Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Avoya Travel

Posted:    

Stay away from this travel agency

Complaint Rating:  88 % with 113 votes
88% 113
4.4
Contact information:
Florida
United States
I called up Avoya Travel & inquired about a few cruises. They transferred me to an agent named Jay Ravede. I spoke to him throughout the day regarding a couple different cruises on Fri., Oct. 5, 2012. I decided on the one cruise, Carnival Splendor, & he gave me a price of $2, 100 to include everything (ins. for two-my husband & myself, taxes, & port charges) & that it would be a $200 deposit. I asked him to see if he could hold it till Sun., Oct. 7, 2012 because I wanted to show the specific cabin to my husband. He stated he would hold it. I asked him if he is not available & we have an emergency is there someone we would contact (a backup)? He stated yes I have an associate and didn't tell me the associate's name. I asked him to e-mail me some information regarding cruises in 2014 & he mentioned he would. He also mentioned he would call me on Saturday and touch base, & he never called me. I left him a message on Sun. & I needed to go over the possibility of a different cabin w/ the same category because according to him the hold was set to expire on Sun. I waited a few hours & still no call from Jay. So, I called the 800# & asked if he was there, & if he wasn't could I talk to his associate. They gave me a lady named, Ms. Cesario. I tried to explain the situation to her & she stated she would try to call & e-mail Jay. She e-mailed me stating she couldn't reach him & would let me know when she did. I then called her & she mentioned there was nothing on hold with Carnival. I asked could you match what he promised & she stated no. I then spoke to a manager who was able to connect me to Jay. I explained to Jay I left him a message & I was trying to reach him & he didn't call back. I also told him I never received the e-mail that he stated he was going to send me. I asked him for a confirmation number, & his response was I just woke up & did you ask for another agent because I don't see your information-your lead is not here. I explained no I didn't ask to switch agents, I asked to speak to your associate & they connected me to Ms. Cesario. He stated she is not my associate. He stated he will find out what is happening & get back to me. He never called me back. I got 2 other e-mails from someone else, his name was Alex. He mentioned I heard you were working with Jay & gave me his phone number. I later spoke to another manager who tried to connect me with a lady named Matty. I explained the situation to her & she said that cabin is $2, 234.88 & what Jay did by offering it to you at $2, 100 was illegal. I explained I did not know that. But, the price you are quoting me is exactly the same price as Carnival so why would I go with you & she stated because you could reach me at 7:50 pm on a Sunday night. I explained that Carnival is 24 hrs. a day. So, I won't be going with her. I also asked who I could report what Jay did to & she stated she would report it.
On Mon. I spoke to Judee Davis who is in corporate customer service and told her what happened. She asked me if I have any e-mails, etc. that I could e-mail to her of the amount, that the cabin would be on hold till Sun., & all the people I spoke to. I let her listen to a message on my voice mail. I forwarded her the e-mails from the different people. I explained I didn't get an e-mail from him and when I asked for a confirmation number he stated he just woke up & didn't I ask for another agent & that he can't see my information-my lead. She stated she would see what she could do with all the information. She got back to me the next day & stated there wasn't enough documentation, so she wouldn't be able to help me. I said well the very least you could do is make sure he is trained so that it doesn't happen to anyone else. Her response was there is a file & the appropriate dept. could access it & the appropriate action would be taken. When I asked who would look into it & what action would be taken, she stated it was confidential.
No one should have to go through this.
Complaint comments Comments (19) Complaint country United States Complaint category Travel Agencies

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 24th of Oct, 2012 by    0 Votes
I am very sorry to hear of your negative experience with Avoya. As a Travel Agent, servicing my clients is my number one priority. It is true that the price of a cruise is the same whether you book directly with the cruise line or with a Travel Agent. The value is not the same provided that you are working with someone who cares about their clients. I am available to my clients by mobile phone, email and by text message. Should you have any additional questions or require any assistant, please do not hesitate to call me 631-764-1834.
 24th of Oct, 2012 by    +1 Votes
HI Tim
I also work in the Travel Industry, however not for Avoya, and what clients don't seem to understand about using a travel agent verses booking direct is exactly as you stated. I work with my clients one and one and remember their names when they call and not just their booking number. Travel Agents build relationships and we donate a lot of our time to clients, such as the one above, who use our services for advice, suggestions ect and then just go and book it direct. I guarantee if you were to call half of the cruise lines directly they wouldn't know a thing about which cabin number is ideal or even have a clue about the destination you are traveling to. Trust me I know this because I have called many of the cruise lines directly and often times I get a clueless agent on the other line who has no clue. When you book direct you are just a booking number that is it. My clients text me, call me after hours on the weekend ect, and yeah the cruise line is open 24 hours, but each time you call you will get a different person who you will have to explain your story to. Now don't get me wrong there are also Bad travel agents, but you can't blame a whole agency for one mans mistake. Travel Agent (11 Years in the business)
 8th of Apr, 2013 by    +1 Votes
I have to agree and wish I had known to stay away. I booked a trip with Globus to Europe for May 2013 and was given an Avoya agent named Greg. He booked our trip and, because we were going an extra day early and later to the trip, booked our air separately. This was back in the fall of 2012. He didn't give me a booking number, seat assignments, nothing. So I emailed him later in 2012 to see when we needed to pay the rest of our trip and he said in the spring of 2013. We paid in early 2013 and still no communication with him. Now we're a month out from our trip and we're asking when we'll get travel documents, where are we staying those extra nights, can we book seat assignments. When I called, it was like he didn't know who I was. Then he said he didn't know about the seat assignments; he said that all European airlines have different seat assignment policies but I should call Aer Lingus myself and find out. He thought we chose our seats the day we checked in. So I called Aer Lingus only to be told that 80% of the seats were pre-booked and gone and that we now have to wait till 24 hours before the flight to try and get our seats and, since the flight is almost sold out, we won't be sitting together. If he had booked it in the fall, we would have the seats that we want. Globus says it isn't their fault because they give some of their trips to Avoya to book; Avoya says it isn't their fault because he's an independent contractor that works for them. So we're left with having to sit in the middle whereever seats might be available because someone can't do their job! Avoid Avoya!
 24th of Feb, 2014 by    0 Votes
I have booked several cruises with Debra Williams of Avoya Travel. She is WONDERFUL. I can not say enough about her service. She is professional, has been in the business for many, many years, is familiar with the cruise lines and itineries. We won't book with anyone else. She is attentive and honest.
Christine Giardina
 10th of Mar, 2014 by    0 Votes
This is why, I honestly like doing everything by the internet. A) The internet gives you a conformation number when finished. (If you know how to use the internet and how the legal system considering the internet you shouldn't have a problem. 1st off make sure that you send the conformation number to yourself and if the site doesn't allow you to send the confirmation number, cancel your flight/cruise etc, because then the company will not be the one to send it and you'll have not proof should in case something does happen. Then cases such as yours won't happen). B) The internet is polite! ( Sometimes people are just down right rude). Lastly, C) The internet gives you what you want, and it's right there in your face, just a few clicks and typing here and there, also if you know what you are doing ( First you need to optimize your search should be at the side. Secondly, after optimizing click on the date you deem fit. After doing that make sure everything it up to par with what you have. Now this is the trick, not because the site says that it's $419 originally doesn't mean that's the price, based upon what you choose the site might make the price go up or down. Now make sure to look at the information that the site gives you before adding or making any adjustments! [THIS IS IMPORTANT DO THISSSSS SECOND BEFORE ANYTHING ELSE, BECAUSE THIS WILL DETERMINE WHTHER OR NOT YOUR PRICE GOES UP OR DOWN.] Now that you have done this, pay your price and and send the confirmation number yourself.
Raeshawn Burke (Travel Agent, Not Online, But AN actual one, this is the trick some travel agents use! Try it!)
 6th of Apr, 2014 by    +1 Votes
I just returned from a cruise on board the Oasis. My wife and myself had a wonderful trip however I also have issues with Diane at Avoya travel. We were promised a 175.00 ship board credit which was never received. RCL made every attempt to rectify the issue and I thank them for there help. I do have the email documenting the 175.00 credit and I will deal directly with Avoya's corporate office. It truly a shame Avoya would not honor what they promised as my family was planning on utilizing there services for the planning and booking of a family reunion next year which could have included the booking of 50 cabins.
Avoya can kiss off a 50, 000.00 booking because of the incompetant agents they use.
 11th of Apr, 2014 by    +3 Votes
I have not used a travel agent in years. I have traveled the world in the past 15 years and have been blessed with successful and gratifying travel plans. This agency and staff have truly reminded of why I have turned to do things on my own. Avoya Travel agent Gloria McDonald was TRULY AWEFUL!!. She was unreliable and not to mention rude. Once you book your trip with her and she has your money, you will NEVER get any results when it comes to feedback or customer service. The customer service at Avoya Travel were no better. Trust me, you are better off booking it yourself through the Internet on your own.
 17th of Aug, 2014 by    0 Votes
Avoya travel is a huge host agency with hundreds of agents who work for them from their homes and may or may nit have had much training selling travel. Since there are hundreds of agents working from their homes, , unless a particular agent has a working relationship with another agent, you can be out of luck reaching your travel counselor. If that happens you should contact their corporate office and file a complaint with the company.

The President if Avoya is named Scott Kempf and his email is scott.koepf@americasvacationcenter.com and you should have contacted him when you had the problem. Sorry you had such a bad experience but you simoly got snooked by a bad agent.
Our clients get the cell phone number of the agent working with them so they have 24 hour assistance should they need us while traveling. Always ask before booking how you get hold of your agent after 6 pm. Sorry this happened.
 21st of Aug, 2014 by    0 Votes
I am an Avoya Travel Agent and have worked with this company for 25 years. Sure, you can sometimes get an agent that you have difficulty working with, not all personalities are going to click. With the hundreds of agents afflliated with Avoya Travel, you can be reassigned to someone that is more to your liking. When you start your process in working with a travel agent, don't be afraid to ask questions regarding their professional background. How long have they been an agent and do they have specialties. Perhaps your particular form of travel isn't their forte. You can also request an agent in your time zone so you don't have to worry about that issue.

I am in constant communication with my clients and have been working with some of them for 15-20 years. I communicate more by email as I'm usually on the phone working out details and can get back with my clients much quicker by email. It also gives a paper trail of our agreement. Get everything in writing and keep it until you have traveled. Pay attention to your reservation and keep in communication and
these types of horror stories shouldn't happen.

Avoya Travel sends out surveys at different stages of your reservation process. Complete those surveys so the company can tell if an agent is not keeping up with the company's standards. Working with a travel agent should be fun and enhance the travel process.
 29th of Jul, 2015 by    0 Votes
I totally disagree with such negative comments about Avoya. I used Avoya through Mrs Amy Wendell and her service was prompt and impeccable.
I live in Malta so my custom was purely on trust basis and my trust paid off. I've been an airline employee for the last forty years and I can recognize a good service from a bad one and can assure that Avoya do give a very good service. Iwould certainly recommend them and will use them again.

Charles Debono
Malta
 28th of Aug, 2015 by    +1 Votes
I would not recommend Avoya Travel at all. I was connected to a so called travel specialist that was very rude. This was not a subtle rude that could have been misconstrued. She was plain rude. She asked me all of the questions that I wanted to ask her and got frustrated because I could not answer them. If I knew the answers then I would not need a "specialist". For instance, I told her what state I lived in and asked what was the closest and most affordable port for me. She said, well you tell me what port you want to leave from. That is not what I asked. She said, look these are things you should have answered on our website, but since you didn't, I will go over them slowly. RUDE!!!
 3rd of Sep, 2015 by    -1 Votes
Her experience was obviously with a person who was dedicated and had no people skills. He should not ne a agent. A good agent cares. it is much like a flight attendant. If they are rude attendants on your flight, you get a negative reaction that reflects with the entire Airline. If you have a great flight with great attendants you are a happy flier. same with Travel Agents! Don't let this let unprofessional creep ruin your experience. Move on and try another agent.
 28th of Dec, 2015 by    0 Votes
Also had a terrible experience with Michael Gussman at Avoya Travel. Boasted about all the cruises he books and how he knows everything about cruises, blah, blah. Said he is available 24 hours a day for any problem. Well when we had a problem on the cruise with the cabin, Royal Caribbean said they couldn't do anything because we booked with him. They did get him on the phone for me and when I told him what was going on and how frustrated I was, he said "I am doing nothing for you". Stay away from this agent. In the future, I will book directly with cruise line. A friend booked with the cruise line and got a better price plus a $150 onboard credit.
 6th of Jan, 2016 by    0 Votes
My experience is exactly the opposite of this poster. Mark was so helpful and I was really pleased. My intuition told me to take an earlier flight to Seattle from Portland but I was certain I didn't want to be on the boat too early. That was a bad choice on my part. You see I have a mobility disability so air, and frankly any means of travel require some form of accommodation. My plane arrived in Seattle at 3:00 pm the boat was departing at 4:00 pm. My travel agent was on the phone with Holland America and Alaska Airlines.. His help was invaluable, I was the last person on the boat. I made it and that is in great thanks to Mark and Avoya.
I told my father in law that this was the best cruise travel agent and that they not only beat his agent in price but also in customer service.
 24th of Jan, 2016 by    +1 Votes
I had a bad experience with an agent who was then with Avoya. After I gave a full explanation to Avoya's headquarters, they corrected the mistake, applying the amount I had sent to that agent, in Canada. Further, they got me in touch with an agent near my home in Hawaii. I understand they have removed the Canada agent, who had actually personally taken my funds The agent who they sent me to in Hawaii has been very professional, has
saved us considerable money on a changed booking. I will continue to utilize her services. My experience with Avoya Travel has been excellent!
 7th of Mar, 2016 by    0 Votes
I must say that I have used Avoya Travel twice and a third time in the works, and have nothing but praise for my agent. Her name is Serli Staller and she is very professional and patient! we are a large group (15) that travel together almost every year and Serli has the patience to deal with all of us on different levels and make things happen, including on board credit, upgrades, and other comps, and most important, sitting us all together!!!. Our first time she arranged our Alaska Cruise, last year she arranged our Baltic cruise, and this year she is arranging our Mediterranean cruise. She calls/emails on a timely manner all the time. I am glad we have been using her and hope to continue to do so for many years to come.!
Antonia Gonzalez
 19th of May, 2016 by    +1 Votes
Maybe some people have had positive experiences with Avoya Travel. Mine was terrible. The agents name who I have been dealing with is Carol Howell. I travel a lot. This time I was wanting to book a transatlantic on Windstar. She gave me a price. I confirmed I was taking it. She sent me the invoice for the amount - two days later! It was a lower grade cabin than she had quoted on and the fare was $500 more. Although I had confirmed that I was taking it immediately after getting her email she stated the obvious, that 'fares can fluctuate and that promotions and quotes are subject to change without notice'. Of course I know that to be true, however I sent her confirmation immediately. She did not respond until two days later. I just don't do business this way. Tardy and Slow to respond. Dishonest so far as I am concerned because if the fare changed within the few minutes after we were making contact she should have advised me of such instead of waiting a couple of days to get back to me. Personally I think that she dropped the ball and did not confirm the booking with Windstar until way after we were talking. I will let everybody know of my negative experience and I have a lot of influence in my community and with others who travel a lot. The best thing Avoya Travel could do is to fire her! What a trashy way to take care of customers who trust in your ability to assist them.
 25th of Jun, 2016 by    +1 Votes
■■■■■ AVOID AVOYA TRAVEL■■■■

A separated mom of 3. I scheduled a cruise for last year 2015 as a graduation present to my daughter. I made a $750 deposit. I emailed my Avoya Rep at the time to cancel my cruise or push it back to a later date. She informed me this would bring a penalty of $250 but the remaining $500 would be placed in the Carnival Guest Care Account. She confirmed this through email. Rep left Avoya travel last year.

I began to get emails from the (New) Reps on 5/11/15. I immediatley forwarded my previous emails to the new reps that I received from the previous rep.

They agreed I would lose the $250 and the $500 would be kept by Carnival Guest Care acct for me to use within 24 months.

I spoke to the new reps again on November 29, 2015 at 10:58 am to confirm this again. They assured me the $500 was safe in the Carnival Guest Care. I called Carnival at 12:00pm they confirmed what was stated to me.

I called the Reps on June 22, 2016; to re-schedule my cruise with Carnival I was sent a email stating "I need to take it up with Carnival."

AVOYA WILL NOT HONOR the first initial information that I was sent with my confirmation from the FIRST REP and only wanted to discuss my contact with the new reps.

They stated my cruise was NEVER CANCELLED or RE SCHEDULED!!!

Avoya now saids, I AM OUT OF $750. As of June 22, 2016; The new reps WOULD NOT HONOR what was PREVIOUSLY AGREED TOO by the previous rep or DURING OUR PHONE CONVERSATIONS.

I am DEVASTATED!!! $500 REALLY? Now, I am being told by the new reps, it is Carnivals fault!!

I called Avoya and asked for the complaint dept at 6:43 pm 6/23/16; I was transferred to a Customer Care Rep. I then emailed Customer Care at 1:43am 6/24/16.

I explained to them I DON'T WANT A REFUND. I want it APPLIED to ANOTHER CRUISE as a DEPOSIT!!!

There affiliates are SCAM ARTIST!!

AVOYA REPS said one thing and NEVER FOLLOWS Through BEHIND THE SCENES EVEN WHEN A EMAIL A CONFIRMATIONS are sent to their customers ALONG WITH BOOKING INFO.

I am a part of a large family. We are VERY close! I will make SURE to inform my family and friends to NEVER use Avoya!

Disgusted and Hurt!!
 1st of Jul, 2016 by    0 Votes
These reviews are all legitimate. Managment does not hold their agents accountable which translates to lost time and money on the consumers side. Van Anderson is the President and CEO and cares very little about complaints because of their size in the industry.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Avoya Travel Logo Avoya Travel
Customer Care Service
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send