The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Destination Paradise HawaiiContractual Issues and Failure to provide services

Once you get into a package with Destination Paradise you have THREE days to cancel your contract in writing. You either pay with a credit card or finance a portion with their finance provider, Universal Accounting Services. So far, I haven't heard of anyone getting out of contract after the three days. I was conned...I say conned because when I attempted to book something, there were NO discounts whatsoever and the properties were limited. I have since found hundreds of complaints about this company on www.about.com in the travel section and on /link removed/ I have filed a complaint with the BBB.org and with Consumer Affairs in Hawaii and everyone who has a problem with this company should file one, too, even against Universal because they harass people at work. We need a lawyer so we can start a class action suit and I hope someone out there is willing to help us.

More Destination Paradise Hawaii Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Tr
    Travl2 Oct 17, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Purchased before june 09...a prior post had stated that any contract signed before june 09 was null and void due to cancellation policy not in contract...does anyone know if this is true? Paid off...dont use and just want to not have to pay yearly fees anymore...does anyone know if this is true? What would i need to do?m

    0 Votes
  • As
    ascmc18 Aug 17, 2014

    I'm in the process of a divorce. We've long paid this scam off. But unfortunately it still shows up on my credit so the lawyer wants a market value for this program that is so called our own...nevertheless we have never used it, terrible service and never had better rates then others. So I've called twice and the lady said accounting should give us a fair market value for I and I have yet to hear from them... help...how do I claim it was a scam and I am not an owner of any asset...

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deniser1 Jul 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have been scammed, sent lots of emails, no replies. I live in Australia and paid over $6000 for the scheme and have received nothing cannot log on to website and got refered to another site which also did not reply to emails. How do I go about a complain for this?

    0 Votes
  • Ls
    lstanford Jun 06, 2014

    My husband and I are victim also. In 2005 we felled for this scam but cancel 2 weeks later, never used it, never paid any payments and now some finance company keep call us. This is 2014. I do not know who these people are but if the is a class action lawsuit Please let me know we will participate. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobbiB May 20, 2014

    I too was scammed. If anyone knows of a class action lawsuit I would like to participate. Thanks. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobbiB May 20, 2014

    I too am a victim. Did anyone ever file a class action lawsuit? Please contact me at [email protected] and I will join in!

    0 Votes
  • Es
    Estelita Abbiss Mar 07, 2013

    My husband and I are going through the same thing. Everytime we want to use destination paradise, with the discount they are giving, we always find out that it is cheaper to go directly to the place you chose. How stupid is that. What is destination paradise participation with this. Waste of time going through their web site for nothing. I have gone to many vacations without using destination paradise because it was always cheaper not to get them involved. I wasted the money, we paid for the whole package. It has been 4 years and I have to pay the monthly maintenace fee. Suck!!! Destination paradise is a big SCAM!!! don't get fooled by their agent. We were innocent when we signed the contract.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christina collins Nov 29, 2012

    i was completly scammed by destination paradise. Everything about there comapy is completly false they are a bunch of liars, and there services suck and like everyone else we are stuck in payment of 274.00 a month, and every year i get a call from another company to collect our yearly dues of $250 so we can use the services its like there are two or three diffrent companies involved, i think its like a pyramid scam, and i wish we could sue them for loss of money, harresment and just an over all waste of time.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Keith Taylor Nov 13, 2012

    We believe it also is a scam. We still have not been able to get a reservation after 4 yrs. I understand there is a class action lawsuit against
    DP. If you have any info let me know.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carey, Scott Nov 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the Director of Sales at Pacific Dreams in Maui. First of all we have NEVER changed our name and public records clearly show this. Secondly, we have the highest rating of any timeshare/travel company in Maui with the BBB and this is very easily verified. Lastly, I have made the follow offer to EVERY complaint on this site...

    "If you will provide me your name, purchase date and membership number, I will be happy to make the following offer to you. If we are unable to provide you a great value for your very next trip/vacation I will see that you are refunded the money for your purchase. I stand by the product and services we offer. If you will contact me at [protected] I will see that you are serviced well or you receive a complete refund of your purchase. "

    To date no ONE person has taken me up on this offer.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stangmt Jan 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is soooo frustrating. We purchased this unfortunately after a lot of sales hype at a Pittsburgh thing when they called us and told us that we won a free trip.

    The worst part now is this Monterey Financial Services that keeps calling us periodically and demanding more subscription fees or they will ruin our credit. We instruct them that we want to cancel our subscription and they just simply state that they are a collection agency and cannot cancel subscriptions.

    EVERY attempt to call a phone number for "Global Escapes" ends in a dead end. Every number I have tried goes to some other service (RSI inc) and their people say they have nothing to do with Global Escapes but simply make travel reservations for them. WE CANNOT CANCEL THIS DAMN SERVICE but yet they keep charging us for something we cannot even use!!! HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paradise dreams scam Apr 16, 2010

    BOMBARD THESE PEOPLE WITH PHONE CALLS!!!
    The last thing they want is a bunch of unhappy clients callinng there personal cell phone numbers
    It will get you somewhere and some satisfaction!


    Mr. Oluseyi Famodu - Sales Manager in Honolulu 612.310.6484 - If you got scammed in Waikiki
    Mr. Chuck Robillard - Mastermind and OWNER of this scam!!! 763.772.6535 - ESPECIALLY THIS GUY HE IS THE OWNER!!!
    Mr. Mike Balicki 808.222.4085 - If you got scammed in Waikiki
    Mr. Jeff D'Amato- Sales Manager in Maui [protected] - If you got scammed in Lahaina, Maui
    Mr. Harold (Sunny) Lewis - [protected]. - If you got scammed in Waikiki

    0 Votes
  • An
    ANTI DESTINATION PARADISE Apr 15, 2010

    My Fiance and I also got scammed just like everybody else...We should all contact ABC Networks 20/20 and have them do a investigation on Destination Paradise to help our case with a law suit. To everyone that's been scammed by DP... We need to create a forum with everybody's contact information and case against DP. So when we present this to 20/20 they will have concrete evidence. If anybody wants to contact me you can email me at [email protected] Hopefully with all our evidence we can get a lawyer pro bono. LETS GET THESE ### WHAT IS COMING TO THEM!!!

    1 Votes
  • Bu
    busted and disgusted Apr 08, 2010

    What a scam- Maxine, Ron, Von, "The Director" and Daycee (Jaycee) or whatever his name was - the presenter of the "scam" should all go to jail!!! They know they are ripping people off and shame on them!! Beware! if it is too good to be true it IS!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mari1969 Apr 07, 2010

    File your complaint with the DCCA Hawaii and RICO ASAP...

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    cindyO Apr 06, 2010

    I am also SOOOOOO mad!!!
    I have tried to use this service for 3 different vacations and they NEVER have anything available for the dates and places I am interested in -

    I want my money back !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    George and Lorena Gurr Mar 21, 2010

    In February of 2009 my husband and I were conned into the very same SCAM by Destination Paradise Hawaii. It was his 77th birthday and we had friends in town from Alaska so we were suckered in by a man on the street offering us free ticket on a dinner cruise. All we had to do was come to the 60 minute presentation which turned into more than 2 hours. We were very sceptical and weren't going to buy and that's when they throw in the free airline tickets and free hotel anywhere in the world. We were actually bombarded by sales people showing us all the beautiful vacations with 1st class accomodations. We didn't come home for another 2 weeks and tried to use the program only to find out the very same thin, nothing is available where you want to go and that's only if you can leave the very next day. We did buy for $6, 000 and were offered a payment plan, but we didn't the interest charges and so we put it on our VISA card. We have tried repeatedly to do something with this ripoff and they should be sued for taking advantage of "Senior Citizens". When something seems to good to be true - it proably is. Now we can't afford to go on vacation after giving them our vacation money thinking we'd be able to use it for future trips being able to get those 1st Class packages they promised that arenn't even available. We live in Washington~has anyone from WA contacted the Hawaii Attorney Genral's Office? or the BBB? Please advise if anyone has any information that would be of help to us.
    Lorena

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy_camper Mar 06, 2010

    My wife tried her best to stop me from signing with this Group but as a dummy I did it any ways using American Express Card. I signed this deal 18 months ago. I came to my resort and looked for their website there was none and when I called them about it, they had no explanation. I tried calling them to cancel my membership within 3 days which included Saturday and Sunday, but I could not get hold of anyone. Since I had paid for this Scam bunch by American Express, I called American express not to pay them. American Express asked me to wait for the monthly bill. I was never able to get American Express to listen to me because evidently many dummies like me, must be paying this bunch using American Express Card. I have since cancelled my American Express Card and I refuse to pay to American Express. I have told American Express that I will fight these scammers if they don't pay them but they would rather keep Destination Paradise as a Client vs. me. I did all my company business through American Express and now I don't use them but American Express does not care. I was told by others in Hawaii that all property deals have a 7 day cancellation terms but this scam bunch allows only 3 days. Why Hawaii Tourism department not take any actions against these guys I don't know. I was so upset with these guys that I would probably never go to Hawaii again. That was my first and last time.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    california01 Feb 12, 2010

    We purchase this vacation package back in September of 09 and was very excited about taking vacation the next following months. Unfortunately, I got laid off in October and we can no longer afford this. I called the company several times to see if I can get out of the agreement until now no one has return my phone call it has been five months. They continue to take out payments from our account and I still owe them over $5000. Can anyone please help on what to do next.

    0 Votes
  • Uk
    ukrpavnad Feb 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I went to Hawaii and what happened was on the same scenario descibed by other people above. We have paid 150$ a month for longer than one year and seen the worst according to place and price propositions. The nearest place we would go is 6- hour drive from where we live and we have never seen any proposition of resort being 1-2 hour drive from us althoug we have some considered as very good and rather famous resorts in the U.S. You can not find any place you would go to be known as a good and famous one. We decided to stop loosing our money by paying this firm for low quality "nothing". Follow us to teach those "being good at scam" people what happens when they have swindled their clients.

    0 Votes
  • Hr
    hrly_d Jan 29, 2010

    I too fill scammed by this company. When I purchased, I felt that my wife and I had done a good thing. Now, I feel that we are left holding a useless piece of software. I can't send any replies through the website because it says that I am denied access. Why should I be denied access when I am paying for the software? We were promised a full paid vacation if we were one of the first two to accept the offer and we received a $500 gift certificate which we have to pay for the vacation and then send in the gift cirtificate to be reimbursed. That doesn't make sense. Much less, where is $500 going to get if you want to go anywhere in the world (as we were promised). Some prices have been comparable but not that great. The inventory is horrible. If you notice, almost all the places they have are timeshare places. We were told resorts, hotels, etc. Is there anything that can be done?

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seekeroftruth Jan 11, 2010

    This is devastating. I too have just recently found out that this company has scammed me. I can believe it because I am the most cover my ### person I know. My fiance and I were in Hawaii to get married and found ourselves taken in by the sales pitch and the bogus lines they fed us. Now that we are back and $250.00 later we still have not been sent a user Id no passwords for logging in and when you call them Paradise Blue you are told to leave messages, which no one returns. I have even tried to call them to see if I can book travel and the same thing they keep telling me to leave messages, which calls are nver returned. I am so scared because I have worked so hard at keeping my fianancial affairs in order and my credit straight. As for my husband this is unfortunately the first thing he has ever had in his name credit wise and it looks like now it will be his last. If anyone can tell me if they have gotten anywhere please tell me. As for me I would suggest that we all agree on a date and put phone calls in to our senators and congress people this type of behavior would be fraud if it were you or me so the same should hold for these businesses that scam us out of our hard earned money.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mari1969 Jan 11, 2010

    If you're already committed to Paradise Blue, see what you can get from them. I am curious to see exactly how much money you'll be saving. And remember that if you do book and decide to cancel for whatever reasons, you won't be able to. There is no cancellation insurance. I don't know what you're paying for your package but you have to see if you're really saving money when you take those payments into consideration. As of 2008, they have changed their names four times...Valued Guests, Destination Paradise, Paradise Blue and now Pacific Dreams. That's a red flag right there!!! You hardly find anything positive about this company unless the employees/officers are writing about it themselves. You just will never know who actually is writing.

    0 Votes
  • 77
    777Matt777 Jan 06, 2010

    Ok, I just bought in October and while searching to pull up the page I came across this blog. I am about to book in Hawaii for May, so I compared some of the rooms on Paradise Blue with my discount vs Expedia. If I am getting the discount promised by Paradise Blue I am truly making out on the deal. Expedia is way more then what PB is saying I will have to pay. That said I have not actually booked with PB, and after reading I am hesitant to do so. Where is the scam. I admit the availability is less then offered, but the savings if true seem well worth it. I live in AZ and am not employed by PB by the way. I am on the fence right now, should I book?

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammedinhawaii Jan 03, 2010

    Paradise Blue has opened another office in Maui. Paradise Blue has changed its name to Pacific Dreams on Maui. It has opened in Old Lahaina Center, a Harry and Jannette Weinberg Foundadtion property.
    Any questions or problems concerning getting out of your contract with Destination paradise Hawaii (Paradise Blue and Pacific Dreams) please contact:
    Mr. Jeff D'Amato- Sales Manager in Maui [protected]
    Mike Balicki- Sales Manager in Honolulu 808.222.4085
    Seyi Faodu - Sales Manager in Honolulu 612.310.6484
    Chuck Roubalard - Owner of the product and Leader of the entire scam. 763.772.6535
    I've done a lot of research on both Destination Paradise Hawaii (DPH) and Global Escapes in Texas and these are the same people. Once they got shut down by the Attorney General in Texas, they came to Hawaii. These companies exist to scam unwitting tourists. The owners and employees left San Antonio and started working in Hawaii. I'd like to see them shut down as a service to past, current and future victims. Here are links to the steps the Texas Attorney General took to shut them down. Just like they keep changing their name in Hawaii (Destination Paradise, paradise blue and now Paradise Dreams all within 18 months!), they used many names in Texas also: Escapes Austin, Global Escapes, Blue water, Escapes Midwest, Sun Tree Escapes, Escapes Midwest. Etc...

    IT IS THE EXACT SAME SCAM JUST A DIFFERENT DESTINATION - INSTEAD OF RIPPING OFF PEOPLE IN TEXAS THEY ARE RIPPING OFF PEOPLE IN HAWAII

    Please, please, please read the injuctions websites below:

    INJUNCTION: http://www.oag.state.tx.us/newspubs/releases/2009/040109globalescapes_pop.pdf

    BANK ACCOUNT SEIZURE: http://www.oag.state.tx.us/newspubs/releases/2009/040109globalescapes_tro.pdf

    Here is what an article in a Texas newspaper said about them:

    A family of Florida-based travel companies doing business in Austin and San Antonio are facing charges of deceptive trade practices and other business and commerce code violations from the Texas Attorney General’s office.

    The defendants, Escapes Austin LLC and Escapes Midwest LLC, which do business under the names Global Escapes, Blue Water, Sun Tree and others, are accused of using false gift giveaways to entice customers to attend sales seminars that marketed worthless travel-related software programs, according to a news release from the attorney general’s office.

    Attorney General Greg Abbott said his office is seeking restitution for some 5, 000 Texas consumers who may have been deceived into purchasing the software. In response to the attorney general’s actions, the 73rd District Court of Bexar County issued an order freezing the defendants’ assets.

    Court documents filed by the state also name chief executive officer James Carey III and managing member Gwendolyn Carey. According to the state’s lawsuit, the defendants used direct mail and telemarketing calls to inform potential customers that they “won” free cruises, hotel stays, vehicles, flights or expensive watches. However, recipients were told that they must set up an appointment to attend a sales presentation in order to receive their prize.

    Those chosen also were told they only needed to pay taxes due on the gifts. Recipients were not informed about restrictions, hidden costs, the prizes’ overall value or the prizes’ limited availability. According to state investigators, prizes were difficult to redeem, expensive to redeem, or unavailable during certain dates.

    During the mandatory sales seminars, the defendants touted their “proprietary software search engine technology, ” which they claimed would allow purchasers to locate and reserve bargain travel deals online. “The defendants then used high-pressure sales tactics to convince customers that their ‘software license’ opportunity surpassed all others in the industry, ” the release states. “The defendants’ sales representatives often purported to ‘negotiate down’ from the software’s $12, 000 retail price to $7, 000, $4, 000, or to a ‘one-time price reduction’ of $2, 200.”

    Customers who could not afford the purchase price were offered financing. Rather than retain the purchaser’s outstanding debt, the defendants frequently sold it to third-party debt collection or finance companies.

    According to the documents, after purchasing the product, many customers were unable to log on to the Web site for at least two weeks. “When the defendants finally provided the necessary user IDs and passwords, many customers encountered technical problems. Customers who were able to fully access the system discovered that the bargain travel deals they were promised did not actually exist.”

    During the sales negotiations, customers were told they could return the product for a refund if they were dissatisfied with their purchase. However, when customers attempted to cancel their contracts, the defendants claimed the sales contract was binding. Concerned that the debt collection agencies could ruin their credit ratings, many customers also paid annual support “software upgrade” fees, even when they could not or did not use the system.

    Under the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act, the defendants face civil penalties of up to $20, 000 per violation, as well as a $250, 000 penalty if the conduct was designed to harm a person aged 65 or older.


    ________________________________________
    Complaints To The Dcca Of Hawaii - HERE IS FURTHER PROOF THE SHEER NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHO BEEN SCAMMED BY DESTINATION PARADISE LLC IN HAWAII. LISTED ARE COMPLAINTS, TO THE DCCA OF HAWAII, THAT HAVE GONE UNRESOLVED.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1213N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1197N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1196N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1195N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1194N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1184N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1173N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1164N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1143N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1134N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1096N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1085N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1077N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1060N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1044N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1028N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1018N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1017N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1001N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 1000N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0974N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0947N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0919N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0918N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0878N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0845N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0815N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0809N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0732N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0730N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0568N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0565N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0489N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0470N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0468N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0458N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2009- 0345N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2008- 1243N

    OUTCOME: THIS IS A PENDING COMPLAINT. NO FURTHER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Complaint No: OCP- 2008- 1212N

    Here is the Better Business Bureau Rating iof this company:
    Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of F on a scale from A+ to F.
    Reasons for this rating include:
    • 73 complaints filed against business
    • Failure to respond to 14 complaints filed against business.
    • 13 complaints filed against business that was not resolved.
    • BBB Accreditation was revoked because business failed to comply with agreed BBB standards.
    • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

    Here is the company Business Contact and Profile:
    Business Contact and Profile
    Name: Destination Paradise LLC
    Phone: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Address: 2250 Kalakaua Ave Ste 301
    Honolulu, HI [protected]
    Website: http://www.destinationparadisehawaii.com

    New Owner Date: March 2008
    Principal: Mr. Michael A. Balicki, Manager
    Customer Contact: Mr. Michael A. Balicki, Manager - [protected]
    Entity: Limited Liability Company
    Incorporated: March 2008, HI
    Type of Business: Travel Clubs
    BBB Accreditation: This company is not a BBB Accredited business. Paradise Blue is opening another office in Maui. Paradise Blue has changed to Pacific Dreams on Maui.
    Any questions or problems concerning getting out of your contract with Destination paradise Hawaii(Paradise Blue and Pacific Dreams) please contact:
    Mr. Jeff D'Amato- Sales Manager in Maui [protected]
    Mike Balicki- Sales Manager in Honolulu 808.222.4085
    Seyi Faodu - Sales Manager in Honolulu 612.310.6484
    Chuck Roubalard - Owner of the product and Leader of the entire scam. 763.772.6535

    ________________________________________


    This Company is not a BBB Accredited business.
    Business Management
    Additional company management personnel include:
    Mr. Harold (Sunny) Lewis - Marketing Manager [protected]. This is the guy that heads up all of the people on the street in Honolulu to get you to go to the presentation
    Mr. Moa Mahe
    Ms. Pearl Helsham - Office Manager
    Mr. William M Campbell, IV
    Mr. Kenneth D Stafford
    Mr. Oluseyi Famodu - Sales Manager in Honolulu 612.310.6484
    Mr. Chuck Robillard - Mastermind and OWNER of this scam!!! 763.772.6535
    Mr. Mike Balicki 808.222.4085
    Mr. Jeff D'Amato- Sales Manager in Maui [protected]

    They have opened on Maui as of Dec. 1st 2009 and they are using a marketing company called Tickets on the Rock owned and operated by Mr. Pete Carroll. They have Activity booths all over Maui, Mainly on Front Street, Maui. This is the company that gives you discounts on your activities to attend the presentation on Maui.

    If you see any of these locations on Maui or Honolulu:
    Destination Paradise Showroom
    Pacific Dreams Showroom
    Paradise Blue Showroom
    Preview Center Showroom
    Activity Store Kiosks
    Valued Guests Kiosks
    Tickets on the Rock Kiosks

    PLEASE DONT BUY A THING----YOU WILL JUST GET RIPPED OFF!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    SteveG12 Nov 02, 2009

    Also scammed! I was sent a letter saying my credit was denied for this service, but some how got a letter from Univeral after the due date saying my payment was due.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    galaxygirl Nov 02, 2009

    Wow. I knew it was too good to be true. No availability. No one can be reached. I hope we can get out of this. We couldn't afford to do it in the first place. Sigh. How sad. I have not been able to cancel either. help.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paradise-scam Nov 02, 2009

    Anybody who signed up for the Dstination Paradise Hawaii(aka Paradise Blue)scam there is a way out, if the contract was signed before June of 2009.The cancellaton policy (3 days) was buried on the last page of the "terms and acknowledgement".They had to add a seperate page to acknowledge the 3 day cancel policy.Any contracts signed before June 2009 are "null and void".Good Luck

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paradise-Blue -Scam Oct 04, 2009

    How To File a Complaint
    To file a complaint about a particular company or individual, you can obtain a complaint form from the web site at http://hawaii.gov/dcca/areas/rico/forms/, by calling 586-2653, by going to the Office of Consumer Protection (OCP) and Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO) of the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA), or by writing to the Consumer Resource Center, 235 South Beretania Street, 9th Floor, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paradise-blue Oct 03, 2009

    Just came back from Hawaii and also got schemed out of my $250.00. I paid $4500 for this package. It has not been two weeks and I have not received any user or log in, but I am honestly thinking about just not paying them. I can't beleive Ron (the salesrep) acted like he was so honest and then Chester (the manager comes over and tries to work with you as if hes doing you a favor). They should all go to jail in my opinion. Even the woman from Minnesota who does the convincing presentation. Everyone from my group purchased this package. I tried to print a complaint online from the DCCA website but the file was damaged. What is the next step after contacting DCCA? I wish I would have done my research. I let my traveling bug get in the way of my intelligence to "google"

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    ParadiseBlueRipOff Sep 26, 2009

    Any questions or problems concerning getting out of your contract with Destination paradise Hawaii(Paradise Blue) please contact:
    Mike Balicki 808.222.4085
    Seyi Faodu 612.310.6484
    Chuck Roubalard 763.772.6535

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Cohen Sep 24, 2009

    Listen guys. If you want them to stop charging your credit card you must send the finance company a FORMAL LETTER. Demand that they stop charging your credit card. Also state in the letter that you have sent a copy of this letter to your bank (whoever your credit card is with) and you should notify your bank immediately and send a copy to them as well. I highly suggest that you send the letter with REGISTERED POST! When you get the remittance in the mail keep it as it will be the evidence that the finance company has received your letter.

    THEY HAVE TO BY LAW STOP CHARGING YOUR CREDIT WHEN YOU DEMAND SO IN WRITING. They will get in very big trouble otherwise. No one can deduct funds from your credit card against your will, otherwise there would be financial mayhem.

    The finance company will then try and take you to court. If your not in the US I highly doubt they will try to take you to court as it will be costly. They will also give you a bad credit rating. If your not living in the US it wont matter.

    The details for one of the finace companies is:

    Universal Account Servicing, LLC
    702 Felix St
    Saint Joseph, MO 64501

    Start typing guys! Keep us posted on your progress.

    Cheers and Goodluck

    M. Cohen

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disappointed:( Sep 23, 2009

    SORRY for the extra Comments above I thought my original didnt go thru - but please forward any contact information to me or any kind of info on filing a complaint - all I know is I have paid WAY too much so far and they say I need to pay even more! I need out of this.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disappointed:( Sep 23, 2009

    I also am VERY UNSATISFIED with Destination Paradise... 1) I have not been able to use the service (because I did not pay the "optional" annual fee therefore access was denied to the website and because I was unableto book where I wanted to when I did go on a vacation), 2) I am paying tooo much for it - initially $7999 for the package, and 3) I am unable to access some of the rewards since I am a Canadian Citizen -for example the Gift Cards, Restaurant Certificates, etc are all for US residents and I would have to pay conversion charges on top of the "discount rate" therefore not being a discount to me the consumer.
    I had some financial issues and am trying so I called them to ask about lowering the interest rate (its currently 17%) and to find out the payout or possibly cancel the agreement because it would be of no loss to them since I have never used the vacation package at all - I was told no I cannot and I was bound to the agreement until the end. I have paid over 6000 in which 1/2 of that is interest and the conversion charges from US to Canadian funds (I apparently have to pay this every month because I used my credit card as the method of payment). SO I still owe 5000 in principal which will likely cost me 10000 more in all... I am not paying this anymore. I want to file a complaint with the DCCA and BBB But I need some contact information - can someone please forward me information on how to file a complaint about this company and who I can speak to. ANY Assitance would be appreciated I am not going to pay them anymore and but I dont want my credit rating affected either. I am so upset and disappointed that I have invested so much for nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disappointed:( Sep 23, 2009

    HI I am also very disapointed with Destination Parasie if someone would let me know how to file a complaint with the DCCA I would appreciate the assistance - I have paid almost 6000 to Destination Paradise and because of the financing charges of 17% and the conversation rate every month on my credit card (I am Canadian) I have only paid a principal amount of approximately 3000.00. I still owe them over 5000.00 which is what I am told by the UNiversal Accounting Services. I am so unhappy with this company - I havent even been accessing the services or used it whatsoever and I am seriously thinking of just stopping paying them and if it affects my credit rating then O well they arent getting any more money out of me. I prefer not to go that route...but if I have to I will. I need some help on figuring out how to file a complaint and where i need to contact people. I would so love my money back but as long as I can quit paying these people I would be happy. THey have told me they have a 99% success rate of filing their claims for people who do not pay their accounts but Im done now I dont care. SO someone PLEASE HELP ME... I need to know the process of filing the complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    D&A Sep 06, 2009

    ooohhhkeeey...
    my wife and I had the same exact problem. the company this time has morphed into Paradise-Blue(.net). we got the same deal as everyone above but at least we had access to a computer within 24 hours after we gave them our credit card and signed the papers (for "only" $6995...) - chilly surprise when we got to see who they are... we looked for a fax number to fax them our cancellation notice. guess what - no fax number anywhere. Of course not since a fax cannot be contested in the court of law! ok then we needed to do something else then:
    1. The next day (a Saturday - they work on Saturdays) we went to the same site where we had that presentation by them and we asked for a fax number so we can "fax some documents to complete the deal" - at first the receptioniste was reluctant to give us one but then she called the "manager" which gave us the fax number (we will see soon if this number is fake or not...). We will fax the cancellation notice as well - just in case - but read further below...
    2. Next step was to contact the local Hawaii Waikiki police and got a police officer as witness to our cancellation process/event, just in case the things are going out of hand and just to make sure we have an official witness to our cancellation. And guess what, they (Paradise-Blue)where very pissed and offended by the fact we came with such a witness but unfortunately for them, while we were signing the cacellation papers in front of the police officer, another cuple showed up yelling about the deal being a scam(!!!). imagine what a coincidence! They had no choice and accepted the cancellation notice in front of the police officer.
    3. We asked the credit card company (AMEX) to cancel the transaction and we explained them everything we've gone trough with Paradise-Blue. AMEX got the entire picture so they won't be surprised next time somebody else will do the same.

    I'm not sure we are out of this yet but as a personal thought: I don't think anyone can prosecute this kind of business... I think they have enough cover-up to get themselfs over law suites for the scams. The fact that their service sucks is not a legal matter... we have all signed for this - sorry but look again through the papers we all signed...
    I believe the only way to kill this type of business is to make more popular their practices.

    Cheers!
    D&A

    P.S. We may update this later with the outcome of our actions.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barnett1 Aug 23, 2009

    Oh dear...we just signed up for this. What are the main complaints? No availability on reservations? Why is everyone so dissatisfied with the program? Please help. I may need to start action as well.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Fabitta Aug 06, 2009

    I read and every comment and I'm just another one of you guys. I just started my second payment of a total of 4000 that I must pay. I've been trying for a week to contact this people to cancel everything and no one answers or returns my calls. My question is.. Can I just cancel this?. At this point I'm not worried whether I received the 250 and 2 payments back, ., I just want out!! I've been having a few financial problems and I don't need more... Can I just change my debit card until they contact me and then I can cancel. Any suggestions, advices are welcome.
    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarac Aug 05, 2009

    iwas scamed and did not know they did not cancel and I was told by my bank I can only get 280. of 800. back FOR NOTHING!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    gg47 Aug 02, 2009

    I'm pissed off. I also got sucked in last dec 08. I just recieved a bill stating I owe them a past due payment of $862.00, which is a lie due auto draft. I just notified my bank to stop auto payment. I call company and for some odd reason I cant never speak with a supervisor. So a law suit is warrant. Count me in.. Who will start this, Please conatct me @ [email protected], ASAP

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.