The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Steiner LeisureNot a good company to work for

I have been working for Bliss Spa for many, many years. About 3 years ago Starwood Hotels sold Bliss Spa to Steiner Leisure. Working for Bliss Spa before this sale was a dream come true. We were treated with respect and fairness.

Now that Steiner owns Bliss Spa it has been a steady downhill nightmare. In just 2 years, we have had 5 different pay cuts. Every therapist that works for Bliss has at least 3 years of experience and their education exceeds anyone in the business. This warrants higher pay than someone just starting out. On top of this they have implemented a booking order based on retail sales. We are a land based spa that is driven by repeat customers. If you have a high request rate, you simply cannot sell retail every time they see you. Retail products last for 3-5 months. I personally have a high request rate and have been at the end of the booking order because of it. The kicker to this unfortunately is because I'm at the end of booking, I do not see any new clientele therefore I cannot sell any retail. There are days I do not have any appointments at all. We are commission based employees and on those days I make $0. People at the beginning of the order get all the appointments.

So after our pay cuts, Steiner has made it very difficult to even make any money. It's a constant struggle to even make a decent living. I have even tried to appeal to Steiner on making just a few changes that wouldn't affect them in any way but would make it more fair for everyone to have appointments, not just the top few.

I do not recommend working for any company that Steiner Leisure owns. They are greedy and have absolutely no respect for anyone other than upper management. Bliss Spa will unfortunately lose the respect and success it has grown to be. Clients have already started questioning the brand.

Responses

  • Ag
    AGTula Oct 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel like I was tricked in to this company. I originally started the process of joining Steiner when they visited my college and told us "all the details" of the job. I then went to an interview where we were told more information but very little given in writing despite numerous questions. Once I got the job, loads of money was spent on training fees, visa, medical, training uniform etc. Once at training, I was trained for 3 weeks and sent to my ship in the Caribbean. I had to pay for a hotel before joining the ship even though I was told it would be paid by Steiner. Once joining the ship, I worked ridiculously long hours with hardly any footfall in the spa and therefore no money. Every treatment had some sort of discount. Working 14 hour days and no pay some days, 50 cents others and a maximum of $40 on a "busy sea day", it was really not as great as it had been made out to be. I still haven't received my gratuities which are apparently included in your minimum salary. I worked on reception for hours with no pay?! We got 2 half days off a week in the middle of a working day so still early rises and late finishes. On board, the hygiene levels of the spa were disgusting. We had an insufficient number of towels and mitts, so we had to wash them in our sinks and reuse them. I was also forced to perform treatments I was not insured to do, including hot stones (not even qualified in), waxing and specialised facials. When I eventually resigned, it took three days for manager to formally get paperwork together. Nobody from head office had time or cared to speak with me about my concerns. After over £2000 of outgoings and still waiting to be paid by Steiner, I bought my flights home and left. STAY CLEAR OF THIS SCAMMING COMPANY.

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    MARISSA CACAWA Aug 19, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree do not work for steiners company everyone here Simon has no integrity and the bottom line is all they care about is their company they don't care about the people that work very hard. They are a heartless company if you want to be able to move up in a company don't work for steiners. I have been working there for 4 plus years I did two out of the US and two in the US and I'm still a part time associate, your hard work really will not be paid off working for the Steiners company I have nothing really positive to say about it because even the upper management that you work with every single day don't even appreciate the hard work that you put in working for that company I agree with everyone they see no problems in working you 15 hours a day with no breaks and no chance to increase your pay instead they constantly do a pay cut, this company is totally unfair all in all through my personal experience I'm a very hardworking person and I love the spa industry and it's sad to see someone like a very big company like steiners group to be very heartless and not rewarding to the spa industry.

    Sincerly,
    Marissa

    2 Votes
  • Aj
    AJcrazy7 Dec 14, 2013

    I work in the Steiner Educaion Group as a teacher. I agree with everyone here that this company has no heart or integrity. The bottom line is all that matters. I am trying to get out of the company as fast as I can---they see no problem working people 15 hours a day with no breaks and no chance to increase your pay. Totally heartless company that ruined the Utah College of Massage Therapy network of schools amongst many others.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    basseterre Jan 28, 2013

    DO NOT work for Steiner. I work on a cruise ship as an employee of the actual cruise line, so I get to see how the Steiner team is treated from the outside. They are overworked, only receive a puny 9% commission on their sales and spend way too much time in the spa. The time off is misleading on the steiner website, as more often than not the spa managers will make the team stay late or miss port days to work. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES WORK FOR THIS COMPANY UNLESS YOU WANT TO HATE YOUR LIFE AND MAKE NO MONEY.

    2 Votes
  • Re
    Reese89 Nov 25, 2012

    Wow! I too was looking to work in the cruise industry as a nail tech with Steiner and then I came across these reviews and others. All of them saying the same thing. Well back to the drawing board! Thank you for your views.

    3 Votes
  • Re
    Researchi Oct 12, 2012

    Wow!! I am currently doing my research on possibly working aboard cruise ships as a beauty therapist... The comments on working for Steiner are yes truly heartbreaking. I was getting my hopes up before researching and going for a dream job, travel and work, but this has totally put me off. Such a shame that greed of a company that seems to have power over 70% of the big name cruises out there as in line of work for a beauty therapist or massage therapist... Not sure what to do now. I have just finished a 6 year mining career in Australia but i am a qualified Beauty therapist and the desire for travel is high on the agenda, so this seemed perfect... Such a shame!! But very greatful for all the honest reviews from x employees. Thankyou

    2 Votes
  • La
    lajennie Dec 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Researchi I wish I had read these reviews before signing a contract with them back in 2011. On the bright side it humbled me because I sucked up all the anguish while under my 9 month contract, completed the contract, and returned sooo grateful to be back home in my country of America...free at last, free at last!

    If you want to humble a young American who feels entitled and feels everything is due to them, put them on the ship! Although they probably wouldn't last a full contract and would come home crying.

    2 Votes
  • Er
    Eric Steven Littman Aug 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What amazing stuff I am reading. It breaks my heart. I worked for Steiner back in 1999 as a fitness instructor. I was so keen to give the best of myself and I love ships but I was lucky in respect of our dining in Lido restaurant and gym wasn't open till very late.
    As clientele were older group once my stretch and relax class was over at around 5.30 I was free to go to dinner while the therapists and hairdressers were working like slaves.
    I couldn't sell products because I thought they were too expensive and I was not trained to offer advice about supplements so I really felt under pressure. Especially at our meetings when we were told in front of everyone what our takings were. I tried to make up by selling private training but these seasons travelers were savvy and didn't want to pay for fitness. The gym was awsome and the team truly lovely and I put my heart and soul into representing the shipping line and Steiner as best as I could. 150% to help the team on each port clean. I kept wishing if only there could be a balance between the job and demands and if only I could land another role where I was able to work hard but also have the conditions I needed to help me. My wonderful boss kinsa allowed me extra lunch at sea so I could have a short nap. I would like to go back and work on a ship but certainly not for Steiner. I remember gaining the trust of some clients who happened to mention a beneficial result from stock market trade. Without thinking of this in mind I encouraged their wives to have treatments but I lost their trust and they avoided me in the gym. The only people on board who have it superb are entertainers. They get good pay and maybe two or three shows at most on a cruise sector. I was so jealous. If any one would like to contact me my e mail address is [email protected] I can't understand why the shipping lines keep allowing these companies on board and how after all these years things seem to be still horrible.

    Sincerely
    Eric Littman

    2 Votes
  • Ja
    Jamie1290 Apr 22, 2012

    I hope the CEOs of Steiner Leisure own some lakefront property in Hell because that's where these corrupt, sorry excuse for human beings are going. EVERYTHING you read here is 100 percent true. They are a disgrace to the business. Technicians are treated like dirt- no thank you's ever and no opportunity for ANY pay increase ever. The cuts in pay and the "commission AFTER discount" sales on the services end up cutting into your wallet so drastically that you lose up to a THIRD of what your commission is if you get a discounted client. What a better reward to give your employees than to set up "promos" for your business and let your employees eat the cost and have to work double the hours to make up for it. I seriously doubt if ANY of the higher ups in steiner have ever worked as a aesthie or technician EVER in their life. I absolutely cannot believe how they treat their employees. I worked for a Steiner spa for over 4 years and this is the thanks I got for being a "praised by clients" technician. Because I wasn't a sales person, I wasn't always at the front o the booking order, yet I watched a technician who had NUMEROUS complaints become priority and get all the clients only because she was a good sales person. Morale is not present in this place and they only care about the money. Shame on you, Steiner!

    3 Votes
  • La
    lajennie Apr 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Steiner Leisure is Evil, go figure they're on the stock market. Leonard Fluxman, (President, CEO, and Director on this big company) and Stephen Lazarus (CFO), you two should be ashamed of yourselves running such a global operation like this that spreads nothing but a bad name to spas and the spa industry as a whole throughout the world. This is why great therapists leave the industry. This is why our best clientele suddenly run out the door to never return. It's a disgrace, you are a disgrace and I hope all your shareholders learn the truth about Steiner Leisure Ltd and cut their ties. You do nothing positive to make this world a better place.

    Having worked 1 ship's contract in 2011, I am also one of those who decided to end my career as a spa therapist. For any corporate spa businesses considering to venture with Steiner Leisure, they are the devil in disguise and you will have sold your company's soul to them as I sold my soul to them last year.

    3 Votes
  • 12
    1234554321 Mar 21, 2012

    SO TRUE! I worked on a cuise ship (1 contract TOO many) and this company treats their employees like dirt. They DO NOT care about you. What they DO acre about is the numbers...how much did you sell today? what are you oign to do tomorrow? what are your plans for the week? month? It's ALL about the sales for them. Forget about the "human factor".

    3 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaiyena Mar 21, 2012

    I worked for the land based spas in Las Vegas for this company, and everything here is true. They don't care about the employees at all, just their bottom line, you can be the best therapist and not sell well so you will not make money, but if you are a bad or mediocre therapist and sell well you will make tons. They don't care about the client, just selling their product. Therapists are also told that they can not refuse a massage no matter what, that is dangerous to the therapist and client.

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.