logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Grant Seeker Pro
Scam
2. (6 mins ago)
NetSpend
cancelled card after depositing $900.oo
3. (13 mins ago)
Verizon FIOS
Rate increase FIOS service
4. (16 mins ago)
All Web Leads
Scam
5. (34 mins ago)
North Star Alarm Services
Contract cancelling

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Dr. Sam Assassa, Beverly Hills, California Complaints & Reviews - Rip off

Dr. Sam Assassa Contacts & Informations

Dr. Sam Assassa

Posted: 2011-02-01 by    fscalone

Rip off

Complaint Rating:  55 % with 29 votes
Contact information:
Beverly Hills Aesthetics
9478 Olympic Blvd. Ste. 301, Beverly Hills CA 90212
Beverly Hills, California
United States
Phone: 310-552-9800
bhaesthetics.com
I came to Dr. Assassa on Aug 9th, 2010 after receiving a coupon from his office in the mail for a discount on services at his location. In my initial consultation with Dr. Assassa I told him I was interested in Smart Lipo to get rid of the cellulite on my thighs and buttocks. He looked me over and told me that I did not need Smart Lipo and that I should get a treatment called Celluraze. He told me that Celluraze is a new technology here in the USA and that it is the best thing to get rid of cellulite on the market and it has been used for years in Europe. He said that they were the only office that offers this revolutionary new procedure. He told me that after 6 treatments my cellulite would be gone and I would have smooth skin. Dr. Assassa spent all of maybe 10 minutes talking with me and the quickly passed me on to Diana Jarrar, who I later learned was just an office assistant with no medial background. My fiancé, was with me at the consultation and he and I went into a room with Diana Jarrar to discuss the details of the procedure and pricing in more detail. Diana went explained the details on how the procedure works even saying that it compliantly got rid of her cellulite. She said that we had similar body types and that if I did Celluraze, my cellulite would be gone. Diana told me that she couldn’t guarantee anything but that I would definitely see a 90% or better improvement to my cellulite after the 6 treatments. Convinced by Diana and Dr. Assassa that this was the right choice I paid $1, 500 for 6 Celluraze treatments. After 3 treatments, I still had not seen results. Concerned, I asked the nurse that did the procedure if this was normal. She told me not to worry and that I would not see the full results until 3 months after my last treatment. My last treatment was on September 13, 2010, 3 months after being January 13th and still I had not even a 1% improvement to my cellulite. I set an appointment to speak with the doctor on January 24th, 2010 to express my concerns. When I came into the office that day I saw that the procedure that I paid $1, 500 for was now being offered at less than half the price of only $750. I told Dr. Assassa that the procedure did not work and that it was also very painful. I told him that I felt that I had been lied to and asked him if he would refund me my money for the procedures. Dr. Assassa said in a very arrogant tone, I do not guarantee anything, it looks like you have had improvement and maybe your expectations are too high. He then went on to call his secretary into the room. He told me that she remembered me from a few years back and that I had gone to her tanning salon and complained there as well. He said that this showed him that I have a pattern of complaining. I told him that it was absolutely absurd that he would bring my business dealings at a tanning salon year’s prior with his secretary into the conversation about the Celluraze treatments not working. I again asked for a full refund for the Celluraze and he again declined stating that I could take him to court but that I would never win. He then told me that he was going to refund me for the additional 2 treatments of laser hair removal that I paid for on the same day that I purchased the Celluraze because my expectations are too high and he did not want me complaining about that too. Before leaving the office, I asked for copies of my medical records only to be told that I had to pay a $30 fee to them to get copies. I did not have the $30 on me and have yet to receive copies of my medical records. I am now in the process of taking Dr Assassa to small claims court. And I have filed a formal complaint with the Medical Board of California.


Comments United States Plastic Surgery
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 7th of Jun, 2011 by   Sam Assassa +2 Votes
The judge dismissed the case !!!

This proves again that the reviewer has malicious intentions to bad mouth our practice reputation for no legitimate reason or good cause. I'm surprised that yelp team has not removed this review yet despite the fact that they have already received a copy of the judge order to dismiss the case.
 3rd of Jul, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare -2 Votes
i also received a coupon in the mail like the person whpo lodged a complaint before me about Dr. Assassa, it came with my grocery store coupons that said "SUMMER SPECIALS!!!" I had just completed 3 major surgeries in the past 6 months and had not worked out for a year which caused some accumulation of belly fat that would not go away. I'd had a spinal fusin in December of 2011, my right elbow rebuilt in October of 2011, and my left bicep reattached to my shoulder and could not work out before these surgeries nor after them. I was depressed and was looking for some compassionate assistance in restoring my waste line . What I received from Dr;. Assassa DID change my life, but not in the way that I'd hoped it would.
Dr. Assassa was very charismatic as he assured me in my two consultations that I would get an excellent result as I am a youthful and fit 5 ft 6 inch 125 pound 56 year old woman. After I agreed to the procedure, i was asked for $2500 on the spot, and another $2500 on my second consultation which I paid.
On the day of my procedure, June 19th, Dr. Assassa's personality had changed drastically. He was pensive, agitated and visibly different. Both my husband and I noticed it and made a comment that maybe he's had a hard day. Dr. Assassa's militant nurse barely spoke English and berated me along with Dr. Assassa for what he called "my complaining" because I felt every puncture, prod, suction and stitch made to my navel for the 3 & 1/2 hour surgery..
Before the surgery, during the surgery, and after the surgery, Dr. Assassa and his nurse were behaving very sadistically, and refusing me anything for pain the entire time as I begged them to help me..
I reiterate here, Dr. Assassa performed a 3 & 1/2 hour Smartlipo surgery on me without giving me a thing for pain, or numbing me with any injections before they started puncturing me.
Further, before I was led to the room with the surgical table, Dr. Assassa had me in another room for photos and insisted I take off my bra to be photographed for lipo on my upper and lower abs. We were alone in this room and I didn't feel safe so I objected by asking to keep my bra on and Dr. Assassa told me to stop being such a prude and just pull up the sides of my surgical thong which brought my hands from my bare breasts leaving them exposed. He maniacally took several photos while I was extremely uncomfortable and humiliated.
The rough nurse came in the room after speaking with Dr. Assassa outside and shamed me in her broken English by saying I have hang ups about exposing my nude body for photos.
After being taken to the surgical room, I no sooner hopped up on the surgical table than Dr. Assassa started puncturing me. I was writhing in pain and was given no pain medication and the tranquilizer I was given didn't work, nor did the laughing gas that they kept slapping onto my face to keep me from crying and begging to be sedated.
Not only did they not wait until I became numb, this "Doctor" who supposedly took an oath to "do no harm" just started stabbing me immediately as soon as I was on the surgical table. i was stabbed 9 or 10 times without benefit of anything to make me comfortable other than as I mentioned, a low dose tranquilizer that didn't work. I begged and begged for a pain pill and was given nothing. They tortured me in this way for 3 & 1/2 hours.
When I came out of the surgical room, my husband was waiting for me and never left the facility the entire time I was there. He said that I was shaking violently and that I looked like a person who had just survived a plane crash, . The entire experience was a nightmare and I remain traumatized and can think of little else and it has been two weeks today since the surgery.
I begged Dr. Assassa in an email at 4:13 in the morning.8 days after surgery to PLEASE call in a pain medication prescription to my pharmacy as I had been up crying in pain all night and suspected I would get no relief the next night without help. In front of my husband, after promising me several times in my consultations and follow up that he would provide pain medication because my body's pain sensors were fried from the previous surgeries I'd had, Dr. Assassa wrote me back and told me to take Advil.
