Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Maytag

Posted:    

Won't clean dishes!

Complaint Rating:  75 % with 195 votes
75% 195
3.75
Contact information:
Maytag Quiet Series 300
United States
I have a quiet series 300 also, I may as well wash all the dishes by hand because if I put them in the dishwasher with ANY food on them, it will still be there when it's done "washing" them and I'll have to do it anyway. That's even with EVERY feature turned on despite that it takes forever to NOT clean the dishes. I've had it for a year, it's the WORST dishwasher I have EVER used. The door latch stopped working about a week after the warranty was up so now we have to pry it out with a knife to get it to latch so it will NOT wash the dishes. Basically it's a $400+ dollar sanitizer and a waste of water and electricity. I will never buy another Maytag appliance. Any future purchases will be Kenmore.
Complaint comments Comments (366) Complaint country United States Complaint category Appliances

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
A  16th of Mar, 2010 by    0 Votes
Oh man! Do I wish we had read up on this before buying this dishwasher. I have never liked it as it doesn't seem to clean as well as my other one did that we had for years. We've only had this one since last July, not quite a year. Now it's often really noisy and last night the control panel got stuck and won't do anything -- won't run, won't turn off, nothing. My husband even turned the circuit breaker off to try and shock it into doing something. No go!!

Doesn't even sound like it's worth putting out the money to have it fixed. Has anyone figured out what can be done with the control panel?
A  21st of Mar, 2010 by    +1 Votes
I have had all these problems with the dishwasher, The cleaning part we fixed by running a cup full of vinigar in the top rack and ran empty 2 times then it started to clean again like when it was new. We now have both racks rusting out and faling apart in 2.5 years and no model decal so I can't look up parts to order the racks! I will never buy one again:(
N  24th of Mar, 2010 by    0 Votes

Maytag - bad parts
Maytag
1060 N Hampton Dr NE
Grand Rapids
Michigan
United States
Phone: 616 458 4953

The plastic parts that makes the washer spin has broken twice even with proper loading of the clothes. The clothes have been loaded according to instructions. The dryer part that makes the dryer go on when you shut the door broke.(plastic of course). The dish washer basket has rusted away. In the mean time the rust has made rust marks on my dishes. I also have the stove, knock on wood nothing so far. I have too laugh about the Maytag man on TV with nothing to do. I could keep him busy!
A  9th of Apr, 2010 by    +1 Votes
Ditto Ditto Ditto... This thing is JUNK! I am a self proclaimed expert of all things mechanical... I think it ran out of magic pixie dust because that is the only way you are going to get this thing to wash dishes.
A  9th of Apr, 2010 by    +1 Votes
I agree on the dishwasher problems. Mine is a piece of junk. I always owned Maytag but the last purchases on washer and dryer and now the dishwasher shows me that Maytag is not the quality company they once were. The racks are cheap and all the prongs broke off. Rust on the remaining prongs. Now the darn thing won't clean either the upper or lower racks. I've tried everything. Took apart the thing and cleaned the filters thoroughly, etc. I have soft water and the heat is on full blast for the hot water heater. Still the dishes come out filthy. Never again will I buy or recommend Maytag. I hope they go out of business where they belong with all the other dead corporate giants.

Steve Anton
A  9th of Apr, 2010 by    0 Votes
they are gone. Somo other company bought them. I for get which but it is a big name brand.
It may be possible to fix or hack new parts into the control panel. The question is: is it worth it? Buy the cheap Hotpoint with buttons on the left and a dial on the right. Works Great and very few parts
Sim
A  15th of Apr, 2010 by    0 Votes
ha, I just came across this board when searching for a Maytag parts online store because my dishwasher needs a new silverware container. I completely agree at the dismal performance of this new dishwasher (ours is about 2 years old). We bought this new Maytag when our other, 14 year old Maytag finally died (though ironically, even when we replaced it, it was cleaning better than the new 300 does!) because we were so happy with the performance over the many years. Additionally, we have been very happy with our "old" washer and dryer that (knock-on-wood) still are going great.

Well, now I know I will NEVER buy another Maytag again. This machine doesn't clean, the racks are broken/breaking, the silverware container is totallly broken, and did I mention that it doesn't clean? I will give it a little credit that it is quieter than my last one.

A
A  4th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
Wow I thought I was the only one! I bought it because it said Maytag, and that used to mean something. Man how I wish I had done some research, I almost always do, but this was MAYTAG!!

I can not believe how dirty the dishes are that come out of this thing. I was just now surfing to find an answer, and I guess I just got it! Never again!

