The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
State of Florida Child Support OfficeChild Support Offices

I think that the Child Support office needs to be investigated to make sure that they are doing there job, and have everyones files done the right way. My finance was paying child support a couple years ago and now since November 22, 2007 the judge signed the final judgement stating that neither party pays child support, but yet they are still to this day taking money from him, and he took the final judgement into the child support office, and let them make a copy of it to have on file, and they are still saying that it's not closed yet, and here we are 2years later and they are still taking his money, I mean to be honest we get our own place, or get married because they keep taking his money everything time when they are not suppose to. He has been told that he is to wait for a court date before he can find out of whether or not he can get his money back, because child support office is saying that they were taking it, because he was behind on his child support, but the thing was he wasn't suppose to be paying anything period, so that shouldn't keep saying that he is behind or still owes them money because he doesn't, and we have told them that they don't want to get a lawsuit against them, because to be honest they are with the State of Florida, and my family has put a lawsuit against the
State of Florida once before and I have told them that we wouldn't mind doing it again, except this time is will be for more money them last time, because really it's harrassment, and sexest that they keep taking his money and won't leave it alone, not only that they are telling us that we won't get a court date until 6months-to a year, and I think that is really uncalled for. We have been waiting and I think we should of already had a court date by now. I hope someone does something soon, because I would hate to see State of Florida and the Child Support Office get another lawsuit, because they can't do there job right.

More State of Florida Child Support Office Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ja
    Jamie in FL Jan 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The Child Support system in FL is horrible. I can sympathize so much with the above complaints. Let me share our story: My domestic partner of 11 years (we aren't legally married because of his financial problems) has a Disability, Autism Spectrum Disorder. He is brilliant but has a very hard time with communication and social interaction which has made it nearly impossible for him to get and keep a decent job. Also he is very naive, trusting and generous. (Think Sheldon Cooper but w/o the education.) He has 2 kids age 19 and 21 from a woman who claimed to be "barren" when they met, but actually she had at least 2 other kids BEFORE that who were taken away by CPS. After the "miracle baby" was born she promised to get on the pill but was pregnant again 6 months later! When he learned she was turning tricks for drugs, he broke up w/ her. No paternity tests were ever done and the first child looks NOTHING like him...

    CPS soon took the kids from her; he got custody, tried to be Mr. Mom but lost custody when he couldn't get decent affordable daycare for them. One child was injured at daycare and they blamed it on him! He didn't have a lawyer. The mom never paid him a penny in child support. The kids were going to be adopted by a nice family but their aunt said "No, I won't let these children go to strangers, I will take them myself!" So they were "adopted" by their aunt - or so he thought. (He could not afford a lawyer and did not understand the Court proceedings.)

    Years went by, we got together. A few months after he moved in with me he got served with Child Support, including thousands in Arrears, from the aunt! Surprise! The Order said "You are competent for Court" and "You can work full-time making enough money, " neither of which was true. The Order demanded a written response which he couldn't do, so I wrote it for him and included information about his Disability and low income. The Court didn't care. They made him pay Child Support that he could not afford. The aunt kept demanding additional cash or else she would not let him see his kids. She made way more money than he ever has. She took him back to Court at least once a year to try to get more $$ from him that he didn't have. The Court ignored all of his Financial Affidavits and tax returns. His expenses were often greater than his sub-poverty income and during 2 of the last 10 years his Child Support actually exceeded his income.

    The son lived with him during senior year of high school. He still had to pay full support during that year even though we (I) covered all the boy's expenses including prom, graduation, etc. and he never got credit for that. He got injured at work but was not covered by Work Comp because he was an independent contractor, and lost 6 months of work. Child Support didn't care. They took his license and threatened to send him to jail. My father kindly paid to get his license back and prevent him from going to jail. He got another job and was fired for unknown reasons ("communication breakdown" as usual) and was out of work for most of 2015. Child Support did not care. After both kids were over 18 he still had to keep paying the same amount.

    He was fired from his last job in August 2016 and I insisted that he go to Voc Rehab, where he was finally sent for evaluation and documented as "Significantly Disabled." He applied for SSDI. Meanwhile he fell behind again and they suspended his license and threatened jail. He drove all the way to the Courthouse in the county where the case was filed, a couple of hours away, and gave them all his paperwork showing he was unemployed and disabled, and they did not care. They gave him blank Modification of Support papers and said he has to go back to Court, BUT you need a lawyer to do that. There is no Public Defender for Child Support and Legal Aid turned him down. The only lawyer in town who handles fathers' rights charges a nonrefundable $100 consultation fee and would not give us over the phone even a ballpark estimate of what the fees would be for a Modification. But the simple fact is, if he could afford a lawyer he could afford to pay the Child Support, so...

    I can't help him because I am in bankruptcy, in part due to supporting him and his kids the last 10 years! Had I known he owed thousands in Child Support we never would have moved in together. Anyway he will probably go to jail in a couple of months because he can't represent himself in Court. The DOR ignores all correspondence and when he tries to call they put him on hold until all the minutes run out on his phone.

    I wonder how many other men are in a similar situation? And what good does it do the children, for their fathers to be in jail?! If they're in jail they can't work, and when they get out with a record, they will have an even harder time getting a job. The system is crazy and inhumane. My word of advice to all the young men out there: WRAP IT UP! Even if she tells you she's "barren" or "on the pill, " do not believe her. Don't take the chance of bringing an innocent child into the world if you are not ready, able and willing to support that child and give it the good life than it deserves. You will pay for that 2.5 minutes of pleasure the rest of your life and you may even go to jail.

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    KuntLiquor Jun 04, 2016

    people who live in florida are stupid as hell.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jessica1012 Jun 04, 2016

    I showed up in person in December with myself and my infant son that was born in October at the local child support office in order to submit samples for a required DNA test. The state of Florida has all of my ex's current information...job, address, social, birthdate, even a picture...he's not hard to find. I was told that he'd be required to submit for a DNA test and that six weeks after that I would receive the results then the process would get started for a support order to get issued. Now we're in June. I initially applied for services in November...DNA in December. I have not received the results nor any further contact from the Department of Revenue of Child Support Enforcement. In fact I haven't received a single thing. I'm bewildered that they would threaten the custodial parent's continued receipt of food stamp benefits that help to feed the family if they don't comply, yet the department does not follow through on anything. I wonder how many years I'll be waiting.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pissedoff#4 Nov 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a noncustodial mom and boy, now I know how dads feel. I pay my child support, fly in to see my children as often as possible and when I do, I feed them and take them shopping. No kudos because this is what a good parent does. I am so fed up with DOR, I am on countdown for when the youngest turns 18. During post divorce litigation, I was awarded credit toward child support due to joint property. At the time, I went back to graduate school and earned two master degree's in a total of 12 semesters. When the child support payment started which was a month earlier than it was supposed to be, I was remarried and still in graduate school. My current husband pays the child support, gave the oldest 8 months of his GI Bill and put the minors o his DEERS. My ex initiated a review in November 2014. Initially I was told the amount would be reduced because there was 2 minors instead of 3. Then, I was informed that the reduction was denied (didn't found this out until 11 months later, who has time to sit on hold forever) due to my unemployment is voluntary. I finished graduate school and moved less than a year ago and am actively seeking employment. In the meantime, child support is being paid, one payment was inadvertently not made but will be rectified. I don't have an issue paying my child support, but I do have an issue with paying for 3 instead of 2, but will continue to do so or as we all know there will be dire consequences. I don't get the phrase voluntary unemployment when 1. the CS is being paid and 2. the degrees I just earned (also used part of my financial aid to send the oldest one spending money his first year in college because Daddy refused to do so, but no one cares about that) will allow me to make enough money to not only continue to pay child support but assist with college when the time comes. Just had to get this off my chest. Sent this same letter to child support enforcement in Tampa, Fl. Don't expect anything to change! AND WHY CANT NONCUSTODIAL PARENTS REGISTER FOR ESERVICES INSTEAD OF GETTING BLINDSIDED WITH NOTICES IN THE MAIL, MOST OF WHICH ARE UNWARRANTED????????????

    0 Votes
  • Th
    ThePrincessBride86 Feb 03, 2015

    We have been receiving HARASSING letters from the FL CS Office since April 2013 - they sent my husband a letter stating he was 2 months behind and demanding immediate payment.
    Problem: baby mama (CP - Custodial Parent) lives in FL but father still lives in GA which retains jurisdiction.
    NonCustodial Parent (NCP) calls FL's office - informs them that it was a GA order - we can provide PROOF of checks paid to CP for the two months they are demanding payment. They REFUSED to review the documents showing CS $ had been paid!
    NCP said he was NOT going to send it through them because he was current and the CO for CS$ stated he was to pay NCP directly, unless proof of arrears was provided for starting garnishment.

    FL kept sending frequent letters. GA CS office got involved and stated the support order needed to be updated - fine. FL in August 2014 starts garnishing, weekly amount plus $15 "arrears". NCP calls - tells them basically we have the paperwork showing its been paid - what is the big deal? The agent on the phone he spoke with stated we would have to go through OUR county clerk of court (### we found out) and the CS office for GA to prove he was current, and then they needed to notify FL to have it removed.

    We meet with the case worker, NCP signs off on new amounts, Case Worker for GA reviewed the letters FL sent us, our records of payments and stated she saw he was current - AND INCLUDED ON THE NEW ORDER $0.00 arrears!

    New order went into effect 01/01/2015 - GA said they would allow FL to continue garnishment since it was already in place (no problem either - I'm glad NCP doesn't have to write the baby mama's name every month now. ha!)

    We get a copy of the new order - just as promised - $0.00 arrears - SIGNED BY A JUDGE.

    Its now 02/03/2015 - FL is still showing $5, 600 "arrears" and now instead of $15 extra per week over CO - CP is getting $22 over the ordered amount! We called them a month ago and they could go in to INCREASE the monthly support amount, but NOT remove the arrears!?!? What the HELL is their problem!?!

    They told NCP they would "request" the account to be reviewed when he called two weeks ago. To date CP has been OVER PAID $170 - not as big of a deal if we didn't have to pay around $120 in gas for visitation weekends every month.

    FL SERIOUSLY needs to be investigated.

    Its nothing but politician overseen organized crime.

    0 Votes
  • Pc
    PCNaple Jan 13, 2015

    Well, here is probably a new one but certainly NOT surprised...and our next step... FOX4 News to expose all this!!!
    My daughter finally gets her day in court- 12 years, no child support, grueling heartache, appointments, driving to child support office and missing work time, back and forth, phone call after phone call... she gets in court like ten minutes early, wonders why after about 20 minutes no one is calling her in... the DEAD BEAT walks out and tells her the case was closed!!! My daughter goes into the court room to discuss it and they tell here that SHE called and closed the case!!! GO FIGURE THAT ONE!!!
    this child support system is the worse i have ever known. SEE THAT... would NOT happen in New York, Pennsylvania, Nevada... and other places...only in Florida!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    just want better Dec 10, 2014

    I do not know how much more I can take with florida child support. Some operaters tell me half truths the others say nothing. One of the specialists told me that Florida has had my exhusbands offset payment since November 6. And the Florida will not let my girls have it. Why? Florida aren't you doing this for our children? You're the one hurting them the most.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    camilo dejesus Oct 19, 2014

    As of April the Florida offset coordinating office has held my tax return due to all the fraudulent claims that they have had over the years. Although the federal government has reviewed my case and release the money the state of Florida took the money for back child support and now will not release it to the mother of my children. Everytime I call I can never speak to anybody in the offset coordinating office apparently they don't have any phones there or any fax numbers as they review my case. I have to call every so often just to get any updates because although they have my phone numbers and my email addresses they will not contact me to let me know anything can anybody help it is now nearing tax season again and I still haven't received my 2014 taxes.

    0 Votes
  • Nj
    NJ FL Oct 07, 2014

    I HAVE 2 DAUGHTERS THE FIRST ONE IS 6 SECOND ON IS 3. I HAVE FULL CUSTODY OF THE FIRST ONE . SINCE THE FIRST DAY MY SECOND DAUGHTER WAS BORN I HAD HER BECAUSE HER MOTHER LEFT. I WENT TO PUT THE MOTHER ON CHILD SUPPORT THEY CLAIN THEY COULD NOT FIND HER. SO THREE YEARS HAS PASS AND THE MOM WANTS TO COME BACK IN HER LIFE SO I LET HER GO WITH MOM. A MONTH AFTER THAT I RECIEVE A LETTER IN THE MAIL STATING I AM BEING PUT ON CHILD SUPPORT. I DONT UNDERSTAND HOW 3 YEARS THEY CLAIM THEY CANT FIND HER AND SHE GO AND FILE CHILD SUPPORT ON ME AND LITERALLY 5 MONTHS LATTER 600.00 DOLLARS IS BEING GARNISHED OUT MY CHECK. HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE? SHOULDNT I BE GETTING BACK CHILD SUPPORT PAID TO ME FOR 3 YEARS..

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linem Aug 28, 2014

    Dept of Revenue and Child Support "Enforcement" SUCKS. I have been waiting almost 2 months for the case to even get started, and I STILL have not received my financial affidavit in the mail. Every time I call or make a visit to my local DOR office, I either hear "our systems have been down for a few weeks...check back in 30 days" or "there is no new update on your case. Give it another 30-45 days and call us back". UNBELIEVABLE! Meanwhile, deadbeat dad gets to make $3000 a month and I don't see a penny of it.

    0 Votes
  • Gu
    Guillermo Martinez Aug 27, 2014

    For the love of God. What is going on with Florida's child support office? My son was emancipated on Oct 2103 but he was still in high school, the mother asked the court to extend the child support until the end of that school year. (08/2013 -06/2014) So in June 2014. I for filled all of my child support obligations, to include all of the rears. However, Florida Child support office, the Dept of Revenue and Deland Clerk of Courts continues to believe that must continue to pay.
    In 2010 for the entire year, these well ran organization took the court order amount from both my military retirement check and from my State earnings. It took me an entire year to get it fixed.
    In 02/2014 I receive another threatening letter for them, informing me that they are going to suspend my driver's licence. So i miss a days work to travel to Volusia county, to find out that i had to request a court hearing in order to stop the court from suspending my DL. Then, on 02/14/14 missed another whole days work to appear in court in Deland, FL. When called to appear in front of the judge. i took my seat and the judge looked at his screen, he confirmed that i have not missed a payment and asked the state attorney if she had any reason why the state needed to pursue the motion to suspend my DL. The state attorney stated "no" and i was told i could leave. I sat there for a total of 20 seconds, give or take a second. ( Happy Valentine)
    finally today, 08/27/14 I receive yet another lovely letter from the child support office claiming that i have failed to pay July and August 2014 child support. This disorganized group of people has the power to garnish a person's earnings without their say. If i owe them money, wouldn't they just request the payment to be withheld? But no. Instead they informed the three credit burial that i owe money. Needless to say my credit score has gone down. i now have to formally dispute this and wait 30 days for it to somewhat clear. but i have learn something. The child support office is not the only one involved with you case. The Dept of Revenue, the State Disbursement Unit, and the Clerk of Court has their hands in the cookie jar. Three State Agencies. So I am too looking for a attorney that would take on these organization. Some thing needs to done!!! Case #[protected]. 090020378fn64. Tomorrow i am going to try the State Attorney Generals office. it is hard to believe i only serviced 21 years in the military, I should have stayed in for another 20.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    momtothree3 Aug 17, 2014

    Speechless in Florida I myself am going thru that same issue. The State of Florida has had my ex's tax offset since April 2nd and are refusing to release it they said it could take upward to a year if he doesnt want to cooperate with them and mail in copies of everything. I explain he owes me (at the time) 19, 000 since then he was arrested and he bail money was sent to me o now he owes almost 18, 000. Oh to top it off he doesnt live here in FL he lives up north!! We are also in a court battle over child support. Also the IRS does not know anything of this holding. My ex call the IRS fraud department and he spen over an hour on the phone and noone knew anything, so this is something the state of FL is doing to custodial parent and it is a shame!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Speechless in Florida May 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been waiting on my ex-husband's tax offset since Feb of this year. I know they are stating due to fraudulent claims that they are holding them for some time but most holds are due to injured spouse claims (gives the spouse time to get their money before disbursement which is up to six months). Well he didn't file a joint return. I had no problem last year. The money was released right away. I finally got someone at the [protected] number (she was very nice by the way) who explained that they implemented just this year to hold ALL returns until the non custodial parent bring copies of W-2s and tax return into the office (or mail). They will then release the money (which by the way they don't even see in their system). I asked how would he have known to do this because last year he did not. She stated they did not have time to send letters out!! So you implement a new rule that affects so many lives...and no one know about it?? Oh my God!! I have been on line quite a bit and no where do I find this. What about the non custodial parent that is already pissed they have to pay and will not assist in helping the custodial parent get this money??!! Did i mention by the way...no one has been informed about this?????????????!!! WE NEED HELP, THIS IS JUST WRONG!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    NOT CSE Related Apr 15, 2014

    Hi Heather,

    Please remove the telephone number you posted. It is NOT a phone number associated with ANYTHING Child Support Related. It is a work cell phone number. Again this number has NOTHING to do with Child Support Enforcement or Payments. Please remove this number as soon as possible!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jesshoward87 Mar 02, 2014

    my husband and I voluntarily decideded to
    let our children all five plus one I have with another guy go temporarily stay with my
    biological mother till we could get our taxes and get into a home. She filed with the courts with our permission for concurrent custody she ended up with temporary custody. She got custody April 11. She started recieving childs only cash assistance soon after she obtained legal custody on September 24 we got legal custody back of all six. Children. October 11 d.o.r filed for. Hold support arrears and tanf repayment one case for me one case for my husband and one case for my ex boyfriend. My husband and I have lived together for 7 years and we have gone to court seperatley and I have to pay 5500 back and my husband has to pay 6000 back we can't figure out why the total is so high and why our hearing officer in Volusia county Florida refuses to look at the evidence we have and take notice my husband got fired from his job due to my mothers court obsession. our paymnets are 200 a month.the state of Florida and my mother as well have lied and mocked the court system we've had the kids back six months now and she was told while she had the kids to file for child support she got help from Florida instead now were struggling to pay bills because she won't back off. And the state refuses to release the exact amount of tanf she got and their getting me for months when she only had custody five and
    four of the months she fought to give us the kids back after a magistarte sided with us to get our kids back she filed and fought it we shouldn't be held responsible for that thebkids were not taken out of our home it was mutual. What do we di

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michaelsdad Feb 10, 2014

    My father gets letters from dor & threats constantly. they have a warrant out for him now. i love my dad he worked hard all his life . florida will have to dig up his grave because he is dead. dor still trying to get money. i misss my dad. florida you are wrong to do this.

    2 Votes
  • Ru
    ruinedlife Feb 05, 2014

    Florida DOR is practicing legalized extortion. In 2003 a illegal alien delfa santoyo self impregnated herself after a one night stand I an attempt to anchor herself here in the us.
    She was caught with fake social security card and extradited back to the point of entry in Florida.
    She than goes and signs up for the free health and food that they hand out and next thing I know I am paying child support .
    To top It off she somehow buys a 190000 dollar condo.
    I live in nc an have lost a house an 14 jobs due to this con woman and the support from the crooks that operate the Florida Dor.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marisol1980 Jan 19, 2014

    I feel instead of helping my child it's has gone worse not
    Only they took 6 to 8 months to finish the case and start
    Enforcing and of course after that his child support amount
    Gone more debt also his company fired him because
    Of the process the company of him had to do
    To start collecting the money from his paycheck
    And transaction and time to send it to the child support
    Dept apparently the company did it wrong so. My son
    Had to suffer from it . My problem really was that
    That he wasn't giving what my sons deserve which was 50 or more less
    Than what he supposed to pay also he will get behind
    So I decided make it more organized by involving the child support instead they have
    Ruin the communication of the father with as he finally found a job but now they froze the account on him which I know he has no savings so this is going n to
    Hurt him financially and my son still not receiving anything !!!
    Also the department in ft Lauderdale the child support. Dept it's so
    Umprofessinal people I have meet. Instead of trying to save a dollar on paying by checks and froze people accounts they should monitor an deduce employees and have them be more affected on the service at the office . It's a joke to be there finally when is you turn the make you wait 20 30 minutes until they read your case and them they tell you have a sit again and wait for and agent which also are so slow and not productive I guess they work by salary or hour so the don't care taking there time . And here we are collaborating and spend all morning and afternoon. In that nusty office .

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fedupmama Jan 13, 2014

    I absolutely HATE dealing with Florida child support.
    My ex owes over $24, 000 in back child support. He is now currently paying and everything he pays goes toward the back child support because my husband adopted the children. But here is my issue. When I go on the website and look at the payments and when they were made, I'll see a payment that I just got that was received by them months ago. For example, I got a payment on 12/27. According to their site, the payment was received by them on 7/30! It took almost 5 months for them to get it to me. Trying to get a hold of someone there to find out what's going on (as well as how much money is owed to me that they are holding) is a joke, because they have that one, centralized call center. I called one time and was told my wait time was less than 45 minutes. That's crap, because I sat in que for almost 70 minutes! By the time I got to talk to someone, my phone died.

    They have a broken system and they really need to fix it. Because they are failing the children and that's just not right.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele K. Dec 05, 2013

    For the last 10 years, I have been going through problems with the Florida Department of Revenue! First off, just because I don't have my children, they treat me like I'm a criminal! Secondly, just because a parent gets custody of the children, doesn't mean that all the arrears just disappear! That is what is happening. My children's father owes more than $100, 000 in back child support to another mother, he gets custody and it all just disappeared! Why? Then, someone goes into the "system"; changes my child support payment dates to "bi-weekly"; instead of semi-monthly and I start getting threatened and harassed that I now have arrears and they will suspend my driver's license if I don't pay them their money! I have an IDO and I have paid, without fault for the last three years...there was NO EXCUSE for what happened! I finally got someone in Tally to change my pay dates back to semi-monthly and the harassment has stopped (for now). What I would like to know, is why someone changed it in the first place? Especially when my employer sends the money the same way for the last three years? I have $2, 000 in arrears from being unemployed previously, yet they allow my children's father to have over $100, 000 in arrears and nothing gets done? Something is terribly wrong with this system! Especially when the custodial parent demands money, yet refuses to comply by court orders and allow visitation. When is the State of Florida going to start getting the fact that if a custodial parent refuses visitations as court ordered, their child support should stop! It goes hand in hand. Why reward these parents for violating court orders? Because, in all honesty, the only reason they took the children was because they see them as dollar signs! How else would you explain the fact that a man has 5 children with 3 different women and has custody of all of them...tax exemptions and child support! What gives it away in my case, is that he is NEVER home for those children (especially mine) and they are failing in school!

    On an after note...if you are being victimized by the Florida Department of Revenue, check your credit report! They have a nasty habit of reporting arrears two and three times...in different amounts. They also have a nasty habit of putting the ENTIRE amount of child support that you will have paid by the time the child is 18 years old, on your credit report. This is "advanced reporting"; and should be illegal. Yet, they do it and it will ruin your credit! It did mine!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Breezy678 Oct 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree they need to be investigated!! They are taking my child support payment and holding them in a future account is what they are telling me. So now they tell me my ex has paid ahead (the money in this account they hold) So they will not release any of my child support payment. They are telling me I have received all of these big lump sum payments that I have NEVER got. I only get what I am court order to get and they keep the rest. Now they are not even giving me what is court order due to them lying and saying I received payments I did not get. I think they need to show me and others proof of where our child's money went!!!

    2 Votes
  • Da
    daniellekimok Aug 07, 2013

    Florida department of children and family... ugh is so twisted ive been clean fighting for my son they wont give me my son they wont give me a case plan ... they want to take my right as a parent who wants their child and is willing to do what ever it take cant even get a chance ... ive been told that i will get my son one week and the next i will lose him this has stressed me out to the max ... needing help to find loop hole to get my son plz help if u know what else i can do to get my son

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    SLCKWFL Aug 03, 2012

    The DOR in the State of Florida does not do their job in any way shape or form. If they did I wouldn't be owed over $31000 (31 thousand) in childsupport with years still ahead before my two hit 18 years of age. No enforcement in being done and I keep getting the run around. He has two other cases as well with the same issues!!! PUT his rearend in JAIL! I am not getting the money anyway so teach him a lesson! I don't qualify for any assistance because they factor in the childsupport that I don't receive and to them I make too much money to qualify for assistance. Meanwhile, I have lost everything to be sure my children don't go without. Enough is enough can anyone come forward and help us. Childsupport money to support children is not a privilage, it's a right and it's the bare minimum the other party involved is responsible for. I just want my kids to have a better life and am running out of patience and places to turn!

    0 Votes
  • Es
    ESheldon Jul 26, 2012

    I have been waiting for months for 2 intercepted tax returns from the NCP's. They took the drivers license and tag from my son's father. He now has to go to court to get it back even though the child support office (Pasco County) received his intercepted tax return. He showed me the documents and it clearly was taken out. He called the IRS and they said they don't have it, that they sent it to the port richey office. After surfing the Internet, I found that the child support office can hold onto the money for up to six months. I also heard that they could hold the money to check if someone was receiving cash assistance which I am not. So does the child support office hold onto it to collect interest on it? 6 months of interest on my 7000 alone that they have is quite a bit. The fact that it is happening to other people as well ads up to a lot of money. I have been to the port richey office and they are grumpy and very unhelpful...

    0 Votes
  • To
    too mad mom Jul 02, 2012

    The state of Florida is withholding my childsupport because they say that I am receiving cash assistance. I AM NOT RECEIVING CASH ASSISTANCE they are holding over $500.00 dollars from my child.Dcf states at that I cant receive cash assistance because of my children ages... they are over the age of 18 so why wont the state release my child support money...been back and forth to the child support office to the Dcf office...I really dont understand..something needs to be done...the states shows it child support is deducting from his check every week and this money is being taking by the state how WRONG is that...

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    momx1 May 24, 2012

    The state of Florida is the WORST state to deal with when coming to child support orders.. I have an interstate case I live out of state and NCP lives in Florida. It Took 2yrs to even get him served for child support, then they let him prolong getting an order because he wanted a DNA test ( which was BS told me himself he knew his son was his) 1 month before next court date he goes back to jail-lands himself in prison.. 3months later finally get DNA test 4months after that Judge says since hes going to prison he refuses to make an order. Finally in Feb 2011 Judge makes order even tho NCP doesnt show up. my Child was 4yrs old by this time and i had NEVER gotten a dime he gives me a low baller order but I was just happy to finally get something on paper.. Judge says if he doesnt pay in 2months he'll put him n jail.. No such luck over a year later and nothing.If I call florida they tell me to talk to my case worker wont even talk to me which is BS my case worker cant even get through to someone.He owes THOUSANDS in back child support and there is no point in taking his DL cause he cant get them anyways due to not paying court cost (I know I got a real winner).They did take 2 payments out of his checks in the end of 2011 but then he quit his job and now back to not paying and my case worker can not do anything Florida has to issue a warrant which they told her 6months ago they were going to do so. I bust my behind so my son does not go without and has everything he needs and most of what he wants but I think about how better it would be with that little bit of extra money. PLUS its the principle I didnt make this child on my own and its totally unfair that he gets to go off and spend his money however he wants to on whatever he wants to and do whatever he wants. I wouldnt trade my son for anything and I can not wait for the day that I meet someone and settle down and he will be adopted but until that. his "father" should be held accountable. My next step is I am writing letters to the Director of Child Support in Walton County and to the Judge and anyone else I can think of.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole954 May 16, 2012

    I'm so upset with the state of Florida child support office. My kids father taxs was intercepted on march 12, 2012. I was told it will take 6 to 8 wks. Well I haven't gotten anything yet. I was told its because of all the tax fraud going on. But I feel that the state of Florida child support is just using this answer as they keep payments that are rightfully due to our kids. It seems like a big scam to me and I have been trying to get info on ways to go legal on this situation. They claim there here to help us but it seems like they are just taking from us. Nicole

    2 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Usher May 10, 2012

    hi,
    i am on a TN Visa and i don't have a job. i have 10 days to go back to my country. what do i do regarding child support?

    0 Votes
  • In
    inabind Apr 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    what i don't understand is why fl thinks that its up to everyone else to do there job they finely lowered my child support witch is good but raised it up on top of it for back support that built up in 12 years because they wouldn't lower it when my old company sold and i lost my job i had to take a 5.oo hour pay cut but refused to lower my child support back then witch put me in back support of 62 thou then they had me paying on kids that was in there mid 20;s but refuse to drop the back support when they kids turned 19 they are ripping me off i cant live and all they say on the phone is to bad then they based my new support the one i just got lowed from 756 a month to 333 plus 175 on top of that for back support that they put me in i make 8 an hour had to take any job because my old job did cut backs and lost a lot of pay i ask about getting my license back so i can go farther to look and get a better job they said sorry for your luck my ex makes 17 an hour and said she needs more money for her and my daughter to live on what is this state thinking i agree we need to file a law suit against the state we are people to and need to live i cant even get my meds because i cant afford them thanks fl for being one sided

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Apr 18, 2012

    to add---
    the child support enforcement seem to be all about just helping themselves and the custodiial parent. they will do everything possible to get your money but dont really make it easy to do the right thing if you are the payer.
    their website offers the e-service. however "Parents ordered to provide support cannot sign up for Child Support e-Services at this time". wtf. why wouldnt we be able to sign up for it.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Apr 17, 2012

    D-Castle, do you happen to have the number to that pasco office? (i now live out of the state)
    ive been paying my child support for many years and trying to do things the right way. they require me to supply insurance, which i have, but to notify them of it is damn near impossible. i would run out of minutes on my phone before actually getting in contact with the child support enforcement number for the state of florida. the prompt when calling in is "you wait may be up to 30 minutes".
    they really need to revamp their system to be more user friendly

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    D castle Apr 17, 2012

    agree agree agree... For some reason. ANY LOCAL (ours is pasco county - new port richey) cant get there head out of there ### long enough to give a crap to take a look at ANYTHING! and tallahasse is worse. (CHIP your an idiot) they cant look to see if they have released anything or even received anything. ????? doing so would cause less mayham. Hey states workers, there are lots of poeple on the unemployment line. compassion - understanding - people are hungry waiting on moneies owed all year long and waiting is hard, but "no way to see if ANYTHING has even been logged on your personal account could answer alot of questions for people. TALLAHASSE - get a clue and do your job. And I am just trying to get the infolrmation for my ex and on where my money went and when she will get it. NO WONDER TALLAHASSE has a bad rep. cause they have hired popele with no sole and you cant tell me there is NO way to look in a computer system to see if the monies were even sent there yet..bunch of IDIOTS! Sincerly D. CASTLE

    0 Votes
  • In
    inabind Apr 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    fl child support and child support laws are a joke unfair 10 years ago the company i worked for ten years sold and i was making pretty good money i got laid off i filed for a reduction and was told in a round about way sorry for your luck i had to take a lower paying job 5.oo less an hour i called child support so many times in the last 10 years and was called a dead beat this put me over the years to 62 thousand in the rears i i finally got a reduction and then was ask how much i could pay on the back support and i said 100 a month they said that wasn't good enough and told me i had to pay 333, 00 plus 175.00 on top of that i been paying on 1 child that is 24 and 1 that is 21 i do not have to pay even if they go to collage the thing is i been paying on kids that should of stopped when they turned 18 i ask if i will get some of the back support taking away from the time they turned 18 i was told no i tried so many times over the years to get a reduction and credit for paying on children that should of stopped when they was 18 they take my taxes took my driving rights away i cant get help to fight for my rights on this the jude who does my case wont allow me to speak all i get told is go get 2 jobs live under a bridge and deal with it what can be done about this unfairness if i had my driving rights i could get a better job making more then 8 an hour it took years to get support lowered and caused me 2 times to go homeless because support is way to high anything i can do or get free help we need to have these laws changed and what makes me sick you can get DUI and still have your driving rights to go back and fourth to work but get behind in child support you get nothing but sorry for your luck

    -1 Votes
  • Fa
    Fatherdoingright Apr 03, 2012

    Well I have been fighting with them for four years now. I pay $1, 900 for which my ex wife does not work and was able to buy her new husband. Her new husband would not have touch her until he found out how much child support she gets each month. Now he wants a new truck so how do you go about doing that, ask the Department of Revenue to get more money from the father. Get this, the ex withholds the children from the father, then counts those extra days as part of her percentage of time so that gives her more money. So the State of Florida has established a system where one parent can withhold the children from the other parent and be rewarded with more money. Her and her new husband sits by their pool drinking beer waiting for the first of each month where the Department of Revenue takes the money and sends it directly into her account for her and her husbands use. Child support, does not exist, just converted it into Alimony. Bonus news, she has a college degree and has never worked. She does make sure that the children are shipped off to school each day so they don't interfere with daily activities. Yes a very just system.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chrystal heagle Mar 22, 2012

    I have never been so diapointed in the florida child support office in my life until about a month ago. If tyhe father does not pay he gets licesen taken goes to jail, but what about them paying it and the mother not receiving it. I have been waiting for 2 months now and still waiting for 9 payments that I usaully get every week. I am about to get my lights cut off my son needs to eat rent and other bills about due. I have called and went there several times where it has taken me from work to see what is going on and none of them can answer a question. I feel like they are taking the money and not giving it to the correct person. I am a working mother thast works monday thru saturday have one day off and I feel like I need to keep on them to do there job. I dont receive public assistants for any help. I feel like florida child support office in osceola county needs to pull there heads out there ###. I will not just stop here you will keep hearing from me until you do your job.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    J Bizelli Mar 17, 2012

    What is Harvard producing these days? I have been told by three different attorneys that the Office of Child Support cannot be sued for harassment, negligence, fraud, theft, or any of the other nine criminal and civil actions they perpetrate on any given day. For every one person that has found this site there must be a thousand that haven’t. How, in these United States of America, can ANY agency, or anyone for that matter, be above the law? The Office of Child Support Enforcement knows they are untouchable and flaunts it; the agency bullies, steals, lies, and in the end... laughs in the face of honest hard working people. Common citizens would be jailed if they did what this agency does. I have meticulous records of their fraudulent activities in my own case, I’m sure others do as well. Is there not just ONE attorney willing to stand up as a victims advocate and mount a class action suit to slay this beast? Is this Governor Scott's implementation of "Privatization", an agency accountable to no one? For the love of God people!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Up
    UpsetFather Apr 28, 2011

    Wow...a lot of folks having issues with Florida Child Support System. I hate to say, but at least I am not alone!! My sons are 19 and 20. They turn 20 and 21 in Jan/Feb of 2012. I've been trying to fix the court order for the oldest child for two years now. Every time I call they say I have to wait for a court date. Is there a way I can get this expedited? They tell me a lawyer can't help and I was hoping they were right because simply said I couldn't afford one. I am now in a better position financially so I am thinking of getting one. Currently on hold with the office and the wait time is now 15 minutes after holding already for 6 minutes.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elp cat Mar 07, 2011

    I AM A NON CUSTODIAL PARENT AND I AGREE WITH THE COMPLAINTS ON HERE AGAINST THE CHILD SUPPORT SYSTEM. EVERY ONE CIRCUMSTANCES ARE UNIQUE AND DIFFERENT. WE ALL MAKE MISTAKES IN JUDGEMENT OF CHARACTER WHEN IT COMES TO MARRIAGE AND OR RELATION SHIPS AND CHILDREN ARE CAUGHT UP IN THE MIDDLE. THE CHILD SUPPORT AGENCY IS THERE TO ENFORCE IT DON, T MATTER WHO IS RIGHT OR WRONG. EVERY ONE ON THIS POST HAS A HORROR STORY AND MINE IS NO EXCEPTION I HAVE AND ALWAYS WILL BE A GOOD PARENT UNTIL THE DAY I DIE I GOT MY DRIVERS LICENCE CANCELLED TAX RETURNED INTERCEPTED WROTE COUNTLESS LETTERS TO THE DOR ARGUED THAT I WAS NOT IN THE ARREARS AND FINALLY AND FINALLY THEY NOW WILL GIVE ME THE CREDIT OF PAYMENTS MADE IN FACT I WAS OVER PAID BY 4, 000 WILL I GET IT BACK I DON, T CARE IF THEY GIVE IT TO HER FINE AS LONG AS I NEVER HEAR FROM CHILD SUPPORT AGAIN . WHEN I LEFT MY LIVE IN GIRL FRIEND OF 16 YEARS SHE HAD PREVIOUS 3 CHILDREN NOW ALL GROWN UP FROM 2 DIFFERENT DADS NEVER AND I MEAN SHE NEVER WORKED A DAY OF HER LIFE WHY YES YOU GOT IT THE WELFARE SYSTEM SHE NEVER WENT TO A VOCATIONAL SCHOOL TO REHIBILITATE TO BECOME EDUCATED I BROUGHT HER 3 CARS SHE CRASHED ALL THREE PLUS THE LAST STRAW WHEN SHE TOOK THE BILL MONEY AND SENT IT TO A MURDERER IN PRISON AND YOU KNOW IT WAS TIME TO MOVE ON I LEFT I PUT MY SELF ON CHILD SUPPORT AND PAID AND PAID NOW MY SON IS 18 YEARS OLD SO HAS THE SYSTEM BEE N FAIR TO ME ABSOLUTELY NOT I LOVE MY SON AND TIME HAS TOOK ITS TOLL ON HER JUST AS TIME WILL EVENTUALLY CHANGE THINGS WITH OUR CHILD SUPPOORT GOVERNMENT

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maroi Feb 06, 2011

    sorry you said he got behind over 7 yrs ago not he was unemployed. The point is still this is why we need to warn our sons not to make babies unless its with a sound woman, when you have a sound career, good money in the bank, be a sound man yourself so you can navigate and have options if you become unemployed. Broke, unstable, making babies with stupid people is no longer cool 2011 and beyond. Trust me all these complaints here would go the hell away here if this advice is honored.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maroi Feb 06, 2011

    for the couple getting married with a 2yrd old...get an attorney to try to stop the order of support. how did they know to pursue him for support? at one time you had to have initiated an order to pay, rescinding it has to be done legally. get an attorney, consult one. even a paralegal might be able to help you draw up
    an order and you can file it or they can. look at both options.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.