Get Car LoansRip Off

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I have been hearing about Motor Finance Wizards. I have had a similar experience with Get Car Loans http://www.getcarloans.com.au/index.htm They have sold me a car, a lemon, with no interest but it was over valued by 100%. On applying for comprehensive insurance I was told that the car could only be insured for $7000 and I am paying double that. On missing a couple of payments I was posted yet another repossession notice but this time had a collection agent and tow truck arrive on my doorstep. You can not reason with them. Pay right now or we tow it back to Moorooka I was told. Even speaking with the Manager at Moorooka on the collection agents phone, they were not willing to give me the time to go to the bank and get the money. As I kept them busy I asked my mother to go to the bank and get them the money. I am on work cover due to surgery on my knee and although the money gets here I don't know exactly when. I have missed payments before but have rang them and always caught up. I have paid two thirds of the loan off so far. This is the latest, my payment was due on Friday. On Monday a repossession notice was in the letterbox because I am $102.00 in arrears. These people need shutting down just like Motor Finance Wizards. They destroy peoples lives.

Responses

  • An
    Ann Rose Severino Oct 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i apply for the loan now would like to change my mind about the dealling with getcarloans, so please delete my imformation under the privatcy act Thank you for your coppoperation. Sincerely Ann

    1 Votes
  • Dm
    dman Apr 30, 2009

    i too have dealt with get car loans and im on to my second car with them the cars done over 200, 000 kilometers its 9 years old and all up i have to pay 21, 000 dollars on this car . i now regret it and i advise every one not to deal with get car loans

    0 Votes
  • Mn
    mnbj Feb 11, 2010

    hi there have tryed to get a car through other car yards but no luck and when thay said yes i was over the moon but after reading this i dont know if i should get a car from them cass the place were i got my other car from it was a lemon and had nothing but problems with the car and the yard as well dont go to moter would eather i payed $10000 for a 1996 magna and a week after getting the car it was in the work shop the fule line broke and thay said it was my falt and i had run over something but the thing was i was drivind down the free way and the car just stoped working lucky i was not going fast or it would have been aride off .when thay said come and pick the car up after 5 days of them having it i hoped in it and the bartty was dead so had to wait another day for that to be fixed .i have payed it off now and thay rang me yesterday and asked me if i would like to get another car off them i told them to eat a toad and i never wanted to hear from tham agine and that was me been nice lol lol lol

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taydum Mar 22, 2010

    i am in theprocess of paying off a car with these individuals the car is worth 6 grand but im paying 17 grand for it. my contract states that i am only renting this vehicle and at the end of my contract i can offer to buy the car from them for 500 dollars but they can refuse my offer and take the car back off me.. has this happened to anyone else if so could you please email me @ [email protected] as i will be eventually building a case against them thanks

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dave qld Nov 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i too have got a car threw get car loans, and the car is only worth $4000 im paying up to $18 000 on it, also i have tried reasoning with them about payments and they understood my situation, after speaking to them for about an hour, they said they sent out repo letters, wich i never got, also they said i could drop the repayments but needed to pay $100 and it would start a whole new contract, it was like they were blaming me for all of this, i told them straight out, i have rang them but always got told to leave a message, they would never ring back, so today i have told them to stick the car up there butt, and come get the car, so its now getting repossessed as im over dealing with them, .
    i would not recommend get car loans to anyway, coz at the end of the day your only leasing the car.
    thankyou
    dave qld

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rosnorm Nov 29, 2010

    My daughter has bought a car through these guys and we have major concerns ...including the fact she got a flat and her uncle went to change it and found not only no jack in car but spare tyre provided not even same size !!! Their comment ...you must have swapped it !!! Idiots...we would recommend any parent with child considering buying through them STOP THEM...they are way to dear and unhelpful and take advantage of naive people.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liseeeee Feb 27, 2011

    Get Car loans needs to be shut down asap... Im a 21 year old mother working full time i have no idea about cars at all and they used this to there advantage. I was told that i was getting an excellent deal when infact they ripped me off by 20, 000 the afternoon i took the car home i rang up to try and get insurance i was told that the car is only worth like 3-4000 max on redbook but as hard as it is for me to say this right now im paying 23000 back over 3.5 years plus i traded in my previous car. now im to scared to leave the house unless i take public transport because if my car ends up as a right off i still have to pay the car back because insurance only covers me for 3000... Please someone anyone- you have to get these criminals closed and someone needs to ensure no one else gets hurt or has to suffer because of get car loans...

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Sputters Feb 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a car with them aswell. I have learnt that they are nothing but a rip off. Tried to tell me that the high price covers a warranty. Atleast Motor finance wizard never charged me the same as this rip off mob. I recommend them to no one and tell every one what they really are like. It even takes them 3mths and several phone calls to get my rego sticker off themm and that is bad as they must be well known by the police as I was pulled up a few days ago and they knew exatly who I was talking about when they asked where the rego sticker is.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    ABAC Mar 03, 2011

    all i have to say is get car loans a rip off money suckers who sell a car for say 7000 then u end up paying 18000 back i know of a few people who have got sucked in by them including myself i was told recently from a former worker there how much really goes on with that company. thet person should go to, TODAY TONIGHT, guaranteed they wont be open after the show airs. I wish i could say alot more. But every dog has its day

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    how week Mar 13, 2011

    I would like to add my opinion about get car loans.Shadey business people.Where in the work place do you smoke in the office anymore.let alone in front of customers sitting across from them.Had problem with car in first month and wanted it fixed. Was told to bring it back in few weeks but when i did was told warranty expired.Low lifes price for their cars are crimanal.I bet most of these employees are to embarrast to admit to friends and family that they actually work for get car loans marooka.How good they must feel knowing how they financially crueling people lokking for a second chance.

    0 Votes
  • So
    sodidI Jun 15, 2011

    we have just finished paying our car off with get car loans, and I can't find fault with them, we had missed payments here and there, but as long as i rung them and explained what was happening they were very understanding.Yes we paid over 20, 000 for a 7, 000 dollar car but over the 2 1/2 years paying it off we never had any problems with it and infact we took it for its first saftey check and it had very little to get fixed like the tyres and just a few little things.What you must remember is that people like us who have bad credit from the past or whenever have to get loans like this in order to get what we want l ike a new car and we pay the price no matter what our reasons for missing payments and if you go through the contract you might find that you are actually leasing the vehicle from them for the period of 2 and a half years or longer at a set weekly payment and at the end you do not pay anymore for the car even though it is stated on the contract but we never had to pay that 500 we just had to get a saftey cert and they did the rest.We still have our car and its still running as good as the first day we drove it away.I guess we are one of the lucky ones and I can oly thank them for givig us the car we needed "desperately" at the time.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bowie 11 Sep 10, 2011

    I got a car through get car loans and it was the worst mistake ever with in 2 weeks it had problems rang get car loans and the told me that the engine mounds where not covered by warranty and told it was general wear and tear i said the car is only 2 weeks old they did not care it just got worse from there by the end of it i sent the car back and took them to court and got not only my deposit back but also 50% of what i had paid on the plus certain repairs that should have been covered by warranty but i would never recommend them to anyone

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    hannh Oct 05, 2011

    i worked there for three days and they fired me because "i wasn't a fast enough learner", mind you when i applied for the job the job description was "JUNIOR RECEPTIONIST NO EXPERIENCE NECESSARY", but on my third day they told me that i should have known what to do already. they never call customers back when they say they are going too, i tried my hardest to try and get the people to give them a call back but they never did and frank STILL smokes and swears in the reception area in front of clients. everyone that has been ripped off by these ### should go to Today Tonight! While i was working there I had one person call up on a Monday saying they were going to take it to Today Tonight and then on the Tuesday and Wednesday a different person had rang up and told me they were going to go to Today Tonight also. It's time to put a stop to letting ###s walk all over you and literally steal the money you could have saved up to buy a better car anyway.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry and overcharged Oct 11, 2011

    we also got a car through theses guys...we should have finished paying our car last month!! last year i rang and asked for a statement...which was fine, last week i called and asked for an up to date statement...over the last 2 years they have charged me an extra $80 every 3 months...this did not show on my first statement that i received. it took 4 calls for them to call me back as i wanted an explanation. i had the rudest person on the phone telling me that the "system" made a mistake and i was undercharged for rego (my 6 month rego cost $340) so they added it on...funny thing was, they only added it onto 4 of my rego payments but not the other 4, when questioned i was told that i was "lucky". i then asked if it was not policy for them to send me a letter to be known of the mistake to which i was told "no", i then said "does that mean you can add on changes willy nilly without your customers knowing?" to which i was told "Pretty much" therefore i have charges that i am paying without any reason as to why they are there. these guys are ### and i warn anyone out there to NEVER use them!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pam stirling Oct 25, 2011

    im with getcarloan at annerly i had no probs with them been with them for 4 years or more there understanding if theres a problem they help u if you ring them tell them only happy to stay with them good people there if wasent for them i wouldent have a car

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    petertim Nov 08, 2011

    hi, i have had a car now for nearly 2 years, when there was a problem with the motor there was no problem getting it sorted. i ran into difficulties with payments and rang them up and there was no problem, i didnt have to pay for two weeks..there is definately some nice people working there. only for get car loans i would not be on the road sue to my bad credit

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sam Townsend Nov 08, 2011

    i have to disagree with this im hearing about Get Car Loans..Im now on my secong car with them and from day 1 ive never had a problem, my first car was a 99 magna which never gave me any problems, and they stuck to there work after me having the car for 2years and not missing a payment my credit history has been dramatically improved and just a month ago i was able to upgrade myself into a 2008 holden commodore omega which i am over the moon with and will definately deal with these nice people again

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shar Main Nov 08, 2011

    i think you's are wrong here, i had a few issues with them and there was no problem gettingh them resolved, they were very helpful and when my car went in for warranty work i was provided with the same model car as a loan car..if it had not been for GET CAR LOANS i would still be using public transport with my 3 kids which was a nightmare

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poppy2 Nov 12, 2011

    Oh I got my first car from them in 2008 and the car was already 6yrs old, my loan approved and I end up paid the total of 39, 000, i went to insure the car can only insure for 7000. When I finished up the car I paid extra 500 to finalised payment. After 3 months I went back and asked how much if I trade the car in, haha they turned around and said 2k. I was so pissed off and I learn a lesson, Its better to save up hard if u want a car.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shane w Nov 22, 2011

    Got a 2004 magna of these guys two months ago...got refused in 5 different places but when i went here it wasnt a problem, i had over 3000 in defaults because of a stupid phone company which im sure other people are in the same boat. i know the car is worth about 8000 and i will end up paying nearly double that. i had no money saved and couldnt save 1000's of dollars to buy a car outright so this was my only option and i was more than glad of these guys, those of us who dont have perfect credit have to be glad of places this this to help improve our credit rating and help put me in a car

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    i hate get car loans Apr 15, 2012

    get car loans are a massive rip off and they need to be shut down.our car has a cracked cylinder head and its our problem what a joke.not to mention the 4000 dollars worth of repairs required to make the car safe.screw you get car loans.hey and i reckon bowie11 works for them.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    sheree rawlings Mar 21, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i to am paying for a car from the get car loans and it is only valued for 3500 and they r selling it to me for 20, 000 am not happy . they said after paying it i have a option to pay it out for 500 or get another one . it is a holden statesman 1996 model am thinking of takeing it back and i believe it has been in a acident to . sick of getting riped of by these people

    0 Votes
  • An
    andrew8585 Mar 25, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not impressed by the service this complaint company has to offer
    I have sent numerous to have my comment removed and nobody
    Is getting back to me. I am left no choice but to take legal action on the complaints board website...

    0 Votes
  • Ee
    eeds May 06, 2014

    This car company Get Car loans in Moorooka have ruined our life. DO NOT BUY ANY CAR FROM THEM! We are paying 22000 back for a car only worth 4000. Weve had so many problems with this car broke down on the first week and it was a total BOMB. Do not trust them.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    SeanMc May 09, 2014

    Have your complaints heard on the following websites:

    Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) www.accc.gov.au ---> Prices far above dealer market value stated on such websites as www.racq.com.au and no price labels clearly displayed. THIS IS ILLEGAL...

    Department of Transport and Main Roads www.tmr.qld.gov.au -----> Complaints regarding safety certificates at the time of sale. THEY ARE ALL FALSIFIED

    Your local Police can deal with things such as theft of deposits or issuing cheques which have been rejected by your bank

    Department of Justice and Attorney General (Office of Fair Trading) www.fairtrading.qld.gov.au -----> Has the dealer LIED or MISLEAD you in any way? Is the product of service unfit for the purpose for which it has been sold. YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A REFUND. They can issue charges of consumer fraud.

    A lawyer. DO NOT BE SCARED OF APPROACHING ONE after you receive your responses if you need small claims court. ALL LEGAL COSTS WILL BE BILLED TO GCL Holdings Pty Ltd T/A Get Car Loans.

    The business may be a member of the Motor Traders Association (MTA) of Queensland. Ensure you speak to them too, as they will be the legal representation for Get Car Loans and inform them they have breached the terms and conditions of their membership, providing as much proof as you can.

    Just some advice for you all :-)

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlmasAnimeChild May 19, 2014

    hi there yes i know what ou mean get car loans alot money im apying 18, 000 for au falcon 1999 not worth it i saw it on ebay they going for 2, 700 with rego to 11th month

    0 Votes
  • 2o
    2observant Jun 12, 2014

    I am a previous employee of Mr Shipman and he is an absolute disgrace, not only a MASSIVE meth user but a modern day Del Boy with no class! The cars are bought for as little as $200.00 at auction and fiddled with in GCL's personal garage. I was the person to actually fiddle the figures on their system in preparation for the loans to be taken on by unsuspecting innocent people who have a bad credit history!
    The whole building is covered in Frank's own brand of lubricant where he, only a daily basis invites the local working girls of Brisbane to come and play.. often, I had to blow the Crystal Meth off of my desk where he would sit all night and use his dirty pipe!
    ADVICE TO ANYONE WITH BAD CREDIT - DO NOT GET RIPPED OFF BY THIS LOSER!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawn Dunner Jun 16, 2014

    I have Ford Falcon 1999 au cash price was 15, 999 total to pay back 18, 000 what a rip of when i know another guy who sell same car with log books for 1, 865 Get car loans you nothing but liars rip people of would never get nothing from them again : (

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shawn Dunner Aug 19, 2014

    How can use.. live with your self. you selling a car for 15, 999 pay back is 18, 999 wtf how can you sleep at night And live with your selfs.. knowing you are rip people off i have falcon au 1999 you selling it for that much use sold me a bomb the back end is [censored]d..what else can i say your car yard id garabge use need be shut down O.o i bet use are under 2 names Get car loans
    And Get set car loans.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    liz63 Nov 19, 2014

    I have also got a car from get car loans, i have been paying it for 18 months now, i have payed them 10, 000 so far ever since i got the car I have been paying money out to have it fixed. They told me that all repairs i had done would come off my payments & never have. I didn't have a choice on the car i wanted, they just said this is your new car. I was just so happy back then to have a car. It was a ford falcon au was told it is only worth 4000 in the end i'm paying 19, 000. I told them today to pick the car up. They just said they will get someone to ring me. I am a pensioner & can not drive anymore & that money i spent on the car could of been put to better use. Please can you stop them ripping more people off cheers liz

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    P.E.H Jan 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have had a few cars through them only had problem with the last one . We only had it a month and the gearbox had a problem rang them up and they had it fixed, now we didn't have any more problems until we went to trade it they didn't say how much they were going to give us as the car we wanted as we were told something was wrong so they acquired another one for us but the finance went through some one else . Now regarding the trade in was told that we gave them back the car as I owed 2000 on it . Went to complain about the contract which was all wrong and frank shipman was very rude wouldn't come out and speak . The sale person we dealt with regarding the said car was tommy in my opinion I wouldn't tell any one to deal with get car loans the are a ripe off and need to be shut down completely

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zarra Louise Dec 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a magna thru them came over $16, 000 for a $4000 car, within a year of purchase the cars engine blew up so i was left with no car but with a huge debt and nothing to show for it... now i am currently trying to contact the car yard and its shut down no way to contact, does anyone know of thr debt ccollector they were using and there phone number so i might be able to get some answers thanks

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.