DR AF Coertze en Genote Ingelyf T/A MED 24 MontanaAccount handed over to attorneys without sending an account to the client

L Review updated:

I received of a notification from Hartman Attorneys for collection of outstanding fees ref MED07070 on 30 March 2017 at 16:30.

After several calls to Montana Netcare (that only gets transferred or cut-off) I phoned the attorneys and spoke to Bonnie.

Until the sms I have not received any account, statement, communication, invoice or anything besides the notification from Hartman attorneys. I provided all my details including e-mail, postal, physical address, work, home and alternative contact numbers when my daughter was at the ER in 2016 and yet never received any communications that the medical aid did not pay the full amount outstanding and that there is still an amount payable. When I finally spoke to a Charmaine at MED24 she informed me that 3 statements were sent via post (till date I have not received the mail and I have no proof it was even posted). I was informed they do not have capacity to phone or e-mail clients for non-payment.

Hantie at Hartman Attorneys informed me that I had to pay R 550.95 for legal fees and R 419.50 for the outstanding medical bill. She agreed to discount the legal fees to R 300.00. I immediately transferred R720.00 to avoid any adverse impact.

I am concerned with this practice and feel the way this account was handled resulted in the account being paid (which would have been paid if received) and the attorneys making money in the process. I feel the legal fees should be waived or paid by MED24.

MED24 informed me that my medical aid would have advised me of any unpaid claims. I had many unpaid claims as my medical aid was depleted and paid every account I received - the medical do not provide particulars, details and banking information to make the required transfers and as there were more than one bill from Montana I was under the impression all bills were paid.

Responses

  • Ma
    marks mathibela Jun 09, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hereby lodge a complain about the payment that was not paid until today

    I spoke to Mrs Van Der Berg who told me that he made a payment on Tuesday last week 1 June 2021 until today I didn't get any payment I've been trying to get hold of her since Thursday last week 3rd June until today I can't get hold of her at least to send me a proof of payment

    My details are as follow
    Marks Mathibela
    Account number 109171

    Your urgently respond will be highly appreciated since I'm in need of this money

    Kind Regards
    Marks Mathibela

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thobile KaMbanjwa-Maseko Dec 04, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a the same problem. I requested for my ITC check and boom I see I have a judgment on my name. This was done in 2014 September. I didn't receive anything or any letter from the doctor. Usually our medical pays and whatever short fall we pay for it. I'll write to: The Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA)

    0 Votes
  • No
    NomaK Jul 19, 2018

    Good day Guys!

    I find myself sitting in a similar situation.

    2014 we paid cash but did not keep the receipt
    Beginning of the 2018 the bank informed me there is a judgement against me from them
    I called and got the Dr's bank details which I paid and emailed to them.
    I then called to find outfit they acknowledge receipt which she confirmed; I then asked what is to happen from there I was told it will be cancelled and my name cleared.
    7 months later apparently there is a court order against me this again from the bank

    My address has not changed in over 7 years
    I have never receive a letter or email or phone call from them

    Please assist how did you guys handle the situations

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dimpho Danisa May 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Morning

    I also have the same problem, this people don't communicate with their patients. I took my mom to Montana Private Hospital on the 25th January 2017, I wrote all the contact details and my number included. We have never been informed that the medical aid didn't pay all the amount. Now recently my mom is getting sms's from Hartman Attorneys that my mom owes R1264.31. Nokuthula from Hartman Attorneys told me that the outstanding amount was R532.56 and they've added their legal cost of R731.75. I'm willing to pay the outstanding amount of R532.56 not the legal cost.

    The admin in this Dr's office is poor. They should send accounts to patients first before sending them to Attorneys. This Dr and his/her friend Hartman Attorneys and making money out of patients, that's daylight robbery.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thobile KaMbanjwa-Maseko Dec 04, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Dimpho Danisa I'm writing to: The Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA), this cannot be right. https://www.samedical.org/links/complaints

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erik de Clerck Jun 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Good day,
    I had/have the same problem with them. My son was taken to Med24 in October 2016 where I paid the consultation fee. Then on 23 March 2017 I received a threatening e-mail that I have an outstanding account that must be paid. I then paid the account on 30 March 2017 and as from 21 June 2017 I received sms's that the account is outstanding and I need to pay it. I forwarded them the proof of payment twice on 21 June 2017 and to my surprise I received a final notice sms on 22 June 2017. I again forwarded them the proof of payment and then at 15:45 on 22 June 2017 I receive a statement from them for the amount paid in March. My personal opinion is that this people is incompetent to do their job. This is the second time this happened to me that I receive an account 4-5 months after my visit.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.