Canadapets Ltd.No refund

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Nothing has changed with Canadapets and its questionable business practices. My recent experience confirms the lengthy record of customer dissatisfaction documented on this website. I placed an order (and paid for) an expensive product online. It took 5 days to receive an email confirming receipt of my order. But this same confirmation now advised that my item was on back-order and was "expected" to ship in 2 weeks. As the delay was unacceptable, I cancelled the order the next day, and Canadapets did immediately acknowledge the cancellation, but stated nothing about a refund. ... And then the Great Silence began! I patiently waited through 2 credit card billing cycles, but still no refund. So, I tried phoning ("... we value your business, it really does mean the world to us."), but it seems they value your free money even more, as I had no response to messages left. Canadapets appears to hide behind an answering service that is paid to answer all phone calls -- 24/7 -- so that it's impossible to speak to anyone connected with the operation. Likewise, emails go unanswered. Is this any way to run a real business? Do yourself a favour and avoid Canadapets like the plague.

Responses

  • Ne
    NEP Oct 18, 2014

    My complaint with the BBB only produced more empty promises and in the end BBB couldn't actually do anything to get my money back. However, I paid with VISA and they gave me my money back. I think you have 120 days to do that (but it might be more) and I was right at the limit. I waited because I thought it was getting sorted out. I recommend going to your credit card card company or pay pal. What a rotten company. I can't believe they can keep doing this again and again.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    JLD4838 Nov 28, 2013

    I'm dealing with the same thing. I ordered an electronic dog door and installation kit. They happily took my money on October 30, 2013. They are not responding to emails or returning phone messages. I have just put a complaint in with the BBB but not sure that will help. We chose this company because they were Canadian...so disappointed in this company. Very poor customer service. Products from China and the US come quicker. I've asked repeatedly for an update. I can wait if there is an issue but they have chosen to completely ignore me while taking my money.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Murray Ewart Sep 15, 2013

    This all sounds like a broken record, Iets just say I'm in the middle of it right now. Promised product, delayed order, canceled order and in the in the end no refund. Have written the BBB, Canadapets responds buy saying order was canceled and refund will be issued. This is after several e- mails on my part with Canadapets. Will check VISA statement on Monday to see if they have issued credit. If not, it will be time to call VISA and complain about one of their venders operating in bad faith. In the end, the next time I'm in BC Duncan will be a place to see. Hope they have good security!!

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flenders Sep 05, 2013

    I just went through a similar cycle of delivery promises, stocking problems, cancellation without refund and ignored voicemails/e-mails. This started May 31 and ended August 13. I finally did finally receive a credit to my Visa, but I had to post a BBB complaint and threaten legal action. There are 65 BBB complaints against these guys and I am sure there are plenty of potential buyers who just wrote off their money thinking it would be too difficult to fight. All I can say is 'Don't Give UpI" I think we need to contact their suppliers and bring them up to speed on these poor business practices.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trevarth Apr 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thanks for this suggestion Terence. I was considering doing just that, but first I contacted the Vancouver Island Better Business Bureau and registered my complaint with them. No surprise that CanadaPets isn't a member of the BBB. However the BBB complaint process is a good one and the refund appeared on my credit card statement about a week later. This was over 7 weeks after the cancellation of my original order! A considerable hassle to retrieve the money owed.
    Definitely a good plan to notify the company or companies that CanadaPets purports to represent though.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terence L. Youmans Apr 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had an issue with Canadapets with a delay on delivery and then not receiving a refund. I contacted the company who made the product and had very good immediate prompt response from Tritronics one of their suppliers. Once I made them aware of how they were being represented by Canadapets they contacted Canadapets and I received my refund the next day after 2 months of waiting for my order then refund after canceling the order. I would recommend you contact the manufacturer or distributor of the product you tried to buy and make them aware of Canadapets business practices.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Trevarth Mar 28, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had checked with this site before placing an order with this company. I ordered an electronic dog collar on January 22, 2013 (total cost including taxes and shipping $321.93). Weeks passed with no sign of my order (other than on my credit card bill), When I contacted the company to find out what was going on I received an e-mail saying that the product was currently out of stock and wouldn't be available till the end of February. Since their previous communication had promised a mailing date of February 11th, this struck me as unreliable and I e-mailed them to cancel the order and refund the $321.93. About a week later (February 25) I received an e-mail saying that my order had been cancelled as "per request". But so far NO REFUND has appeared on my credit card bills. Now the end of March 2013.
    I'm glad that I've kept careful records, but suspect that getting this problem resolved is going to take time and effort. This is very regrettable because I deliberately chose to do business with a Canadian company. I subsequently ordered the same product from a US company --price approximately the same and delivery in just over a week.

    1 Votes
  • Be
    beddyp Nov 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok...just received my MC statement and have gotten my refund. Eureeka!! So people, go to their Facebook page and message them...good luck. Oh yeah, something else...just got an email from them trying to bully me into removing my current posts on here and to desist from further postings...hmmmm.

    -1 Votes
  • Cd
    cdncb Nov 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Refund received today, November 23th.

    -1 Votes
  • Cd
    cdncb Nov 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, they said they would refund by end of week - no refund. Then they said by end of Friday - still no refund. This was a Debit transaction and should have been refunded the same day. We'll see if I have to sue them in small claims court.

    -1 Votes
  • Cd
    cdncb Nov 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess I should have checked this site before ordering. I have the same problem. Ordered October 15 - item was in stock. 2 weeks later no shipment, I e-mailed and received a note back stating beginning of November - November 8 - no item, I e-mailed again and received an e-mail back stating end of November. I requested a refund.
    INTERNET PURCHASE RECEIPT

    Order Date: 2012-10-15 3:50:54 PM
    Order Number: [protected]
    Bank Auth Number: 690459
    Order Total: 303.39 CAD

    Let's see it I get the refund - and yes I will go through a U.S. supplier - too bad the Canadian company is so shady.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beddyp Nov 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found their Facebook page, joined and messaged them the same thing I posted here. They did respond and I got an email saying they would be refunding my money...not gonna hold my breath but I'll keep you posted!

    -1 Votes
  • Bc
    BC_Danas Nov 01, 2012

    We placed an order August 19, 2012 and received an automated email confirming purchase. We had placed an order with them for a similar product in the spring, and received it with no problem. When nothing was heard or seen by October 13, 2012 I tried to make contact. Between then and October 25 I left multiple phone messages, sent several emails and filled out their online tracking form. I have still not received a single response. I just left a phone message, sent an email and filled out a tracking form requesting that the order be cancelled and our cc refunded. I can only hope this is done promptly so that we can purchase needed items elsewhere. It is the lack of contact that is completely unacceptable.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beddyp Oct 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am also trying to get someone to speak with me about an order I placed in August of 2012. Did not receive my order or any refund. I've emailed MANY times and was told I would get a refund...nothing! I've phoned MANY times and have yet to speak with anyone or have my calls returned after leaving messages and my info. Here it is again: Elizabeth Peters from Antigonish, Nova Scotia. [email protected] Please fix this mess and just give me my money back already!!!

    0 Votes
  • De
    derencoetzer Oct 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am happy to report that CanadaPets has eventually refunded me my money for never sending me my dog collar!! This has been going on since the 12th August! I will never do business with them again! As I said, I did however eventually get a refund!!

    -1 Votes
  • De
    derencoetzer Oct 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree!! Canadapets please feel free to contact me too regarding my order that you charged me for that I never received!!! Thieves!!

    0 Votes
  • CanadapetsLtd Jul 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ^ This product was delivered to "bigliss" on May 14th, 2012 per Canada Post tracking software. If you have any questions on availability of products or our services at any time, please email Customer Care at: [email protected] 100% Canadian, since 1997.

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    bigliss May 08, 2012

    Funny but almost the same thing happened to me.
    After ordering a 149 dollar bark collar and inquiring several times over the next 2 months I was told it was backordered.
    I waited the two week period, inquired again and was told it would ship the next week.
    Again no collar. It was suggested i order another collar that was in stock. I agreed, they told me it would ship the following monday.
    I recieved no confirmation so emailed again and was told that collar was also out of stock and they had another they could send.
    It would have been easier to cancel the order but the charge had already gone thru my credit card and I didn't feel like trying to get a refund from at this point seemed to be a suspicious company.
    So i agreed for them to send the third collar. This collar was listed as 129 on one of their pages and 149 on another.
    I emailed to ask about them crediting the 20 dollar difference. They emailed back saying I must have been looking at an outdated page. REALLY!!! Obviously they haven't heard of the customer recieving the lowest advertised price if the business is in error .
    Sure I mean the world to them lol.
    I also tried calling them to speak to someone to iron everything out. Turns out they only have an answering service. She told me a "Mark" would get my message and call me back that day. It's been 9 days and still no call from "Mark" Guess he's on an extended holiday or lunch break?
    So I still have no collar and I continue to play cat and mouse with this PATHETIC excuse for a company.
    AVOID PURCHASING FROM THESE PEOPLE!!!
    I'M ASHAMED THEY ADVERTISE BEING CANADIAN
    signed Lise Boire
    [email protected] PLEASE DO CONTACT ME CANADAPETS...I'D BE HAPPY TO FINALLY SPEAK TO SOMEONE

    -1 Votes
  • CanadapetsLtd Feb 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have tried repeatedly to contact the author of the above post only to find them to be unsurprisingly "anonymous". We have also contacted the host / owner of this blog-site to attempt to contact them also without success. As we have no record of any order ever existing here, we feel this to be another "anonymous" or "poisoned" post intended solely to slander, taint and misinform. If you have any questions on availability of products or our services at any time, please email Customer Care at: [email protected] 100% Canadian, since 1997.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.