The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
TRB PerformanceVery bad service delivery

I took my car in to TRB Performance for a engin rebuild in February 2011, the quote for the work was R39000.00 of which I have paid R35000.00 to date. I was going to pay the final installment on collection of my vehicle. I had to wait 9 months to take delivery of my vehicle...I say again 9 [protected]@#$en months and when I collected it, there was about R10000.00 worth of spare part missing from my car, which they have stripped of and fitted to other vehicles. I took my car to a third party to access and to complete. The total value to get my car back to a drivable state is a additional R13700.00. This company has received numurous vehicles from unsatisfeid customers from TRB. After some investigation it was found that there cars were sabutaged by TRB i.e. water hose from radiator was cut with a stanley knife on the inside before fitment to result in the vehicles overheating and possible engine damage. These customers will then take their cars back to TRB for repairs and TRB smiles all the way to the bank. Not only is this fraudulant but it can result in serious injury or loss of life as a result of this sabutage by causing a accident on the road. Someone please do something about this.

Responses

  • Re
    rexed Jun 12, 2014

    Please note that TIM BERRIDGE has re-opened shop as HM Auto Tuning and/or HM TUNING. Please steer clear. He has numerous parts and cars for sale. He has told numerous people in the community a variety of lies, the primary one being that TRB performance was run perfectly under his management and the 'new owners' ran the name and business into the ground. The money stolen from people in this thread has been used to purchase (again) new facilities, parts and even a R500K dyno. visit the page at hmtuning dot co za

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scooby Doo 2006 May 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    All these sound exactly like Tim's service and I'm also a victim of his promises and lies with no delivery of any thing he says. Bottom line don't take your car to Him, we need to take this guy down and close his shop. cause more people are gonna fall under his empty promises and then just take your cash for nothing. my car has been with him for over a year now and the engine is stripped. And he still has my money and car.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    madturbo Mar 27, 2013

    Multiple empty promises over an extremely long period of time. He 'finished' other cars with my parts over this time. Tim is incapable of doing anything except lying and stripping cars. He has relied heavily on his good name from 2-3 years ago for new business. He asks for patience and promises the world yet every single car with a motor or mods done by him in the past 2 years has failed within a matter of months, many catastrophically. One popular workshop in Pretoria told me I was actually better off with no engine at all instead of having an engine done by Tim based on the cars that had come in to them... This same workshop also replaces all hoses on the car if they know it has come from TRB Performance.

    In addition to what he was paid for work he was supposed to do and parts he was supposed to deliver, R114722 worth of OEM parts had either been damaged beyond repair or stolen (assessed by Subaru dealership & independent expert). There was also R12500 in body panel damage. I have had to restore the car out of my own pocket as insurance said they would write off the vehicle. Every confrontation with Tim regarding delays, missing aftermarket parts or other issues is met with apologies, promises that some 'better part' was on the way, blamed on suppliers, his wife, engineers, customs, other customers, cashflow issues or staff... anyone and anything except himself. This is on the rare occasion he actually answers his phone or responds to a text message with more than one word...

    Tim evades his victims by moving shop (3 times in 12 months) and is fond of claiming that things will be different after each fresh start. He is a coward who uses his staff to cover for him. Don't expect him to live up to a single one of his promises or responsibilities. The longer you leave things and the more you tolerate, the worse and worse the lies get and the worse your position will be. There are literally dozens of dissatisfied customers that all have the same stories of lies, theft, evasion, sabotage etc.

    0 Votes
  • An
    annoyed women Feb 12, 2013

    I want to have Tim Locked up and throw away the key!!! He is once again moving premises. Never has money and stuffs up so many peoples car. My car's motor has been blown thanks to Tim incompetency as well as my cars body work was damaged. I cant understand that Tim can get away with this. He seems to be untouchable, even the staff that work for him protect him. They tell him not to come to the workshop when clients are there. What a coward. He needs to be stopped in his tracts!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zerilda Feb 01, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TIM is a SKUNK and A ###ing Liar..

    How can someone do this my Subaru has been standing by TRB performance since Jan 2012 after the engine needed to be done over as he said... Money was paid and no feed back from Tim... few months later he phoned and said the car was ready for collection paid outstanding money after collection the car on my way back the water pipe burst i almost rolled the car, we took it back and until today i have not heard from Tim. - so today we decided to go pay him a visit and guess what he runs away like a thieve locks the warehouse and drove away my car is standing on the side walk STRIPED no parts what soever just the body.

    SO now YOU TELL ME WHAT SHOULD I DO TO STOP THIS ###!!!

    2 Votes
  • At
    Atheba Nov 06, 2012

    Please do not take your car to TRB performance!

    It is over a year now and I still have not received my car back. Tim is deceitful
    and keeps stringing you along with empty promises. He has no business
    ethic or morals whatsoever.

    A large deposit was paid up front for work to be carried out on the motor. A year
    later and my car is parked at his premises with the motor missing.

    I planned to take my car to Nxgen but Tim does not answer my calls and is avoiding me
    when I do go to his premises.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    DayGP Aug 24, 2012

    I have had my subaru two years next month - this is the second occassion now - 7 months later and my motor is not even in the car yet, my car is standing abondoned on a street corner by Tim and the engine in pieces, last year was the same thing and it took 5 months! That is 23 month I am paying of which 12 months it has stood in his workshop! utterly disgusting!

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    Burner1144 Jan 16, 2012

    I have never come across a person like this that can be so deceitful and lie lie and lie.

    My whole debarkle started last year july 2011 when i ordered a Blouch 20G XTR through Tim, he asked for a deposit of 8k which i handed over to him and was told it will take around 1month to arrive. This month came and went and he started giving me excuses which i let slide giving him the benfit of the doubt. After 2 months of waiting there was still nothing, having excuses of insufficient cashflow, its stuck at customs, its now with my handling agent, often not answering my calls or messages. Eventually i find out that the turbo didnt even arrive and now Tim cant pay my dep back either.

    To cut a long story short he advised that he had a better turbo for me, so we agreed on that, and he agreed to fit supplementing mods free of charge and come to my premises to do it.
    Once again met with empty promises which never materialized. I then arranged to come up to jhb for Tim to fit new mods.

    Confirmed with Tim numerous times before coming up that he will commit to this and if he infact does have the turbo?...to which he replied ...YES. I even specified to him that he cannot stuff me around as i already had a exhaust leak and needs to be replaced which would have worked out perfectly with the fitment of new turbo.

    All is good and i set off for jhb, friday comes and i go to Tims new place 58 Graniet rd, jetpark to confirm, 9am ill meet him there to start the work.
    At 08:30 on the sat i get a msg saying he cannot make it cause he is not allowed to work on Saturdays...how pathetic, this even after organizing this 2weeks before the time and a 5hr drive.

    I cant tell you how pissed off i am with Tim and the way he operates, ill be pursuing things legally...now

    Those of your dealing with Tim be weary...very weary.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.