Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Entertainment Mike Lemon Casting Refund Scam
More

Mike Lemon Casting  - Refund Scam

K
Author of the complaint
5:11 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

The Philadelphia area's scam casting company with over 25 years of robbing the good people of Philadelphia. Mike Lemon was kicked out of the Casting Society of America (CSA) for fraud and extortion! From Mike Lemons own site - if someone wants you they pay for you! SCAM - I went on a audition and they wanted me to pay 125.00 to be on the website and then wanted me to pay for classes - old bait and switch! Stay away from Mike Lemon Casting they are a scam and it is only sooner or later Mike Lemon will be in jail where he belongs! "Mike Lemon Casting also offers a wide variety of acting classes for actors of all levels of experience"

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Mike Lemon Casting complaints & reviews

14 comments
Add a comment
G
May 28, 2017 5:11 am

I disagree with this complaint. I have gotten work with Mike Lemon Casting and I haven't had to pay anything. I have gotten notices about the classes offered. Classes are important in this line of work. Even famous actors continue to learn and master the craft. Kathy, or whoever the person is, is confusing Agency Pro with Mike Lemon. Agency Pro is a service that many Casting Agencies use now, including Sylvia Fay in New York City. I know because I'm registered with Sylvia Fay as well as Mike Lemon, and, they offered Agency Pro as well. Nobody forces you to take Agency Pro. You're still registered with the casting agency even if you don't take the Agency Pro account. Keep doing what you do for us Mike Lemon Casting - George S.

Helpful?
1 0
A
May 09, 2017 5:11 am

I completely disagree with this complaint and I fear that it has been posted by someone who believes they are entitled to instant fame and success simply because they attended a class. First of all, it is important to note that Mike Lemon Casting is a Casting Director, NOT a Talent Agent. Both of those positions play a very different role in the industry. If you do not understand the difference, then I question your experience in this industry. If you are in search of someone to represent you as the individual, then you need a Talent Agent. A casting director works on behalf of the project and producing company, not the individual actor. When you audition for a Casting Director, you are simply adding your profile to their talent pool. They in turn present actors who fit their client's needs from that talent pool. They do not work on behalf of the actor.

Also, as for the $125 SCAM. That is false. As with most casting professionals today, technology is dominating the industry. The $125 FEE is not a fee paid directly to Mike Lemon Casting. The company utilizes online portfolio technology. The basic portfolio is free, however it is only viewable within the company internally and not viewable by the public and many Producing clients. Therefore, for a full talent portfolio, it is beneficial to pay the full fee to enhance your portfolio and increase your odds of consideration for work. These online casting technologies are not free for the casting director either. They are independently owned companies that have expenses and unfortunately it costs money to join. After all, even IMDB has a charge for their full talent portfolio.

As for headshots...there is the possibility that your current shots may need updating ( may look to young or old, may not look like you any more, low resolution, overdone, to much editing, etc.). The casting director knows what the industry is looking for in the current market, and the last thing they want to do is mislead you. They only make money when they have submitted professional talent and their client is satisfied.You can find many reasonably priced photographers who can update your portfolio to ensure that your photos look like you and shows you at your best.

As with any entertainment field, success is not determined by the number of classes you take or how attractive you may be. It is very subjective and
may come down to any number of minor factors that mean the difference between getting the role or not. That is why tens of thousands of people flock to New York and LA every year seeking stardom, and only a small percentage get the opportunity. Though it may be discouraging if you have not landed many or any roles, you have to keep at it if it is something you truly want. Do not expect instant fame. If you are in search of red carpets and paparazzi, and you are not willing to work at it, this may not be the industry for you.

Mike Lemon Casting is not scamming you. They are offering the tools and resources necessary to build your career...but they cannot guarantee work. NO industry professional can...if any industry professional claims a guarantee of work, then THAT is the scam.

Please do not make unsubstantiated claims simply because you are not a movie star over night.I completely disagree with this complaint and I fear that it has been posted by someone who believes they are entitled to instant fame and success simply because they attended a class. First of all, it is important to note that Mike Lemon Casting is a Casting Director, NOT a Talent Agent. Both of those positions play a very different role in the industry. If you do not understand the difference, then I question your experience in this industry. If you are in search of someone to represent you as the individual, then you need a Talent Agent. A casting director works on behalf of the project and producing company, not the individual actor. When you audition for a Casting Director, you are simply adding your profile to their talent pool. They in turn present actors who fit their client's needs from that talent pool. They do not work on behalf of the actor.

Also, as for the $125 SCAM. That is false. As with most casting professionals today, technology is dominating the industry. The $125 FEE is not a fee paid directly to Mike Lemon Casting. The company utilizes online portfolio technology. The basic portfolio is free, however it is only viewable within the company internally and not viewable by the public and many Producing clients. Therefore, for a full talent portfolio, it is beneficial to pay the full fee to enhance your portfolio and increase your odds of consideration for work. These online casting technologies are not free for the casting director either. They are independently owned companies that have expenses and unfortunately it costs money to join. After all, even IMDB has a charge for their full talent portfolio.

As for headshots...there is the possibility that your current shots may need updating ( may look to young or old, may not look like you any more, low resolution, overdone, to much editing, etc.). The casting director knows what the industry is looking for in the current market, and the last thing they want to do is mislead you. They only make money when they have submitted professional talent and their client is satisfied.You can find many reasonably priced photographers who can update your portfolio to ensure that your photos look like you and shows you at your best.

As with any entertainment field, success is not determined by the number of classes you take or how attractive you may be. It is very subjective and
may come down to any number of minor factors that mean the difference between getting the role or not. That is why tens of thousands of people flock to New York and LA every year seeking stardom, and only a small percentage get the opportunity. Though it may be discouraging if you have not landed many or any roles, you have to keep at it if it is something you truly want. Do not expect instant fame. If you are in search of red carpets and paparazzi, and you are not willing to work at it, this may not be the industry for you.

Mike Lemon Casting is not scamming you. They are offering the tools and resources necessary to build your career...but they cannot guarantee work. NO industry professional can...if any industry professional claims a guarantee of work, then THAT is the scam.

Please do not make unsubstantiated claims simply because you are not a movie star over night.

Helpful?
0 0
Y
Dec 30, 2016 5:11 am

I want to start off by saying that I do not know Mike that well, or do I work for him or ever worked for him personally. But I can say that I agree with the comment above saying that this is a hard story to believe. The main reason why I say this is because I took acting classes at Mike Lemon Casting in 2002 after graduating highschool. While taking classes I learned a lot about acting and auditioning. I also learned that you never, never, never pay anybody to get you work, they pay you. If they do get you work that is when they (manager or agent) takes out a small fee. It is also there where I went on auditions for non union jobs. I also become a reoccuring extra on the TV show "Hack", where I had the opportunity to become SAG eligible (Screen Actors Guild). When I left philadelphia to move to los angeles I felt that Mike helped me a lot by letting me work on the show. I know a lot of people that worked with mike, and I encourage other actors with similary stories to speak up and do the right thing.

Helpful?
0 1
A
Dec 29, 2016 5:11 am

I have worked with Mike Lemon as an actor for many years and this woman's story is extremely difficult for me to believe. Mike has a rock-solid reputation as a veteran casting director in Philadelphia. He is highly respected, admired, trusted and sought-out by the biggest names in the NYC-PA-LA film world. It is apparent that this woman, from what she describes, has minimal exposure/experience in the performing arts field and fails to accept the cold-hard fact that casting professionals everywhere now use online internet-hosted sites to audition artists with. It is laughable that this woman would try to dent Mike's armor is such an evil and demeaning way. There is absolutely no credibility to the complaints I've read here against Mike.

Helpful?
0 0
M
May 09, 2016 5:11 am

M. Leonard - Ive taken Mikes classes back in the 80's in Philadelphia and not long ago. Both time I worked directly with Mike and I can tell you, this complaint is bogus and reprehensible. I have taken classes at Walnut Street T. and numerous other places and found Mike tio be a solid teacher and does great at bring at the talent of the studets he works with. What this woman is complaining about is nonsense. Also, why not contact the office and air your problem they even offered to give your money back. Sounds like your just a no talent who blames your failed career on anyone and everyone because you cant show some talent. If you don't have the balls to handle a complaint directly with the casting agent or teacher himself, how would you ever handle the rejection everyone goes through in auditions. whatta Joke! Change your career or your in for a miserable life Kathy. No one forces you to pay for anything. and no one can get you an acting job, except YOU !

Helpful?
0 0
S
Apr 13, 2016 5:11 am

This is absolutely ridiculous. These complaints must have been made by a competitor or something.

Look--this is how it works. You can submit a profile for free. Then you go to their site and check the casting calls. Submit yourself for the casting calls that you qualify for. If they want to see you for an audition, they'll let you know. You come in, you audition. Maybe you hear back, maybe you don't. That's the way CASTING WORKS.

Additionally, they have a regular go-see where you can come to the office and audition for their very capable casting agents, just to be seen in person.

You do not have to PAY for any of this!

Of course they charge for classes.. no one is gonna give you acting classes for free. DUH.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Dec 31, 2015 5:11 am

I totally disagree with the complaints against Mike Lemon Casting. My experience with them have been nothing but positive and professional. I have been dealing with Mike Lemon Casting for more than 10 years and I strongly recommend them to the serious actor/actress. Those who are seeking to excel in this business with the realistic understanding that there are no guarantees. Keep up the good work Mike Lemon Casting!

Helpful?
0 0
K
Oct 16, 2014 5:11 am

LOL hey Mike if you are so real why are you trolling a complaint board, should you not be doing a acting class and scamming kids. You make me sick. Wish people like you could be run out of Philadelphia

Helpful?
0 0
K
Oct 16, 2014 5:11 am

Mike Lemon is nothing but a old 80's SCAM ARTIST they tell you its FREE and if you refuse to pay for his out of date classes you never hear back from him. Stay away from this Dinosaur. He was shut down a few years ago and now reopened claims his employees robbed him. Talk about the kettle calling the pot black.

Helpful?
0 0
C
Aug 08, 2014 5:11 am

I wasted $ no jobs ever. Said my pics. were not "sufficient" and..that I never went there to meet them .. they said I was "confused" . Not confused I have 20 years in acting. Large resume . Worked with famous Directors . One only pays 10-20% after gig to Agent . Pay nothing before. Please research first . Call SAG etc...

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jul 10, 2014 5:11 am

Listen I am a new york actor and the sag rep said that Mike lemon casting out of two to work with. EVERYONE needs continuous training in entertainment to move forward.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Feb 01, 2013 5:11 am

To anyone reading Kathy’s false accusation posted above, we have invited her or the person who actually posted the complaint to respond and call our office. We wanted to understand her complaint and help resolve whatever it may have been. As of today, she has still not contacted us. Therefore we still insist that her complaint is totally false, does not deserve to be part of Complaintsboard.com, and should be removed completely from this forum.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jan 18, 2013 5:11 am

Dear Kathy,

Actually we’ve been one of the Philadelphia’s premiere casting companies for over 30 years and have never heard a complaint like this from anyone else. In that time, we’ve worked with tens of thousands of clients and seasoned actors. Of course, we’ve also very successfully cast for major films, TV commercials, print work, and live events. We are indeed a casting company but, yes, we do offer a wide range of classes for those who really want to take their shot at stardom or simply be involved in some aspect of a truly fun industry. You are confusing the two aspects of the business and Mike Lemon Casting. You say you did attend an audition, great! You stood the same chance as all others did for the part, and though you don’t specify, you could have been one of dozens or hundreds trying to get just one part. That’s how the casting works. Even well-known Hollywood actors still have to audition for jobs that they often do not win.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Jan 18, 2013 5:11 am

Dear Kathy,

Actually we’ve been one of the Philadelphia’s premiere casting companies for over 30 years and have never heard a complaint like this from anyone else. In that time, we’ve worked with tens of thousands of clients and seasoned actors. Of course, we’ve also very successfully cast for major films, TV commercials, print work, and live events. We are indeed a casting company but, yes, we do offer a wide range of classes for those who really want to take their shot at stardom or simply be involved in some aspect of a truly fun industry. You are confusing the two aspects of the business and Mike Lemon Casting. You say you did attend an audition, great! You stood the same chance as all others did for the part, and though you don’t specify, you could have been one of dozens or hundreds trying to get just one part. That’s how the casting works. Even well-known Hollywood actors still have to audition for jobs that they often do not win.

The other half of the business is learning the craft, as you would have to do for any other vocation. Being in our online database is free. Paying for classes and to be an active member of the online database is an option that every talent has. You certainly don’t have to pay for a thing at Mike Lemon Casting to be considered for work.

We have looked for you in our database of over 35, 000 talent and it’s funny that we don’t see anyone with your name. If you are a real person with any sort of character or decency we invite you to call our office and speak directly to us instead of using the internet to spew false and libelous accusations about Mike Lemon, who is still in the CSA despite your claim, and has been in business for 30 years serving the Philadelphia entertainment community. If you have indeed paid for any classes in the past, we’re more than willing to refund to you any money you’ve paid for classes. We would also ask that you remove your false and libelous posting. We await your call…Please contact us.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT