SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

READER'S DIGEST PAYMENT PROCESSING CENTERSending products and bills never ordered

1
N Review updated:

These people keep sending boxes marked free gift. When you open the box there is some cheap toy or something and a reader's digest condensed book. Then a few weeks later you get a bill from them. My husband says, I already paid for my subscription to Reader's Digest, so we look for a number to call. No number given, so we go to rd.com and there is no information on how to contact anyone. I have written them a nastygram, but have gotten no response. Meanwhile I get a letter saying our bill is past due and they have been so nice not to make us pay in advance, so we need to pay up. Still no way to contact except address above to which I sent my letter. I think everyone who has had this happen needs to get together for a class action lawsuit.

Responses

  • Fa
    fad4507 Dec 16, 2008

    The same exact thing happened to me, just today. I am going to get to the bottom of this. What did you do?

    2 Votes
  • Le
    leroy431 Dec 16, 2008

    Give me a telephone number so I can them to stop sending me stuff I didn't order and I agree we should get together and file a law suit.

    LeRoy Anthony Flores

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Newman Jan 25, 2009

    Readers digest has done the same thing to me billing for sometihing I did not order as well as billing several times for renewal during the year,
    Customer service Phone number 1-800-304-2807. I will not renew my subcription or order from them or any other company they are associated with.

    Bill Newman

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Feb 11, 2009

    I have just recieved a Mind Strechers book yesterday..
    I had purchased one and paid for one.. now I am getting more in the mail.. I sent back returen to sender yesterday.. Please do not send anymore.. Cancel my order whatever do not send anymore.. Mary Lukins

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Feb 11, 2009

    I called today the number listed here and got a great response from Readers Digest.. they fwd my call to book dept and gave me number should I be disconected.
    . They have assured me all will taken care of.. Mary Lukins

    1 Votes
  • Tg
    T Graham Mar 02, 2009

    I rec'd a package in the mail marked free with a invoice for 30.15. Has anyone been able to get this stopped? I refuse to return this at my expense. Thanks for posting this so everyone can see. T Graham, TN

    2 Votes
  • Su
    SusanB May 30, 2009

    I hate Readers Digest. Could only find a customer service number after finding you guys!
    Their payment system ww.rd.com/paymybill that is on my Select Editions bill doesn't even exist on the internet!
    I found this customer service number (1-800-304-2807) from you guys, and was transferred to their book department and a polite woman finally canceled these damn books.
    If anyone needs Select Editions canceled...1-800-463-8820
    NEVER will I buy anything form Readers Digest again.

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    carolann1208 Jun 08, 2009

    Yes, we called the 1800 463-8820 number, he said the books were a series we ordered when we entered the sweepstakes - I dont even remember entering...but if we did we wouldn't have ordered this. He said the first book was free but we got a bill and that the bill was for the second book... uh... we only got one book... so he was going to have me return it but then said since it was only my first book we could just keep it and he credited the account and "canceled" the subscription. which I never subscribed to. So - just call the number and tell them you didn't order anything.

    2 Votes
  • Di
    Dislike Reader's Digest Aug 12, 2009

    Thank you for the phone numbers - finally! Researched online for an hour to find these numbers. Can't find through Reader's Digest. They said they sent me books I never ordered. Said the same thing - that I entered a sweepstakes and asked for them. I'm always careful to mark "NO ORDER" when doing that. I used to love reading the magazines. I'm now going to cancel that order bacause I'm so mad over the over-due bills that keep coming in and I complained three times. They promised to have a manager call me back - never happened. They now have a collection agency harrassing me 10 times a day. We have outstanding credit and are worried this will put a blemish on our report. Pissed off and never will buy from them again.

    1 Votes
  • Cs
    C Scholten Aug 26, 2009

    I subscribed for a free book, which I received, and subsequently wrote a letter to cancel to the Reader's Digest Select Editions service. There was no phone number listed on the promotional material. However, another book followed a month later, promptly followed by an invoice for $30.31! I searched for a phone number, and found it - 1-800-463-8820. The man was polite, and cancelled my subscription and charges without too much fuss, however it was annoying that I had to find the phone number myself (not included on the billing statement), and that my letter was ignored.

