Subscriber Services Inc.Fraudulent magazine subscriptions, harassing phone calls!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Using fraudulent and deceptive business practices, this company subscribed numerous magazine subscriptions in the name of my son. My wife and I are now being subjected to around-the-clock harassing and abusive phone calls regarding amounts allegedly owed by my son to your company. We are appalled by the unethical and unprofessional behavior of this organization and it representatives.

Responses

  • Sa
    Sara Wagner Mar 18, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please, i just want them to STOP sending me the magazines. I did not want them.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angela MD Mar 05, 2015

    I wish I read these before all of this started, but I think at the beginning they don't really mention their name.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trim_ted Feb 06, 2015

    I worked for these guys. t's really not that we're being deceptive.. it's just that you guys gave away all that personal information in the first place one way or another. You're suckers who were clearly going to end up losing your money anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    Pupsmuhguffs Mar 04, 2014

    I just cancelled my services via talking to them about not having the full recording and I already talked to my bank about sending in a dispute and they said they could do that but if they have recorded proof you willingly acknowledged to pay that all money returned to me would then be taking back . I then called this so called company and just simply told them that I cancelled my account where they were taking way more money than agreed, and that the "recording" they had was not a full recording cause the first time I ever talked to them the girl said I could cancel at any time . She then placed me on hold and came back with " I'm sorry with any Inconvience an I would be happy to resolve this with you by canceling any more subscriptions going out and you will still get the magazines owed to you " and yadda yadda but. She then said I have no remaining balance with them, I wrote down the confirmation. # . This is such a screwy company... Oh you can't cancel you can't cancel an then push the issue a little more and boom!! Cancelled. Best of luck to. The remaining hard working people who just like my self was scammed :/

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Goji Sep 17, 2013

    I am not sure how this company got my personal cell phone number or knew my name and address when they called me to begin with. The best I can figure out, I must have submitted my info on an online site like the McDonald's Monopoly game or something and they got it from there. I was told I'd won a $1000 Visa gift card, and to be honest, I had entered a few online contests, so I believed it. The guy on the phone made the offer for the magazine subscriptions and said if I wanted to claim my prize, they needed to try and sell subscriptions too. Sounded like an 18-year-old kid or something so I got suckered in. I have been in retail before and know sometimes they just gotta make a sale. Immediately after I got off the phone with him I looked up "General Subscription Services" on Google and it brought me here. So I called my bank and canceled the card with the number I gave them. A few weeks went by and no gift card or magazines ever came, as expected, but at least I had changed my bank card number so they couldn't take my money any more after that first month subscription. Last week, I got a paper bill from them in an envelope for some insane amount like $600.

    Now all of a sudden magazines are being delivered.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Devin C-T Jul 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just like everyone else on here I too was swindled by this company. Told that I was getting a mailed in $250 walmart gift card that could be used immediately. Was told that I was being charged $17.27 a month, failed to mention that I would be charged continuously without the possibility of canceling for the next 60 months!! Your kidding right? Im a 20 year old college student who is broke as hell. I barely have enough money to eat let alone $1000 to pay for magazines. I tried calling in and they told me some story about already paying for it and that I am stuck into paying $17.27 a month, OH BUT WAIT!! Instead of $1000 total what i can do for you today since your a preferred customer is lower the price to $900. GEE THANKS. Id rather inform BBB CO. and pray that I get out of this subscription. This is why I hate society today, just picking on the little guy. PLEASE if anyone finds a way to get out of this subscription, or if anyone makes any progress toward thwarting these subscription scammers PLEASE let me know!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sauterl Jul 02, 2013

    I had the same problem as many of you! For me to be able to cancel the free subscription I was to receive I had to pay $118. I think this company should be closed down by the BBB. I believe that this company is scamming people and tricking them into something that they don't need or want.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peterjohn Mar 08, 2013

    Can you help me about this subscription how can i get my money back they take $415.i dont know what should i do.i like to cry but it cant help me. Im staying here in state for almost 10mons.and im not fluent to speak english. Im 21 years of age and im working in the field . I never know this subscription is a contarct then when i call them for cancelling my subcription they dont like to cancel cause they said its a 5 years contract and my balance is $1059. I said i lose my job cause im only part time then she said that they going to wait until i got another job, i dont know what to say, i repeat my request to cancel it the lady said she will lower my bill, then i ask her what if i cant pay that its to expenssive then she said that its getting more expensive if you cant pay.because i get afraid of what she said i agreed that she lower my bill and pay the $415 to closed my subscription. I cant sleep cause im thinking of my money they get, i am only innocent boy working in the cornfield to earn money for my schooling. Can you help me what things should i do to get my money back. Please email me here [email protected] .

    0 Votes
  • Kt
    ktran286 Dec 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, I'm only 19 year old and I got trick into this. I keep getting phone calls and texts saying I won a free $250 walmart voucher. And I fell for it because first he said I only had to pay for two month or three months worth of magazines, so I agreed. Then he said I will receive a phone call from a different department. After already paying $35 dollar for the two months, a lady called me. She said I can't cancel my payments, after I already paid for two months. A few days later, I filed a complaint to the company, and the lady that I talk to "the manger" said she going to give me a student discount, so instead of payment of $700, I just have to pay $400. But for me that is still alot, I don't work or anything so its hard..I just feel I need to pay this much for magazines. The company gave me a $250 voucher, but the down size was I HAVE to spend $100 each time to only received back $25... I don't even have that much to spend ! They did not include this in any of the conversation either! I just feel trapped because they said they recorded all the conversation and that I agree to this... But if I knew there was no cancellation, I would never signed up! So is there any advice ?

    0 Votes
  • Am
    America can't spell Nov 27, 2012

    ANYONE that claims to be a satisfied customer is either lying...or an idiot. Paying THAT much for magazines is like news stand price! Subscribe directly from the magazine!!! These people are in business to make money!! You think they are going to give you free stuff AND a good price on magazines??? The schools do a yearly magazine drive too? At least with them ...you get what you ordered and at half off cover price. Or how about the fact that magazines are a thing of the past? Read them for free on your tablet!

    0 Votes
  • Oc
    ocgerl13 Oct 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my boyfriend was just talked into getting these magazines also. after nearly 30 minutes of saying he didnt want them he finally gave in. now they have taken 3 payments from us in 1 month. this is total b.s. has anyone actually gotten there money back from these people? and one of the other posts said something about cancelling your debit/credit card, as well as changing banks. is that necessary? i hate when these people harrass you to death and then you have no way out after the fact... i want to sue them. any responses would be greateful. thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randis Jul 27, 2012

    I had a problem with this magazine service - especially after the "customer service" rep yelled, threaten me with legal issues, and left me on hold of 10+ mins so I couldn't speak with a manager. I went to the BBB in Colorado and filed a complaint. They have cancelled my "membership" and block ALL my information from their systems. That is my advice for everyone. Go to the BBB in Colorado (you can do this online) and file a complaint! Horrible business practices!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katiesue Jul 20, 2012

    OKAY! So I got a call MANY months ago from someone saying that I had won a free diamond watch as long as I paid for the magazines, at first I was like no way I am not doing this and then the guy kept trying to get me to do it and I agreed. I did not give any of my personal information though because I knew in fact that I didn't want to pay the 24.95 a month for my three magazines. I got another call a couple weeks later from another gentlemen saying that he was going to lower the price down to 12.95 and I get another magazine but I just have to give him my credit card. He never EVER told me I was not going to be able to cancel then now I have just started to receive magazines and I do not want them. When I called the 1 800 number to cancel they were SO rude and actually transferred me to 3 different managers. She told me that all the salesmen read off a script so theres no way he couldn't have told me that. I'm sorry I would have remembered something as little as not being able to cancel a magazine. I asked for a supervisor and they don't have one! I asked for a CEO and the lady laughed at me.. she told me there is a owner but there is no way he will be willing to take my call. there is also a head manager but she won't take my call either. So now I have to deal with these high school dropouts who just yell at me and I am sick and tired of it. I told her I was going to cancel my credit card and she told me I'd just get a bill of $300 in the mail!!! I am about to explode. I do not want these stupid magazines and whatever happened to my diamond watch? I am so frustrated I am about to just cancel my card and not pay them. they don't deserve my money.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angie Hall Jun 05, 2012

    I agree with the comments I have read. I myself fell for this SCAM. With five children of my own to support, the $53.00 a month is ridiculous. I will have paid over $600.00 in one year for magazines. To top it off, I never got my $100 gift card that I was trying to get in the first place. Such a rip-off company. You people should be ashamed of yourselves. You are taking money from hardworking people. Not only that, you give us no way out. If I have read our constitution correctly, this company is not founded on the rules of our government and should be forced to close.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle teter May 24, 2012

    I do not want your dam magazines stop sending and quit billing!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    CMDegeare Apr 09, 2012

    I too order these magazines an was then entrapped into another contract under them. I received a call stating they were trying to make billing easier an putting 3 to 6 months together in one payment. Then they still charged me 34 for the original contract. When I called them they told me I had signed up for another contract I went off. Asking them who is doing their billing for them that they let someone sign someone up for 2 different subscriptions. I was lied to about the lumping the payments an instead was set up w/ 2 different accounts. Being told they canceled the 2nd account an that I would be reimbursed I left it be. Now, I am still waiting on the 64 something they took to be reimbursed while they continue to take their 34 every month.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    victort1991 Mar 04, 2012

    Go to donotcall.gov and report them to the ftc and to the national do not call registry. Let's all put these guys out of business or file a class action lawsuit

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    victort1991 Mar 03, 2012

    They told me I would get a 100 dollar gift card which I was not ever able to use and also the stated they would send me all this free stuff and told.me exactly what to say during the pre recorded call ... They failed on their part of the bargain by sin sending my 100 dollars and they lied by stating they would send all this free stuff...this is a violation of the fcc and I refuse to pay

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    ECMC73 Feb 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ATTN: DISPUTE THE CHARGE(S) WITH YOUR BANK, PEOPLE, THAT'S ALL YOU HAVE TO DO!!!

    CUSTOMER SRVC # FOR THIS COMPANY IS [protected])

    THEY WILL TAKE CARE OF ANY ISSUES, THEY HELPED ME!

    DO NOT PAY THIS COMPANY ANY MONEY...YOU DON'T HAVE TO!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Hyland Feb 09, 2012

    THREATEN TO CALL YOUR STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL -WORKED FOR ME!

    They just called me saying my credit was now bad because of the payments I missed, which I knew was a lie (they were just trying to scare me into paying them) because I canceled my bank account right after I signed up and after I called them saying I wanted this canceled, the lady said it would be canceled the following Monday. Anyways, after 45 minutes of dealing with an argumentative customer service person who put me on hold about 4 times and then finally directed me to the manager who was extremely unprofessional ..I laid my foot down and said I'm not discussing this anymore either cancel my account or I'll contact the attorney general or better business bureau and you can deal with them. He then gave me a cancellation number w/ his name, extension and a number to call tomorrow to make sure it's canceled. GOOD LUCK! And just don't give in no matter how many excuses they give. BE FIRM. Best of luck (:

    0 Votes
  • So
    Soup to nuts Dec 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The actual address is:
    Subscriber Services Intl. Inc. 6664 Wadsworth Blvd Arvada, Colorado [protected]. They told me that there is a 7 day period to cancel the subscriptions and they were cancelled today. They took $54 out a week ago and I closed the bank account the next day. They didn't like the fact that I wanted to come in and cancel this in person. Too bad I only live about 25 minutes away. It took several calls to get this crap cancelled. Now I plan to handle them my way.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    underwearavenger Dec 19, 2011

    These people are a pathetic scam. I got a bill in the mail so immediately called it. It took them a week to get back to me and then the woman I talked to constantly talked over me and wouldn't listen to what I had to say. When I finally got her to shut up long enough to tell her I wasn't paying for this she put on the supposed recording of my confirmation of order. The recording was so poor that if that was me on the phone I sounded like John Wayne. Then the lady gets back on the phone and says that it was me on the phone and that I have a "very distinct voice" and there was no dount in her mind that it was me on the recording. Then I ask her if I did sign up for this BS service then where is my $1000 shopping spree that was promised me in the recording. Or the crappy magazines I supposedly ordered in the first place. I was told they must've gotten lost in the mail and she would resend them. I told her to not bother and just cancel the whole thing. Of course she couldn't do that and then started talking over me again until I threatened to lawyer up. Then she said to do what I thought I had to do and promised to send out that lost shopping spree and hung up on me. DEFINITE SCAM and if not a scam then very very very poor business practices. How come the Better Business Bureau hasn't caught on to these people yet?

    0 Votes
  • Iq
    iQuit-SSI Dec 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    *DISCLAIMER* I was temporarily employed by this company, Subscriber Services INC. I had worked in Sales and briefly in Collections. I am sorry I had ever worked for this company, and I hope the few sales I did make, did not cause anyone stress. I always did my best to be sure the customer knew the details of the sale.

    From what was explained to me, if you have NOT made a payment to them you MUST request 3 Times that you wish the service canceled. The collections agent will tell you that you cannot, that they have recorded you agreeing to the purchase, ignore them and repeat you want it canceled. Be sure to record the time you called or spoke with the agent, their name, and the cancellation number. But then also request to speak with a manager and record their name, the time, and confirm the cancellation number.

    You can never be to careful with this company. The sales agents I saw Lied many times to people on the phone. I was lied to many times in my interview and throughout my employment. While this company does not necessarily do anything illegal, they do practice a lot of deception and do not care for their customers beyond the subscriber count.

    And people, please. Realize that there is nothing for free. Do Not respond to offers for free gift vouchers and other crap. In order to get them, you have to go through their sales pitch and if you don't buy into the sale, then you get squat. Is $100 now really worth $1000 over 5 years?

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeannie007 Nov 08, 2011

    I canceled a magazine that was automatically renewed. I no longer got the magazine but also was never given credit for the magazine I canceled. So I paid for the magazine I didn't get. Now I have renewed Southern Living and Cooking Light for me and my 2 daughters. Got gift cards in the mail for Southern Living twice but not for Cooking Light. Trying to get that straightened out. NEVER GIVE THEM A CREDIT CARD NUMBER!!! They will continue to charge you year after year even if you cancel your subscription. I had to cancel my credit card!

    0 Votes
  • 06
    0607 Oct 25, 2011

    i ha ve a problem whit that ppl right now they are trying to take me to court for like $400.00 that I dont have they say I order magazzines but I cant even get a hold a them to talk about it and if nothing else just so they can cancel the suscripcion they say i have if someoe has a # for them pleasse post it

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr.Mcnasty Oct 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I worked for this company for years as a verifier of mag sales. I was the one legally binding people to the "un cancellable" service. They claim the buy your subscription from the publishers at todays price so as mag prices rise yours do not because they pre paid the entire 3-5 yr. service.. Which is false. We were told if in he verification they say cancel 3 times to cancel. but after you agree to terms and conditions of the 5 yr. 1200 dollar mag sub. on recording your legally binded to said contract. ITS A JOKE!!! I got wrote up for canceling a 90 year old womens acct because she didnt know her own b-day let alone she just gave her cc info to be billed monthly for 79.99 for a 5 yr. subscription. I left the company due to the horrible un ethical way they conduct buisiness. NEVER AGREE TO ANYTHING THATS RECORDED.. It legally binds you the same as a written contract in colorado at least where sub. services operates

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sand Springs, OK Oct 09, 2011

    We never asked for the magazines, we aren't even remotely interested in these magazines, we don't want these magazines. These aren't even good for making compost. Yet they keep sending us bill after bill. I've written CANCEL on the bills and mailed them back, I've put a magic marker on my mailbox and asked my mailman to return to sender all the magazines. Nothing stops them! Now they are sending me letters saying they are going to turn the accounts over to a collection agency. I've filed with the Federal Fraud complaint board, the OK BBB, the police department fraud complaint department. Thank goodness they don't have any phone numbers for us. Our police department told us that the door to door salesmen (the deadbeat ### that are too lazy to get a real job...) just submit the phony subscriptions and get paid for them. Then it's up to us to figure out how to get it all to stop.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beverly williams Oct 07, 2011

    I am receiving calls at all hours of the night for magizines I have not received yet. I tell them this and I get all types of attitudes and smart remarks. I am tired of this. I'm goin to need someone to do something about this. Because this has going on for to long now.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs.Mad Sep 28, 2011

    well I'll give you an update. We call the attorney at Law( Melody K. Brown / Great Falls MT) they told me they can't do anything except collect the money we owe so they suggested to call the company so we did. . First time we call We asked the lady to play the tape but she said her boss isn't letting her to do that. 2nd time we call the person said our account has been moved to the collection agency so they cant do anything so they can't platy the tape. their Lawyer also can't play the tape, they can't play the tape which is BS. the Lawyer told us their is a chance for the lawsuit or 20% off from what we owe to the company and be done with it. we decided to take the offer unfortunately. price was $618 after 20% off( we paid about $65*3 month before we find out they're scamming us). Deal is pay half now and pay the rest of them next month. I rather pay to our lawyer to pay $600 but thinking about what If we lost and cost of lawyer's fee and all that...this is very unfortunate some people rip off or scam other people. well we learned never to arrange something on the phone. I am still mad but I'm glad this is over now. (hopefully) btw they told us our contract was 15month payment for 5yr contract. OUR contract was 4month for 1yr.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs.Mad Sep 27, 2011

    My husband got a call from this company and agree to pay about $65 .4 month we pay $65 and rest of the year(1year contract) we dont need to pay. That was the agreement. ( lady on the phone told him he cant cancel after he agreed with contract) when we paid about 3 month they told me we owe them about $700! so we stop paying( he lost his card so automatically it was stopped).they send us a lots of magazine we didnt even order. we gets 'LATINA" even though we're not. they kept calling us a few month and It suddenly stopped. we thought they finally gave up. Nope! we got 2 letters from collection agency that we owe $337.35. a week after the 2nd letter came we got a letter from Attorney at Law. My husband should done something long time ago but he didnt so this is what happened. He's gonna call the attorney tomorrow we'll see what happens. I'll let you know.

    0 Votes
  • No
    norespect Jun 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is no question that this is a scam. Called my elderly father in law and got to sign up for five years worth of subscriptions and to mags that he has no interest in. Tried to cancel and they said that they could not because the order was placed with the publisher company and could not be stopped. But for 283 dollars they could reduce today for two years. Now if they could reduce the subscription from 5 yrs to 2 yrs there are ways to change things with the publisher. They have his CC and are billing it and have charged up 95 dollars . So for 2 yr subscription for 8 mags it would cost 378 dollars. You could go to the local store and buy them cheeper . And to advantage of the elderly gets my dander really up. They did know his age because they had his birthday.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    dusty07 Jun 18, 2011

    The same thing has happen to my sister they are a scam company. I will call the company and the BBB and the State Attourty General and News station and get them put in jail they pray on older people. I hate how we struggle to live and the people keep on what there doing and why!!!Please call and share this with everyone you know, so it doesn't happen to anyone else.. good luck.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    SatisfiedCustomer2 Jun 17, 2011

    I have an account with this company. Actually I have multiple accounts and have been with them since 2006. I have never had any of the problems I am reading on here. So in order to test my theory that the only people complaining on here are the ones that just don't want to own up to what they agreed to I contacted them and told them the same stuff that you all have been telling them. This is exactly what happened to me:
    1. I was explained my order from the day that I first placed it. I then told them I still didn't believe them.

    2. They then proceeded to play back the recording of me agreeing to the orders. In each and every recording (I have multiple ones since I have several accounts with them) they are worded the exact same way and in each one I have agreed to everything that they told me I agreed to in the beginning.
    There was a time that my magazines were messed up and I was getting magazines I did NOT order. When I asked about that I was told that they were free from the publishers. I have yet to receive a bill and they have not lied to me about anything else so I am guessing that this is true.
    3. I mentioned the Better Business Bureau with them and said that I had seen multiple complaints online about them and didn't feel comfortable. The lady that I spoke with said that every company out there is going to have complaints. She asked what my favorite store was (Target) and asked me to look them up. So I did and low and behold there was more complaints for the Target in my area then there was for this company. She told me that they had over 80, 000 customers and had less than a 1% complaint rate. I did the math with the complaints online and have found out that what she said is true.
    The person on here under the name "helpful hinter" has said some things that have made perfect sense. I do not agree with the tone in which what they have said their views, but I agree with the majority of what was said there.
    My only advice to anyone on here is this. I have been a customer of theirs for five years now. They have not done anything to me that has even felt remotely like a scam. When I want to change my magazines, they let me do so without raising my rates, they were very helpful when I moved to make sure that I did not lose out on any of the issues that I have paid for, and they are always courteous on the phone. I would say that if you do not want to be paying for something in the future, do not agree to it. There is a saying out there for most of the people I am reading about on here, that saying is "you pay for your mistakes" It is not this company's fault that you are not a person of your word, and that you feel that you should let this company send you out product and that you don't need to pay for it. I sincerely hope that people take what I am saying to heart because I have had great service and will continue to be a customer with this company and would hate to see anything bad happen to a good company just because there are a few people out there that aren't going to pay for something they have ordered.
    Please don't let this be the way America is viewed. If you agree to it, be a man/woman and pay for it.

    -1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammy Jean Jun 17, 2011

    I am having the same problem with them. When I recieve a phone call saying I won a watch (to which I never recieved) and agreed to 2 magizine. All of a sudden I am receiving magizine that I not only would never buy, nor would I look at in the check out lines of the stores. I have even sent notes to the magizine companies of the ones that I had no intrest in, explaining that I never ordered them and couldn't send them back for the reason of the post office does not return magizines!!! This company is sending me threatening letters saying that they are sending this to collections...but here is the kicker, they are still taking payments out of a disibility account when they said it would only come out for three months. But they are sending this to collections for non-payment. So what I have done is gathered all the information and will be sending copies to the BBB, and perhaps the Attorney Generals office. Because this place is fraudgently taken funds from my SSI disability and still threatening to send my account to collections, for two magizines that as already been paid for in abundance.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SMarti018 Apr 12, 2011

    please someone respond with the answer to this Question... My Fiance foolishly accepted a phone call from these [censor] and said yes to what she thought was free magazines. What she didn't give them was a Credit card number or Debit card number or SSN to confirm purchase because she had just turned 18 at the time and didn't have any debit card or credit card in her name. we have yet to receive any magazine from them only bills... My thought on this is she thought she was signing up for free magazines, she didn't give them any form of identification whatsoever (they tried to get a Credit card number but she didn't have one thank god!) other then a name and address, and we haven't received any magazines... Im just going to change her cell phone number and leave it at that. they have no records at all to come after her with and we dont receive magazines anyways... they can waist there mail stamps on me all they want and sent me letters all day long, its going straight to my shredder without even a glance at it. Is there anything they can do against me being i dont receive magazines and they dont have any form of identification on her (SSN, credit card, debit card etc) thanks guys and good luck! my Fiance definitely is getting "the talk" about avoiding scam artists in the future! to anyone els who reads this PLEASE if you were mis-lead in any way and do not want this subscription then DONT PAY IT!!! File complaints, change phone numbers, do anything and everything you can, this is a company operating on the border of being a crime! they can not enforce these subscriptions they are only surviving because some weak people pay the bill and all that does is put money in there pockets to scam someone els! lets all do this together and end this crime.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    KitKat44 Apr 11, 2011

    We were scammed for $30 by this company - fortunately, my husband was smart enough to pay in cash. Needless to say, we never received a magazine. I tried to contact the company (which in my case, gave a receipt showing an Oklahoma City address). When I was unable to contact the company, I complained to the Better Business Bureau. First the BBB told me they hadn't gotten a response. Then a BBB rep told me they'd spoken with a rep of the company, who hadn't not received a copy of the complaint, so the BBB was going to resend it. Then they said again they got no response. So they closed the case. I then filed a complaint with the Oklahoma Attorney General's office. They too told me they got no response from the company. It seems a shame that when there's clearly a scam going on, the BBB and the state Attorney General's office have no power to do anything.

    I just checked the BBB website to see if my complaint is noted, and it isn't. The AGs office said they'll keep the info, and if they receive other complaints about the company they may be able to take action. I would encourage everyone to at least report the scam to the AGs office. Maybe if they get enough complaints, they'll do something.

    -1 Votes
  • Cw
    CWeezy Feb 15, 2011

    Got my gf's order cancelled by telling them the contract is not enforceable because it does not comply with the Statute of Frauds (Colorado Revised Statute 4-2-201). Under the SoF, contracts $500 or more are not enforceable. Also, under common law, contracts not capable of performance within 1 year must also be in writing. A 3-year magazine subscription for $600 falls under both rules, therefore the oral agreement is not enforceable.

    Note: you MUST NOT accept delivery of any magazines if you want to use this defense.

    They were pretty pissed off but after being transferred to the manager they finally gave up and said they would cancel the order as a "convenience" to me. LOL.

    -2 Votes
  • He
    HelpfulHinter Nov 26, 2010

    I think you are all hilarious! I read these and just laugh at all of your stupidity...I mean really, complaining about something YOU gave YOUR credit-card information to? If it said publishers clearing house why did you not verify any information that it was them? Or is your complaint agains Publishers Clearing House and you just posted on here to be a follower? I mean, how stupid must you be to put on your complaint on here (Ryan in particular) that you agreed to the magazines, but no longer want it so you want all of your money back. You are a scam artist my friend. Wanting your money back for services already rendered? Reading these has made my day, honestly, it truly has. I felt bad about my situation but realized it was my fault and ended up having to pay for it. How did I resolve to not be "trapped" again as you guys put it? I put myself on the national do not call list. Its easy, just do it online and prevent any headaches. I feel sorry for this company, I wouldn't want any customers like you guys ina million years. I would only want customers that stick with their word. And to the supposed "employee" that worked there before? Bitter about being fired??? Thats what it sounds like. If you truly thought they were a scam you would not post it on "complaintsboard" you would actually do something about it.

    -3 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan Hinderlider Oct 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't let them get you anymore. Go to www.thepetitionsite.com. Search Ripoff magazine company. Help me reach 1, 000 signatures. To put THESE [censor]S OUT OF BUSINESS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Fiesty Oct 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    From my experience I was told that I was eligible to win money, car, or a vacation from the company affiliated with pch.com (Public Clearing House) if I give them my information. So on and so forth they offered me what sounded like a sweet deal of getting cheap magazines and they would also throw me a watch for free.

    I didn't feel right about it so I called the company the same day I ordered the magazines to cancel my contract before they can bill my credit card, and no one answered. When I called the next day or so, they said that my name and information hasn't been processed yet to their system, so I can cancel and call back within a week. I promptly phoned back the company only to be told by the operator that the contract could not be canceled (I already paid the first bill) even though I received no magazines.

    I had a phone call back that I could not cancel my subscription and I was stuck with that predicament. They tricked me with their false advertising saying that I could cancel my subscriptions at anytime in the beginning and recorded only me saying yes to pay 39.88 /month for 2 years. They didn't have a full recording THEM saying that I could cancel my subscription at anytime did they now.

    Talking to one of the operators, I explained to him my situation and to my understanding he said, (just to be nice i guess) that I can give them a document saying in "good faith" that I can pay $15-$20 dollars every month instead of $39.88 (since I'm still going to school and all) but the penalty would be paying extra $10 dollars a month.

    To my curiosity I asked when my 2 years is over, will it automatically bill me again and he said within the 20 days of notice of renewal I have to call them to cancel and yes they will bill me automatically (another trap) for God knows when. In addition to that I even asked if I can call the Publisher’s whom they claimed they prepaid their money to if I can cancel my order to get their money back and they simply said that I could not.

    They called me the next day saying that I had another bill to pay for the month (wtf, in my mind I was like, how are they billing me twice now without even having my magazines?). That was the last straw and I told them that I’m going to complain to the BBB, FTC, and A.G if they won’t cancel my contract. Then they offered me this deal, ”instead of paying $900, we’ll subtract $700, so you only have to pay $191 from prepaying the magazines.” (I thought back from other conversations I had with the other operators and they said they already prepaid my whole $900 and now they are saying they only prepaid $191…. very inconsistent. Seems like they lied when they said they prepaid my whole money from the very beginning…) they were trying to milk me thinking that they at least can still get some of my money. I will not pay a cent and that is their own fault whether they are lying or not for installing money to the publishers . So what I did to get out of the system was….

    1. Replaced my credit card with a new one and explained the situation to the bank and filed for a dispute. They are very accommodating and they will fight for you. ^_^ In addition to that I got my money back.

    2. Whoever the SSI operator is, I got their full names, phone numbers and the dates that I talked to them.

    3. The company said that they have a recording of me agreeing to their terms, but I said that I want the whole conversation recorded sent to me for more proof other than me saying yes… to their terms cause I know they said I could cancel at anytime from the very beginning .

    4. When they still kept arguing with me, I said that I will send complaints to the
    a, Better Business Bureau in Colorado
    b, Federal Trade Commission
    c, State Attorney General Office

    5. Be sure to get the cancel number as a reference

    6. I didn’t give up and fought for my rights. I stated that I will not keep my commitment if they can’t keep theirs.

    The BBB that will handle your complaint is they persist:
    BBB of Denver / Boulder Colorado
    Web: http://www.denver.bbb.org

    The Federal Trade Commission Office Info is
    https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/
    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/menus/consumer/phone.shtm
    http://www.ftc.gov/os/1996/10/9623247a.htm

    Site to petition again them • Sponsored by: Ryan Hinderlider
    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/ripoff-magazine-company/

    Hope all this info will help, Good Luck and God Bless

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.