I am very interested in a class action lawsuit too. Any info on it?
N  7th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
We bought a brand new home 1.5 years ago. The Maytag 300 was installed by our builder. The very first time I used it I could not believe how long the cycles were. I have never in my life seen a dishwasher that needs to run so darn long...big waste of electricity and water in my opinion. I think it is quiet (compared to other dishwashers I have had) but it doesn't seem to clean that great. Plus my control panel is now malfunctioning. Glad I found this board. I suppose my warranty is up since it has been over a year now????
A  10th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
I have ta Maytag Quiet Series 300 dishwasher and I hate it. I have never seen so many things go wrong on one appliance before in such a short amount of time. The latch is broken, the wheel on the top rack is broken, the soap dispenser no longer opens during the wash. The motor broke and leaked water all over my kitchen, so it was replaced by a repairman, and is now making a loud noise again. Now the control panel is giving us grief- sometimes it won't start, and sometimes, it starts all by itself in the middle of the night.

We do not abuse our appliances, and we have never had trouble like this before. It's just a terrible product.

This is the worst appliance I have ever had the misfortune of owning.
A  10th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
My 74 year old mother is having to handwash dishes because of the broken door latch. I came over to wash her dishes and then to find a link re this Quiet Series 300 and found this message board. Unbelievable what I'm reading! The water never fully drains in my mom's dishwasher either.

She bought the Maytag because her old one was very dependable. Maytag USED TO equal dependability. Now I tend to think they just equal big $$ for their executives - like all of these other major corporations.

Hey Maytag, are you having your appliances manufactured in China by cheap laborers??I'd love to know if a class action suit is in the works!
N  17th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes

Maytag Repair - Don't do business with them
Maytag Repair
United States

Richard F. Buls of 10099 Golden Eye Ct, New Market, MD markets himself as a Maytag Repair Service. He came to my home on 4/14/2010, stated I needed a new motor and it would have to be ordered.

He called me a week later and told me the motor wouldn't be shipped until 5/1/10. Despite repeated calls to him, which he never returned, I still had not working dryer on 5/13/10. By this till, I was sure I had been scammed.

I was able to find his home address and went there on 5/14/10. He smelled of alcohol. He swore he would come to my home on the following tuesday to complete repairs. And he stated I will not be charged for the labor, although I have paid 265. for the part

In the meantime, I found out he is not factory authorized to perform repairs, although he advertises as such. According to Montgomery County records, he has been prohibited from performing appliance repair in Montgomery County, as a result of five complaints, from trading under several names, including "Montgomery Maytag Service, LLC, Maytag Service, and R.F. Buls, Jr for failure to properly repair appliances.

He has been sued repeatedly, dating back to 1989, according to MD state records.

I didn't do my homework prior to writing the check. But, hopefully anyone reading this will gain from my experience. Do NOT do business with this man!!
A  19th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
Ditto here! I purchased this piece of junk almost 3 years ago and it hasn't washed the dishes properly since Day 1. It was highly recommended by Home Depot. I was told to use different detergent, use different spot cleaning agent, EVERYTHING I have tried. I thought what is the point in washing them (which rinsing clean doesn't seem to do the trick) when I bought this dishwasher to do just that? I just took my cutlery from it and had to fill the sink to rewash it. The other day I served a beverage with ice in it and on the top was "floating sand." Luckily I caught it before my company drank it. How humiliating. It uses sooooooo much energy too! The light wash cycle is 2 hours. When I remove them from the dishwasher I have to dry them off and rewash 80% of them over again in the sink - how frustrating! What is the point in all of this? It doesn't hold a lot of dishes either. If I have company for dinner (4) the dishwasher doesn't even hold enough to wash our dinner plates, bowls, etc. My suggestion to those who want to purchase this dishwasher - DON'T ! If you don't want to experience high blood pressure, become agitated then I suggest you look at another product - outside of Maytag. I was always under the impression Maytag was a great product, but I also purchased a double-sided refrigerator with ice/water dispenser, a $1900.00 convection flat top stove and a washer and dryer and have had nothing but problems with the fridge and stove. Fortunately (knock on wood) the washer and dryer are still working. Friends of mine that were considering Maytag products have looked elsewhere after seeing what Maytag has done for me.
N  24th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
05-24-10
I purchased a Maytag washer 12-19-03 and had it 2 years and it went to pieces. There was 3 things wrong with it and was going to cost as much to repair it as to buy a new one. I will say that, even tho the warranty had expired, Maytag paid most of the repair bill probably because I complained about Maytag's reputation for having such a good product, which is not the case anymore. The really bad thing was that after 4 more years use it blew up again and I had to purchase a new washer and it wasn't a Maytag. When the men came to bring my new washer I overheard a conversation. They said my Matgag washer was one of those "SAV" washers and to take it to the dump. Apparently, there had been a lot of problems with them. I hope more people will start complaining about this "junk" that is being produced and sold to the public. It's not only Maytag...others as well. THANKS A LOT MAYTAG FOR COSTING ME A LOT OF MONEY THAT I CAN'T AFFORD. I will not be purchasing anything from Maytag again. Your product has gone to the dogs.
Karen King
Richmond MO 64085
816-776-2307
A  30th of May, 2010 by    0 Votes
We have had our no-so Quiet 300 series dishwasher for 2 years and it was a piece of crap from the start. My main complaint is that it leaves a film of detergent all over the dishes and does not clean them. They seems to come out looking worse than before I rinsed them and put them in. In the last 2 years I have tried different types of dishwasher detergent, from gel to liquid to power and experimenting with different amounts including using different rinsing agents. Nothing works and it gets worse every week. I hate to spend money on something that is not entirely broken, but we may have to suck it up and just buy a new one. We will definitely not purchase from Sears or buy a Maytag ever again. Any suggestions for a simple fix-it for a not-so-handy family would be most appreciated. Maytag...you're fired!
A  2nd of Jun, 2010 by    0 Votes
I bought my Magtag dishwasher a year ago and it has never worked well. The dishes are always dirty unless they are on the front right part of the dishwasher. Over and over I look inside to see if anything is blocking the spray wand. Always like backwash is left on my upper rack. Never again with a maytag dishwasher. And still the this machine rates 9 out of 10 for performance. Go figure. Wonder who was the lucky one to get the other 9.
N  3rd of Jun, 2010 by    0 Votes
Well, I got my new quiet series in my new home purchased in 2007. I never had the latch issue, but I did have the dirty grime in the glasses especially. But my main concern was the control panel. It satrted a few months ago. I could only wash on one cycle for awhile. Then I would have to wait sometimes up to a few days for it to turn on to start another cycle. It basically worked when it wanted to. Well, after like 3 days, i think it has finally gave up. Im not sure if i want to invest in any money ordering whatever new boards it needs. It might be more ecomomical to just buy a new one.

But, I just stumbled across a recall a few minutes ago concerning a fire hazard. My serial number ends in LJ, so i believe it falls under the recall. Here's a link https://repair.maytag.com/prjjck10/default.jsp

Or you can call1-800-544-5513. They are giving the option of a repair, a $150 rebate on certain models, or a $250 rebate on other models. Since all my appliances are Maytag, I think I just might try the rebate option and purchase a newer model and maybe have some better luck. BTW, if someone starts a class action suit, you can count me in. Thanks.
A  3rd of Jun, 2010 by    0 Votes
I have had all the problems listed here with my 300quiet series and then some... Doesn't clean dishes... latch broke, had repaired...after repair, only one function worked...repairman came out again and had to replace the whole latch and brain...top rack bearings broke...so rack falls off every time you pull it out...the cost to repair will now be as much as a new washer...condensation runs down the front while washing dishes...This is a horrile machine...very dissappointed.
N  7th of Jun, 2010 by    0 Votes

Maytag - Promises Promises
Maytag
Miami
Florida
United States

Bought a new front loading washing machine 8 weeks ago.
Maytag, you know the one where the repair men have nothing to do, but unfortunately that is just their marketing line/ gimmick.

My daughter just returned home from college, husband arrived home from a 21 day business trip and twins still in school depart for camp this Thursday. We live in Miami, it is summer...so that means plenty of daily laundry.

Have been unable to wash for 10 days, the repair man who visited late afternoon on Tuesday, did not have the part. It would be ordered and promised he, (yes he actually said I PROMISE) because unlike most tradespeople here in Miami he stood by his word and he would be back Saturday to build it in.
SURPRISE SURPRISE Saturday came and went of course and I didn't even get a phone call to advise me the part was on back order. When I rang the appliance center that services/repairs Maytags here, they were not even open on Saturdays.

Now explain why I should be buying American made items from an American company when I could have bought myself a reliable LG, where Life is Good and supported the South Korean economy instead.
Will Maytag pay my Laundromat bill?
N  13th of Jun, 2010 by    0 Votes
Add me to the list! What a hunk of junk.
The salesman at Home Depot pushed this thing so hard, I will not buy another appliance there.
My Maytag dishwasher is by far the worst I have ever seen.
As most everyone else said, the control panel went out, the motor had to be replaced, and the utensil baskets broke, along with some other parts on the racks. Since I have a home warranty, these were covered items.
What is not covered is the fact that the dishwasher does not clean the dishes.
I read about all the issues here and took the thing apart today, looking for any sort of filter or clogged pipe, it was all cleaned.
We rinsed off some dishes well, put them in, and dang if they didn't come out with the same gritty residue as before.
The only thing I have been able to do to improve this is to rinse the dishes, run the rinse cycle on the dishwasher, and then clean the dishes.
Well why am I doing all this????
So, a not so old dishwasher will be replaced this week.
Class action suit???

Sign me up!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Maytag Logo Maytag
Customer Care Service
553 Benson Road
Benton Harbor
Michigan
United States - 49022
+1 800 344 XXXX
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send