    Contact Details are:

    Readers Digest Select Editions: 1800 463 8820
    Readers DigestMagazine: 1800 304 2807

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    GaryB Sep 25, 2009

    I just spent 30 minutess looking for www.rd.com/pay..Glad I found this page. I was trying to pay for something I don't remember ordering.

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Vickyj Nov 26, 2009

    Their bill paying site does exist and here is the link:

    http://www.rd.com/customercarecenter/landing.do?trkid=pay_SEswps

    copy and paste to your browser and it should work. It works for me.
    Vicky

    1 Votes
  • Si
    silvy Nov 30, 2009

    I don't know why you are sending me a bill when I called several times and speak to your representative . this is the account # 00230528580. Please STOP sending me bills for something I never received.

    Name : Sheila Ferguson
    Address : 164-26 108 Dr
    Jamaica N.Y. 11433
    Thank you for looking in this matter.

    1 Votes
  • Ps
    PstrJo06 Jan 02, 2010

    I accepted an offer to try a new book with the option of cancelling if I did not wish to continue the subscription. I just received the book today and definitely do not want to continue. (I suspect I already have all the books they would be sending.) I was helped immediately by 2 very courteous agents. We will see if there are any further results from this encounter but so far so good. However, we also have a subscription to the magazine and it does seem as if they bill continuously. So, who knows, maybe the pay-off will be that we actually win the sweepstakes. :) Best to all.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. Richard Fewell Jan 05, 2010

    I have been subscribing to Reader's Digest for over 40 years, but in the past two years, I have been receiving past-due notices consistently for books that I have not not ordered or have not even received as yet, and this infuriates me that I should get "amnesty authorization" notices from RD when I haven't even received the product. We live in Hawaii---they send books to us by a slow boat to China---we receive them 6 to 8 weeks after they are shipped, but we get the past-due notices 3 to 4 weeks after the books are sent. How can I possibly pay for a book that I don't even know that was sent to me!!! This last notice from the Credit and Collections Dept. will prompt my immediate cancellation from all Reader's Digest products. I will not accept any books, letters, envelopes or anything else that vaguely has the Reader's Digest name on it!!!

    1 Votes
  • Da
    david romero Jan 13, 2010

    Judging from the number and types of responses posted here, it seems abundantly clear that Readers Digest is blatantly scamming the consuming public by subterfuge and deceit. I just received a past due notice with an ultimatum of either paying up or being dunned by a collection agency for some books I neither ordered nor received-- or would've even wanted, in the first place. I called 1-800-463-8820 and talked to a representative who, after trying a last ditch sales pitch for the books I was fraudulently being billed for, agreed to resolve the issue and informed me that the matter was now taken care of; the so-called "order" was cancelled and no payment is due. How kind of them. How wondrously, genuinely kind. Frauds!

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    how2bu2 Jan 28, 2010

    I called 1-88-304-2807 and got the magazine section. They gave me 1-800463-8820 for the book section, where I was able to cancel my account and they gave me the return address to mail their "S#%T" back to them to receive credit for their bill. I did`nt sign up for this, I just entered a contest!

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Kaiser Jan 28, 2010

    My problems with Reader's Digest started perhaps six months ago, when I ordered a "crossword puzzle book from them. I immediately sent payment, but the next month, received a duplicate book, with "past due" stamped on the invoice. I wrote several times, each time getting no response, and their late bills continued. I offered to send the book back to them, and they finally stopped on this issue.

    Last month, I received a CD which I had not ordered. I felt that since I had caused such commotion with my previous billing, that perhaps I should keep the CD and pay for it, which I did. Now today, about six weeks later, I have received yet another CD that was unordered. This time "DUE" in big red letters appears on the outside of the package. I finally was able to contact a customer service rep, and she suggested that I mark it as "Refused" and take it to the post office. The kicker here, is that the Post Off says that they are authorized by Readers Digest to simply crush the CD's returned. Thus, you have no proof of ever returning the product. The customer service rep finally said that she will issue a "mail back" label that I should receive within 10 days. We'll try that. But bottom line is, Reader's Digest seems to be running running a fraudulent operation that should be stopped. I WILL NEVER order additional products from RD!

    1 Votes
  • Da
    daisywillow Jan 31, 2010

    dont send any more of these darn books did not order any of them,

    1 Votes
  • Cc
    C.Cirino Feb 08, 2010

    Turning them in to Better Bussiness, never ordered the books or asked for them .They are a very fraudgulent company Had the same complaint as every one wrote in about.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mimsied Feb 22, 2010

    I just received a bill from RD for something I never ordered, too ! They say it is for Vol 1-10 Gone
    Tomorrow, and it was shipped on 01/10 to my house. Thanks for the phone # to call them--(which
    I will do tomorrow). If any of you wants to file a lawsuit--please include me in !!
    Jeanne Hays

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim T10 Feb 26, 2010

    Same experience as everyone here, got a bill from RD for a book I did not order or receive. I had to go to RD website to get a customer service number, which turned out to be the Magazine department. They directed me to the book department. The service rep offered to send the book for free, but I flatly refused so she canceled the order on my request. I did ask her if the account number on the bill is the same as the one for the magazine subscription that we have, and she said that it is separate. It seems like RD is ruining its reputation with these book scams.

    0 Votes
  • Pt
    ptsang Mar 08, 2010

    I'm facing the same problem here in Singapore.They send a box with a book inside with an invoice for $50+ which I never did order!! When I called their hotline, their agent says I have ordered the book which I never did.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KAY MCPEAK Apr 06, 2010

    I couldn't agree more. This is the second book I've received (THAT I DIDN'


    I couldn't agree more. This is the second book from Reader's Digest that I DID NOT ORDER. At one time I had a phone number where I could reach them. The last time I contacted them and said I did not want the book they'd sent as I for one I did not order it and secondly could not afford it. They said they would take care of the matter and I would not received any more books. Well, here we go again. This time when I called the same number I received a forwarding phone number that turned out to be a SEX LINE. How do we make this stop? kmm


    t

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Win Heiringhoff Apr 19, 2010

    R.D used to be an excellent publication, and it still is, but your management stinks, I had subscribed on February 5th. 2010 and sent a check in the amount of 30.28 which cleared my bank, so ya'll got paid. Along an other offer to enter your sweepstakes which I received on April 16 2010 I was supposed to respond by April 14 th to be eligible I got an other bill for 30.28.What gives?
    Do not clutter my mailbox with any more of your junk.
    Further, I will report you to the BBB, get yourselves organized, and we will all be better off.
    Hopefully, your management will pay attention.
    signed Win Heiringhoff it is not W. Heriinghoff,
    1324 Trudy Elaine, El Paso Tx. 79936

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cosette Smith Apr 26, 2010

    I am writing to tell you I hav e paid for books I did not order. The Last bill I received said I was PAQID IN FULL!! SO I had witten a n0te and put it in with the check stating that I am unemployed and diud not wish anyfurther books sent to my address!!! I just received a new bill fir another book which i have not received, So therefore this is to lewt you know I did not order the other books and do not have the money for you to keep sending booka to me which i did not order! If anyforther books come the uspsstated to send them back "return to sender" which i will have to do if you continue to keep sending them to me. I hope you understand! Thank You &God Bless you !Cosette Smith

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevlynn May 04, 2010

    The exact same thing happened to my fiance and I today. He is on the phone now with them, I hope it can get resolved quickly, as we are NOT paying the 29.99 as we didn't order anything but the subscription with the magazine which we are now canceling!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevlynn May 04, 2010

    This happened to my fiance and I, we were able to find this forum (THANK YOU) get the numbers needed to complain and cancelled both subscriptions and were able to remove the bill of $29.65 that Readers Digest, Select Editions billed us with the "free" gift. This is insane and I will NEVER do business with Readers Digest again, they are a SCAM COMPANY!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riteon May 10, 2010

    i never ordered any books from readers digest now they are trying to make pay for somthing i did not order

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riteon May 10, 2010

    sent me books i did not order now trying to make me pay

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOHN NOWAK May 12, 2010

    I have the same problem with readers Digest. I think if everybody cancel readers digest MAYBE THEY COULD FIX THE PROBLEM!!! JOHN NOWAK OF CRESTWOOD IL.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Luisa Robinson May 12, 2010

    I am Maria from Springfield_Oregon, and I had the same thing happen to me...They sent me these two books last year in Aug...They said they were FREE GIFTS and they did not even send me an invoice with it..But later on they sent me a bill DEMANDING PAYMENT FOR THEM when I did not even order them. Then, they sent me to a collection office and i am going to pay it today, but it is not fair!!! I will never order anything from them again_Neither...

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Leitzel May 14, 2010

    I most certainly agree with all of you I sent in a contest form And now I keep geeting these GOD forsaken books which I didnot order. And there is no number to contact them. And I WILL NOT PAY for anything I DIDNOT ORDER.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan C Jun 02, 2010

    My mother passed away in March & i'm getting a bill from RD for an item allegedly ordered in April. So there is life after death-way to go Ma!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John P. DeWitt Jun 03, 2010

    The first complaint is exactly what has happened to me. I have not ordered anything from Readers Digest. Now I have a bill that say I have a past due account. I have not even received VOL 2-10 THE SCARECROW. I don't pay for anything that I haven't got, nor have I ever ordered anything from Readers Digest, let alone have an account with them. John P. DeWitt.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katharine Sabian Jun 17, 2010

    Ditto, ditto, ditto, ditto to all the above. Boy am I disgusted with Reader's Digest. I take care of subscriptions for our minister and get yelled at each time one of the phony "you need to pay up" statements comes in the mail. They are like leeches!! Can't get rid of them. No amount of nastiness can stop them. They are unflappable. Good idea about a class action suit. I am not seething looking at this latest piece of junk mail telling me that the second issue of your Reader's Digest subscription renewal has recently been sent to you. Our records show your payment has not been received. What subscription renewal??? I never renewed anything!!! What payment? I never send anything or requested anything from this sleezy organization. My final statement is: GET OFF MY BACK CAN YOU HEAR ME?????? ARE YOU READING THIS GUYS???????

    Katharine Sabian
    San Francisco, CA

    1 Votes
  • Joninray Jun 28, 2010

    They are very quick to say that theye sent out a book for each and every bill...but I refuse to pay for any books.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    celestebecerra Jul 06, 2010

    my mom had the same problem that everyone on here seems to have, she called 1800.463.8820 and settled everything. she opened her first "free gift, " and got a bill in the mail along with another gift. she is sending the second "free gift" back, but the first gift is long gone since it was garbage anyways.

    0 Votes
  • Joninray Jul 06, 2010

    I called and let them know that I may have ordered the first book...since I like to read, but was not insterested. The lday I spoke with was very nice and cancelled everything following. The gifts were little cheap things that weren't worth anything, but I am glad that I found this site as now I can find help with alot of things! 8^)

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Pearl Ellen Guilliam Jul 28, 2010

    I am Ellen from California. I too have victimized by Readers Digest. I just can't understand why they think what they are doing is ok and how they keep getting away with it. This time they are sending CDs I did not order. They sent a bill stating that if I do not pay $23.89 to them when it is due they will charge me an additional $1.75 every time they need to send me a reminder. Also no phone number. Filed a complaint with BBB regarding these practices. All the time they are also sending notices about how close I am to winning $47, 750.00 Sweepstakes. These are being sent with the items I did not order as well as the billing statements. I think the only money that can ever be expected regarding dealings with Readers Digest will be what they can scam out of the public. What a shame.

    0 Votes

Post your comment