Covert-Covert, L.L.C.Took my case even though they couldn't legally represent me

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I was looking online for Legal Aid. This company contacted me after I filled out a form detailing the nature of my legal issue. They represented that they could assist me when in fact my legal issue was a criminal matter and not in their domain. They strung me along, took $89 for a review fee, then they said it was a filing fee but they filed nothing. Then they said they had acquired documentation to verify my complaint but I actually faxed these documents to them. They did nothing for me for a week which put me in contempt of court. Then they refused to refund my money.

Responses

  • Le
    Leon Williams Jul 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the same service where they pulled my info for me and mediated my case witth the other party successfully. I think that the lady whom paid 89 for representation knew considering she "filled out a form" request and the amount is obviously low to pertain to rep at a court...

    -1 Votes
  • Le
    Leon Williams Jul 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    so they pulled my info and did what they promised for me...I had no problems with covert and covert, the amount they charged me was half as much than others, but sometimes it was hard to get hold of, but worth waiting for!!

    -1 Votes
  • Le
    Leon Williams Jul 31, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I checked BBB because I was surprised, and on the website inquiry on BBB website it says 2 complaints since they have been open and both resolved...This lady is proabably one of them! the other one well maybe another crazy lady! lol

    -1 Votes
  • No
    Noah S. Kline Aug 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally believe in the validity of dissatisfaction of Covert and Covert. They have had my case for 5 weeks now and DONE NOTHING! They have strung me along this whole time, and I am currently no where closer to what I need than when I paid them. I am trying to get some visitation of my son whom I have not been able to see now for almost three months. They never call when they say they will. They never return my calls in a timely professional manner. I have been told several times that they will serve the other party the case that I filed in court back on July 8th, and that has never been done. They keep me completely in the dark. I am actually starting to believe they are scammers with absolutely no legal credibility at all. They took my money alright, but have not done one single thing on my behalf. I could have gotten the other party served, mediation started, and probably some parenting time allocated in these last 5 weeks on my own. This company, (if it is really is legally a company) is bogus. One of the numbers I had for a "Don" is no longer even in service...
    Great, not only do they never call me, I cant even get a hold of anyone in this stupid sham company.

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjhutchinson Aug 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i also looked for an inexpensive way to file a quit claim deed and make me a adminstrator for mortgage. my husband died w/o a will. the other lawyers wanted 3 to 5 thousand dollars. I went the covert covert route. this was started in may of this year and i do not have my my probated muniment papers as yet. I will keep leaving voice mails as a daily maybe twice daily plan o f action. unlike the other party and the $89, mine was $350 for all documents. it is now the last week of august and i have nothing and no answers. I will continue calling until the cows come home...i live in the city!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce Hameen Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think Leon's comments are hogwash and he is probably on the payroll at Covert & Covert. It's obvious that there's some connections since he felt the need to post the comment 4 TIMES. Get real, Covert & Covert is a scam and are ripping of individuals that are in need of legal guidance.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Duncan Sep 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They were not exceptional at returning phone calls but they did end up with good results in my favor for only 189 with my landlord with reference to me almost being evicted illegally and they "mediated" the issue with him. I worlked with a leon fillipiak, not sure if this is the leon your working with...

    -Jerry
    NEUTRAL----

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Anderson Sep 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been totally disgusted by the last of professionalism. This company promised and failed to act upon my pending case. I was deceived that these people were actually able to help me with my legal situation and instead they took my money and have not contacted me back. After several attempts of trying to get them to return my calls I am contacting the Texas Attorney General Office and Federal Trade Commission and would suggest for others who are disgruntled to do so.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Iris cortez Oct 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had ordered a quit claim deed form and mediation between me and some family members upon the death of a distant relative of no will. It took the company 30 days to complete rather than the promise of "under 30 days" you get what you pay for (250) still not sure if I would use there services again, i will say they did get it done bit over the 30 days

    0 Votes
  • Co
    concerned Mar 23, 2009

    Look who is listed as an admin for Covert. Leon Williams.
    Name: COVERT & COVERT LLC
    Phone: [protected]
    Address: 4621 S COOPER ST, STE 131, ARLINGTON, TX 76017
    Business Category: Mediation Services, Arbitration Services
    BBB file opened: May 29, 2008
    Business started: January 2008
    Business started locally: January 2008
    Primary Contact: MARTIN COVERT (OWNER)
    Complaint Contact: JESSICA QUINN (ADMINISTRATION)
    Other Contacts: RAYMOND COVERT (OWNER)
    LEON WILLIAMS (ADMINISTRATION)

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kintrell Sep 19, 2009

    Contact me @ [protected]@yahoo.com if you want to do something about these scammers

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Gee Nov 24, 2009

    In May of 2009, I entered an application on LegalMatch.com to find an attorney who would take a case concerning a child custody issue. This was answered via phone on May 27th 2009 by Covert & Covert LLC, and was I advised they would take the case depending on my level of income. Initially, A representative of this firm, (Steve Hall) wanted $1300.00. I stated I was unemployed at that time, and he stated he would accept $180.00 and to send a check right away so they could get going on the case. I sent the money by money order on June 1st certified mail and retained the receipt and delivery confirmation. I heard nothing back from them until I reached Raymond Covert via phone on July 1st. He stated I needed to send my file and all my papers. On July I sent the entire file, transcripts and documents via certified mail. I also retained the delivery confirmation and receipt. Months have passed trying to contact them via phone and E-mail with no response at all. On September 11th, I sent a letter requesting my money and my paperwork back via certified mail. Again, no response from Mr. Covert. Upon researching this firm, I find they are not associated or licensed with the Texas State BAR Association. I have contacted the Texas Atty. Gen. office and left a message, dated November 5th. I have yet received a response from them and will attempt to do so again soon. This outfit has changed their website from claiming to be a legal representative, to a credit repair organization. I have also discovered, this firm has been in business sense January 2008 and has numerous complaints against them for such activity. It is my understanding, they are surfing sites such as Legal Match.com looking for their victoms, and contacting them by phone, posing as attorneys, and collecting credit card numbers and checks with services not rendered. I have heard nothing back from them, and I was happy to send them a check, money which was borrowed from another party I might add. To date, They have changed their web site from dispute resolution to credit repair. I have heard nothing back from Covert & Covert. Appropriately named.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Gee Nov 24, 2009

    Anyone who feels scammed by Covert & Covert LLC. needs to contact me. Robert Gee. [protected]@yahoo.com.

    We need to band together as one group. I have discussed this with an attorney as well, who has looked into this organization which is not affiliated with the Tx BAR Assotiation.

    Thankyou, Robert Gee

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mario Feb 13, 2010

    they were on my case for like a month. they havent done nothing. so i tried calling that don guy but wont answer. so i made a different email address so they could contact me. when i emailed them from there website. the guy contacted me few days after wards. but he didnt know i was the same person. so i asked what kind of business you guys running here. they hang up right away. they are stealing peoples money. please i urge you all who read this do not hire them to solve your case.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem