Lopi Leyden pellet stoveNo refund

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

We spent $3697 on 9/24/11 to purchase a Lopi Leyden pellet stove to heat our home. It worked okay for maybe the first week if that. From the beginning we complained to the dealer we purchased it from (another complaint section) about it and nothing was done. The safety switch was stuck down and cracking the cast iron, the log set we purchased extra was burning up already, maintenance was every day to every other day, etc. Finally on 1/9/12 it "back burned" up into the hopper where you pour in the pellets and we spent 3 hours trying to put it out! We cannot use it at all and the dealer came and picked it up. Long story short, now Travis Industries wants to repair that same stove and give it back to us! WHAT! My children were asleep when this happened and thank goodness they are okay and I do not want that same product back in this house. We asked for a full refund and they said if they gave us any kind of refund at all it would not be for the full price. Why not? It is not our fault it became unusable after only 3 months and became a dangerous unit! Right now we have no stove so using oil heat which is too much and why we switched to a pellet stove. We are out A LOT of money and they profited from us. Anyone else have similar problems with this company?????????

Responses

  • Mu
    Murphyart Jan 10, 2017

    I purchased a lopi pellet stove in 2010 from what I remember.
    They told me it would be able to heat double the space that I had it installed in.
    To be completely honest I can't even get my living room above 64 degrees. The only way I can bring it a little higher is to run it full bore burning thru pellets like crazy.
    This stove has been one of the biggest waste of money I have spent for a very long time.

    I see people saying it heats their entire floor and upstairs and I can't even heat one medium size low ceiling room.
    That's not even mentioning the air intake knob had to be replaced the first week I purchased it and after getting the run around and excuses from stoves and stuff in north eastern p.a I just gave up. It just sits there year after year not even being used. Couple thousand dollar piece of garbage if you ask me. I would never purchase anything from lopi or stoves and stuff from here on out.
    I would be embarrassed putting out a product like that.
    I'm willing to bet them cheap Home Depot pellet stoves would out perform the highest prices lopi availabie.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Uncle Bubba Nov 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This happened to my as well. My Pellet Stove is in the garden level basement where my kids rooms are and I started freaking out when smoke was rolling out of the brick wall and my CO2 detector went off several times. Smoke came from everywhere in the wall. I sealed every part of the pipe, replaced the two of three fan motors and was about to replace the computer when I decided to have the chimney inspected. I thought a bird or varmint may have built a nest or something. It turns out the exhaust pipe was completely clogged with soot and that was blocking the exhaust from escaping and causing the smoke to seep out of every possible crack, including the brick wall. After the chimney was properly cleaned I stopped having exhaust problems and no more bad fan motors. Here is the rest of the story: I had hired a chimney sweep to clean both my wood stove and pellet stove chimney's before the season started for the past 4 seasons. Turns out they only cleaned the wood stove chimney for the past even though I was charged for both. I was livid and made sure the Chimney Sweep got an ear full then called every fireplace, pellet stove and hearth dealer in the area and told them what happened. PLEASE install a CO2 detector in your home, it probably saved the lives of my children!

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Rubieo Jun 06, 2015

    Have a lopi Leyden pellet stove that we had installed in November 2010. It worked great until February 2015 then something went haywire. Had a technician come to fix it. What happen was the stove started throwing smoke into the house. The tech replaced the exhaust fan and the convection fan.. Started stove as soon as the convection fan kicked on. The exhaust fan quit an filled house with smoke.. Hauled the stove back to dealer and to this date.. The computer chip and control board and everything replaceable has been replaced and the stove is still having the issue of throwing smoke into the house.. The dealer is still working on the stove, they are now going to replace the wiring harness and see if that helps. This stove cost about 3600 dollars and was a great stove until this point but who can afford to pay that much for a stove and then have it go haywire in such a short time. Repairs to this point are upward of 1000 dollars. Techs charge 90 An hr. The dealer said that they are working with Travis industries but to this point no one can figure out what is causing the issue..anyone else out there have this issue and were you able to get it fixed

    0 Votes
  • Gy
    Gym Time Dec 21, 2013

    I have had the lopi leyden pellet stove for 3 three years and I have experienced two back burn I realize eveytime the hopper is opened it re-ignites the pellets. Each time it has back burned the service tech comes out and gives it a thorough cleaning and presto it come back to life. I think it's the quality of pellets and the length otherwise this stove is a tank...

    0 Votes
  • Zr
    zrm27 Feb 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a 4 year old Lopi Leyden and have been very impressed with its performance. It has heated our entire 1800+ home very well. Our room temps range from 74-78 downstairs to 66-70 upstairs. Maintenance is required with any device like this. I have not experienced any kind of hopper fire (backburned) described above, hope this was an isolated incident?!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    stkgagnon Jan 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes i completely agree! We have had the leyden wood stove for only a year, using it for 7 months, and the combustion chamber crumbled into peices!!! We had it replaced by the dealer and they did such a bad job that we still can not use is;broken bricks, bolts and cracked new part!!! We are very disatified with the quality and service!!!And this cost over $2000!!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    PelletFrustration Feb 11, 2012

    I agree with this complaint. I have had an impossible time getting my stove serviced correctly and Travis never stepped up to the plate. They do not screen the people who install and service their stoves well enough. Next time I will try a different manufacturer.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.