the issue and make it right--people pay through the nose for attic ladders, and they pay even more for the confidence that Werner's name used to uphold and instill. I have to wonder if those days are gone!
    Another Disenchanted Soon To Be Ex-Werner Customer

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bigg Al Jul 16, 2010

    I have had my Werner s2210 ladder approx 6 yrs. A few days ago the right lower hinge broke as I was decending. I hate to think what would have happened if I was carrying something and wasn't gripping the Step, or if the left hinge gave out at the same time.
    The hinge is made of cast white metal, possibly the worst choice for this application. Any casting can have inclusions not visible to the naked eye. Along with the brittle white metal it was an serious accident waiting to happen.
    I am reporting this to the Consumers Protection Agency. I will also contact Werner to see what they intend to do about this. The ladders should have been recalled. It's not enough to boycott Werner. They need to make this right. BigAl

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    chicago17777 Aug 11, 2010

    I have the 22 ladder and was dismayed to see the j hooks made of cheap material. We used to love this ladder now we refuse to use it. Werner sent new parts (wrong one first they sent a hinge pin). Just finished replacing the adjustment and am disappointed again. The replacement part is poor.

    Carefully drill out the rivets (except they are behind the groove.)
    Pound out the rivets.
    Pull the hook out.
    Replace with new part. (doesn't quite fit perfectly.)
    Put screws/bolts in then when you work them in place split washer and crown nut on.
    Except the nut is a cheap piece and the crown comes off.
    The nut strips the bolt when tightened.

    What to do.

    this is our work ladder and would gladly pay for a better ladder.
    Any suggestions? Little giant (I think they may be the same since the werner people seem to want to sell me one)

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linda1125 Dec 21, 2010

    my latter just broke on the left side lower hing, i fell but not far and my knee is hurting, i didnt break it. but my model is the 2208 mk2. i guess all there latters are messed up. what to do now???

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Minkley Feb 18, 2011

    I have a 2508 attic ladder and a hinge broke at the pivot point rivit, replaced with a bolt. Now the lower rivits are all failing. I called Werner - got the number from Consumer protection agency website by searching past recalls with Werner (first one regarding a 1997 model). They sent out a new pair of replacement hinges- free. They said it was important NOT to use an oil based lubricant on the hinges, instead use Teflon or Silicone based. It is also important that the frame is installed square.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pandf2011 Feb 20, 2011

    I have a client whose Werner ladder also broke at the hinges. Does anyone have any idea of how many similar incidents have occurred? Or whether Werner has done anything to rectify the problem?

    Thanks,
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jcobmusic May 26, 2011

    My attic ladder of 4 years (werner) the hinge bolt sheared. I rarely use the ladder ... only to go to the attic about 3 or 4 times a year... bad design. See pictures. I've contacted the company but no response as of today.

    0 Votes
  • Tv
    tvb Jun 12, 2011

    Sorry about your ladder accidents. PLEASE call the consumer protection hot line at 1-800-638-2772 and report this problems so there may be a recall. Many others have had the same problem and it is just a matter of time before someone is seriously injured if flawed ladders are not taken off of the market. The only way for that to happen is for people like you to report the problem. I know it is a bit of a hassle, but please do so for the safety of others. Thank you in
    advance.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yolanda Mowad Oct 24, 2011

    The hinge on my Werner ladder model S2208 sheared off - almost fell to the concrete garage floor! Held on and yelled for someone to bring me a step ladder so I could get down. I can't believe this happened - I paid a lot of money for this ladder that my contractor said was the best. I WILL be contacting the company for a replacement.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yolanda Mowad Oct 24, 2011

    Just to let you know that I contacted Werner customer service regarding the faulty hinge on my attic ladder and they are sending out a new attic ladder at no cost with free shipping. Apparently this ladder came from a company that Werner had purchased and no longer make it to faulty hinges. Please call 1 888 523 3370 and speak to a customer service representative. They were very nice and hopefully in a couple of weeks I will have a new attic ladder.

    -1 Votes
  • No
    no1tmorrow May 03, 2012

    I just fell off my s2210 when the bottom hinge broke. I sent Werner a request this morning for a resolution and will see what they say. Nice web site...

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disenchanted in SD Jun 05, 2012

    Just had my S2210 break on me as I was descending from the attic as well. It is less than 8 years old. Installed in the new house when we moved in. I am actually waiting on the phone line with Werner and am curious to hear what they have to say and do for me. I will update once I have more information. See attached photo of the right lower hinge. I will also add to the fact that I am only a little over 200lbs, so over 300 lb rating (with items) is not the issue.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disenchanted in SD Jun 05, 2012

    Well, just got off the phone with Werner and the copany that they bought these ladders from (they say) has gone out of business and they do not offer replacement parts even for this ladder. They have offered me a $100 gift card to the purchase of another attic ladder. FYI

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary Wake Dec 17, 2012

    This weekend I was getting Christmas decorations out of the attic and stepped down on the 2210 attic ladder only to have the hing break exactly as the picture at the top of the page denotes. Fortunately I was able to drop the boxes and catch myself on the ceiling joists. This ladders is about 5 yrs old but we have only used it maybe 15 - 20 times.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim in MI Dec 22, 2012

    Hinge at the top of the lower section of my s2210 broke completely while descending the ladder two years ago. After exchanging a few emails with Werner they sent a replacement section with hinges made of different material. Today the hinge at the top of the middle section, where the hinge lock release is located, broke internally while ascending the ladder. Same cheap pot metal used on the hinge that broke originally. The only thing holding the two sections together is the step swivel arm and the pin inside the lock release. Now I see that Werner doesn't have a customer support email address. Go figure...

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sherrys4 Dec 24, 2012

    These ladders are dangerous, my wife less than 140lbs and an arm full of Christmas decorations took a nasty fall when the cheap pot metal hinge broke on our 4 year old s2210 Werner attic ladder. Ron in CA

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BOP in NC Jan 04, 2013

    I was putting away christmas decorations when one of the hinges broke. Luckily I was on my way down empty handed and was able to hang on. I bought mine back in 2006 but have only used it a few times per year. I weigh in the 160's and have never carried more than 50 to 60 pounds up or down at a time. I came across this as well as alot of other complaints and lawsuits while trying to find parts to repair this P.O.S.

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    JR Wilson Sr. May 23, 2013

    My aluminum Werner pull down failed today. I was going up into the attic to get my Scott's spreader. I was about 2/3rds of the way to the ten foot ceiling when one of the hinge pins sheared causing the ladder to twist 180 degrees in a split second, and launching me horizontally into the air and ultimately to the floor below. The disc which is the flared end of the pin sheared clean. My three year old Granddaughter was standing in the garage and she had just asked if she could go up the ladder with me one time to see the attic. Thank God I told her that I'd get the spreader down first and then we'd go have a look.

    No serious injuries, but I'm going to be one sore guy for a week or so. I don't think my Granddaughter has any interest in the attic after today's aerial display. Not sure where to go from here.

    0 Votes
  • Md
    mdwdr Jun 19, 2013

    Same problem with the Werner s2210. Luckily I was only on the second step from the bottom when the bottom hinge broke in an identical manner to the picture shown above. The ladder is 7 yrs old and I've used the ladder a considerable amount as we have a small home and use the attic as overflow. Didn't think to look at the upper hinges, but it appears that this ladder is a major risk. There are several websites linked with lawyers but I'm hesitant to email or contact on of these firms. Would be interested in knowing if the legal process has gotten them anywhere.

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    JR Wilson Sr. Jun 19, 2013

    I contacted Werner the day this happened, sent them photographs, have not heard a word from them. My son is my attorney (free litigation) maybe it's time these people got responsible!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brevard NC Oct 09, 2014

    At the urging of family, about 10 years ago I had the S2210 Mk2 installed to replace the 1964 original fold-down wood ladder. After living in the same house for 50+ years it is time to unload and move on. This unloading process is now interrupted because a hinge broke. I am thankful that I was only on the 2nd step. Unaware of this being a common problem with this product I called Werner's to get a replacement part. Of course, none was available. After reading all the comments I don't want a replacement part. Would it be the same material? And then there is the hinge on the other side that has not broken yet. I will search for another manufacturer, however in our area Werner seems to have a monopoly. I have another Werner ladder, now I wonder about it.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrew Hoehn Oct 29, 2014

    My Werner S2210 broke while I was climbing up with a empty box, putting the ladder well under its 300lb weight limit. The site of the failure is exactly the same as the other reports, the two lowest hinges.

    Photos of the damage attached.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john sc Nov 12, 2014

    I was looking on ebay and noticed parts are available under werner ladder hinge. I been watching for a hinge half for over a year and finally located one. ebay lister mentions that they have more than one, but I expect that they will quickly disappear.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Draculab Feb 17, 2015

    I have a Werner MT22 MK4 ladder that had one of the J-Lock unscrewed.
    The first time, I called the lady had reccomended to change the J-Lock system due to safety integrity for a low price of around $10.
    For this reason, I had to cut off the rivet and investigate the issue. I've found that the unscrewed J-Lock could be mounted back and need a new rivet to put everything in place.
    But, when I looked back on Werner website could not find a rivet for it. In consequence, I called Werner that offered to ship the entire J-Lock system including the rivet to me for free.
    That is a very professional way to take care of the clients.

    Hope you all will have a good experience with Werner Company.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott L2 Mar 19, 2015

    Werner Attic Ladder S2210, Mark 7, 7/07, broken hinge rivet between the top and second to top sections. The hinge now flops around. Luckily it didn't collapse completely when it broke - I felt a jerk while I was descending. Werner states that the Class Action Lawsuit is settled and doesn't include the Mark 7 model anyway. Therefore, they won't stand by their product at all.
    Such a horrible experience with a Werner product and Werner Customer Service. Ever notice why it is so difficult to find the Werner Customer Service Number and there is NO email address?
    Yes, I filed the CPSC complaint form. Is there any new Class Action activity going on for the remaining Werner S2210 models?

    1 Votes

Post your comment