Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Pets & Animals Review of Rich Kennels

Rich Kennels review: Awful experience

J
Author of the complaint
4:08 am EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This Lady sold me a Puppy for $2000.00, as a 'pocket pet' under 8 lbs. This puppy is already 51/2 lbs at 5 months old. I have had other breeders look at her and tell me, I have been deceived, that she will not be a pocket pet. She sells 8 lb puppies for $2000.00 and 9-10 lb puppies for $1000.00, when all of these puppies are really the same size.

I have been trying to resolve this with Mrs Rich, and she chooses which e-mails to respond to and every time I call her I get her answering machine, I know of other people that have had this same problem with her, she sold them a 'pocket pet', charged them a high price and after a few months, the pup is bigger than they expected or paid for. I feel for this price I should be getting a true 'pocket pet' show quality dog, and that is not what she is selling. They said puppy also has a Lot of eye white and a slightly improper bite.

Beware of what you get from her. My advice is if you don't go pick up the puppy, don't buy it!

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

15 comments
Add a comment
A
Oct 30, 2021 5:11 pm EDT

I was warned in 2005 about a person, using phony names posting bogus complaints about the best Shih Tzu breeders with tiny tine pedigrees that she wanted but could not have because it had been established she was trouble. Karma is a [censored] in the tiny line Shih Tzu world, and I can't believe 16 years later this person is still relevant. With that said this is my story about one of the best tiny Shih Tzu breeders I have ever known. In 2007 I saw a precious one year old tiny blue Shih Tzu female with a pedigree filled with every tiny line I wanted. Her name was Gypsy and she was not for sale and was Jane's personal prized baby. Oh I wanted her so much, I really didn't care about her size it was that sweet personality I wanted. After literally begging Gypsy was coming to FL BUT refused the carrier for flight. Several flights cancelled then Jane said she placed her buddy in with her and would I consider another? What? AND- Jane's husband personally hand carried two tiny female Shih Tzu's to FL on his lap on the airplane and Phoebe was just as gorgeous as Gypsy. My husband nick named her "freebie". (NO CHARGE)They were two of the most special pets I have ever had. Both tiny, gorgeous and sweet. I lost Gypsy last Oct and Phoebe passed away at 7:32am today. My heart is broken and shame on anyone speaking ill of Jane Rich and her husband. They are the most gracious people I have ever known and I have yet to meet their equal! Just a few pictures of my precious Gypsy and Phoebe with their babies

A
Oct 30, 2021 5:23 pm EDT

The pictures of Gypsy, Phoebe and their babies did not display although uploaded. What a shame, every baby was just as tiny and gorgeous as their Mom

L
May 12, 2020 12:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I bought the best Shih Tzu ever June 2006. Dusty brother of Donovan. He is the most precious, beautiful wonderful little dog in the world. He isn’t a barker, he has a friendly sweet memorable disposition. For I’m the [censored] who thinks pocket puppies is an exact science grow up! Stop posting the same nasty nasty hateful reviews. I certainly hope you didn’t keep the dog and it is raised by a caring person who is a) smart and b) loving not superficial ! The Riches were spot on in describing my adorable little guy.

View 0 more photos
L
Jan 27, 2020 1:42 am EST

I purchased two beautiful Shih Tzu puppies from Rich’s Kennels. They have been amazing, beautiful, kind and loving.

We adopted Peaches and Cream and Pebbles Delight and they have given us 14 years of love and devotion.

Peaches died on 1/23/2020 at the age of 14.5 years old. We will never have another peaches and treasure the time we spent with her.

If Rich’s kennels we’re still in business I would buy again from them. We love our Pebbles (sister to Peaches)

S
Sep 13, 2018 12:25 pm EDT

I got 3 of the best dogs ever from Rich Kennels, I wish they were still in business. My 14 year old girl passed away last year from a brain tumor and just lost my 13 year old girl this week. I still have the original boy who is 14 and still in good shape. I got many years of love and friendship from the Richs.

L
Mar 20, 2018 12:05 pm EDT

I bought my Shih Tzu puppy from Rich's 12 years ago, I received the most loveable adorable gorgeous puppy in the world, who grew into a happy, spunky beautiful little dog. I for one think pocket puppies are ridiculous, and since there is no "science" for tenny tinny puppies, shame on you for not knowing that, your continual bad reviews show that you are plan and simple mean and quite ignorant on the subject of dogs.

E
Apr 17, 2018 4:42 pm EDT
Replying to comment of llisa66

It would be nice to get in contact with you concerning your pup. We also bought about the same time. There were 5 in his litter. his birth name was Mighty Mouse but we call him HaiKu. He is nearly 13 years old now and THE most loveable little guy we've ever had in our family. We call him the energizer bunny because he is a little 5 pound 12 year old who keeps up with his 3 year old brothers and at times will out play them. if you happen to see this? Please reply to debracorbett@mac.com as my wife would love to talk to you to see if maybe you got one of his littermate. Explain who you are in the email she would love to hear from you.

L
Sep 26, 2020 1:31 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Ed Corbett

Hi, sadly my beloved Dusty passed away yesterday. I’m heart broken. I was searching to see if Rich’s Kennels are still operating. My Dusty was born 2/25/06, I don’t know if this helps you.

S
May 22, 2017 10:53 pm EDT

I got Sweetie in 2003 and she served as a therapy dog with me in my spine and pain clinic until 2 weeks ago 05-08-2017. She was my friend, my companion and my dog. She was the best dog ever. June was a helpful breeder and was good to me on the phone after Sweetie arrived. RIP Sweetie Rose Stretanski

C
Apr 19, 2015 11:46 am EDT

BUYER BEWARE! I purchased what was suppose to be a Silky Terrier puppy from Rich Kennels in 2003. I asked to see the parents and the woman said she didn't know who his parents were. Then her daughter brought in a female dog and said she was his mother. Anyway, I took the puppy. He was later determined to be part Schnauzer and who knows what else. He had all sorts of health issues and a neurological disorder. He was always mean and bit us a lot, but then he would be a very sweet dog too. We kept the dog his entire life and loved him. He developed seizures around 7 years old, then pancreatitis, and lastly diabetes. I spent thousands of dollars trying to keep this dog healthy, but he lost his battle in March of 2015.
My point is, these people are inter-breeding dogs and I believe they are also a puppy mill.
They had all kinds of puppies for sale inside their home when we went there. She was also trying to sell us a Schnauzer pup that looked like some kind of a mix. Just a bad experience all the way around and no dog should have to live with terrible health issues caused by bad breeding because these heartless people just want to make money.

K
May 23, 2014 6:12 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I purchased my Shih Tzu from Jane ten years ago. She is gorgeous and has been a therapy dog for years. I wouldn't buy from anyone else.

G
Jun 15, 2012 7:30 pm EDT

I've bought two pet quality Shih Tzu from Rich Kennels and they are the best dogs I've ever had. They have been in full coat for years, groomed weekly, and they are fabulous. They look like dogs from Westminster, but are big darling live teddy bears. She shipped one of the dogs to Dallas for me, and I picked one up from the kennel in Missouri. The dogs are the light of my life. Don't be so hard on Jane. As far as I'm concerned, I have had 100% success with her.

K
Mar 23, 2010 1:27 am EDT

I agree that it is very strange that two such reports are filed four years apart with two different names on it, with the exact same wording. How truly unbelievable. I don't know any of the people involved, but what ethical person would buy a puppy without going to pick it up, or meeting the breeder, etc?
This sounds like some sort of personal attack not based on real facts.

D
Apr 17, 2009 10:25 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Well, how odd. First this report was filed in April of 2005 by ELONDA on [redacted]. Then it was filed here in february of 09 by a Sarah. And now Jeany? I'd go over to [redacted] and search on jane rich if you'd like a little more to the story that originated this complaint as it's been pretty active over there.
As any breeder truly interested in the integrity of the breed will tell you, there really isn't such a thing as a 'pocket' and the breed club also has a bit to say on the matter. Also, anyone who knows even a little about the breed knows there is no such thing as a 'pocket' show quality shih-tzu both because there is no such thing as a pocket and because a shih-tzu of that size would be disqualified from any reckognizable and well known club due to it's size.
I could go on and on and on about ETHICS and RESPONSIBLE breeder's who actually care but I won't for now. *just my opinions*

D
Mar 13, 2009 7:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This seems REALLY, and I mean REALLY similar to a report filed on [redacted] on 4/10/05 and is still being discussed over there. It's report number 138274. While I am not defending the seller, there is definantly a bit more to the story if it's the same person who filed that report over there almost 4 years ago. And there is no such thing as an 8 pound show quality shih-tzu as that is under show weight as most breeders will be more than happy to tell you. *just my opinions*

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT