The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Bigos ManagementBad experience

T

I am another rent paying good tenant of the Bigo's Management Companys property Park Towers in Saint Louis Park, MN. I have never been late on a rent payment and even recently renewed my lease on my apartment. The apartment is in a great location relative to where my work is, they even do a great job and quickly responding to work orders submitted. But there is one huge problem; they have some deal worked out with Bobby and Steve's towing service company to make them extra cash.

Last night after paying a visit to my parents, my dad decided to take off some of the stickers from my car. He asked witch one I needed for my lot, I was 90% sure it was the big orange sticker. However it turned out to be the little circle blue one Easy mistake to make as the apartment has changed the sticker recently so even though the orange one was good about one month ago the blue one was actually the correct one. I had the old sticker on there and not the new... So I got towed.

I woke up early Monday morning after only having my car parked there for about 11 hours over night from 8pm-7am (with the old sticker in my window and please note that Park towers DOES keep a record of all of their tenants license plates as well). My car was gone. Bobby and Steves said they check the lot 4-5 times a day!! Crazy, and I know they are just doing what their told... But thats ridiculous for a parking lot that has plentttyyy of space and is never ever full or in a busy location. We're located in a neighborhood area, not down town or in a highly populated area that should have those types of concerns. I can understand monitoring it on a weekly basis, checking once or twice or even 4 times a week, but 4-5 times daily seems obsessive.

All in all I blame this on Park Towers. I've spoken to many people about this since it happened. Most apartments who keep records of license plates provide these records to the towing company so if they don't see a sticker before towing they can double check to see if it is actually a tenant. They have these records but are not providing the towing company with them. This leads too many unhappy tenants (as you can see I'm not the first person upset to report this and I know many probably just haven't reported it but are upset as well). This simple measure of providing that list to this company would resolve so many issues and keep happy tenants. However, Bigos is in it for the money and they must have some special deal to help out Bobby and Steves because this is just ridiculous. No as Ive signed some sheet that said I'd have that sticker on there they are not even willing to consider helping a good tenant with the fees either. I'm out 225 dollars (paid in cash only!) because I was not positive what was the newer sticker (even though the old one was still for this same apartment and they know thats my car).

Please post if you have had similar experiences. Lets as loyal law abiding consumers attempt to change Bigo's procedures for our sake!

Responses

  • We
    Weeping at Willow Creek Oct 14, 2016

    I've lived here less than a year and I just got notice slipped under my door that rent is going up $75, that is a 14% increase. Will that happen every year I renew my lease?

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lowend1hz Jun 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can't give them 0 stars, unfortunately. There was a fire in our building on June 3rd, 2016. When other residents were being told to meet in the community room on the property (Beach South at the Lake), Bigos left my wife and I out in the cold...literally. We started walking around to try finding a blanket and after a while ran into a local police officer who told us that residents were gathering in the community room. Since then our life has been hell, and not just because some idiot didn't know how to put out a cigarette. We were told the day after the fire that our rent would be pro-rated that month because we had already paid - after being told the morning of the fire that no rent would be collected - and that we would be kept up-to-date on the status of things (e.g., whether we could access our salvageable property in our apartment).

    We tried to be understanding, realizing that there would need to be a fair amount of coordination, but on Tuesday I thought sufficient time had passed without an update; this was especially the case given how they ignored us the morning of the fire. I spoke with Noah at Beach South at the Lake's leasing office who told me no one would get access to the building and that the building was going to be demolished the following Monday and that everything on our unit was completely destroyed (in fact everyone from Bigos had told us everything we owned was completely destroyed by the fire). After pushing, I was told we would get a call back later in the day from someone else. That call never came. So, I sent the corporate office an email to the only published email address ([email protected]) explaining how the lack of communications and telling customers they would receive communications when they wouldn't was unacceptable. The next day someone else called my wife. He told her residents would be allowed in the building, but access to our unit may/may not be possible given the damage. My wife contacted me and we chose the time when we would go to the property to salvage our belongings, that Friday (June 10th) at Noon; we figured that would give us the most light and would make it easiest for us to safely move around the debris, locate specific items in the two least affected rooms, and exit as efficiently as possible.

    That Friday we arrived, ready to rescue what ever we possibly could and as we made it to the fence we were turned away and told we would not be allowed access to the building at all. We pressed for additional information, and were told that the decision had been made a day earlier but had not been communicated to any staff on site until the morning of. I guess even a call is too much to ask from Bigos? We explained that at the very least we needed photographs of the unit to provide to our renters insurance company and were told that any photos would be shared with us. That afternoon we did receive some photographs, but one of them clearly showed that some of our property was barely damaged. These items were in rooms that were furthest from the source of the fire. Naturally we wondered why we were being told everything was completely destroyed if that clearly was not the case and tried contact Bigos again, and again, and again, with no response. Even when the staff on site tried to assist us with getting information and answers the staff at Bigos's HQ were completely unresponsive.

    We sent them a Notice of Property Confiscation form letter over the weekend which they've completely ignored to date (no response/acknowledgement has been provided) and are continuing to deny us access to our property and provide us with misinformation (sometimes purposefully it seems). I would highly recommend everyone to avoid dealing with this company like the plague. #BigosGiveMeMyProperty

    0 Votes
  • 7j
    7Jane8 Apr 15, 2016

    I lived in a Bigos management property for one year. The building was kept acceptably clean and maintained. Beyond that, I have nothing good to say about Bigos beginning with the high turnover of staff in the property management office. In the year I was there, three different property managers handled my account. Of those, one was decent. The head property manager was very difficult to deal with and could be quite unreasonable. She did things that were unethical, it not illegal. The apartment was noisy because of neighbors and plumbing issues. I was told nothing could be done about the plumbing issue so I frequently heard knocking PVC pipes in my apartment. In addition, window and sliding glass doors froze shut in the winter when the temperature dropped below 10 degrees. The apartment was poorly ventilated and very stuffy year round. If you plan on renting from Bigos, I recommend you comparison shop. Their apartments may be less expensive than others but there is a reason.

    1 Votes
  • Sw
    Swetha05 Jul 10, 2015

    I have been renting with Willow Creek apartments in Plymouth for the past 4 years I never had such an experience and today is the first day I had to face this kind of a situation and I am really not happy about it. I park my car outside during the summers and the management issued a notice couple days back to empty the parking lot for cleaning purpose. When they send notices about these important things instead of just sliding the notices through the door, I would have appreciated if they have it posted on the doors and in the elevators too. I am not home during the day and my husband is not home during the day and we have a puppy left in the house . As soon as they slide IN the notice the puppy tore it into peices and neitherof us got a chance to read the notice. Today my car is towed for no reason and I had to pay $265 unecessarily.

    My only concern here is if they think they are going to take the issue this seriously that they will tow the cars why din't they post the notice on the doors and in public places? sliding notices through the door is not at all a good option specially when people are not home. It feels horrible to me to pay $265 and it's not a small amount to pay. Please try to improve your method of communicating important things to the residents.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Qualified Candidate Dec 30, 2014

    Thank you for posting these complaints about this Management. I have been trying to get an interview with them for at least 3 years. I have worked in the housing field since 1992 and I am sure my skills, experience and overall attitude and personality helps me to understand why I haven't been chosen as a favorable candidate. One thing for sure, I am not insensitive; I always have shown people the upmost consideration about their issues while renting. I believe that all people deserve respect which is something that can be given easily even if you don't like what they do or how they are. People are plain disrespectful and haters for no damn reason. I am extremely glad that this bunch of racist idiots passed me by. I know I will have a much better career ahead of me, thanks Bigos Management, y'all did me a favor.

    1 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy paying resident Oct 17, 2011

    Same thing happened to me over in Savage... was told that this is an ongoing problem. That paying residents are getting their cars towed. They patrol the parking lot like their police officers, I see them sit and wait for hours. Sticker or not they have a LIST of resident plates. Who do they think they are? Their not police at least cops would leave my damn car alone when its in a parking lot. $215 cash only! We have had nothing but problems since we moved in! I received a lease violation because some kids were in the pool after hours. The tow truck company South Side gave a description that apparently I looked like one of them. (why would the tow company give a rats a**?) Front office stated that they can harass me and write anything that they want, when ever they feel like it! So they put the blame on me for it. I have NEVER been in trouble with the law! I'v done plenty of stupid things, but TRESPASSING is not one of them!! They have accused me of having animals in my apt. the list doesn't stop here. The maintenance man has come into my apt on two different occasions while I was taking a shower. I know he has a job to do. There is an obvious reason I can't come to the door, you don't barge into someones home. Our neighbors upstairs are having problems also they gave there notice to be leaving, the front office clammed they NEVER received it, wouldn't let them leave and they had to sign another lease while they jacked their rent to $900 per month. It is PURE harassment, I don't know what kind of power trip they are on at the Hidden Valley Estates! Bigos Management! It needs to stop!!
    Sincerely
    Unhappy Paying Resident

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    MR. HANKY Oct 08, 2011

    I just moved into charming Beach South. Only took it because a condo deal fell through and a really nice employee named Louie talked me into it. Well, 35 days later, I'm ready to jump off my empty balcony. Apparently a very expensive bike is "not wanted" on the balcony and a "breach of the lease" but a "Sponge Bob and/or "Beer chairs" which are chintzy and have a bottle holder...those are A=okay!!!I am a woman and I stilll believe that most women are the worst managers . I haven't seen where the charming Tami B. atttended grad school for her MBA, because any normal manager would have been fired for treating tenants like employees. See - she doesn't get that we pay her salary!!! . Has hollered at me twice; once for writing all over my move-in sheet and for "writing that we have pot holes; I said, "well, my movers and I tripped in them, so you'll figure it out soon when you get the medical bills ding/dong. I said "If I were you, I would want to get it repaired pronto. - duh- I want my security deposit back and yes, I am detail oriented. Then, the guy I try to speak to tries to help me - and she always stands cowering over me - and she interrupts to "set me straight". See, she's in charge, and the men in the office are her boys. I have a cool new car - does not fit into the garage. Normal landlords during my 25 years or more of renting would want to satisfy me - god no. She says "that's your problem". It goes with the lease. Then I call the city of Robbinsdale ; seems like they came out. I am not showering in pooh anymore. Whole place smells like pooh. You can't drink the water. Can't use the garage. No water in pool. Mr. Hanky desperately wants to live, via my toilet. Carlos is sent to do one thing. Way to be proactive! Then, he checks "Stove -yes. Dishwasher motor - yes. Screen door. Yes.". Yes, what dingleberry jones? They all need to be repaired [censored]!!! After I have checked over 25 repairs Way to be proactive and client friendly. Way to care for your valuable tenants. I as double checking, as I strongly suspect over 1/2 of the people turn around and sublet their piece of ###. Pergo floors my ###. Relax on a balcony?? How? The lazy bums won't walk their [censored]ted kids to the park. So, the kids run back and forth . On a 6 x 6 foot strip. Maybe they are preparing for their future in prison. Kind of like "the yard". They're all walking in formation. I blame the parents. Wherever they are????? The fathers? Mommy and Daddy ever get married? Any of you related the normal way? Geeez. . Then one her male employees whines "Oh, lady, I had to spend the whole day writing maintenance orders". Meaning? What? You filing WC claim baby? Have hand palsy. Doesn't anyone want to do their freaking job anymore??Lazy bums. Oh, their "wiener party...what a great success..." All of the tenants who liked them showed up (three people). This was after the city put the street back together - and blew all the sewer and water lines. Yeah!!! Let's eat wienies. I told the broad in the office to choke on the ones I bought her with my hard earned money. I am fairly sure this is how she keeps her employment anyway. Had water. walked away from freak show. This dump is worth 1/2 the cost. I lived in Brooklyn Park's Huntington Place for 15 plus yrs on/off and at least everything is out in the open. Yes. some people there are marginal, some great long timers. Like me. Saved enough money to buy a car, pay for grad school, etc; Just worked all day, went to grad school, and only slept there or swam in their gorgeous pool. Kept trim. I've had more problems here in 35 days than at Huntington Place. And, I am a psychologist. If they treat me poorly...please. Do not rent here. Strongly suspect that most people sublet their "piece of beach paradise" to a clod who does not qualify the normal way. Drive down 46th. Just what I want my grandmother to see. Grown men with their butts hanging out doing nothing all day, strollling around using drugs. And getting young girls knocked up. Terrific.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim Aug 03, 2009

    I am another rent paying good tenant of the Bigo's Management Companys property Park Towers in Saint Louis Park, MN. I have never been late on a rent payment and even recently renewed my lease on my apartment. The apartment is in a great location relative to where my work is, they even do a great job and quickly responding to work orders submitted. But there is one huge problem; they have some deal worked out with Bobby and Steve's towing service company to make them extra cash.

    Last night after paying a visit to my parents, my dad decided to take off some of the stickers from my car. He asked witch one I needed for my lot, I was 90% sure it was the big orange sticker. However it turned out to be the little circle blue one Easy mistake to make as the apartment has changed the sticker recently so even though the orange one was good about one month ago the blue one was actually the correct one. I had the old sticker on there and not the new... So I got towed.

    I woke up early Monday morning after only having my car parked there for about 11 hours over night from 8pm-7am (with the old sticker in my window and please note that Park towers DOES keep a record of all of their tenants license plates as well). My car was gone. Bobby and Steves said they check the lot 4-5 times a day!! Crazy, and I know they are just doing what their told... But thats ridiculous for a parking lot that has plentttyyy of space and is never ever full or in a busy location. We're located in a neighborhood area, not down town or in a highly populated area that should have those types of concerns. I can understand monitoring it on a weekly basis, checking once or twice or even 4 times a week, but 4-5 times daily seems obsessive.

    All in all I blame this on Park Towers. I've spoken to many people about this since it happened. Most apartments who keep records of license plates provide these records to the towing company so if they don't see a sticker before towing they can double check to see if it is actually a tenant. They have these records but are not providing the towing company with them. This leads too many unhappy tenants (as you can see I'm not the first person upset to report this and I know many probably just haven't reported it but are upset as well). This simple measure of providing that list to this company would resolve so many issues and keep happy tenants. However, Bigos is in it for the money and they must have some special deal to help out Bobby and Steves because this is just ridiculous. No as Ive signed some sheet that said I'd have that sticker on there they are not even willing to consider helping a good tenant with the fees either. I'm out 225 dollars (paid in cash only!) because I was not positive what was the newer sticker (even though the old one was still for this same apartment and they know thats my car).

    Please post if you have had similar experiences. Lets as loyal law abiding consumers attempt to change Bigo's procedures for our sake!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.