The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Identity HawkUnauthorized bank transactions

Joined the free credit score for the trial of 14 days, cancelled within 24 hours of signing up... It has been 2 months now that this identity hawk has stolen 29.95 each month from me. Called them to see how they got my info, said I joined when I joined the credit thing, told them I ended it in less than a day of signing up, and I did not sign up for their services... I then asked her what was my member I.d. On their site. She responded with a bunch of numbers. I said no mam that is not me. If I had of signed up for your services I would have made a name and password like legit places have you do. They are the ones stealing yOur identity, beware! I have been violated and stole from. They are not hawks, they are vultures waiting for people to sign up for things so they can slide in and get your information.

Responses

  • Ab
    Abby12 Nov 26, 2012

    I just realized they had been taking out $14.95 since March 2012. I've called them numerous times and all they say is that I clicked on something while I signed up for the freescore. I had immediately cancelled my freescore membership within the 7 days and was not charged by them. It's a scam!!! They are now suppose to send me something through the mail that shows I actually signed up for this. I'm so livid!!! They took my money out of my account. Yes, I should have been monitoring my checking account better, but I have not done that it 35 years. They are the ones taking money out without me knowing it.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony's Jul 20, 2012

    Identity Hawk and Free Score are the same! Same address in CT. I just sent nasty grams to both about them being linked when I noticed their addresses. But I did not notice that on their web sites they mention each other.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lee j fowles Jun 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i too was scammed for $14.95, 2 months in a row!! same deal as everyone else, saying that i had signed up for something other than the free credit check. make sure to tell all your friends & family about the identity hawk scam!!! maybe sooner or later the law will catch up with them!! one can only hope!!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pinkSugar Mar 06, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ALSO: C'mon people, if you say they are hitting the same credit card number every month, Call your credit card company and tell them to CLOSE that credit card number - they can open you a new one and you'll have a new card in hand in just a few days.. that way this HAWK won't have the new number and can't keep charging your old card - people need to get smart about their finances!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela from WI Mar 01, 2012

    I signed up at freescore.com for free credit scores through a trial membership. I said no to any other memberships and cancelled the free trial within 48 hours. The person I spoke with at free score tried to keep me by offering a lower monthly rate and I declined. I cancelled it on January 3rd, received email confirmation of cancellation. Then, on January 4th, I was charged in my bank account $14.95 for Identity Hawk membership that I never signed up for. I was charged another $14.95 February 3rd. I called to cancel and they said they couldn't refund any previous charges. I pushed and got them to say they'd refund one month to my account within 2-3 business days. Let's see if that actually happens! They basically told me this membership was separate from free score and I had to cancel it separately, to which I said, I never separately signed up for this membership and never received any benefits or loggin in to their site! What a scam! And from a company claiming to safeguard your credit! Wow.

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    nycecho Jan 31, 2012

    The important lesson that I am learning from reading all of your complaints is that nobody seems to be reading the web pages that they are on. I have seen these types of offers come up after making a purchase, but I click "No Thanks" or something to deny joining these "clubs." People want to ### and moan about their mistakes saying that some of these companies are taking advantage of you, but the bottom line is that you are not doing enough to help yourself not get into these situations in the first place!! Read the web sites and the terms & conditions before you leave a web page. Review your credit/debit card statement monthly (not every 5 months) to make sure there are not charges you do not understand on your card. Make sure you call the merchant to try to resolve the issue with them first (most of them will give you back your money if you just keep asking for it!) instead of going to the credit card companies and saying you did not authorize these charges. People like that are the reason that the credit card companies charge such outrageous fees to small businesses!! Stop helping the 1% and help yourself first!!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mel4 Jan 27, 2012

    i signedup for the free creditreport and score and i cancelledthe membership the next day. they charged me 2 fees of 14.95 and refuse to credit me. now im in the negative at the bank and am getting nsf fees. they are useless and refuse to help their supposed customers.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    fedup24 Jan 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://classactionblog.mdpcelaw.com/2008/08/articles/unauthorized-online-billing/class-action-filed-against-vertrue-inc-adaptive-marketing-llc-vistaprint-usa-inc-and-vistaprint-ltd/

    They are in a class action lawsuit. The lawyers handling need to hear from everyone effected by this.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy45 Jan 18, 2012

    They stole my credit card information from another company and A PSYCHO WOMAN NAMED CHARLOTTE claimed I set it up on my own. I called within the one week "trial" period when I found out, but the PSYCHO WOMAN NAMED CHARLOTTE would not reimburse what they stole. I told her she needs to stop all future transactions at least and she promised she would. It has been 7 months. I've called at least twice a month since then to get them to leave me alone, and every time I get THE PSYCHO WOMAN NAMED CHARLOTTE who puts me on hold and never comes back, or hangs up. IF YOU GET A CHARGE FROM THEM, CONTACT THE AUTHORITIES IMMEDIATELY. YOU WILL NEED TO PRESS CHARGES TO GET RID OF THEM. Even if you put a fraud alert on your card or even cancel the card they are charging, they will hunt you down, they will not leave you alone, and they will force you to do business with them, when I have STILL, yet to understand just what service they claim to have offered me. They are the kings of all all identity theft scams- do everything you can to stay away from them. This is by far the worst one I've ever seen and I'm appalled they are still allowed to do business.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    rdnspud Dec 28, 2011

    I have had the exact same problem. 5 months of them billing me and never responding to any of my emails or calls finally cancelled it today but then they wouldnt give me a refund because i cancelled my membership. i contacted the better business burea and am now waiting to hear back form them. i've decided that if i dont get a call back in the next month im getting a lawyer and taking them to court. i suggest all of you do the same thing. we can sue their ### until they are bankrupt, at least thats my feelings towards it.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TeamA Oct 19, 2011

    I signed up for the free credit score on April 7, 2011 and cancelled it the same day. I have a confirmation number of my cancellation yet they have charged me time and time again. When I spoke to their cust svc they said the fees were none refundable, yet they sent me a courtesy $19.95 the same day. I called them back after I found my cancellation information and they stated that they would initiate the refund process. Ofcourse I get an email this mornign restating their no refund policy. This is becoming a legal issue. I will contact my credit card company today and move fwd from there.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deojedar Oct 12, 2011

    Same thing happened to me when I signed up for Freecreditscore.com These people are scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenneth D Suazo Oct 09, 2011

    I was checking my American Express charges tonight and noticed Identity Hawk and a charge for $29.99 . I called the # and they were closed for the weekend. I vaguely remember using the site and I always always cancel after viewing my credit report and such. I checked my previous billing and there it was again. It is wierd. I have no email showing neither a welcome or a cancellation. It is what we call an audit trail . So, they are some phantom entity charging me money. I have to agree they are vultures. I will call them on Monday and I will post any crap I have to deal with.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiff_200710 Oct 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me! what am i supposed to do?

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken_b Aug 26, 2011

    We had the exact same thing happen to us. They (Idenity Hawk)reversed the charge on our Visa after we complained, and then the next month charged us again. Ironic that this company is suppose to protect people from fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JERALD ROGERS Aug 26, 2011

    I SIGNED UP FOR 3 CREDIT SCORES I CANCELED THEM THE NEXT THING I KNOW IM SIGNED UP FOR IDENTITY HAWK I WROTE A LETTER TO CANCEL THEM I THOUGHT IT WAS OVER. THEN IDENTITY HAWK TOOK OUT $29.95 OUT OF MY BANK ACCOUNT. I CALLED RIGHT AWAY AND THE WOMON SAID SHE WOULD CANCEL ME RIGHT THEN BUT SHE COUDN'T DO ANYTHING ABUT REFUNDING MY MONEY. ALL I HAVE TO SAY IF YOUR WORRIED ABOUT THEFT THEN YOU BETTER WATCH OUT FOR IDENTITY HAWK THEY ARE THE THEIVES.
    JERALD ROGERS

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.