Great Vacations Club/Mayan PalaceFraudulent Sales Practices

1

The Eighteenth Judicial District of Kansas has just entered a judgment for fraud and misrepresentation against this company in case #07 LM 09436. The company has refused to appear and defend itself. The judgment arose out of a sale of a membership promising "30 weeks of vacations at thousands of resorts worldwide" The offering was phony and the plaintiff repeatedly attemped to book vacations on the Gulf Coast, Atlantic Coast, the Carribean, Hawaii, or California. With one exception ( Cancun after it was destroyed by Hurricane Wilma) these attempts to book were met with no availability or a wonderful week "in Alabama"
The company is based in Mexico and apparently believes it can rip off Americans with impunity. It has refused to appear and answer these allegations--leading the court to order a judgment against it.

Responses

  • Sh
    SHIRLEY HAECKEL Nov 27, 2007

    WE ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Keith Dawson Nov 28, 2007

    Unfortunately, my wife and I got caught up in this "Great Vacations Club". Try to use it and it's nearly impossible to get what you paid for. We were to go on a cruise to Alaska with a voucher. Of course, our voucher is not good on any of the cruises. If you try to book ahead, they have nothing in that area as yet. I'm not sure what happens if you wait for the last minute deals.

    We are very sorry we got involved with this. We lost a lot of money to this club.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LindaLonnberg Dec 13, 2007

    We are having the same problems trying to book Mayan Resorts
    certificates. Does anyone know of any recourse against Great Vacations Club. Please advise.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susan oneill Jan 03, 2008

    We were also ripped off with the promise we would be staying at the Grand Mayan in Los Cabos--the salesman's pitch. The truth is we have the option of purchasing a timeshare at the Grand Mayan with one of the numerous certificates. The certificates promise 50/% off rack rate at such wonderful resorts as the Knights Inn!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edwina Feb 03, 2008

    I'm another one who is ashamed to say got sucked into this scam. I have all the same comments as the ones above.

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sheila kiggins Feb 18, 2008

    We also got sucked into this - have never been able to use 1 single certificate - everything is always sold out - no matter where or when I tried to use it.

    Any recourse to get my money back???

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Candy Wittmayer Feb 19, 2008

    This company TOTALLY misrepresented the program. We had the same problems redeeming the Alaska vacation. We are using it this fall (hurricane season) in Ft. Lauderdale, because that's all we could get. Stay away from these people. We are going to try to use it twice, and consider it a done deal. Total rip off, and it's impossible to sue.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    virginia canosa Mar 11, 2008

    We are having the same problem, but it is also other clubs, like Royal vacations.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beverly Lee Mar 18, 2008

    This is the WORST company, EVER. We tried right after we bought this package and could not get our money back. Cannot find any places available, even a year ahead. We went to Mayan Palace at Puerto Vallerto, and went through the entire time share so we would get to the end to see Great Vacations club, totally blew us off-- said they would call us, told us to contact Roger at main office, which we had talked to him before. I don't see how they can continue to sell this. Is there anything we can do?

    0 Votes
  • Be
    belsora dominguez Mar 18, 2008

    Could not get any vacations i wanted.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy P Mar 18, 2008

    We were on our honeymoon in Cancun in 2004 and agreed to listen to the sales pitch in order to get some ticket vouchers for local attractions. BIG MISTAKE DON'T DO IT!!!

    After spending several hours touring a beautiful facility and attempting to leave several times - in the end they offerred us a deal on 10 certificates that we had to use over the course of 7 years along with 2 free airline tickets and a cruise voucher.

    We paid a couple thousand dollars for this deal! What they sold us versus what we got - not even close!

    When we returned to the USA I decided to look into it. I sent formal notice to the company requesting a refund - I felt they misrepresented the offer.

    We were not able to redeem the cruise tickets it was not available when we looked into it. Go figure!

    I have tried several times to book in advance and they never have any rooms available regardless of the location. Seems odd doesn't it!

    What can we do! Class action law suit?

    0 Votes
  • In
    inna almann Mar 19, 2008

    It is a total ripoff. Can we unite and fight back? I am 61.Too old to lead in a law suit but I will gladly join anyone who is determined to teach jerks a good lesson. Inna Almann.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Keith Dawson Mar 23, 2008

    Unfortunately, my husband and I were also roped into this plan in October, 2006 while vacationing at a Mayan resort. We have experienced all of the same problems as above. No cruise availability, no vacation time where we want to go. We have had much better luck trading our timeshare. I'm with Inna, if there is some sort of class action we can file please contact me. I'm also at retirement age and would appreciate the help.

    Kathy.

    0 Votes
  • Fz
    F.Zummer Mar 30, 2008

    hello totally agree with all of them. impossible to get anything bought it at mayam in mazatlan went back and same story wanted to sell us another program we did not want to hear anything. these people should be sued and fined for such a lie

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Apr 06, 2008

    I'm just sick and feel so stupid for allowing this to happen to us. These people are crooks and I would definately want to get involved in a class action lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    robert matko Apr 18, 2008

    all of the above complaints i can ditto...this outfit should not be allowed to market their product to anyone. what a rip off!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Sylvia Brown May 31, 2008

    I reluctantly fell for this scam after a wonderful 7 day vacation in Mexico. If you have no committed, don't. It truly is a rip-off! The website is not even coming up anymore. The other complaints noted above are correct. Let the buyer beware!

    0 Votes
  • Fz
    F.Zummer Jun 03, 2008

    not only this they are calling to make some offers which are ridiculous als trying to say that your $299 is expired which was not true. A big big scam

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lea Buburuz Jun 11, 2008

    If there is a class action I want to be involved. Nothing I was told is true and everyone is right yopu cannot get what you need or paid for. They never have any openings.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle hatch Jul 06, 2008

    I also got sucked in and am so disappointed. I was able to use the $199 certificate to return to the Mayan. My sister went on a time share presentation at another resort and when they gave her the "deal" at the end she said, " no, my sister got taken last year by something like this." The guy said, "did she buy at the Mayan? I hear there is a class action suit against them." So I am now trying to find how to get on board if there is one. These people need to be taken down.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sh Jul 14, 2008

    Unfortuantely we "bought into" the scam and have been paying for it ever since July, 2006. I would be interested in participating in a class action lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane Horton Sep 03, 2008

    I haven't tried to use any of the certificates yet but after reading the posted complaints am having serious doubts about their credibility. I would be interested in any attempts to create a lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    SnV Oct 05, 2008

    We purchased the package in Dec 07 at a Grand Mayan presentation in Nuevo Vallarta after about 9 hours of coersion. I have had no luck finding availability anywhere! We just found this site and am not surprised to see the many complaints as our experience is similar to those already posted. We would be interested in being a part of any lawsuit against them.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    rectrac Oct 28, 2008

    I have had a membership with Great vacations club for 4 years now and have never had any problems booking or while staying at any of their fabolus places. I find them to be a very reputable company. Every resort we stayed at has been beautiful. I don't get the issues every one is having with the club. I will sign up again in the future if they are still selling the packages.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard J. Rowey Jan 23, 2009

    We have just experienced a situation where 1) our $5000 membership "could not be found in system" 2) email address was deliberately altered giving alibi 3) nothing existed anywhere and anytime we wanted to go, etc. Salesman at Mayan resort had physician's credentials and seemed honest and strait-arrow, but...!! We certainly would be amenable to participating in a class action suit.
    Rich and Anna in West Palm Beach, FL

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard J. Rowey Jan 30, 2009

    Attn. Ivonne Wainwright


    This complaint has been resolved with Great Vacations Club. Please remove our complaint.

    Richard and Anna Rowey

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tadeo May 19, 2009

    mayan palace is the reason why foreigners are no longer enjoying vacation ownership plans in our country. if i were an american citizen i would join your cause. not all mexicans are liars.

    0 Votes
  • Gj
    gjones247 Aug 18, 2009

    I to was suckered and have not been able to use their services. I told them when they called I was not able to take a vacation within the next 12 to 24 months. They still did not stop. I was transfered up 3 or 4 levels with them pitching me their package. Finally I caved. Then I was not able to get them on the phone to cancel within the 5 days required.
    How can they practice like this? Is there no recourse?

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blackman75 Jul 21, 2010

    I have also been a victim of false claims from Mayan Palace. I would be interested in a lawsuit as well. Email me at [email protected] if you would like to include me in your lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Vida Vacations Jul 22, 2010

    Dear Blackman75:

    We have been alerted about your comment by one of our faithful clients, as it is an impossible task for anyone to monitor this type of sites. We prefer to be hands on with the current clients that for some reason we have failed to fully satisfy and whom may have pending issues with us. Taking care of our customers and complying with their needs is our main goal.

    We would very much like to know who you are to provide you personalized assistance and to continue this dialogue by having you contact us directly through the proper channels. The only way to assure that we get your message and follow-up with you is via phone at 1-800-292-9446.

    We are committed to offer you the most memorable vacations at the top resorts and destinations of Mexico.

    We truly appreciate your time.

    Sincerely,
    Karen Rose
    Customer Support Representative

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luip Jul 26, 2010

    My husband and I got scammed as well; we tried to fight it without luck. The only certificate we were able to use was at the Mayan Palace. If there is a class action lawsuit, I would like to be involved as well.

    0 Votes
  • Vida Vacations Jul 27, 2010

    Dear Luip:

    If we can be of any assistance, we would like to have you contact us through the correct channels to continue this dialog.

    Even though we are a separate and independent company to GVC, we can forward your information to them. In that way, the corresponding area will be able to provide you guidance that will help you make the most out of your vacation package with them.

    Please let them reach out to you and contact us at 1-800-292-9446. Once we obtain your information, they will be able to provide you personalized assistance.

    We are grateful for your time.

    Sincerely,
    Karen Rose
    Customer Support Representative.

    0 Votes
  • Vanessa Moore Apr 10, 2013

    We were at the Mayan Palace Riviera Maya week of Feb 18th. We attended their Timeshare presentation, at the outset though I must say that the first few Vida Vacation sales people we met, were very courteous and professional and quite helpful when we finally decided to turn down their inital offer, after that they became very rude and unpolite. Please, stay away from this resort, they use misleading sales tactics to sell their units. This is a good article on how most the Mayan Palace timeshare scams are being committed lately:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/51-mayan-palace-timeshare-scam/

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlesb12 Dec 17, 2013

    I was convinced by Mayan Palace timeshare salespeople that an upgrade to my timeshare from Mayan Palace to Mayan Place Regency would make it easier to rent and more saleable. I entered into a contract for $6, 720.00 to complete this upgrade. I have since learned that this upgrade is doing nothing for me as I try to sell and rent the unit. The list of benefits is this:Elite Reservations rental program (which I had available before), RCI enhanced pkg, certificates for cruise and vacation discounts, 50% off golf green fees (previously it was 20%), senior certificare (I'm NOT a senior), no mandatory maintenance fees after 5 years if I don't use the property?? Lots of free extra benefits and vacation bonuses but nothing tangible. I owe a cash out of $4, 368.00. I wonder what the consideration of this contract is? I have all the paperwork and had to email the sales office to get a list of benefits I paid for:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/51-mayan-palace-timeshare-scam/

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem