CanScribeMisinformation

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I went to CanScribe and after what has been done to me, i now have to let everyone out there know the truth behind this institution. First off, they are very good at selling! They will they you feel as if you have chosen the best school hands down and will tell you that they are associated with one of the biggest canadian transcription companies, Accentus, and thus, if you get high marks, you will most likely get hired by Accentus. After what i read about Accentus, the plethora of complaints and such really prompted me to speak out about this school and how it now seems to me that both CanScribe and Accentus have something going on that is most disturbing. When i chose this course, i thought about the working from home advantage and how that alone would save me on gas, money, clothes, etc. The more i got into the course, the more i realized that the way the transcription part was done was completely wrong. The first part of the course was easy as pie, then the transcription part happened and there was literally no rhyme or reason whatsoever! It was complete madness! The dictations were so hard that even one of my instructors could not do a couple of them, yet as a student, i was expected to do it! It was so discouraging and so hard, that several times, myself and my friends wanted to throw in the towel. Unfortunately, Canscribe is the MOST EXPENSIVE online school for medical transcription out there, so i really didn't feel like losing my money and decided to keep going. I finally graduated and so far, all of the companies that have interviewed me were just plain awful, if it wasn't the work, it was the rate of pay! This is not a career where you are going to make money, get that out of your head right now! I have a friend who was actually 'blacklisted' by this company because of a huge misunderstanding, she finally got a good job at a hospital and i guess that's where you are most likely to get something that makes sense (they even went as far as to give her a bad reference! and she paid for this course, they have no right doing this!). My opinion, keep it local! Go to a local college and you'll be much better off!

Responses

  • Pa
    Pamela A. Sullivan Dec 24, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do not recommend. Shoddy, excessively gruelling program which does what it can to grab the maximum amount possible and return as small amount, if any, as possible. I’d also like to know why I was charged $700 for a year-long online Stedmans subscription? Found it online for 1/10 of that.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    Farm Diva Nov 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am considering this career. I have read positive and negative comments.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelby Leigh Warkenten Oct 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Farm Diva I've been considering it as well but have heard such mixed reviews.

    0 Votes
  • Kp
    KPT91 Apr 01, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I enrolled last year for the medical transcription course and I cant express enough how TERRIBLE this experience was.
    The online program its self is poorly written; with odd "self grading" pages and policies, downloadable books that are useless, and misinformation. A few months in I realized this course was a waste of money and time and asked to drop the course and be issued a refund of the remaining percentage per agreement. I had been told I would have some money back at the time. I had not heard anything back and when I finally contacted them again about dropping the course and the progress with my issue, the stated that I was now a week past the "cancel date" and would have to pay the full amount of the course. I was nearly sick. My requests and complaints fell on deaf ears and I am now stuck with $5000 worth of debt for a cash grab course.

    DON'T FALL VICTIM TO THIS SCHOOL! If you want to further your education then I recommend spending your hard earned money on a legitimate institution with REAL instructors and a beneficial course.

    3 Votes
  • Si
    Sierra Blake Mar 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everyone here who is complaining about CanScribe probably did not pick the right career path. They were amazing to me and I got a job that I'm still at only 3 days after I graduated. Sure the dictations are hard...that is the point!!! If it's too difficult it probably wasn't the right course for you to be taking. But when you don't give up and actually try your best, it is very achievable. I graduated with honors and it readily prepared me for the real working environment. This is not a job to expect to make $20-30/hr but when you get the luxury to work from home and work on your own schedule do you really have a right to complain? People go into this course and this career expecting far too much...time to be realistic.

    -3 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelby Leigh Warkenten Oct 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Sierra Blake Hi Sierra! How quickly after you graduated did you find work? Do you think there is still a demand for Medical Transcriptionists? I've been seriously considering taking this course over the last year and keep putting it off.

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    CJA1964 Nov 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Would like to recant my thoughts that were written in a moment of well lets just say I was upset. What I want to share is that I am happy Ive had the chance to communicate with Canscribe. With that said I only feel it is fair to add to my comment. Canscribe did communicate with me further and began to understand my situation and handled the matter as a true professional should. As such I want to thank them for stepping up and hearing my words.
    Nov 22, 2015

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wendy Yemm12 Nov 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sounds like you're jilted. I never had a problem with any teacher. They explained everything any time I called. I graduated and have a good job thanks to canscribe.

    -1 Votes
  • Cj
    CJA1964 Nov 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I probably should not be writing at this moment because I'm extremely upset with CanScribe. Shame on you for the way you have acted. Shame on you for the way you have conducted yourself with my 18year old daughter. I will NOT recommend. I will talk to anyone who even thinks of enrolling of how we were treated. I hope you sleep well at night. Taking FYI when talking to potential "young" people who are planning on a great career with your company. Make sure you explain. NOT tell them but EXPLAIN your policy. Better yet, re write it so it is clear.

    RESOLVED

    Well done canscribe thank you for hearing my words. I take back what was said and will definitely recommend you from this time on.

    0 Votes
  • Bg
    BGMT Feb 10, 2015

    I have been in the MT industry now for a total of 4+ years and graduated in 2010 from Canscribe "THE ONLY" school I would recommend to pursue this industry. It is 100% a transcription course and the extensiveness this course offers from beginning to end has been the definite factor that has lead to so much success. The biggest factor which made me successful in addition was the fact that I had a passion for healthcare, for specifically a career in medical transcription and a focus to succeed. I was not looking for an "at home job to just save money on expenses in the commute." I extensively researched the job, the companies offering jobs, my own skills, my discipline and time management qualities and knew it was for me. This career is VERY CHALLENGING even for the best MTs, but you can most definitely succeed in it, and I have worked 4 years with Accentus, now part of Nuance and as well now MModal and I can tell you if you are skilled in this you will succeed. In my 4+ years with Accentus/Nuance they have been a very accommodating, fair, consistent employment. Granted, the medical industry is changing and that is beyond our control. Long gone are the days where you can sit at a computer typing long easy reports, we are facing the new age of voice recognition and starting out it may seem a bit challenging, but the software programs are improving making it faster process. The learning curve is always very slow in any new job and the first year is a little challenging but if you are in this career for the RIGHT reasons, you will grow in skill and paychecks in time. I know this first hand. I am growing more each day. I was hired IMMEDIATELY upon graduating and have worked steady in my 4+ years with Accentus and now recently Mmodal and I feel confident to continue this path. It is definitely not a career for everyone, and the student needs to do a lot of research before taking the leap into this course. CanScribe does sell, because it is a FANTASTIC program if you are meant to be in this industry. The reports are difficult beacause they are preparing you for the WORST case scenerios out there and when you are a student it all seems hard. I do not encounter the difficult reports on an all day, every day basis, but thankful that I was given the opportunity to train my ear throughout the extensive amount of time I did so I can pick up on words, on accents, on speed, on noise disturbances. That is what this job is, and in the curriculum you are training your listening ear over and over and over again to gain familiarity. You learn soon enough in the course if this job is for you, because reality check, that is what this job will be when you come out, day in and out. There is no other school I would recommend and companies in Canada DO APPRECIATE and favour CanScribe graduates because it is extensive. I consider myself a fantastic MT and I know CanScribe deserves a HUGE part in that. Its the only school I recommend in this challenging but rewarding career.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brisec Jul 08, 2014

    Please reconsider taking this course if you are expecting a baby or have a newborn. Do you have a quiet place to study, regularly, during the day? You are unlikely to keep up with the practicum schedule if you have children around you. The book learning was easy, but the practicum impossible to do in a timely way with noise around. Are you hard of hearing at all? Then the muffled and accented voices on the audio files will make it much more difficult for you. All this might be overcome if you have double the required hours, daily, to work on the practicum. There is no mercy for falling behind, even if you have a newborn. This lack of compassion has turned me off of conventional medicine completely. I am becoming a herbalist, and having no difficulty with it.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sierra Blake Mar 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Brisec I completely disagree...I had a 3 year old and was pregnant with my 2nd when I took this course. Half way through the course I had a newborn...I was able to always put in the needed time and complete the course without difficulty. When you are dedicated to something it is always possible. I was always able to keep up with the schedule or to be ahead, so I cant agree with that at all.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shellie P. Dec 15, 2013

    I graduated from Canscribe over a year ago. The day I graduated I was offered a job and have been with that company since. I enjoyed the course and the instructors. I always had help whenever I asked for it. I received phone calls just to see how I was doing. When they say to dedicate 20 hours a week, the actual number is more like 40 hours a week. I took a little longer because I wanted to ensure I understood everything and my marks reflected that. CanScribe trains you, they don't place you in a job. What other postsecondary does? I found the program difficult in parts, mostly the super crappy dictation files. Being in the real world, the files are not like that. Very seldom do I ever get bad audios. Having said that, the horrific files served their purpose and made me sharper. I can't say anything bad about CanScribe. Would I do it again? Definitely.
    S.P.

    1 Votes
  • To
    Toni0 Jun 23, 2013

    The Medical Transcription course at CanScribe was very difficult, however the staff are excellent and will help you with any problems/ complaints you may have. They continue to keep in touch with you and send job opportunities to you after you graduate until you get a job or contract.

