Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Loans Review of Veritus Funding-Fidelity Law Group
Veritus Funding-Fidelity Law Group

Veritus Funding-Fidelity Law Group review: Fraud, malpractice, bad faith 21

M
Author of the review
1:44 am EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Afetr reading all complaints in regards to this company I have decided to share with everyone the following information:
Veritus funding was banned from conducting business loan, loan mod due to false advertising, misleading the consumers and takeing advantage of our community. When the department of real estate decided to put an end to these guys they opted to change the name of their business to fidelity law group. To all of you consumers who were ripped off by these #s you now have a way to get your money back on hold some one accountable for your losses. Fidelit law group represents an attorney on staff his name is michael schunk. To locate him check out the state bar of california website and contact him. He may be the only person who is going to be able to help you. As per the california state bar he is the supervising attorney for all employees of the corporation, which includes every single person behind those phones... Do not let veritus funding take your money, report them to the attorney general if they took your money or made false promises, you will get your money back, currently their website www.fidelitylg.com is under construction due to the fact that they received a letter in 8-09 in regards to their advertising, you may also file a complain with the ftc (federal trade commission) they have authority over business in the field of consumer protection the ftc investigates unfair business practices. The ftc unfair or deceptive trade practices that offebd public policy, are inmoral, unethical or unscrupulous and cause material or substantial harm to the consumer. Keep in mind that the ftc is currently investigating any misleading advertising if it is contain a material, misrepresentation or omission that would likely mislead a consumer, please take action you are not alone, many consumers in san diego county were mislead by these 2 companies that are operating under the same owners.
From my point of view and based on what I saw while vising veritus funding, I was asked to signed a new contract with fidelity law group, there was no attorney or paralegals present, all I saw was guys on the telephones setting up appts, and I felt really stupid because, I got a call from them one day, I opened the doors of my home to these criminals they took my money and I almost lost my home, I went to another law firm and they helped stop my trustee sale and I now have an affordable payment. I already filed my complaint and I am waiting to get a refund if I do not received my money my next move is to go to the media and by the way while I was waiting in their lobby to speak to someone in their office another older couple came in with the same problem, their loan was with wamu and they were going to sale their home next week, I believed they lost their home. Best of luck to all of you who were victims of veritus funding aka fidelity law group.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

21 comments
Add a comment
L
L
Laurabar25
, US
Sep 23, 2009 3:52 pm EDT

I worked with the Fidelity Law Group and they managed to get my home loan modified in a matter of weeks. Their people were very good at what they did and the service as fantastic. It sucks that your experience was not great but I can say they lowered my loan balance by $54, 000, and my payment went down about $1, 300.

S
S
Suan
San Diego, US
Nov 05, 2009 12:24 am EST

Im sorry that you had a bad experience but I had a loan modification done with them and I am very happy with my results. I got my interest rate reduced to 3.75% and principle balance reduced as well. They were very professional and helped me with everything that I needed.

F
F
Fidelity is a scam
, US
Dec 01, 2009 11:35 am EST

Nice try! You guys who say they did great things for you work for them and are trying to protect your fraudulant company. I have called numerous times and no one has called back. I sent all of my paperwork in but they somehow didn't recieve it, as well as faxing my stuff in, but they didn't get that either! They are ### holes!

J
J
Joe2000
, US
Dec 15, 2009 11:39 am EST

Maria2009,

Who did you end up going with to fix your loan remod. Yes, we too got scammed by Fidelity.

D
D
demos2010
Victorville, US
Jan 18, 2010 4:58 am EST

demos2010
i need help! i went through this company to for my home mod and if someone could tell me where i should go to fix the problem?

A
A
autumn falls
San Diego, US
Feb 03, 2010 12:32 pm EST

I too have become a victim of Michael J. Schunk and Fidelity. It has been almost 6 months and they have not accomplished anything with my home loan. As a matter of fact they have moved, and changed all of their numbers. Casey Stout is no longer available either. Just recently they did contact me after about 6 months and had the audacity to ask me the status of my loan modification. My reply was I thought that my $3000.00 that I paid you would entitle you to give me that answer. Does anyone know their new address? If so could you please post it.

S
S
Sean4653
San Diego, US
Feb 04, 2010 12:17 pm EST

People Listen... Veritus, Fidelity Law Group, Southwestern Law are all under Michael J. Schunk...
He used all these companies as Processing Centers..
His Main Office is:

Law Offices of Michael J. Schunk
3443 Camino Del Rio S, Suite 301
San Diego Ca. 92108
Office #619.564.4027
Cell # 619.865.7811

S
S
Sean4653
San Diego, US
Feb 04, 2010 1:11 pm EST

Here's an addition # to clients seeking info on their files... 619.663.8009
I had the same problems some of you are facing, I spoke to one of their processors last week and we're ok with the process. I also spoke to my Bank and they verified they're in communication as well.
Mr. Schunk is working on all his client files they assured me...

N
N
no modification
, US
Feb 21, 2010 10:50 pm EST

Don't trust Fidelity Law Group at all. They collected my advance fee/ upfrond after Oct 11, 2009 which is against CA law of Senate Bill 94. They also said my Loan modification process would completed within 90 days without any further income information in the future. but is not true at all. I am making complaints with Attorney General, FTC, and appropriate State Agency until get my money back

F
F
Firefly1904
San Diego, US
Mar 01, 2010 2:22 am EST

I agree, Michael Schunk is a criminal who has gone into hiding. Let me guess, no one is returning phone calls or e-mails either? Don't waste your time going to any of the offices - he was never there or they no longer exist. I urge anyone else who is a victim of Michael Schunk/Fidelity Law Group to file reports with the State Bar of California, FTC, Attorney General's Office, and your local District Attorney's Office.

S
S
Schunk Victim
, US
Mar 04, 2010 6:46 pm EST

Mr. Michael Schunk is an unethical lawyer who should be reported to the appropriate agencies for prosecution. The following link is helpful: http://www.dre.ca.gov/pdf_docs/FraudWarningsCaDRE03_2009.pdf

D
D
donchevy
San Diego, US
Mar 04, 2010 9:54 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I want to let it be known that i have become a victim of michael schunk and fidelity law group as well and that im taking action to see that i recover my lost funds and that these guys get whats coming to them. There is strength in numbers and if anyone out there is currently persuing this guy and would like to team up and exchange information/ideas and what they know please email me! chevy_don@yahoo.com if we can all gather together and team we will be stronger. Please email me and dont let this criminal take advantage of you. thanks.

A
A
ANGRY_VICTIM
San Diego, US
Mar 25, 2010 6:57 pm EDT

I have been taken advantage of by Fidelity Law Group as well. Michael Schunk is the owner and head of this firm. I not only want a refund of my money, but I am and will continue to file complaints with the CA Bar (http://www.calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/DispComp.pdf) to have him disbarred and license revoked in the state of California. He should be ashamed and just come forth and refund the honest people's hard earned money that was paid in good faith! Do not waste your time with addresses, they are all bad. I have researched each and every one that has been mentioned.

If you read this Michael J. Schunk, you have messed with the wrong guy! I stand up for my principals and this is no longer about the money you and your firm stole, but about integrity and the predatory practices used by your firm. I will not stop until you come clean and refund all monies owed, or you are disbarred. My family is full of attorneys and you can expect to hear from them!

I will be contacting chevy_don@yahoo.com and I encourage all others to contact us to form a group and a more formalized complaint to the CA Bar Association.

Photo from his (non-advertised) office in Mission Valley - He hasn't been there in "months".

A
A
ANGRY_VICTIM
San Diego, US
Mar 25, 2010 6:58 pm EDT

Photo

View 0 more photos
A
A
ANGRY_VICTIM
San Diego, US
Mar 25, 2010 8:55 pm EDT

http://members.calbar.ca.gov/search/member_detail.aspx?x=212138

This is his member page with the CA Bar Association. As of 5/20/2010 he has been Ordered inactive 04-O-14833. Please use the link above as needed.

G
G
gilbert a trujillo
Lemon Grove, US
Sep 04, 2010 1:15 am EDT

I was also scammed by this company. a rep came to my home I worte a check to fidelity law group for $3328.oo They sent me a welcome packet in the mail, they assure me they could help not once did I hear from them .I did all the paper work only to be told by bank of america that there are no workable options for me. I was scam I want my money and I want it now. this all started on oct. 22 2009 the bank inform me on aug.23 2010

M
M
marcopolobo
, US
Oct 02, 2010 9:45 pm EDT

Mike represented me this past year and I found him to be an excellent, considerate and honest attorney.

D
D
Defrauded by Schunk
, US
Jan 21, 2011 8:32 pm EST

Michael J. Schunk's contact information to date is the following:

Michael J. Schunk (SBN 212138)
420 K Street, Suite 21o
San Diego, CA 921o1
Telephone (619) 564-4oa7
Facsimile {[protected]

D
D
Defrauded by Schunk
, US
Jan 21, 2011 8:55 pm EST

Pending disciplinary charges by the State Bar against Mr. Schunk, as stated on the pleading that is a PUBLIC MATTER, may be viewed through the following link: http://members.calbar.ca.gov/courtDocs/08-O-10597.pdf Current charges include the following: Failure to Perform with Competence, Failure to Communicate with Client, Moral Turpitude - Misrepresentation to Client, Failure to Release File, Failure to Deposit Client Funds in Trust Account, Failure to Render Accounts of Client Funds, Moral Turpitude - Misappropriation, and Failure to Cooperate in State Bar Investigation.

D
D
Defrauded by Schunk
, US
Jan 21, 2011 11:20 pm EST

Correction to the blog above: His telephone # is (619) 564-4o27.

D
D
Disabled Women Veteran
Burbank, US
Oct 07, 2011 2:30 am EDT

I too have been taken advantage of and flat out lied to. I came to what was first called Veritus Funding where I was promised for my $4000.00 my homes first and second notes would be combined to a payment I would be able to make on the Disability Check I an now receiving from the Veterans Administration. I am a 100 percent disabled combact veteran. Nothing was done for the first six months as the calls kept coming regarding my late payments my calls to Veritus went unanswered. I finally received a letter saying someone from Fidelity Law Group would be taking my case over and not to worry. They told me not to make any contact with the holders of my deeds and NOT TO MAKE ANY PAYMENTS. Mean while I had started packing my belongings between hospital stays. As the foreclosure notice and sale date got closer. Finally after over a year I was given a refinance.

Thinking my home and refinanced was all finish like I had been told by MICHAEL J. SCHUNK I have been making every payment as promised. I was ment at my door around 18 months ago by a person who said they had bought my second loan. TO MY SUPRISE. I called MICHAEL J. SCHUNK and was told no that the loan had been disolved with the refinance and to disregard. Which I did. June of this year I then recieved a letter from the same person I sent it to MICHAEL J. SCHUNK as well as followed with phone calls to him and MICHAEL BARNEBALE who SCHUNK had hired to close out my case. They both still said disregard we refinance you have one loan on your home.

As of today my home is once again in foreclose. Because it appears as MICHAEL J. SCHUNK did not combine both my first and second loans in my refinance. In fact NOTHING had been done with the second loan at all. NUMBERS I HAVE FOR HIM ARE OUT OF ORDER, HE IS NO LONGER AT THE ADDRESS I HAVE AND WHEN I CONTACTED MICHAEL BARNEBALE THE MAN SCHUNK PAID TO CLOSE THE DEAL HE SAID THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD DO.

MICHAEL J. SCHUNK I FOUGHT FOR MY COUNTRY AND FOR THE RIGHT FOR PEOPLE LIKE YOU TO OPEN A BUSINESS AND PROSPER FROM THEIR HARD WORK. BUT YOU MICHAEL J. SCHUNK MAKE ME SICK TO MY STOMACE. YOU ONE DAY WILL HAVE TO ANSWER TO THE WRONG YOU HAVE DONE MY DAUGHTER AND I AND ALL THE OTHERS BEFORE AND AFTER US. I MAY NOT BEABE TO SAVE MY HOME THIS TIME SO I ONCE AGAIN AM PACKING MY BELONGINGS. THE HOME I WORKED MY LIFE FOR WILL BE GONE BUT I WILL STILL BEABLE TO RAISE MY HEAD HIGH KNOWING I AM AN HONORABLE WOMEN. I CAN LOOK INTO MY CHILD'S EYES AND KNOW SHE CAN BE PROUD OF THE PERSON I AM AND I CAN LAY MY HEAD DOWN NO MATTER WHERE IT BE AND KNOW I MADE THIS WORLD A BETTER PLACE. CAN YOU MICHAEL J. SCHUNK SAY THE SAME?

Trending companies