Menu
Douglas Construction

Douglas Construction review: workmanship-fraud-overcharge 19

B
Author of the review
4:49 am EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Does inferior work, painting remodeling, overcharges, Comes on as a nice Christian man. Then wants payment in cashiers checks, pays workers under the table. Takes 6 months to do a 6 week job. Knows he has your money and signed contract. Gottcha! Beware, he hasn't you in mind. Get other bids before you make a decision. He is total crap!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

19 comments
B
B
Brentlies
, US
Feb 29, 2016 12:30 pm EST

http://www.eldoradohillsgeneralcontractor.com/
He has a new website full of false promises.

B
B
Brentlies
, US
Feb 29, 2016 12:29 pm EST

Every thing written here is TRUE! Learnt it the hard way. DO NOT TRUST BRENT JACK. He comes out as a friendly religious guy who cares about his clients until he gets you to sign in to his contract. After it is signed you can pray to god to help you. Do your self a favor and steer clean or learn your lesson the hard way like we did and write a comment on this board. Your choice.

B
B
Brentlies
, US
Feb 29, 2016 12:22 pm EST

Every thing WRITTEN here is TRUE! Learnt it the hard way. DO NOT TRUST BRENT JACK. He comes out as a friendly relegious guy who cares about his clients until he gets you to sign in to his contract. After it is signed you can pray to god to help you. Do your self a favor or learn your lesson the hard way like we did. Your choice.

G
G
gorgegirl
, US
Nov 10, 2015 3:58 pm EST

Back in 2003 we retained Mr. Jack to do improvements to our home. We paid him a deposit check then never heard from him again. He would not respond to our repeated calls, so we took him to small claims court. At the hearing he sent an employee in to tell the judge that Mr. Jack had fallen off of a ladder that day and could not attend the hearing. The judge rescheduled and told the employee that Mr. Jack better appear at the next hearing with proof that he was in the ER the day of the initial hearing. Mr. Jack no showed at the second hearing. We were awarded a judgement against him. Fortunately, I knew where he banked, so we had the judgement served upon the bank and we were able to get our money back. Steer clear of this guy.

A
A
avi8or503
, US
Oct 12, 2015 10:04 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

How SHOCKING is it MR JACK, that, all these people have the same fleeting feeling toward you in your LYING way. Your comfort level is based on your LACK of adult behavior regarding your ability to be honest, did you learn how to LIE and be DECEITFUL in your home life development? OR, did you pick it up as the best way to accomplish and subsidize your way of living... you LIED to your children as to who their natural Grand Father is, you lead them to believe another low life was their grand father, Didn't you, Along with all these people, is it no wonder to you no body trusts you, your representation is preceding you, you best pack up and move again before the Law comes down on your SORRY ###.. THE BIBLE TELLS YOU " to thine ownself be true" you will not beat the BIBLE or THE LAW

A
A
avi8or503
, US
Oct 12, 2015 8:06 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I'm surprised at the number of complaints against this person who purports himself to be a CHRISTAIN, , " a go to man", who brings lies to the table knowing there lies while conning his way into gaining their confidence to do a mere task to enhance those who would give him the opportunity to bring enjoyment to their home, , he LIES while creating a desire to bring HAPPINESS to his Clients, but, only brings unhappiness and grief with his LYING misrepresentation, while he DOESN'T fulfill his contract obligations AND LEAVES THESE PEOPLE TO their own finishing accomplishments after paying this SOB for his Lack of his TRUTHS

A
A
avi8or503
, US
Oct 12, 2015 7:49 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Why have you people dealt with this ###? I'm his father, he has LIED about me, , He has lied to my GRAND CHILDREN about me, , I am sorry folks about the way you have been treated, I swear I wasn't there in his growing up years, he was ADOPTED by another man that he developed his TRAITS from, , in a way I'm glad that they were not mine, then I would be to blame.. I will join with you in a CLASS ACTION Law suit against this WORTHLESS ### and lets rid society of this LIAR

A
A
avi8or503
, US
Oct 12, 2015 7:37 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Being that I am the natural, biological father of this worthless piece of trash, who has lied to his children, my grand children, about me, and told them another man was their natural grand father, who BETRAYED the Sacred trust between Father and Son, all the while accusing me of ABANDONMENT when his mother was committing ADULTRY with his adopted liar, he called Dad, I was informed that this man Passed away, , so when GOD passes his ruling down on this ADULTERER do you think he may HAVE A CHANCE IN HELL? the same goes for this worthless waste of white, , a man who would disown, display the disloyalty against his father, is a man who can not be trusted... If this man did as you people have alleged, , then let us file FRAUD charges against him, , I will join with you on a class action Law suit to bring this SOB to justice, , I hope he reads these passages and will offer a rebuttal, upon doing so, then I'm going to proceed in a court of Law, , I can prove beyond a REASONABLE doubt he has been DISENGENUIOUS, I have the PROOF, JOIN WITH ME, , lets bring this LIAR to JUSTICE

D
D
donotusethisguy
, US
Aug 03, 2015 6:36 pm EDT

Everything you read in these comments is true - DO NOT USE THIS GUY - you will be sorry.

N
N
nomorecrookedconstractors
, US
Feb 07, 2015 3:35 am EST

Every terrible thing you hear is true his phone number is [protected] and name is Brent Jack WATCH OUT FOR THIS CROOK HE SHOULD BE ON THAT SHOW WITH ADAM CARROLA WHERE THEY GO AFTER CROOKS LIKE THIS

N
N
nomorecrookedconstractors
, US
Feb 07, 2015 3:30 am EST

Very accurate douglas construction is the same as probuilt he changed the company name because he wasn't getting any referrals for new jobs because he does ### work everything you hear is 100% true couldn't be more accurate watch out he's a crook robs his customers with change order after change order and is very good about writing the contracts so even if you come to your senses and cancel he has a clause in the contract that will still require you to pay him his profit amount that he would have made I've seen it first hand treats his workers like ### has them fill out time sheets but them when it comes down to payday he knocks you on hours always trying to cheat every employee on at least a couple of hours if you literally don't have a photo copy of your hours he will try and short you every single week their are issues about shorting employee's on hours even his foreman of the company gets ripped off every paycheck he can't even take care of the man who makes him all his money. He constantly has sub contractors calling him to get paid he robs peter to pay paul and if you're lucky enough to finally get paid he'll make you meet him on a week day so you have to miss work at a customer's house that has no clue what's going on to get paid and then the customers are wondering why all these random people that they've never met are coming to their house so unprofessional it's not even funny ever heard of a Starbucks? Instead of meeting at a customer's house where's the respect? He will literally cut every corner to save himself a dime not a dollar a dime that's how crummy and cheap he is. Former customers are already trying to go after his license that's why he changed companies because douglas construction was a sole proprietorship and everything was in his companies name so he sold all of his work trucks changed company to probuilt which is a LLC and bought brand new trucks because he knew his company was going under this guy isn't just a crook he's an educated crook this man is no dumby he knows each and every way to rip you off and cover his own ### so watch out this man needs to be put out of business he's even ripped off people that go to his church. A family finally caught on to him and his crooked ways and so canceled part of the job that they ended getting done by someone else for thousands of dollars cheaper and now he's trying to still collect on the profit because of his shady contract clause he's even tried to call collection agency's on this family who is honestly one of the nicest most honest and hard working families I've ever met. I've seen his use materials that were inferior to the job we were doing when materials were specifically listed in the contract, thank god the customers had a clue and paid close attention to him and called him on it then he tried and arguee with then saying douglas fir is better than redwood are you kidding me? What a joke. I can honestly keep going and fill up pages of dirt on this crook. Please put a end to this criminal getting rich off of others misfortunes he'll charge you 3000+ to change windows when all you need is a little caulking or another 3000 to put a couple of veneer stones on columns when he finds some guy off of craigslist to do it for 150 dollars. Think first people there's no way all these people would constantly say the same thing year after year if it wasn't true stay away from this man and his ### company whether it be douglas construction or PROBUILT construction there's nothing professional about this man but his lies he is most definitely a professional liar and that's the only thing he'll ever be good at LIES LIES LIES I can go on forever but honestly I'm tired of typing about this piece of ### so please people listen and never hire him and just to make everything clear BRENT JACK is the owner of these companies whether it be douglas construction or PROBUILT construction WATCH OUT

H
H
HB7
Somewhere, US
Feb 06, 2015 6:19 pm EST

Pro-built Construction formerly known as Douglas Construction of El Dorado Hills, CA is owned by Brent Jack. CSLB# 562260.

H
H
HB7
Somewhere, US
Feb 06, 2015 3:17 pm EST

Every complaint is accurate! He is a liar, will try and scam you anyway he can.

B
B
BRSP
Folsom, US
Feb 04, 2015 4:10 pm EST

Could you give me a license number or phone number for this ? I would like to make sure that I am not getting involved. I am dealing with a construction company of a different name but the name of the owner is the same as the complaints.

B
B
bbb bbb
Placerville, US
Jul 14, 2014 11:35 am EDT

The above complaints are absolutely accurate. Complete nightmare.

B
B
bbb bbb
Placerville, US
Jul 14, 2014 11:30 am EDT

Agree completely with complaints already listed.

T
T
the mans a crook
Orange vale, US
Oct 05, 2013 11:09 am EDT

Never hire this contractor. I am a former employee of this company. He never finished a job as long as I worked for him. There was never a happy customer. He gets all of his employees off of craigslist and pays them cash. Everybody that works for him quits shortly afterwords. He will do most of the job, take all the big money, then leave the job unfinished at the end. DO NOT HIRE THIS MAN. Claims to be a good christian but is far from it. He is a crook. He is very good at talking, dont believe anything he says. He will take every shortcut he can when doing a job. Doesnt allow employees to talk to customer because employees feel bad for customer and tell them what is happening.

S
S
SoniaYC
, US
Dec 30, 2011 4:27 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same contractor did work for me in 2002 time frame. Contractor was unprofessional, workmanship was terrible. Had to get another contractor to finish the job. He took my money, told me he had ordered windows, when I called the store, they had never heard of this order; but the check had been cashed. When I asked for a refund, he tried to talk me out of it & then finally paid me, but the check bounced. When I confronted him, he started telling me a sob story about his personal life! VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. DO NOT HIRE!

C
C
Carol Douglas
Bakersville, US
Sep 15, 2011 12:46 pm EDT

NOTICE- This is a DOUGLAS CONSTRUCTION in California- NOT the licensed, reputable, General Contractor DOUGLAS CONSTRUCTION in western North Carolina.