Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Prima Seal


Close Prima seal down! They are a scam company!

Complaint Rating:  82 % with 11 votes
82% 11
I Wanted to let every customer know that Prima Seal is unethical and has fraudulent business practices. After completing an online questionnaire for replacement windows on the Andersen Windows website, we were contacted by Prima Seal for a free, in-home consultation. On February 7th, 2007, I was visited by Ken Alderfer, home improvement specialist, for Prima-Seal. During his visit, Ken explained the benefit of using Sunrise Windows over other competitors such as Andersen Windows, Pella, etc. Because my wife and I have never heard of Sunrise Windows, Ken provided us with a sales brochure and a demonstration highlighting the differences of competing windows. As a result of the demonstration, we were very impressed and extremely interested in purchasing windows from Sunrise Windows. However, because we were updating our kitchen with several contractors, we would make a purchase contingent upon our replacement windows being installed by the week of March 5, 2007. We were very clear and concise regarding the sensitivity of our time line. To our surprise, Ken explained this was a "slow time of year" and this would be no problem accommodating our deadline. Further, he offered a significant discount for the windows and arrived at a total price of $2,753 (with a required deposit of $1,427, paid by check). We ordered 3 windows: 1 Sunrise Window, 45 degree, Prima-Weld Bay window, with Colonial Grids. 1 Sunrise Window, Double Hung Window, measuring 35 X 35. 1 Sunrise Window, Slider Window.

Beginning on the week of 2/26, we began making calls to Prima-Seal to confirm our order was placed with Sunrise Windows and we were on target to meet our deadline. However, the representative we spoke to, Beth had no way of communicating with Ken Alderfer and we were referred to Brad Scott (later discovered his real name of Brad Sores) also other last name she goes by, owner of Prima-Seal. Throughout the next couple of weeks, we were informed by Brad the windows had been ordered and he was expecting delivery in the next few days. However, in every instance, he was unable to produce an order number or model number of windows being ordered on our behalf. As Brad, began to offer excuse after excuse, we decided to be proactive and contact the corporate headquarters of Sunrise Windows in Temperance, MI. Sunrise Windows had no record of any order being placed on our behalf. Further, we learned the company had severed ties with Prima-Seal in January 2007, mainly Brad Scott. Though the company did not offer details, the legal representation of the company was seeking action against Prima Seal. After learning of the news, we researched Prima-Seal on the Better Business Bureau. To our dismay, we discovered 11 complaints had been filed in the last 12 months, and 13 in the last 36 months. Also, his name is stated Brad Sores on the site, though in every conversation, he claimed his name was Brad Scott. Though the BBB lists this company with a "satisfactory record", we were very unhappy and proceeded to contact Brad with our findings. After informing him of our calls to Sunrise Windows and our findings on BBB, he stated he uses another local distributor to order his Sunrise Windows. Once again, he refused to provide contact information of his local distributor. Also, he stated he decided to sever ties with Sunrise Windows. Oddly enough, at the conclusion of this call on 3/6, he informed us our windows were in his warehouse and would be installed on Tuesday, March 13, 2007 between the hours of 10-11 AM EST. After calling the morning of 3/13, we were told Brad is on vacation and there is no delivery and installation scheduled at our home. As a result of his misinformation and false expectations, we have many conflicting schedules with our other contractors.

Given our issues, historical complaints via the Better Business Bureau, The Attorney General of PA & our attorney that sent a letter out to Brad and Sunrise Windows position against Brad Scott, we requested an immediate investigation into Prima Seal. We would like to be refunded our deposit of $1,427 immediately and this company to cease operations. It is disgusting and shocking with the number of formal complaints, this company is in good standing with the Better Business Bureau. I think it is very important to emphasize formal complaints. For an individual, like me, to take the time to investigate a company, make numerous calls during business hours, and research the process of filing a formal complaint is a statement of its own. In the last 12 months, an average of just under one complaint a month has been filed against Prima-Seal. I demand a formal investigation be launched into the fraudulent and unethical acts of ALL associated with Prima Seal. We just want our money back!! Be careful with his contracts!!!The contract does state Prima Seal does have 180 days to complete the project. Who in there right mind would wait 6 months for a window? However, if Sunrise Windows has severed the relationship with Prima Seal as of January 11, 2007, how could these windows be produced at all? After one month, Brad informed us he is using another contractor to purchase Sunrise Windows. This should have been disclosed at the point of sale to give us an opportunity to research that individual’s good standing with Sunrise Windows. When asked for this contractor’s information, Brad stated he was not permitted to release it. Most importantly, no where on the contract does it indicate Prima Seal’s right to use a third party. STAY AWAY FROM PRIMA SEAL...
Complaint comments Comments (7) Complaint country United States Complaint category Building, Construction


Sort by: Date | Rating
 22nd of May, 2007 by    0 Votes

Prima Seal - This company is a fraud!
United States

After a consultation on 5/3/07, my roommate signed a contract with Ken Alderfer (representing Prima Seal) for ordering and installing 9 windows in our apartment. At that time, she wrote a check in the amount of $1454.00 (1/3 the estimated cost) with the assurance that the check would not be cashed until she spoke to me and we called to confirm everything with Brad Scott, the owner of the company. When we tried to call, we only were able to leave a voice mail message, and later found out from her bank that the check was indeed cashed on 5/7/07 without further contact with the company and, upon finally speaking to Brad on 5/10/07, he admitted that it was just a misunderstanding.

An appointment was made to measure for the windows on 5/16/07 at 4:30 pm. Brad called at the beginning of that week, 5/14/07, to reconfirm the appointment. My roommate was present in the apartment, awaiting the scheduled meeting, but nobody showed up. We were not phoned or contacted in any way since that call from Brad Scott on 5/14/07.

It is now a week later (5/21/07), and after leaving at least two messages per day (calling at least 6 times per day) as well as 4 urgent emails in the past 6 days, the voice mailbox is full and we cannot find any other way to contact and speak to someone. We even tried faxing a letter but apparently their fax machine has been shut off.

After our own experience with this company as well as reading other complaints here and BBB, clearly, those running this company (including the owner Brad and his partner Ken) are frauds. All we want is our money back. We are working with a lawyer to move forward in taking them to court.
 23rd of May, 2007 by    0 Votes

Prima Seal - Failure to perform while keeping deposit
United States

Clearly the company has been misrepresenting itself. We ordered $10,000 in replacement (18) windows, paying a $3,334 deposit in on 2/24/07. After considerable delays they final came and did a measurement in April. Since then frequent attempts to contact the owner have met with no response. Becoming suspicious we have followed up with Sunrise Windows and learned that Prime Seal have been an INACTIVE customer with them for at least 8 months.

In addition to wanting to explore ways to get our money back from the company I am interested in pursuing other avenues of recourse. Part of our due diligence included asking for names and addresses of satisfied customers. My calls to them were satisfactory, but now I wonder who I was calling...

We need to get the word out on this company, and bring the relevant parties to justice...
 24th of May, 2007 by    0 Votes

Prima Seal - No windows, robbed for $5433.00
United States

Paid for windows in January with the balance paid in march no windows and contacted sunrise windows and they were never ordered need to shut this company down.
 4th of Jun, 2007 by    0 Votes

Prima Seal - Prima Seal - con artists!
United States

This was a memo I sent to Prima Seal.

To: Prima Seal, Brad Scott, Brad Sore, Ken Alderfer

Re: Cancellation of Window Order

Be notified that I am canceling my window order placed 5-5-07 for 2 replacement windows. I paid $265 as a down payment and require a return of this down payment in full.

I was told by Ken that the windows could be installed within 2 weeks at the latest. He told me Brad would call on 5/8/07 to schedule an appointment. He never called so I had to call again on 5/12/06. A fellow came through and very quickly placed a measuring tape on one window, didn’t write anything down and told me he could get the windows in the next week. It is now 10 days later and I have heard no word on the windows. I have placed MULTIPLE calls and have had no response. The Prima-Seal voice mail box is now and has been full. With this, I can only assume that my windows have not been ordered and you do not plan to return my call.

I am very disappointed that you would do this to me and my family. The windows were broken by an angry father and we’ve had to live with this for weeks. My children and I are saddened that you would take advantage of us in this fashion to steal a few dollars. This complaint is being submitted to the BBB and I will take this as far as I can to get satisfaction.
 22nd of Jun, 2007 by    0 Votes

Prima Seal - Stolen deposit / fraud company
United States

This company stole $1275.00 from us!!! My husband gave Ken a check on 3/27/2007 for windows to be installed in our kitchen after a fire in our home. We have not heard from them since. We have begun the legal process with this company. They will pay for their crime!!!
 2nd of Nov, 2007 by    0 Votes

I have had exactly the same experience with this complaint. I ordered 6 wood windows, and Ken was also the sale's man. I paid over $1400 deposit, and never got the windows. I contacted Prima-Seal for numerous time over half year, and finally after 2 years, I went to the small claim court. As this complaint said that Brat Scott, the name he used, lied to me all the time. The court rewarded me for the entire deposit plus the court cost, but I still haven't received any money yet. Now, I am contacting the court at Allentown, and hopefully I will get my money back. This is a fraud business, and they steal money!

 20th of Nov, 2007 by    0 Votes
Apparently people are now starting to get ripped off at Brad Scotts new company Creative Windows & More.. this guy needs to be locked up!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Contact Us

Reply to