My once smooth stomach skin.is now deformed and puckered and please take note that this Doctor was sure to have me sign papers that if I needed additional surgery that I would pay for it and that nothing would be provided to correct the first surgery without paying the full fee. I am seeking a full refund and restitution for unnecessary pain and suffering if I do not receive the full refund. In my opinion and the opinion of my husband who accompanied me to every appointment, Dr. Assassa is incredibly irresponsible, negligent and incompetent. he accuses anyone who objects to his abuse a complainer. We suspect he counts on his patients not speaking up about his abuse because cosmetic surgery is so personal.and many people don't want the world to know they sought this kind of self esteem raising assistance. My reasons for coming to this Doctor were Noble and I was promised comfort, pain medication, and to be treated with respect. I received none of those things and now I also get to live with a deformed looking stomach that Dr. Assassa says will resolve in a year.. This Doctor gambles with our bodies, our money, and our time, not to mention our well being. I fired Dr. Assassa on June 28, 2012 for refusing to help me as he had promised in my consultations, and I had to get pain medication from another doctor. just to get through the day. The pain in my stomach to this day, feels like fire and my nerve endings are still screaming
If this sort of thing goes on with other Doctors in the lipo industry then in my opinion, it is bordering on predatory medicine.
While Dr. Assassa arrogantly calls anyone who speaks up about his abuse; "a complainer, " he is putting people at risk. If I were to do nothing at all about the unconscionable treatment I paid $5000 to receive from this Doctor, he will undoubtedly one day not so far in the future, as Shakespeare once said; "skewer himself on his own petard."
 4th of Jul, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare -1 Votes
As I continue to research Sam Assassa, I am finding all kinds of complaints listed all over the internet.
This man gets very angry when you ask questions, calls his patients complainers if they do ask questions and becomes furious when pain is expressed during the procedure. I can not believe I let this man do a 3 & 1/2 hour surgery on me. i will never forget how horrible I was treated. Sam Assassa did not numb me before he began to stab holes into my flesh, he refused to give me any pain medication when I begged for it "Before, During and After the surgery". This man (Sam Assassa), shamed me for my modesty in not wanting my bare breasts exposed or shown in photos of my stomach. The list goes on and on and on about the carelessness and errors Sam Assassa made, and the extremely abusive demeaner I experienced from this "doctor."
 10th of Jul, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare -1 Votes
In my experience...I am shocked and mortified that Dr. Assassa performed a 3 & 1/2 hour lipo surgery on my wife without numbing her, or giving her pain medication. I think it is important to note that when I saw my wife shaking violently, and looking as if she had just barely survived a plane crash as she was coming out of the surgery room with Dr. Assassa and his nurse I had to keep my emotions in check so I could be there for her. Dr. Assassa and his nurse couldn't get us out of their office fast enough after giving me a zip lock baggie of antibiotics and diuretics to give my wife.
It is 3 weeks since the procedure and my wife's nerve endings still feel like a blow torch was taken to them. I can not touch my wife anywhere on her torso and this constant pain has definitely affected our lives.
Dr. Assassa did nothing to help my wife while knowing the ordeal she had just been through. We had to fire Dr. Assassa and seek medical care and pain management elsewhere.
What I am finding as I research smartlipo is that what they offer is more like inhumane predatory medicine than a beauty treatment spa.
I suggest that we all do our due diligence...this doctor is not a surgeon, nor is he board certified. I wish I would have never given this $5000.00 procedure as a gift to my wife as it turned out to be, and continues to be...a total nightmare. Good intentions...as they say!
 30th of Jul, 2012 by   Lucetreen 0 Votes
this so called "cosmetic surgeon" is NOT board certified, he did his residency on internal medicine and he has NO BUSINESS whatsoever pretending he is a certified plastic surgeon. Even in his website http://www.bhaesthetics.com/about-us/about-dr-assassa-los-angeles-cosmetic-surgeon/ read carefully where it says he is board certified it says ( I.M) which is internal medicine and this doesnt make you qualified to be a good plastic surgeon. If you are looking for a quality result, good service and a kind doctor with actual knowledge PLEASE go somewhere else. They will lie and tell you they have performed the procedure you wanted but instead do something different. I wanted smart lipo and 4 months after my stomach looks worse than before surgery, there are numerous other patients whose bodies have been destroyed by this awful doctor preparing a lawsuit. PATIENT BEWARE
 21st of Aug, 2012 by   The Dr. Assassa Victim -1 Votes
Dr Assassa ripped my wife and I off for 1300 dollars. We wanted our money back on a two day Botox training course. He wouldn't refund us. His staff claimed that the way my wife would get experience would be to purchase Botox from them and inject it into friends! This is illegal!!! We canceled our attendance and demanded a refund. I have been fighting Dr. Assassa in small claims. BEWARE
 5th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare 0 Votes
See below ASK/Google listing where Sam Assassa declares himself a Board Certified Cosmetic Surgeon when he only has a certificate in "INTERNAL MEDICINE."

