logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Quiznos Subs
disgusting commercial
2. (0 mins ago)
Verizon Wireless
Useless Customer Service
3. (14 mins ago)
Injury Legal Solutions
Scam and cheating
4. (18 mins ago)
Injury Legal Solutions
Terrible experience
5. (19 mins ago)
Salt Creek Frenchies
Bad Breeder

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Time Warner Cable, Clarksburg, West Virginia Complaints & Reviews - false promotion

Time Warner Cable Contacts & Informations

Time Warner Cable

Posted:    Patrag

false promotion

Complaint Rating:  98 % with 51 votes
Contact information:
Time Warner Cable
Clarksburg, West Virginia
United States
Their promotion was to switch to Time Warner and receive $200.00 visa gift card. Switched on March 22, 2010 today is June 21, 2010 and guess what no visa card. For months they have been telling me it was being processed and it would take eight weeks from the time they received proof that I switched (their 3rd step in the process). Proof was mailed March 29th and up until today they kept telling me they were processing it and I would receive it around June 15th. Today still no card so I called back. Now they are telling me they created my profile April 15th but never received the "proof" so they are unable to process the claim for the card. And oh by the way the proof was to be mailed in within 30 days of my switching to TWC. Which it was but now that it is June and I have to resend and it is now passed the thirty days and they can't tell me if they will still honor the switch.
Also just so everyone knows the scientific atanta boxes they have won't work with HD. Since I switched I have had several techs come out becaus the box keeps pausing. The techs are telling me it is a known problem, there is no fix and Time Warner is well aware of the problem. So not only am I out the 200.00 I also am paying for services that I can't use or can use some of the time. I am switching back to Dish.
Comments United States Satellite & Cable TV
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 24th of Jun, 2010 by   junogoose 0 Votes
Same here, except my submission went out the 1st week of March. Same explanations in their email responses. In fact, I'll include the discourse below. I'll give them one more week before cancelling:

-------------------------
Subject: turnaround time
To: switchtotwc@twcable.com
Date: 5/5/2010

Hello,
What is the typical turnaround for the gift cards once you receive the final bill?

Thanks.
---------------------------

Subject: Out of Office: turnaround time
From: ALB.switchtotwc

Thank you for submitting your competitor bill(s.) Please be sure you have registered at SwitchToTWC.com.

You should expect to receive your gift card(s) within 4-6 weeks.

If you have any inquiries, please send us an email at switchtotwc@twcable.com.

Thanks-- we're so glad you switched!

THE SWITCH TEAM
----------------------------------


Subject: Re: turnaround time
To: switchtotwc@twcable.com
Date: 5/31/2010

Could you please check the status of my submission? It has been roughly 8 weeks.
It is for a DirecTV to TWC switch at the following address:
[redacted]

Thanks, Dan
------------------

Subject: Re: turnaround time
From: switchtotwc@twcable.com
Date: 6/1/2010

Dear Dan,

The process is 8 weeks from the time all 3 steps have been completed. You can expect your gift card around 6/23.

Thank you,

THE SWITCH TEAM
 30th of Jun, 2010 by   junogoose +1 Votes
Ok, the gift cards arrived today. I was about to cancel my service tomorrow. I'm relieved it isn't a scam, but it's also obvious they have no timetable for getting out the rewards.
 7th of Oct, 2010 by   Debra A. Bolin +1 Votes
I am going through the same thing. We signed up the end of April and signed up for the gift card the first of March. This is now October 7th and I am getting the run around. I have called until I am blue in the face and still they said they never had this promo. I have the plastic card from where I signed up for the gift card. And now I am out 200.00 that they did not honor the promotion. They are telling me that the gift card should come from AT&T and Directv. Why would they be sending me a gift card after I switched from them to time warner. If anyone could get me to the right person about this gift card I would really appreciate it. I will probably cancel my services and contact the news about this. This is false advertising. Here it is October and I am still waiting for what I was promised.
 31st of Oct, 2010 by   Susan Pero... +1 Votes
I have to agree, we too were promised the world to switch. A credit for our previous satellite boxes and the 200 visa gift card. After a huge run around someone in customer service told me they ran out of visa cards. So we get a email offering us a gift card to one of the following companies, and so there is this list. So we went through the process online, the verification said we would get a email with mailing instructions, we never got the email. After months of this nonsense, we still do not have the "gift" card.

The totally swept the 100.00 credit for our satellite equipment under the rug.

So first it is a Visa "you can use the cash" $200.00 gift card, to a retailer gift card...and still no card.

I think someone needs to look into Time Warner's shady promotions.
 11th of Nov, 2010 by   Jaimslee4u +1 Votes
We have the same problem & just thinking about calling them again makes my blood boil!!! Switched from Dish the first week of July. Sent all our info in within a week & got a letter confirming it, saying it will take about 3-5 weeks to get the card. Waited, NOTHING! Called once, said they would do a complaint to the correct department and someone would get back to me. Called again a week later, talked to a "manager" got the same thing with deep apologies that no one got back to me. Waited, again, nothing!!! Called a 3rd time and was told no-one ever processed my complaint! With deep apologies, one more time, I was promised someone would atleast get back to me, & that they were three weeks behind. (umm this was October so already they were about 2 months behind). Finally got an e-mail from a gift card place, stating that TWC now uses them to issue cards. Sent all my stuff back and got a confirmation from the company and was told 3 weeks. It has been a month!!! I am not happy and seriously am thinking that some type of law suit needs to happen. Isn't this false advertisment!!!?????
 9th of Jan, 2011 by   ROGER TENIENTE +1 Votes
I believed all this comments/complains are legit! These just shows you that money talks and /';./'-1./; walks!!! I just feel sorry for all this people, taken for a ride. I think the government should step in.
 9th of Jan, 2011 by   Susan Pero... +1 Votes
My post was 70 days ago- still no go for the "gift card". A Company called Customer Motivators at 6778 Lantana Rd. Lake Worth Fl. 33467. I called a month later to ask where it was, "Oh sigh...you did not get it", Asked the customer rep. No we did not. She informed me the card was sent out on Nov. the 12th. ( LIARS) So they sent us a form, had to fill it out with a copy of our license and at the bottom, TONS of threats that if you claimed the card falsely you were going to jail, blah..blah...blah trying to scare you into not even giving it a go. So I call Time Warner, they said just fill the form out and send it with a copy of your license... I am not happy at all about this. I have also called 5 times about the 100.00 credit we were to get on our account, a promise "if we switched it all to time Warner"...never got it either. I plan on switching back to Verizon, the service it ok, but I don't like giving my money to liars..
 9th of Jan, 2011 by   Susan Pero... 0 Votes
My post was 70 days ago- still no go for the gift card. A Company called Customer Motivators at 6778 Lantana Rd. Lake Worth Fl. 33467. I called a month later to ask where it was, Oh sigh...you did not get it, , , Asked the customer rep. No we did not. She informed me the card was sent out on Nov. the 12th. ( LIARS) So they sent us a form, had to fill it out with a copy of our license and at the bottom, TONS of threats that if you claimed the card falsely you were going to jail, blah..blah...blah trying to scare you into not even giving it a go. So I call Time Warner, they said just fill the form out and send it with a copy of your license... I am not happy at all about this. I have also called 5 times about the 100.00 credit we were to get on our account, a promise "if we switched it all to time Warner"...never got it either. I plan on switching back to Verizon, the service it ok, but I don't like giving my money to liars.
 16th of Jun, 2011 by   TWOBEE 0 Votes
hi everyone SAME THING HAPPEN TO ME ... BUTTTTT I E-MAILED AND CALLED "corporate"
E-MAIL: GLENN.BRITT@TWC.COM ( glenn.britt@twcable.com) CEO!
THEN I TALKED TO MISS RUTHERFORD, IN MR. BRITT'S OFFICE...SHE THEN HAD TODD WILLIS E MAIL ME . HE IS THE EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT TO THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT HIS PH # IS...>( 323) 785- 0348 THEN TODD CALLED ME TODAY, AND HE TOLD ME MY $200.00 GIFT CARD IS BEING "FED EX'd" TO ME TODAY, AND I WILL GET IT TOMORROW!!! Yeeeee Hawwwww!!! SO DO NOT GIVE UP!!! THIS IS YOUR gift FROM TWC, AS LONG AS YOU FULFILL YOUR PORTION OF THE AGREEMENT.
ALSO "FYI" YOUR ACCOUNT HAS TO BE IN GOOD STANDING TO GET THIS CARD, SO IF IT IS...GO GET YOUR CARD, JUST LIKE I DID! GOOD LUCK!!!
 20th of Jun, 2011 by   thebait 0 Votes
I switched to TW with a promise of a $200.00 gift card. That was 2 1/2 months ago...to date no GC and no one to complain to except TW. All they say is you have to send an email. I'm getting ready to file a complaint with the FCC. AND switcing back AWAY from false promotions.
 22nd of Jun, 2011 by   Victor12 0 Votes
I switched to TWC in early February, and complained about a month ago. I was promised that someone will send me email confirmation. I have yet to receive it. Emailed to swichetotwc.com and no reply yet. Just today again I was promised by customer service agent. I am sure I will get no reply. Let us see If Mr. Britt replys.
 23rd of Jul, 2011 by   halhens 0 Votes
Same here in Texas. We signed up in March 2011 and we were promised $200.00 gift card, guess what no card. We complained several times and finally today we recieved a card for $50.00 not the $200 as promised. We called TWC and were cut off during the conversation. After reading the above complaints we also left a message for Mr.Willis explaining the issue and letting him know that we will call the BBB and FCC along with the local news station if this issue was not resolved promptly.
 3rd of Oct, 2011 by   Frances Bogart 0 Votes
Time Warner better call me, (843-7425007)other wise I will be so done with you!!!I'not playing game
 3rd of Oct, 2011 by   Frances Bogart 0 Votes
TIME WARNER BETTER CALL ME NOW, OTHER WISE I'LL BE SOOOOOO DONE WITH YOU!!
NO MORE FALSE PROMISES.
STOP THE PROMISE YOU CAN NOT COMPLY!:(((
 28th of Oct, 2011 by   semsemone -1 Votes
please all go to face book and find the page i created, it is called i hate time warner cable
http://www.facebook.com/pages/I-Hate-Time-Warner-Cable
post your story and we will be able to stop them from their unfair practices
 8th of Dec, 2012 by   tired of TWC BS +1 Votes
Well we waited 8 months for our rebate to arrive.that meant being on the phone every week for about 2 hours every time.But we went to uSee the card and no good, never activated it.So hear we go again on the phone with TWC and they say well I guess the card is no good just shred it!!!.With no replacement.Well I called the Vanilla Visa that handles the cards for promotions and they said TWC needed to activate the cards before Seending them out.OK now back on the phone with TWC WOW my head hurts! they tell me that it's not there problem.If we all act like this in our jobs I See why they Seend them over Seeas totally incompetent people want money but have no clue how to earn it.TWC really should call their customer Seevice line just to Seee what kind of answers they get they will be amazed of stupid answer they get.
 27th of Jan, 2013 by   bandeapart 0 Votes
FINALLY GOT MY GC!!! (Here's how...)

I'm hoping to spread the news on how to actually get your gift card because I know how much of a PAIN IN THE A$$ the whole ordeal is since I've personally spoke to more than 10 TWC reps to no avail, gone through numerous call transfers, holds and basically given the runaround throughout. It was no longer about the money but now more out of spite and sheer audacity at their shady business...but the good news is I can finally say that the gift card is now in my possession (umm albeit after a little more than a year from the date of installation/switch Nov. 2011).

HERE'S HOW:
If you have already submitted your final bill to them AND you have had your new subscription/switch for AT LEAST 3 months proceed with...
1) Email TWCRewardCard@ourpartners.com, with your account #, name, address, and date of installation, along with a brief explanation about how much GC you are owed, rant, complaint, etc basically asking where your damn GC is!
2) They will email you back after some 'research' and hopefully (which was in my case) say that you have qualified for your entitled amount of GC and will send it out withiin 4-6 weeks.
3) 4-6 weeks is BS, it took a solid 3 months for me, but VOILA your GC should be sitting in your mailbox! FUH-FINALLY!

HOPE THIS HELPS & GOODLUCK!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

How to Buy a Photo Printer

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?