SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Euro Pro Shark Steam CleanerMachine suddenly stopped working.

1
E Review updated:

Have only had the Euro Pro Steam Cleaner one year and this week it suddenly stopped working. It should last longer than this. Has not been used more than five or six times. What are we supposed to do now. It should be replaced at no cost to us. Model s3101. Not worth the money we paid for it.

Responses

  • R
      Jul 19, 2009

    I have owned 2 different steamers from Shark and they both suck . The replacement they graciously sent me was just as bad as the original . No steam ...now I own a Steam mop from them and it is doing the same thing . Poor products . I don't think I will be buying any more Shark Products and I will warn any friends and relatives..
    Stay away

    +3 Votes
  • L
      Jul 22, 2009

    I have also owned a shark steam mop for only 8mos. One day it just stopped working I've tried to call and email and I'm getting no where.
    I don't think that I will ever buy another shark product again.

    +3 Votes
  • C
      Jul 27, 2009

    We also recently purchased the Shark steam cleaner, loved it but, suddenly it stopped working. The product should last longer than a year.

    +1 Votes
  • W
      Aug 16, 2009

    My Shart Steamer S3101 was great for about a year. Then it just stopped steaming. We called the company and tried their suggestions...Then when I called back, I was told to package it up, include all attachments, etc that came with the machine, include a check for $27.90 for repair and return postage, oh, and that I was no longer under any kind of warranty, while I was on the phone, and describing my problem, the thing "blew up"...so it's SHOT...no question about it...

    I have it taken apart for shipping...however, having read some other reviews of other Shark products, I'm learning that UPS charges over $50.00 to send it to NC...that's not acceptable...Add that to the nearly $30 you have to send for repair and return postage, you can buy a new one (if one chooses)...I don't think I will be buying another Shark product.

    I will talk to BBBeyond about their continuing to carry any Shark pro Euro products.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Oct 18, 2009

    SHARK SUCKS!! pure and simple. My steamer stopped working after a few weeks and their Euro iron never stayed on. When I first saw the ad for a floor steamer I shuddered...I'm willing to bet there are many disappointments with that product as well. Funny how they have no email to complain to... I will never go near another Shark product again!!!

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Nov 09, 2009

    I purchased the Shark Steam Mop about 2 months ago, and it does not work at all. I purchased it at Walmart and because I did not keep the receipt too bad soo sad for me... I will never purchase another and as for Walmart they should rethink carrying this brand.. does not say much for them.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Dec 24, 2009

    I ordered a Shark Navigator with a offer of free steam mop. When I received the items, they did not send me the extra mops I ordered and got charged for, but they did send me an additional item that I got also charged for. When I called it took me 20 minutes on hold and when the costumer service person got on the phone she was rude and would not give me any answers of why I was sent something that I did not order; but she offer i could return it but I have to pay for shipping and handling and when I try to argue that I did not order the item in the first place, she hanged up on me. In the past I have bought 2 vacuums from Euro Pro and this is the third one. I will not be spending another cent on their product. Very bad costumer service and bad business from their part. EURO-PRO IS NOT A MEMBERS of BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU

    +2 Votes
  • W
      Jan 09, 2010

    Well we must have come from the same batch...I've had my shark for less than a year and used it a lot...and it just stopped steaming...so now I'm steamed and my floors are very unhappy. Its ridiculous that a product like this should work way longer.

    +1 Votes
  • K
      Jan 28, 2010

    I returned my portable steamer after having it only two weeks.I used it one time and that was enough; it wore me out to use it.I am still waiting on my refund and it has been over a month and a half since I returned it.The company promised me (after numerous emails and phone calls)that my refund of $66.00 would be in my bank on January 13th, 2010 but I'm still waiting.They do not return emails nor do they answer their phones. When you do finally reach someone after waiting for 15-20 minutes they are a foreign person(no offense)but they don't understand or I can't understan them. I am angry but have learned my lesson.I purchased this device after watching an advertisement on television...such a farce!

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Feb 04, 2010

    I purchased a shark steam mop and it worked a few months and stopped. I just loved it so I bought my daughter in law one and it only worked for a few months and stopped too. Very irritating and no luck with correspondence. How about a class action suit? Good grief why can't anything work like it should. With this many complaints they should honor their product and stop advertising it until they get the kinks worked out of it. mountainmamma

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Feb 21, 2010

    Shark turns into stinky fish. Mine died too...now I have tons of parts and pieces to add to the trash...or recycle bin. Too bad it quit working. I was happy the few times it worked. What happened to pride in the making of something... I won't ever buy or recommend Shark products. Period.

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Mar 04, 2010

    Now the old saying holds true - let the buyer beware. Had a Shark hand held steamer. Worked OK for a bit, then stopped. So what do I do - buy the floor steamer. BIG mistake. Not happy with the product whatsoever and a dear friend of mine experienced the same poor results when used. I think this is a gimmick. A good mop and cleaning solution is far better in the long run.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Mar 04, 2010

    I paid over $100 for my Shark Pocket Steamer. I just got it, and there's plenty of steam coming out, but it isn't hot at all. It could never clean anything. I can put my hand right in front of the steam and it isn't even warm. Is anyone else having this problem? I went to the website and the "live chat" is not working. I've emailed the company, but I'm waiting to hear from them. SK

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Mar 06, 2010

    i had bought the portable steampocket kit it does not work at all it dosent do what its supposed to i would like my money back i will be calling on money for my money return asap the only thing it does do is get wrinkles out of clothes im v ery6 disssapointed about this product i clean for a living its easier to clean with my hands its alot quicker to so i would like my 200 something back asap thank you melissa tehansky

    0 Votes
  • M
      Mar 06, 2010

    all i want is a full refund i will be calling i will be calling first thing monday morning thank you for your croooperation

    0 Votes
  • A
      Mar 16, 2010

    My Shark worked great a few times and just stopped working like the others I have read about. Not even going to bother with it after reading the reviews. I for sure will not buy another...

    0 Votes
  • T
      Mar 25, 2010

    Mine stopped also.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Mar 29, 2010

    Mine stopped after 2 months and just exploded...

    0 Votes
  • A
      Apr 08, 2010

    I just bought one today and after 30 minutes of use, it stopped working for a bit and then exploded! So i call the customer service and they spend all this time getting my data on me and then are like, oh we can't help you though (even though I had asked for the return option) and just gave me another number to call! Then I called that number and they just told me to leave a message and that someone will get back to me. so annoying. The product was working when it did, but seems a bit dangerous now. I was lucky I dropped it in time otherwise I would have been burned.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Apr 13, 2010

    You just savd me over $100...the infomercial is very convincing, but after reading your imputs, I will NOT be ordering it. I was going to order it on line, but the gal that bought hers at WalMart had a good idea...save your receipt and if it breaks, bring it back...they will take it back.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Apr 13, 2010

    Purchased our Shark s3103 ~13 months ago. It was ok in the beginning, but now it takes 10 - 15 minutes to make any steam.

    And when it does steam, it seems 'weak', and not like in the beginning, so I don't think it's getting hot enough.

    We only used it maybe 10 times at most... :o(

    0 Votes
  • J
      Apr 26, 2010

    What a piece of junk! In less than 6 months it stopped working completely. We called the number on the warranty card and got somebody in India. Very difficult to understand and get our problem across to them. I wouldn't by anything from this company. Going back to the place we bought it, Target, and try to get our money back. It's an overpriced piece of garbage!

    Jackie from Florida

    0 Votes
  • M
      Apr 30, 2010

    after one use, it just stopped...no power, no lights, no steam...so the handy man i am..i took it apart.what i found was amazing..the craftsmanship on the euro shark...the hot wire was mounted on the metal tank w/some cheap insulation...the wiring gauge was to
    small to handle the current...a steam cleaner is quite simple...when you break it down..
    1.explosion the hot wire grounds on the tank...
    2.low steam heat elements do not work..total of 4

    3.does not work heat elements are wired in a series...one goes bad, they all will not work.

    sad, but true

    +2 Votes
  • I
      Jun 16, 2010

    after 4 uses following their own " destructions " my steam mop has stopped steaming as well !
    i just want my $$ back and the lack there-of customer service dept is COMPLETELY USELESS !!!

    i am a mgr at target and i am reccomending to our buyers too let their products go...we will rtn and/or exchange w/ a receipt w/in the 90 days...however even mine lasted the 90 days...only because i had only used it the 4 times in that time period...so i like the rest of you are stuck w/ a useless product, out my $$ and back too scrubbing like before...guess we should all beware...if it sounds too good to be true...IT IS !!!

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Jun 25, 2010

    I had my Shark Euro Pro for a year and I loved it, then it just quit and I had only used it about 6 times. I am very upset with this company...the general public should somehow be made aware : BEWARE OF THE SHARK ... they bite!

    +1 Votes
  • I
      Aug 16, 2010

    I had my Shark Professionnal handheld cleaner (model SC507C) as a christmas gift, bought at La Boutique TVA. I used it four times and now there's no steam, the water is still cold, light is on. Can't find a place to fix this thing. DON'T BUY SHARK STEAM CLEANER !! Any of you got good results with another company ?

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 20, 2010

    Worked great for about a year then just quit making steam in the middle of a use. I put it in closet for a bit before throwing it out. I got it out today and tore it apart to find that one of the water lines had broken off. I reattached it with the little clamp that was floating around inside machine. Took me about 90 minutes to take apart and put back together. Works good as NEW now. SHould I have had to do this after only a year no but it is working so I am HAPPY.

    +1 Votes
  • U
      Aug 27, 2010

    I order the Shark steam Model #S3505 W, after 24 I changed my mind, I call the customer service department and Hunter, claims that he couldn't stop the order since it went to the fulfillment center, then the next day I called and again spoke to Hunter and his supervisor Rebecca, who again, that a stop could not be placed, since the order went to the fulfillment center. Now, when I order this is was suppose to be 2 to 3 weeks before it shipped, it was not a express order and it was told to me by Kaylee that the first payment of 4 would be $53.74. Well the item was shipped within 3 days (not paying the $17.95 for express mail), my credit card was charged $53.94 a 20cent diffrent, so that makes me think they can change whatever amount they want and I had to paid $10.38 to have it shipped back. Another thing the commerical claims that Mark (CEO/Operation), will pay for the return shipping cost, when there is no shipping return label in the box, which you cannot open, just return it by refusing it, and how can you do so if you have 60days to see if you are satified. when you call the customer services department, they are rude and will not help you. I have other Shark products and will get rid of and i am in small appliance, and shark is one of the products we sell. Cannot wait for someone to ask me what I think of they Euro-Pro Shark steam cleaner.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Aug 29, 2010

    My mop stopped working after just over a year, too. For my mop, as least, I found a way to fix it. I still had power and the mop was hot but no steam came out. I figured it was mineral build up from my water so I put vinegar in the tank and also took the mop head off and used a baby medicine syringe to put vinegar in the little hole where the steam was supposed to come out. I did this a couple times (letting it soak a bit each time) and my mop is working fine again. I hope that someone else can benefit from this!

    +2 Votes
  • K
      Sep 05, 2010

    Had my shark for less than six months. Just stopped "steaming". I waited a couple of days and plugged it back in and steam shot out the sides... hot steam. Luckly I had on long jeans and my kids were not close by because hot steam went all over me! This item needs to be recalled!

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Sep 18, 2010

    I am also disappointed in my Shark Floor Steamer product. I have had it only 4 months and it completely broke down. I am always careful to follow specific instructions on how to properly use products so they can last but the Shark was a huge exception to this. It is a poorly made product and the steam that would come out of the mop was so hot that it melted the entire head/neck of the mop! Very dangerous! I would not recommend this product to anyone and feel like a fool for spending my hard earned money towards this garbage! I can't return this item as the fees to ship/repair/return are ridiculous. It costs almost as much as getting a new one(which I dont intend to do).

    0 Votes
  • A
      Sep 25, 2010

    My Shark also worked 5 or six times, and stopped working. I exchanged it for a new one, and the same thing happened again, and now it is beyond the return date. I e-mailed the company, again no response.

    0 Votes
  • 4
      Oct 04, 2010

    Mine also died bought it a few years ago but only used it once or twice then put it away, started using it again now the steam won't come out, took it to a repair shop and they could'nt get into it. Totally not happy with this service if you pay good money you should expect a good product and service. Is there anywhere to complain about this product because they are taking people's money knowing the products is not exceptable

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Oct 04, 2010

    I had the same experience... loved my Shark Steam mop until (after about a year but only maybe 12 uses) it stopped working!! I was so angry! I read another article on yahoo and someone suggested running vinegar through the mop to clean it and unclog the holes (they can get Calcium buildup) and it worked like a dream!!! Give it a try!!! I hope that it helps everyone the way it helped me!

    0 Votes
  • N
      Oct 12, 2010

    Just like all the other comments mine too Stopped Steaming. DO NOT BUY THE SHARK STEAMER!!!

    +1 Votes
  • A
      Oct 16, 2010

    QUICK FIX! I followed Kathye's advice and ran vinegar through my shark steamer and I am happy to say it is working again. I never used distilled water in the steamer, and I think that what was recommended.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Nov 02, 2010

    I purchased my Euro Pro Steam Mop (S3101 made in China) at Macy's Department store in Oklahoma City. My Euro Pro steam mob S3101 was great for about a year. As the time went on it took longer to make any steam. Then it just stopped steaming a few months ago. I called the 800 number and spoke with an "offshore" representative twice; I think they were from India. I was advised by the representative at Euro Pro that I need to send my steam mop to North Carolina. I was told that I need to pack the steam mop, pay for the shipping including the insurance and send a check for $27.90 and they will fix it or send me another steam mop. So far I am out of $22.75 for the box, tape and the packing material; $27.90 check to Euro Pro to fix the steam mop. No telling how much it will cost to ship it UPS to North Carolina.
    Furthermore, I just found out Euro Pro has a “D” rating with the Better Business Bureau because of the outstanding complaints with Shark products.

    I will never purchase any Shark product again and will tell my family and friends not to purchase the item. If I see someone looking at a Shark product in the store, I will also tell them about my experience with Shark and strongly advise them not to purchase the product. My sister works at Macy’s and she has been telling everyone that the product is no any good and to check the Better Business Bureau for the complaints, which I should have done before I purchased mine.

    +1 Votes
  • J
      Nov 05, 2010

    in a moment of weakness i acted on impulse and purchased a shark floor steamer from a TV infomercial. when i received the product i quickly tried it out. floors got clean but i didn't like using the product - too heavy and awkward for me so i phoned the company to return the product which was supposed to be "satisfaction guaranteed" ... the sales person did his job and convinced me to keep the mop offering me a $29.99 rebate (which was equal to 1 of the 4 monthly payments). i agreed, gave the mop to my daughter as a gift. ONE YEAR LATER, i get a disturbing email that my account has gone to collections ... i still owed them 29.99 ... my credit rating is in jeopardy ... they have NO RECORD of that phone call offering me the rebate. I AM NOW FIGHTING SHARK FOR THAT $29.99 ... I refuse to make this payment on principle!

    0 Votes
  • V
      Nov 15, 2010

    Shark Euro-Pro Steam Cleaner Complaints - not producing steam
    Review all Shark Euro-Pro Steam Cleaner complaints
    Shark Euro-Pro Steam Cleaner
    Posted: 2010-11-15 by Vixi
    not producing steam
    Complaint Rating:
    Company information:
    Euro-Pro Operating LLC
    Florida
    United States

    I bought the Euro-Pro X steam Cleaner off line I think it was back in April I have used it roughly 5 times, I was in love with machine and used it when I had a lot of time to devote to a whole house steaming. Well the other day in the middle of my cleaning it just stopped producing steam. I am extremely disappointed and have read horror stories about trying to return the item for repair. I now wished that I had done more research before buying this item, it wasn't cheap, mine is the canister model. I have just filled the canister with white vinegar and am soaking the nozzle also, I will get back to this and see if it has had any effect.Okay I just checked on the machine and for the first time in trying over and over the heater light has actually come on! Only the yellow ready light has come on and not the red heater one before this. If I can get the machine to actually run I will be off to the store to buy distilled water, I have been using filtered water but not distilled! Wow it worked for a minute and then shut off but I shook it a little and the red heater light turned back on and after only 1 minute it started steaming again. I only put about 6 ouched of white vinegar in the tank. I am off to the store for the distilled water. I hope that it continues to work. I will update this later. Good luck and I hope that this will help fix some of those broken machine. Thanks to the lady who first posted this suggestion!

    0 Votes
  • V
      Nov 16, 2010

    Ok it's me Vixi again the steam cleaner only worked for a few minutes at a time after the vinegar and distilled water treatment! I have spent hours trying to take the stupid thing apart almost an impossibility. I guess I am giving up and taking it into my work so my handy man boss can have a look at it. If he can't fix it no one can! I will update you after he takes a look at it. What a pain! Model # S3325-FS

    0 Votes

Post your comment