    -1 Votes
  • Ce
    Ceekoke Apr 25, 2013

    I am almost done the CanScribe course, and so far it's been great. Yes, it's hard, yes, some of the dictations are virtually impossible. But they're supposed to be. I've gone back to some of the ones I did a few months ago and can't imagine how I couldn't understand what was being said. It's so clear now. This is how we learn; by practice and repetition.
    One idea is that if you're continuing to write 'I" in lower case, then perhaps transcription is just not the right career for you.

    3 Votes
  • Je
    Jenweller Feb 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I graduated from CanScribe this month, applied to 3 companies that they directed me to, and was offered a job by all 3 companies. The support throughout the course was excellent. The instructors always get back to you within a few hours, and the online assistance provides instant help whenever you need it. CanScribe remained in touch after my graduation, e-mailing me information about companies that were hiring, and offering future assistance should I require it.
    The course is not something you can rush through or pass without commitment, but that is the whole point!! Why make the course easy or irrelevant to the job you will be doing after you graduate? I thought this was an excellent course, and all 3 companies I applied to said how impressed they are with the skills of CanScribe graduates.
    Bottom line: This job is not an instant money-maker, but that is not down to CanScribe. Research the job before starting an expensive course so you know what to expect.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Christine Lewis Dec 22, 2012

    CanScribe IS a good school, and many of their graduates have gotten medical transcription jobs. However, the way things are going with the amount of money one can make in this industry, unless you are not depending upon this job for your existence, I wouldn't recommend anyone to get into it, regardless of what school they attend.

    I graduated from the CanScribe course in late 2005. Within three weeks of graduating, I landed a contract with one of the biggest medical transcription service organizations (MTSOs) in Canada. After five months with them, I moved on to another of the biggest companies in Canada, and was grossing around $2000/month within my first month. Mind you, it took me 10-16 hours a day, seven days a week, to make that much.

    Within a couple years, I got faster and was able to make that $2000 in, on average, five hours per day, four days per week.

    The sad news is, though, that even though I now have nearly seven years of experience under my belt, my rate of pay has not gone up, but, rather, it has gone down twice. This is the trend for almost every other medical transcriber with whom I have had contact - and I'm talking hundreds of them, as I started an online support group for our industry in 2006, called Canadian MT Forums. Check it out and see for yourself. The old forum is set to be read-only at the end of 2012 as a new and improved ad-free board has been started by a friend and colleague of mine.

    Here is the old site: www.atfreeforum.com/canadianmt/
    Here is the new site: http://www.canadianmt.ca/canadianmtforums/forum.php

    Please note that the messages in these groups are viewable by members only, so if you are not a member, you will need to apply to join.

    MTSOs know that there is a plethora of new graduates coming out of the schools, willing to take a pittance for pay just to get their foot in the door after all the expense and stress of the course. We're talking pay rates as low as 3 cents per line (when I started working in January 2006, I was being paid 11 cents per line, and that was one of the highest rates in Canada), or 50 cents per dictated minute, the worst rates being offered to those doing voice recognition (VR) editing, some of which can be more quickly re-typed than edited, what with all the jumping around the report to correct the VR mistakes.

    The bottom line is that if you want to work from home in an industry that is dying due to VR and off-shoring bringing our income level down, go for it. If you can afford the thousands of dollars and months it takes to complete the training, have at it. CanScribe is a good and supporting school from which to develop your skills, but unless something changes to make this a financially worthwhile career choice, there may be no more CanScribe, nor other schools offering MT courses, able to stay in business, as word gets out concerning the sad direction this industry is taking.

    3 Votes
  • Ra
    rawandlaw Dec 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ACCOLADES TO CANSCRIBE FOR CHANGING MY LIFE.

    Due to an injury, I had to change careers after being in it for 35 years. I had heard so much about how medical transcriptionists were so desperately needed. I researched the colleges that offered the MT course and found so many positive comments from people who had taken their educational training at CanScribe and that I can take the course online from home; that made my mind up for me, CanScribe it was.

    The staff at CanScribe are always willing to help you if you are stuck, confused, or need clarification about any subject in the course. I have nothing but GOOD things to say about CanScribe and how they helped change my life in such a positive way. With being disabled, I have many hurdles to overcome, CanScribe has helped me tremendously.

    The one thing that really made my mind up was the fact that CanScribe uses the Career Step software. Most of the better employers for medical transcriptionists look to see what training you took. I was told by the company that employed me, that they LOVE CanScribe graduates because of the training they receive.

    Since I completed my educational training, almost 2 years ago, I have been employed and I actually cannot wait to get up in the morning and go to work. And if I want to, I can go right to work in my pajamas as I can work from home.

    Check it out, and if you want to be your own boss then seriously consider taking the CanScribe Medical Transcription Course.

    All I can say is THANK YOU CANSCRIBE.

    3 Votes
  • Ka
    KarenClarke Nov 23, 2012

    I certainly didn't write it like that!! Oh well, the message is still pretty clear. :) I guess I should not write contractions! OOPS!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KarenClarke Nov 23, 2012

    First of all, reading many of the complaints, I noticed immediately that many of you have difficulty with spelling, grammar and punctuation. It is, therefore, no wonder you can't get through this course. The dictations presented in the course are difficult on purpose. This helps a person learn. It is frustrating and difficult, yes. BUT, I feel as though I am learning because of this. I have had very good support from the Canscribe staff and all my questions are answered quickly. The only problem I'm having is the American spelling and medication trade names. The Canadian version of the course really should be more Canadian. That really shouldn't affect the overall course negatively though. So, so far I am enjoying the CanScribe Medical Transcription course and I feel it is worth every cent I paid!

    9 Votes
  • Pu
    puppykisses Nov 22, 2012

    I am also a CanScribe grad and they are the best seconday school I have ever attended. I was worried about taking a course online, but it worked out great. I have absolutely no complaints about the school and refer people to it all the time.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelby Leigh Warkenten Oct 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @puppykisses How quickly did you find work after you graduated? Are you still currently working as a Transcriptionist? I'm looking into taking this course.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Netfilly Nov 05, 2012

    Report them to the Better Business Bureau...they have an A+ rating...sounds like they don't deserve it.

    4 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandeye Oct 04, 2012

    I too am a Canscribe graduate, but, so far they have been great with me! I am just starting my practicum and everyone there has been very supportive. I researched what transcription was all about before taking the course, and acutually knew a transcriptionist a few years ago who loved it! I can work around kids and husband, it is perfect. Medical is a 24/7 ongoing world and I know that going in. I am sure that there are stories like mine out there as well, good I mean!!
    Sandi, Calgary, Alberta

    3 Votes
  • No
    notrecommend Jul 21, 2012

    Once they receive your money...they are not helpful at all. I have had nothing but headaches and discouragement from taking this course. I would not recommend it to anyone. I agree first part was fantastic, the actual transcription is horrible and working in this field..I can tell you you hardly find transcription like this. I was full-time as I did not have a job...20 hours per week, no problem. Soon as I found a full-time job I could not keep up with the 20 hour week deadline..so I asked for some slack. Temporarily a 4 hours/week was taken off the 20 hours a week. Then I get an 2nd absence letter stating they will cut me off and have financial aid start harassing me. Not an understanding group of people. I was also told not to worry before the 2nd notice f, that I could receive an extension. Fine, I thought I can work and do this as well...It has been HELL...so now I am under a tremendous amount of stress working at a hospital downtown, trying to perform my 20 hours/week, knowing if I don't I will be cut off...What kind of school is that. I am extremely disappointed in this program...

    5 Votes
  • Cr
    crimson3itch Feb 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    HAHA oh wow, , , so hilarious, , so hey Carolyn, you copy and paste that all over in every complaints board? Tsk Tsk Tsk, oh Carolyn, really, accept the truth that we all clued in about your scam school and i'm talking about Career Step and CanScribe, you're both the same. These schools should be banned.Period.

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolyn McEwen Feb 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello Youronyourown. Please do not hesitate to call CanScribe for help in your employment search. We are here for you every step of the way. There are many medical transcription service providers willing to give a new graduate an opportunity. I am pleased to hear that you have gained employment, however, if you need further assistance, please let us know. We are truly here to help.

    Warm regards,

    Carolyn McEwen
    CanScribe Career College

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Youronyourown! Jan 11, 2012

    I tend to agree to an extent. My experience with them was great during the course. The so called support afterward just does not exist. They send out emails all the time that companies are hiring...they're not. In fact I have an email from a large company that they "deal" with that says they are not hiring the same day the email came out from CanScribe! The course itself is good, the people there are supportive as long as your are paying...good luck once you leave. There are so many hospitals that have gone to voice recognition that the transcription jobs are diminishing. I do have a job at home related to transcription but I am utilizing nothing from the course. The people in student services need to be let go!

    4 Votes
  • Cr
    crimson3itch Nov 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The school has completely denied me any support of any kind as per their wonderful Dictator/Director. I was told this by their secretary that as per the Dictator/Director, that i will not be given any support of any kind, and i paid in full for this course! As far as i'm concerned, i hope they get theirs in the long run, until then, i will NOT stop tearing them down and showing them for what they are! I stand by what i say, to go to a local college or if you really are interested in MT work, please think twice as this is not something rewarding, i've talked to too many ppl out there, it's a bloody shame, but i suppose that's life. Peace^^

    1 Votes
  • Ye
    yellow lily Nov 16, 2011

    Have you tried contacting the school to see if they can help you? They have unlimited grad support.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.