VacuumScam $195.00

K Review updated:

I bought a miracle mate vacuum for $2700 and two weeks later found out they are only $195.

I tried to get my money back, but these guys refuse to do anything. BUYER BEWARE - Dont get scammed by paying $2700 for this cheap Chinese made vacuum. they even lie and say made in Canada, but it is only assembled there ! all parts are Chinese

More Vacuum Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Mi
    Miracle Mate USA Inc. Mar 31, 2010

    The Miracle Mate Platinum retails for $3499.00 + tax. I am not sure where you came to the conclusion that the machine is only $195.00. You may have found a used one on popular auction sites such as eBay which of course does not come with our factory warranty and was most likely one of our older models. I am also unaware of whom you purchased your machine from, but in almost all states you only have a 3 business day cancellation policy. If you had contacted the company in which you purchased it from after the 3 business days, they legally do not have to take the machine back and refund your money. The Miracle Mate Platinum is also not made in China. The canister part of the vacuum is made in Canada. As for the powerhead we have different parts shipped to us from all around the world and yes we do assemble the powerhead right here in Washington.
    I am sorry that you are not happy with your recent purchase of your Miracle Mate Platinum. If there is anything that us, the manufacturer can do for you please don’t hesitate to call us. Thank you,

    Management
    Miracle Mate USA INC.

    4 Votes
  • No
    nowayman Apr 30, 2010

    They just stopped at my house in Marysville and I could tell right away they were rats. A car with 5 people in in from California pulled up and one guy jumped out, the car raced away. They started off saying they were taking surveys only, not selling anything. Then they offered me a Wal Mart Gift card for $50 if I would just answer a few questions... Finally he admitted they were selling some great Vacuums that sell for $3, 500 retail for only $1, 900 today only! I sent him walking. As soon as I did the same car pulled up and he jumped in and again they speed away. Bunch of Crooks!

    -1 Votes
  • Bu
    busymomma34 Jul 29, 2010

    I actually disagree totally with the above complaints. This is an awesome vacuum. I purchased mine 10 years ago and have used it excessively. The power head just recently stopped working, but I am still able to use the hardwood attachment and have complete confidence that once repaired, this vacuum will continue to serve me for another 10 years. As far as the guys jumping back into the van and "speeding away". Why would they stick around, you told them you weren't interested and they left. That doesn't make the crooks. They are salesmen being paid on commission. Of course they are not going to waste their time hanging around where they can't make a sale. And yes, several at a time carpool to appointments, makes good since to me. Saves on gas and helps the environment. I would be far more upset if I saw 5 cars drive up and park on the same street, all selling the same thing.

    4 Votes
  • Bj
    bjkces Aug 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Young boy shows up on our doorstep asking if we would give our opinion of an air purifier after a demonstration. He would get $50.00. We sat through the demo. Part of the demo was comparing our 1300.00 kirby suction to the miracle mate. He poured about a 3/4 box of baking soda on the carpet and proceeded to show how my kirby could not pick up the majority of the baking soda. Then he used the miracle mate vacuum and showed us about 3/4 cup of baking soda left by the kirby. This guy must think we are all stupid and easy. The manager shows up offering a lower deal. I asked them to leave for 10 minutes so I could talk it over with my wife. I inspected my kirby and noticed the suction power was on 1/2 power. I never vacuum with the kirby on `1/2 power. We have owned this unit for almost 7 years. All they did was tell us how dishonest kirby sales people are. I poured another 3/4 box of baking soda and vacuumed with the kirby on full power this time while they were gone. The kirby picked up around 98% of the baking soda. The miracle mate picked up the rest. I told them the switch was switched to half power. The manager gave me a grin. They knew that I was on to them. They ended up leaving and could not look me in the eye at all. I'll never open my door again to a young man making claims. What a shameful company. I hear the product is not all that great either. BEWARE OF THESE COMPANY REPS.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peallen007 Oct 02, 2010

    Sounds like Kevin is a competitor trying to smear Miracle, I don't believe him. Obvious smear. Anyone can say anything on the internet.

    Nowayman's comment is wrong as the Everett office next to Marysville isn't open for one till this month. 2. Miracle mate at this point has had no van crews. Another possible smear.

    bjkces calling a vacuum salesmen shameless for putting stuff on your carpet? Lol, salesmen been doing that for 70 yrs. 2. Kirby only has 1 speed. So it appears this guy is lieing as well.

    Here is the irony. Miracle is the best machine out there. They are old school and manufacture a quality product in the US. Is it possible to buy a New miracle for $195 no. Is it possible to buy an old miracle for $195? yes they have been around for 18 yrs. Hell, i sell 5 year old Kirby for $50 and half the time throw them out.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peallen007 Oct 02, 2010

    Miracle takes the high road. They don't smear competitors and only hire reputable distributors.

    2 Votes
  • Mo
    movedoutofstate Feb 14, 2013

    I have had my platinum edition for 3 yrs and it really sucks : ) canister still works great. and nauturaly being some what rough on tools to begin with I cant be too upset with the issues I have had. Like replacing the power head, and power cord. Machine came with a life time warranty witch is great if you live near a vacume repair service that has relations with this company. Other wise be prepared to fix all issues other than the canister itself. Over all I am extreamly Happy with this machine. Also there is most deffinatly a way to only pay $1800 for a new miracle mate. simply agree to the orininal offer of $1800. Lose your job go into forcloseur. ask to be put on the lower payment plan of $40 per month, and after a year settle with the collecter for original amount.

    2 Votes
  • Pe
    peallen007 Jul 10, 2014

    they go for $6390 lol $195

    0 Votes
  • Co
    COSTSEGSERV Nov 29, 2014

    I PURCHASED MY MIRACLE MATE 19 YEARS AGO AND IT IS STILL A FABULOUS VACUUM CLEANER SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT. I DO TAKE IT IN ONCE A YEAR FOR A CHECK-UP(FREE OF CHARGE) TO GET CLEANED AND INSPECTED. I RECOMMEND THIS VACUUM IF YOU HAVE DOGS OR CATS. IT'S A GREAT VACCUUM. I PAID $2400 - WORTH EVERY PENNY!

    2 Votes
  • Ow
    Owner of Miracle Mate Mar 31, 2015

    All I can say is search Kirby on this website and you better have a coffee to read the 600 pages of complaints. Nothing like vacuum cleaner salesman writing complaints about their competition. I would love to see the original receipt for the 195.00 new miracle mate. Lets see if Kevin gets a copy to me. Lol I doubt it. Anyone have any questions or concerns please call the factory at Miracle Mate at 1 800 944 5777.

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    pappyb Dec 30, 2015

    My wife's grandparents bought a miracle mate many years ago. Once grandma hit about 80 years old, it was too heavy for her to use. She gave it to us about 10 or so years ago. I am not sure of the exact age of the vacuum, but it has worked flawlessly for us for years nor. It survived the abuse of teenagers. I have never done a thing to it except change the bags, and clean the filters. It is a bit heavy, and maybe a bit harder to use than say... a Dyson, but it has made me a believer. If this one croaks, there are several on Ebay for a very reasonable price. Would I ever spend $2, 000 on one? No. But I would buy a used one for a few hundred bucks without a doubt.

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Sherwood-Shriver Feb 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased our Miracle Mate Platinum about 12 years ago and it has and still works perfectly. I have never had it serviced, I change the bags and clean the filters occasionally. Is a bit spendy but love this product!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kathy Mighton Jun 20, 2016

    When I bought my Miracle Mate I got a gift certificate for $150 free carpet cleaning (5 uses x $30.00) where can I redeem them?

    Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wa2wy May 23, 2017

    I love my miracle mate. I have abused it and it keeps on going. I've had it for 13 years I don't regret the price even had it financed. I have had to replace parts very easy. I live in Wyoming not close to a repair shop at all. the sales gal was great, a year late Kirby came knocking and they were horrible, not only rude but very unprofessional. Kirby is heavy loud and has to many attachments and is hard on the back. I hate using anything other then my mate but with kids and moving 4 times my head broke and I need a new pigtail cord. It's still sucks great.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Running Water Nov 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to make a comment about my Miracle Mate Platinum vacuum cleaner. It seems to vacuum things up fairly well but it's not as convenient as another vacuum cleaner to set up and remove and put the power head back on because of the separate electrical cords that have to be plugged. It was terribly expensive for what it does but it has a special feature that's not so apparent perhaps with some other vacuums---I can use it also as a HEATER, although a rather noisy one!

    It was poorly designed so the vacuum motor gets quite hot to the point of not wanting to keep my hand on the top and it blows out rather hot air.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Southsurreysean Dec 08, 2018

    Sorry but i will take 5 if you can find them for that price. The power head used more than that. The best you can get from a vacuum store with all the parts with a warranty but used is about 900. You can not even get a cheap vacuum from walmart made in china for 199. You did just fine and they last for ever.
    Your grand kids may end up with it.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom_neutrino Jul 04, 2019

    We bought a refurbished Miracle Mate and really like it except for one thing: the design of the power head. I think we have an older model, the power head is Model ML3c, and it has a design flaw. The swivel is held on only by a plastic ring with two protrusions, inside the plastic tube that the metal hose fits into. The plastic tube has recently cracked, and the whole thing comes apart. I can put it back together, but it never lasts long. Very poor engineering, speaking as a physicist/engineer. The rest of the machine is great and should last a long time.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Count Vacula Aug 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The basic design of the canister comes from the original Compact vacuum, later renamed Tristar. Compact was commissioned right at the end of WWII by Howard Hughes for his airline back then, TWA. Instead of going to Hoover, Electrolux or the like for his vacuum, he hired an aircraft component manufacturer in El Segundo California named Interstate Precision Engineering to design and manufacture his vacuum. The basic layout of a Tristar hasn't changed very much since. They're made of an aluminum-magnesium alloy for light weight and have a cyclonic airflow inside that piles the dirt at the back of the bag, keeping the side facing the motor open so airflow isn't lost as the bag fills. The design was so well received Interstate established a stand alone vacuum manufacturing and sales division nearby in Anaheim. Over the years a few former Tristar staffers left to start their own companies making close copies of the original Compact. Miracle Mate is one of those companies as is Schoettler Research & Engineering (Patriot Air Storm). There is also an Italian made copy from Ghibli called the Vortech Force. Miracle Mates use power nozzle designs from abroad, either Germany or Italy. Their most recent nozzle I have seen made by Stein. It's a nice piece of equipment. I was surprised to read they are assembled in the US. Most of them come fully assembled from Germany. The suction motors in Miracle Mates are from Ametek Lamb and are essentially the same motor sold in countless Kenmore 5.4 or 12 amp Whispertones, some early Mieles and Patriots as well as Metro Vacs. It is sold as a replacement motor for '70s and '80s Kenmore, Eureka, and older Miele and Tristar canister vacuums. It's an excellent, durable motor. They are also used in dog driers as they can get pretty warm in use. Yes the vacuum is expensive to buy and a lot of what you pay goes to pay salaries and commissions up and down their sales and management structure rather than for the hardware but the hardware itself is excellent and given reasonable care ought to outlast most owners. They are exceedingly simple machines with very little to go wrong. At worst you eventually wear out the suction motor and those can be had for around $80 to $90 if you know the Ametek model number of the motor (115923-00) and shop around. Well worth repairing and keeping. Nothing you can buy at a big box store will last as long or clean as well.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem