The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
rockybid .comscam

this site is a scam you cant win anything here and am not sure that they are not using shill bidders because same stuff being auctioned off so matbe never really sells off and they keep selling bids at .75 cents a pop

Responses

  • Jl
    Jlowe1 Apr 11, 2009

    I know of 2 people who won things on rockybid.com .. I think you need a strategy to win these games.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    Jlowe1 Apr 11, 2009

    I personally have not used this website yet, I have used swoopo, and no I did not win, and yes I would consider doing it again. Its fun but to win you need a strategy, just like anything else in life. I hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    csweet May 14, 2009

    I have friends who have won. You just have to decide at 75 cents a bid is it worth it. But I am going to try myself...

    0 Votes
  • Au
    auctionlovers Jun 04, 2009

    You do need a stratagy, because you can screw your self if you don't know what your doing. For instance, A guy just won 50 free bids for $.33 cents. Sounds good right, because otherwise it would cost him .75 cents a bid to purchase the cheapest bid package. You have to have bids on your account to bid. Let's say this guy has 33 bids in his account aready. OK, each bid cost him .75 cents. Since this is a penny auction he had to put 33 bids in to win, so this auction actually cost him $24.75. Was this a deal? Let see. The cheapest bid package is $14.99 for 20 bids. If he would have spent $26.00 for 40 bids. So he actually only ended up with 10 free bids. Hold on we're not done yet. Remember he had to give up the 33 bids he had in his account towards 50 free bids. So he's only gained a total 17 free bids. In other words 33 of the 50 free bids just replaced the 33 the just used to win the auction. He still got 17 free bids. But he actually paid for 33 of the 59 free bids.

    0 Votes
  • Au
    auctionlovers Jun 04, 2009

    oops typo ...I meant of the 50 free bids.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RockyBid Jun 10, 2009

    If you think RockyBid.com is a scam, check out http://rockybid.com/blog for pics and video at the Paragon Honda in Queens, NY, where Jane Megginson received her car she won for $1.24.

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    dantheman Jun 10, 2009

    Actually, he didnt waste 33 bids to win something for $.33 because he was bidding against other people, which means the max he spent was 16 bids, probably less. When you win, you actually pay the website $.33 cents to win your product, not 33 bids.

    Recently a woman won a car from them for $1.24. Im assuming the company took a huge loss on it too. She walked away with the car, and they documented it as well: http://rockybid.com/blog/?p=78

    So I dont think its a scam. Sorry buddy.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paul Jun 11, 2009

    WELL SINCE ROCKYBID SENT ME A HALF DOZEN EMAILS ACKNOWLEDGING THAT THEIR WEBSITE WAS "ACCIDENTLY" BIDDING AUTOMATICALLY FOR 2 DOZEN BIDDERS, OR SHILL BIDDERS, AS THEY ARE CALLED, AND DVDS THAT SELL FOR $5 EVERYWHERE WERE BIDDING OUT AT $300ish AND $600sih THAT SHOULD BE A WARNING TO EVERYONE THAT THEIR SITE IS DOING A WHOLE LOT WRONG AND THE CAR HAD TO "SOLD" TO THAT WOMAN SINCE NOONE WAS TUPID ENOUGH TO BID ON IT AFTER SEEING THAT THE SITE WAS HAVING A FEW GLICHES WITH ALL THE OTHER BIDS, EVEN TO THE POINT OF THEM REFUNDING 1000S OF PEOPLE 100S OF 1000S OF $$$$. THEY WERE CAUGHT USING SHILL BIDDERS AND WERE FORCED TO REFUND THE SCAMMED BIDDERS. IF ANY OF U REALLY USED THE SITE U WOULD ALREADY KNOW THIS AND NOT BE TRYING TO ACT LIKE EVERYTHING IS ON THE UP AND UP, U ARE SO OBVIOUSLY WORKING FOR THEM. THE FACT THAT THE CAR WENT FOR SO LITTLE TELLS THE TRUE STORY...

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RockyBid Jun 11, 2009

    As a new company with an overload of users, as can be verified by web trafficking websites, some server errors have occurred. Because of this, the bids of some individual accounts (not shill users) had not gone through and turned into a loop on the server.

    It was because of a server error that this occurred and Rockybid felt that the only fair way to go about business was to return each users bids.

    Serious upgrades have been made so that errors as such no longer occur.

    The fact that the car sold for so cheap is simply luck for user JaneMegg, who is real and picked up the car on June 9th from Paragon Honda in Queens, NY. For photos and video, you can check our blog at http://rockybid.com/blog.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paul paul Jun 11, 2009

    As stated it is obvious the "good feedback" or fake feedback is coming from rockybid. now they are just directly answering the legit complaints in the open, as opposed to using fake names or employees names.
    Rockybid is watching this site so closely that they responded to a complaint within hours of its posting. what does that tell you???
    A gliche in the server causes some dozen bidders accounts to automatically bid $600 for a $5 dvd, please...
    It happened with a dozen items and a dozen of bidders. im sure that they didnt intend for it to happen and for us to find out they are using shill bidders but as in 99% of scams the truth comes out. as far as luck goes winning the car, if you really believe that then you deserve to be ripped off by rockybid!!!
    Be careful out there they are not the only scammers on the internet.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammed12789127 Jul 07, 2009

    SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM!!

    Paypal cannot protect you! I tried filing a complaint, but the site found a loophole so they do not have to refund anything!


    1) The timer jumps back and forth between seconds at times. I am not the only user who notes this. Regardless of whether I use my PC, Mac, or portable device, I see this happen. I highly doubt that all these sources that report this are incorrect.

    2) There is no reason that I should be 'timed out' of an auction if I am actively bidding on it. If I am timed out a certain number of times, the website become impossible to simply 'refresh'. I have to completely shut internet explorer off and reboot it to get it to log me back in. By the time this happens, I can easily lose an auction.

    3) When I was bidding on the TV on Saturday night, I tried buying more bids. There was a problem and even though I tried 4 separate times, I was unable to purchase more bids. I was unable to continue bidding on the auction because of this. I lost $125 and had no chance of recouping that because of this glitch.

    Not a technical issue, but the largest issue I have with this site aside from a technical one:

    There is absolutely no excuse that a timed auction website should be able to use to negate the technical responsibility it has to its users to operate a dependable and steadily running website. The website should work flawlessly, especially when its basis is a timing system. I have spent close to half a thousand dollars on this site as a good customer. I am now going to let all my friends and family know the flaws of the system and encourage them to delete their accounts. The fact that the legal contract has been changed from when I signed up (and hence agreed to the user contract) and I was not notified, I know is not only illegal, it shows a severe lack of moral obligation that the site has to its users.


    When I wrote them that email, they took personal offense to it and belittled the money I spent on it. Paypal does not protect you, the site refuses to take responsibility for technical glitches and even updates the contract without notifying anyone so that they can continue to scam people while legally covering a**. Even the legal contract admits that the site has problems, but they are not responsible!!

    Scam scam scam!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeeva999 Jul 13, 2009

    I agree this site is scam... yesterday i was trying to bid for panasonic TV and i used bidbuddy for 50 bids. those bids were completed with in 5 secs. i see same users winning the auctions. i doubt those user id's belong to rockybid only. please dont waste ur money.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    raj143keri Jul 17, 2009

    True. It took 25 of my bids in 4 seconds. Talked to live support and he closed the chat window. Its cool I recorded the whole thing. Ima put it on youtube to their scam.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pennyaday Jul 24, 2009

    One friend did not receive is PSP from amazon.. Amazon is a scam? Right.

    -1 Votes
  • Pe
    Pennyaday Jul 24, 2009

    I've been to many of these web sites. I have not bid yet. But from all the blogs I've looked at and research I've done here's what I concluded: People who win are happy. People who don't win, complain.. And of course blog its a scam.. But I say there is always a seconds side to every story. Think about it.. there are so many of these sites.. 10's may 100's of thousands of users.. and only a few complaints here and there. I love this post. It gives me a better opportunity to win on these sites, prevents more people from signing up. Keep up the good work "complainers". Or maybe you are using reverse Mind games. You don't want anyone else to bid on this sites.
    Thanks to you I am now convinced these sites are legit and am ready to bid. But please keep tellling everyone else not to.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    richierich Jul 27, 2009

    Part of the contents that you have mentioned I agree with that. I have won around 3 auctions on rockybid.com and have lost on couple of auctions also. But I noticed on the iphone auction which came on July 25 7pm PST. when the auction was about to be over around 2:20sm PST the timer jumped from 10 second to 0 second, and the auction got ended...
    I have taken snapshot of these moments which clearly shows bug in their system. Check out this snapshot which shows that the auction was dragged even though it was ended. Now the surprise thing is, when i checked on the same auction on the other day I found this time was modifed to a different time.

    I had also kept track on the auction for 7 hours 20 min and i had a good idea on the best time to enter aggressively. I still have lot of bids remaining in my account. which is useless for me right at this point since i didnt got a chance to win. The username: Bullfish and table46, can you please come forward, coz i am sure you also experience the same thing. If there are other users too, please drop by an email at
    richierich.b.[protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spamcat Jul 28, 2009

    It appears to me that the main problem with this site comes from the expectation attached to the word "auction". These are clearly not auctions. It's much more like a raffle or lottery. In other words, you're gambling for prizes. If you're cool with that, go ahead and use the site. If you want a bona fide auction, stick with eBay.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lemonice Aug 04, 2009

    Rocky Bid is not a scam there are similar sites to this, some are scams and some are legit if you want more information check out the consumer watchdog found at http://www.pennyauctionwatch.com.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bid-to-2-too-win Aug 05, 2009

    Richierich, I am the one that won the Iphone auction (which I received in just a couple days) I am bid2win. Most timer issues are not software or server based (I said most not all), it is typically related to your internet connection and network. For that reason when I am going deep into a higher end auction I bid on my PC and have my laptop on the page also. Numerous times I have seen 2-5 second lags on one computer that never showed on the other. It is also important to refresh often and use the f5 refresh this sometimes help settle the timer down. For the record, I did not see the timer lag on that auction. The same issue happens/applies at zoozle, bidtrotter, bidrodeo and all the others. If timer lag is an issue on your computer try zoozle.com they have the most reliable timer I have seen you can actually bid on the last second.

    I know it sounds like I work for Rockybid and I have been accused of it a few times on blogs and forums, but I am just an avid bidder, I am on other sites as well I am bidtowin at zoozle, Bidrodeo, and yottabid (RIP) bidtoowin at bidtrotter, and bid2win at Rockybid.

    All these sites mentioned are for real NO BOTS or SHILLS, I have won many items and recieved them all promptly from all the mentioned sites. In fact I receive most of my wins with in a week they are fast as most of the items they auction are shipped from Amazon. Personally Rocky and Zoozle are by far my favorites.

    0 Votes
  • Rw
    rwb63 Aug 05, 2009

    I bid on Rockybid, BidRodeo and Zoozle and me and my family have won many auctions on these sites. As bidtowin wrote these sites are not scams I and my family have bid against bidtowin as well as others on this posting.There are many of us with the same user name who bid on all these sites and bid against each other often.Many of these bidders are very good bidders and that is the reason they win many items.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    ProtoProtoss Aug 12, 2009

    ProtoProtoss speaking here:

    It's amazing how people complain about a gambling site... It's like going to Vegas and visiting Caesar's Palace, then losing and complaining that you heard it was the best place to gamble, but you lost. I know for a fact that it's real, as I wasn't sure in the beginning either so I took a chance, won a gram of gold, tried again, won, received, tried again, won, received, and so on. So far I've acquired over $4, 000.00 worth of items for about a $500.00 investment.

    I don't know what you all are complaining about, and frankly I don't care... it's REAL for me and those of us whom win, so I'm quite pleased with the site. You have to understand latency & lag, etc. Refresh your browser every now and then and if your on cable or better you shouldn't have any problems. As was stated above, when people lose they complain, when they win, it's all praise.

    For those of you whom don't believe it, do what I do. Buy double to triple the cost of the worth of the item in bids, then put them all towards the auction on Bid Buddy. If I REALLY want an item, you best believe I will get it. Honestly, I just get a thrill from winning, haha. Thus being... I'll bid 4x what it's worth in bids just to win it for the rush I get, though it almost never goes that far. With over 4, 000 bids left in my account, best believe I intend to keep using them.

    1 Votes
  • B2
    B2W Aug 18, 2009

    Proto I think it is great that you are here supporting Rockybid we both no that Rockybid is the real deal both having won at Rocky, but seriously, enough rediculas hype regarding your banked bids and win on demand attitude, we both know the truth about that now don't we. You must have not wanted the last few items bad enough where you bid against me? Secondly If you have 4000 bids in your bank and you have only used 750 to win $4000 why would you bank 4000 bids? Besides the $500 investment does not include all the bids on lost auctions or don't those count.

    Dude my point is: it is great that you support Rockybid but exagerations to scare other bidders and help you win are not welcome.

    B2W

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    ProtoProtoss Aug 19, 2009

    B2W, you are indeed a worthy opponent. As for banked bids, I bought in, won, then bought lots more and had others invest with me so my account is shared between 3 people as a pool. Now the ones I didn't win against you were simply because I decided not to risk many bids trying to win something when I can catch it again later with less competition or simply that you placed more bids than I felt the item was worth. Going head to head spending thousands of bids on something I don't really want THAT bad would just be a foolish move on my part. The ones where I have spent tons were times when I set a ridiculous bid buddy amount for when I won't be around to watch it, which in times I have lost greatly doing so. Just because I have many banked bids, including those I've won, doesn't mean I want to spend them all up.

    I've witnessed some ridiculous bid buddy battles where people have spent over 700+ bids each, then at the end of it all someone just comes and places about 3 bids and wins. It's not how many bids you have, it's how you use them.

    But yes. RockyBid is VERY real.

    1 Votes
  • Rw
    rwb63 Aug 22, 2009

    Proto
    It is great to support rockybid.But this posting was about rockybid being a rip off and not real.
    We have won many great items on this site and it is very real.
    If it does not matter how many bids you have then why bring it up.
    I do think this will not help bring new bidders and winners to rockybid when you see someone has 4000 bids banked.
    For all of us to keep winning and having fun on this site we need new people to bid and win items to keep the site going.
    I just think saying you have 4000 bids banked will scare people away and that is not what this posting was about.

    rwb63

    .

    0 Votes
  • Rw
    rwb63 Aug 22, 2009

    Oh
    For info. on what site is real or not or to post comments on sites or to other bidders
    www.pennyauctionforum.com
    Is great site to check out

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    truthman Aug 24, 2009

    How do you explain these two Zoozle auctions that ended this morning Aug 24th.

    Vaio laptop - the winning bidder placed 5000 auto bids ($2500)to win a $680 computer?

    Samsung netbook- the winning bidder placed over 3000 autobids($1500) to win a ($380) computer?

    Zoozle is a complete SCAM and don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

    0 Votes
  • B2
    B2Lose Aug 25, 2009

    Well, this was quite informative. It looks like most of the supporters say the same things in the same way. Mix that up with a little "realistic argument" and they all of a sudden become believable? Silly stuff.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    ProtoProtoss Aug 27, 2009

    in regards to rwb63's statement:

    I would like to formally apologize to everyone for taking this conversation out of context... I think I kinda lost insight of the topic when I was trying to explain to the other guy how real it was, and went a little overboard. For one, I overexaggerated the amount I have, as I would never really say the true amount I have, and don't even know why I mentioned that part in the first place. I guess I'm just over excited due to winning so much from the site to where it's now an addiction for me. I've just recently won a 2nd laptop (using the 1st to write this message actually) and 2 more PS3's.

    There is no way that I can convince anyone that the site is real, even if I record me winning, and record opening the package, but I might do just that to see if it can offer any kind of proof. The only true way people will see that it's 100% bonafied legit is if they push there fears aside and just try. I mean heck... everyone is so worried about it not being for real that they never take into aspect that "what if it is for real" Here I had my doubts at first (after my horrid dealings with S...o and it's falsifying timer with auctions ending with still several seconds on the clock, and one that I actually won and it just sat there on 0 secs for a while until their robot had a chance to jump in and bid, etc.)

    Anyways, I took a chance and won something, then received it. I tried again for something bigger thinking... this is small, nothing major, of course they'll ship that. I actually won a 100-ounce ($1500 worth) bar of Silver as my next item and a few days later was a notice for me to go sign for a package at the post office.

    I can't stress enough that the site is definitely not a scam by any means... you can say that about 97% of the other sites of similar style, but not this one. If you are a skeptic then you might as well move on. If your even concerned about it being a scam, chances are that you are or were thinking about playing. Just give it a go, try for something small like a DVD or game or something, win it, and see for yourself, then move upto bigger items with confidence.

    ProtoProtoss

    oh, and another site that helps you distinguish between the legit sites and the scam sites is: www.PennyAuctionWatch.com

    1 Votes
  • Rw
    rwb63 Aug 28, 2009

    Proto
    It takes a big guy to write what you did and I respect that.
    As for rockybid we have all won our share or items and hope that we keep doing so.
    We meaning bidtowin and protoprotoss we have all bid against each other.
    As for those who do not believe they may never think it is real.
    But for those who would like to try this sites I have won large items and received them on rockybid, zoozle and bid rodeo.
    For those who would like to try any penny auction site go to www.PennyAuctionWatch.com
    These are real bidders who post comments auction sites and let everyone know with site is real and witch are rip offs.

    rwb63

    1 Votes
  • Va
    Vanillacake Aug 31, 2009

    Its a mess trying to compete wiht the competitive jerks that put Rockybid way over commission. People are silly bidding on a psp wasting so much money when you can go buy it way cheaper then what you are paying in bids... Its unbelieveable to see how much money people are giving away to Rockybid. Its a trick, they make it seem like you are getting the item for 1.70 or .30 when actually you have paid way over that ammount. Good Job for RockyBid for a get rich fast idea, and sham on people who are stupid enough to do it.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    ProtoProtoss Aug 31, 2009

    Vanilla, I agree to the part where some people waste a lot of money, but some of them get so caught up in trying to win that they don't stop, and when you have two people fighting with that same mindset, it creates that kind of issue. Bidding at any of these places takes patience and self control. It's just like any other gamble, sometimes you lose an amount but you get so caught up in trying to catch that lossage you feel like if I try one more, I might just win... sometimes that one more turns to 10 more to 100 more, etc. These people feel like if they can last just little longer then the other might back down.

    For example... I've seen two people go highly competitive over 100 Free Bids. They both put in over 300 bids trying to win that 100. In that case, they felt like if they can win shortly, then they can subtract 100 from what they would have lost, You can't just go in and throw 500 bids and expect to win, because people watching might actually compete with you and others and knock all that out in no time. It's moreso in timing and knowing the potential of the people you are up against. On that same note, I've also seen two people drive up the price of a 16GB Contract Free IPhone 3GS. But even after like 2, 000 bids or so, someone came and placed a single bid and won it. You just never really know what pushing that one last bid can get you... I had a feeling I could win an 80GB PS3 once, and only had 15 bids in my account. I purchased more bids, but ended up winning it in 12 so would have had 3 left.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vinaya Sep 09, 2009

    I took my chances and was surprised to see even for $25, swiper spend $30 and another guy swtel spend $25, so basically i think its a group of people taking money.
    I would strongly suggest don't go on this site to loose money. Its fraud site.

    0 Votes
  • St
    StevO1 Sep 13, 2009

    Please see these links:

    http://bidcactusisascam.blogspot.com/2009/08/pennyauctionwatchcom-owner-is-convicted.html

    http://bidcactusisascam.blogspot.com/2009/08/bidcactuscom-and-pennyauctionwatchcom.html

    http://bidcactusisascam.blogspot.com/2009/09/pennyauctionwatchcom-is-scam.html

    Do not believe anymore in pennyauctionwatch.com! SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marcmigs Sep 19, 2009

    sounds like too good to be true...stay away!!! nothin is cheap or free nowadays!!! don't be fooled...a regular priced item of 16000 dollars auctioned for 1.29 dollars...yeah right!!! hahaha

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    batkins89 Sep 19, 2009

    I watched a few bids today and even participated very earnestly in a few and I noticed that on one a guy bid 581 times on something that was only valued at $350.00, and that is about $440 worth of bids. Its no way someone in their right mind would do that it had to be someone in the company running up the bid and just stealing money from people, I think that its a scam and yes of course they have to let some people win sometimes to make it work but I think alot of the auctions are rigged from the get go.

    0 Votes
  • Wt
    wtfe Sep 22, 2009

    batkins - You don't understand, some of those people are NOT in their right mind. look at bidrodeo.com - it shows who won an auction, how many bids they used to win, and the cost of those bids. People like bidtowin and protos and rwb have made thousands of dollars on these penny auction sites when they were new and now they lord over all the sites, buy thousands of bids with the money they have made from the stuff they sold or took back to the stores and got a refund. bidtowin would rather use 2000 bids for a $200 item than bid and walk away with nothing. When you see the names above - or the names of their wives or bid partners - bidding on something then just get out while you can because they will not let you win and they dont care how much it cost them to beat you.

    with that said, rockybid is legit, I've won small items from them before. there are some legit penny auction sites but you have to be careful.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    PennyAuctionWatch Sep 25, 2009

    StevO1: Penny Auction Watch is not a scam, nor am I- editor/owner a convicted felon, I've never committed any crimes. What is your problem? Can't scam anymore after Pennyauctionwatch.com provides an outlet for real bidders to talk about penny auctions that are acting less than ethically? then you think you have the right to attack me as a person when you know nothing about me, you're a crazy liar.

    0 Votes
  • As
    asddgfhjy Sep 25, 2009

    this whole thing is an argument, between the company and people who have been scammed. i've never been on the site, but i'm sure the car was nothing more than a publicity stunt. i car for one dollar, how many stupid ppl will waste 100's of dollars after hearing that, lots, meaning lots of money to the site.

    i've never been on the site but know it's a scam how? im an intelligent man who doesnt fall for these things, while the company aims to take money from people who have been manipulated into thinking they can buy a car for one dollar. dumba**es

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ericbielinski Sep 26, 2009

    It look like a scam to me... All of the items late at night are cheap, in the day very expensive... At $15 for 20 bids, offerering a $25 gift VISA is not much, or rather alot of money for the site...

    I have noticed the site just stand still... A timed based site should respond... I wonder how many people have been taken for x dollars on this site...

    Go at you own risk!

    It is not an auction!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ericbielinski Sep 26, 2009

    Tha fact that they offer bids for ?auction? should tell you something!

    You pay for bids and you win bids?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions