The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Alan Brent Photography / Family of heartless thiefs!

1 United States Review updated:

We used Alan Brent Photography almost three years ago and never got our wedding album, pictures, canvas he is a thief and does not care about making things right, several times he said he was going to meet us and never did, then his daughter said she was going to meet us and never did they are a family of heartless thiefs my wife and i will never have these memories of our first wedding... and he nor his family could care less.

Keith and Alina.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gi
      17th of Aug, 2007
    +1 Votes

    Completely unprofessional & and they like to take your money and then disappear! I belong to a message board with 145 others that have been screwed over by them. My husband and I got all our stuff (it took over a year 1/2), but it took a lot of blood, sweat, & tears, and a couple appearances on the local news exposing these crooks for what they were before we could finally say we had everything we paid for. Bad quality pictures, however, were not in our package, and unfortunately that was the only "extra" we got from these idiots.

  • Gr
      19th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    My wife and I got Married 4-9-05 it is now 9-19-07 and we still don't have our wedding album. We keep calling and leaving messages and don't get a call back. The one time they did call back about a year ago they said they were having problems with their album company and they would have it to us soon. After reading these complaints I am guessing that we will never see the album. Anyone have any idea on what I should do?

  • Jo
      27th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Greg, I feel your pain--the same thing has happened to me and my wife. We have decided to take this action: 1) try to get the electronic copies of the pictures as soon as possible--they have them and dont' have to send out for those--they can burn you a copy of them if you show up at their door. 2) call them, call them, call them. Be as annoying as possible by filling their machine with messages, which might be an incentive for them to actually do something with your order. 3) keep a log of all communication with them. This might be useful in court. 4) if you do get them on the phone, dont' let them hang up until you both agree on a deadline when the pictures will be received by you. 5) if the deadline passes, tell them you'll simply show up at their place of business for your electonic pics and anything else they have there of yours. Do not tell them when you'll come--just show up. 6) sue them in small claims court for the money you paid. I regard this as the last alternative, not least because if you sue them and don't have the negatives, you won't ever see your pics again--just some money. But it doesn't cost very much to file in small claims court, lawyers aren't even allowed, and if they don't show up (which they probably won't), that's always in your favor.

    The downside--They declared bankruptcy in about June of 07. Anyone who had work done before this date was sent a legal notice and cannot sue them for damages. If you did not receive a notice about this, then you either 1) weren't covered in the protection and can sue them, or 2) were supposed to receive a notice and didn't, so you can take legal action because you weren't notified.

    Good luck to you all. Feel free to email me directly if you want to talk more about it--my wife's uncle is an excellent lawyer who is giving us advice about our options.
    -Jonathan Townsend

  • Cy
      1st of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes
    Alan Brent Photography - Unfinished business!
    United States

    My name is Cynthia. I was married in Dec 2004. I enlisted Alan Brent to take the photos of my wedding and paid approximately $2500. 4 years later I am still waiting for my engagement album to be completed and a canvas prints. I have called the company and have not been returned a call. I am frustrated!!!

    I will never use their service again!

  • Ca
      5th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    Hi There-
    I am a victim of the fraudulent Alan Brent Photography company. I got married in July of 2005, I paid over $3,500.00 and have yet to get my wedding album. I am certainly desperate for the memories of mine and my husband's special day. I was wondering if you or anyone had any contact information for Alan Brent, as I have called and left over 25 messages on his company's recording (to no avail)? Any information (ie: class action lawsuit, or contact) would be Greatly appreciated!

    Email: Caitliar@usc.edu

    Best Regards,
    Caitlin Galligan

  • Lo
      25th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    On Dec 4, 2005, my daughter and son-in-law hired the services for Alan Brent Photography to photograph their wedding day. We got only the engagement photo which was framed, but as for the album, story books and other items, these have not yet been delivered since we cannot get a correct fax number or mailing address to let them know of our selections. I am asking if anyone wants to file a Class Action lawsuit against this guy. Please post your response to this posting and if we get enough people together, I am sure we can stop this thief! My email is lornakatz@yahoo.com

  • Ju
      28th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    My husband and I were married in Sept 2004 and we still have not received our wedding album, framed pictures, photos on CD, groomsman albums or orginal proofs we sent to him for the albums.
    On my wedding day Alan Brent did not even bother to show up or call and say he wasn't coming. I opened the door and was introduced to a photographer I had never met. We paid for a 3 photographer package and people that he sent did not even know how to take pictures. The pictures in the church have a yellow tint to them and the pictures of my dad walking me down the aisle have all or part of his head cut off.
    We missed half of our reception because the photographers were so unorganized and under qualified they could not figure out how to pose us for pictures. Most of our guests got bored and left.
    We have left several messages for Alan Brent Photography and have not received a call back.

  • Je
      31st of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    hello i was married september 30th 2006 and till this day i have not received my wedding album!!! This is such a night mare you call and leave a message and you get no answer back!!! How can the bridal expos accept a theif to enroll in the expos... PLEASE do not use them i wish i never had. Plesae if any one out there is planning on sueing or doing anything against this so called family buisness please feel free to email me... jessica030977@sbcglobal.net Its funny how they want you to pay up front but they never keep there word!!! Dont do it save your money and time on hunting these people down!!!

    Sincerly Jessica Diaz

  • Mo
      30th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes
    Alan Brent Photography - wedding album
    Alan Brent Photography
    United States

    My husband and I were married 3 years ago and hired Alan Brent himself to do our wedding. What a joke it was from the beginning. To sum it all up, we still have not received our wedding album and was never told they had gone out of business 18 months ago!!! I have called numerous times and sometimes even twice in a day. They are theifs, they had no problem cashing my check in full 3 years ago and I want my album!!!

  • Ma
      24th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Alan Brent is a huge scam. I married my first husband in June of 2004. We never got our album. These pictures are treasured memories for my family and I since my husband passed away less than a year after we married.
    I would love to take part in a class action suit. I never received notification of their bankrupt state so I believe I am eligible. I will contact Lorna Katz if she is still interested.

  • Ri
      27th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    We hired Alan Brent Photography for our May 2007 wedding. Following the wedding we did receive our proofs almost immediately. I managed to receive some pictures and my parents albums after many months of calling. However, months and months passed and I did not receive my album. I have called them relentlessly to find out about my album. This past week, I received a letter from Alan Brent Photography stating that they have been out of business for nearly 2 years. If we wanted to get our album, we needed to contact Albums Unlimited at 800-625-2867. The balance at Albums Unlimited was unpaid and we had to pay nearly $300 to have our album sent. It's been nearly 2 years and our wedding album finally showed up. From speaking with Albums Unlimited, they said that they have many albums and pictures from Alan Brent Photography. They were very helpful and delivered my album when they said they would.

  • Br
      15th of Apr, 2009
    +1 Votes

    My wife and I were married 10/29/05 in Palm Springs. We hired Alan Brent Photography through a bridal expo. Britney (Alan's daughter, I think) did the photography, and did a great job. But when it came to laying out the album, we had to literally show up at their door one day (6 months after the wedding) and sit there until someone helped us. Then they never posted the layout onto the website for us to look or approve it, and never contacted us again, despite repeated phone calls/messages on their answering machine. They never pick up the phone!

    To this day, all we have are a large engagement photo and a 3-photo montage in a frame. The storybook album, the parents' albums and other extra photos have never been sent, and I doubt they were even ordered. I am just now learning of all the other couples that have suffered in the same way. Any info on how to reach Alan Brent Photography would be appreciated, and we would join a class-action suit in a heartbeat. Email me at brendenkelly@aol.com if you have any info.

  • Ca
      20th of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Alan Brent info for who needs it. He's claiming "Alzheimers" and says he doesn't remember much.

    Jane’s Mall

    Picture Place

    215 D. Moor Park Road

    Thousand Oaks, Ca



    805-497-7394

  • Ja
      22nd of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hopefully some justcie will come out of this. He has been charged and did not show for court so he has a 100K warrant for his arrest.

    TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 9, 2010
    WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHER CHARGED WITH
    MULTIPLE COUNTS OF GRAND THEFT
    LOS ANGELES – Wedding photographer Alan Carruth was charged with
    multiple counts of grand theft involving more than 42 victims Carruth was paid for
    but failed to provide photography services. The case was filed by Deputy City
    Attorney Onica Cole of the City Attorney’s Consumer Protection Unit.
    Alan Brent Carruth, doing business as Alan Brent Photography, was charged
    with eight counts of grand theft. If convicted on all counts, Carruth could face up
    to eight years in jail and an order to pay back full restitution to all named victims.
    According to an investigation conducted by the Los Angeles County Department
    of Consumer Affairs, victims met Carruth at bridal shows at the Los Angeles
    Convention Center, in Orange County or through referrals. Carruth then
    misrepresented the delivery, quantity, and quality of the photographs taken and
    delivered. On more than one occasion, Carruth promised to personally
    photograph a wedding, but instead sent an inexperienced substitute in his place.
    Victim’s complaints were often ignored or met with belligerence. Victims married
    as long ago as November 2003 are still waiting for photographs. In all, 42 victims
    paid Carruth nearly $125, 000 for photographs and photo products that were
    never delivered according to Consumer Affairs.
    Arraignment is scheduled for February 18 in Division 81 of Los Angeles Superior
    Court.
    ###
    From the Office of the City Attorney
    Carmen A. Trutanich

  • Do
      26th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hi. I'm not sure if this gets sent to your email addresses but I was just contacted by the La County Consumers Affairs Office and Alan Brent is being charged right now with Grand Theft. You can go to this web link to check it out. http://atty.lacity.org/NEWS/ssLINK/LACITYP_008778

    Contact Morine Merritt at the Consumer Affairs Dept. and she will tell you how to file a proper complaint about them. mmerritt@dca.lacounty.gov

    Hoping to get my pictures back from March 2005 wedding. Good luck everyone!

  • Mc
      3rd of May, 2011
    +1 Votes

    My husband and I were also victims of this man and his family. We paid nearly $4000 and only received 4x6 copies of our photos and nothing that was stated on our contract.

    I know the previous post states that he has been arraigned. PLEASE if anyone knows information of how we can also receive justice, we will trully appreciate it.

    Kinldy,
    Margarita
    margarita.chong@gmail.com

  • Vi
      11th of Aug, 2011
    0 Votes

    FYI - ALLEN BRENT IS GUILTY and being sentenced on Friday 08/12/2011 @ LA Superior Court, 210 West Temple, Los Angeles, CA (Department 130)
    I believe his daughter and wife are also guilty. He is getting 8 years in jail. We are all speaking to judge at the sentencing because he is throwing himself at the mercy of the court to get less time. I encourage all of you to be there.

Post your comment