{Found on ASK search engine} "Dr. Sam Assassa, Cosmetic Surgeon Los Angeles California ...
www.bhaesthetics.com/about-us/about-dr-assassa-los-ange...
Dr. Sam Assassa is "a board certified cosmetic surgeon" based in LA. He runs the leading aesthetic surgery clinic in the Los Angeles area. Book a free consult ..".

Dr, Sam Assassa says he is a Board Certified Cosmetic surgeon just to get unsuspecting people in his door. He only has a certificate in Internal Medicine and is not licensed to be a surgeon at all. He created and is the founder of AAAMS to appear to be credible when his business practice is anything but credible.

We are calling his "informed Consent' and his contracts into question, as these documents we are duped into signing take away all of our rights to complain about the abuse he perpetrates on innocent consumers. When we complain, he calls all of us malicious, defamation of his character, and liablist. The man is an on going broken record of re-victimizing his victims with his accusations toward us when we rightly complain about his unethical, outrageously negligent, malicious, and inhumane treatment.
In my opinion, and experience, the fact that Sam Assassa can sleep peacefully at night after robbing people of their dignity, not to mention their rights to complain about his abuse speaks volumes of his mental stability, or lack thereof.
Buyer Beware!
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare 0 Votes
30th of Jul, 2012 by Lucetreen -1 Votes

this so called "cosmetic surgeon" is NOT board certified, he did his residency on internal medicine and he has NO BUSINESS whatsoever pretending he is a certified plastic surgeon. Even in his website http://www.bhaesthetics.com/about-us/about-dr-assassa-los-angeles-cosmetic-surgeon/ read carefully where it says he is board certified it says ( I.M) which is internal medicine and this doesnt make you qualified to be a good plastic surgeon. If you are looking for a quality result, good service and a kind doctor with actual knowledge PLEASE go somewhere else. They will lie and tell you they have performed the procedure you wanted but instead do something different. I wanted smart lipo and 4 months after my stomach looks worse than before surgery, there are numerous other patients whose bodies have been destroyed by this awful doctor preparing a lawsuit. PATIENT BEWARE
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare 0 Votes
I came to Dr. Assassa on Aug 9th, 2010 after receiving a coupon from his office in the mail for a discount on services at his location. In my initial consultation with Dr. Assassa I told him I was interested in Smart Lipo to get rid of the cellulite on my thighs and buttocks. He looked me over and told me that I did not need Smart Lipo and that I should get a treatment called Celluraze. He told me that Celluraze is a new technology here in the USA and that it is the best thing to get rid of cellulite on the market and it has been used for years in Europe. He said that they were the only office that offers this revolutionary new procedure. He told me that after 6 treatments my cellulite would be gone and I would have smooth skin. Dr. Assassa spent all of maybe 10 minutes talking with me and the quickly passed me on to Diana Jarrar, who I later learned was just an office assistant with no medial background. My fiancé, was with me at the consultation and he and I went into a room with Diana Jarrar to discuss the details of the procedure and pricing in more detail. Diana went explained the details on how the procedure works even saying that it compliantly got rid of her cellulite. She said that we had similar body types and that if I did Celluraze, my cellulite would be gone. Diana told me that she couldn’t guarantee anything but that I would definitely see a 90% or better improvement to my cellulite after the 6 treatments. Convinced by Diana and Dr. Assassa that this was the right choice I paid $1, 500 for 6 Celluraze treatments. After 3 treatments, I still had not seen results. Concerned, I asked the nurse that did the procedure if this was normal. She told me not to worry and that I would not see the full results until 3 months after my last treatment. My last treatment was on September 13, 2010, 3 months after being January 13th and still I had not even a 1% improvement to my cellulite. I set an appointment to speak with the doctor on January 24th, 2010 to express my concerns. When I came into the office that day I saw that the procedure that I paid $1, 500 for was now being offered at less than half the price of only $750. I told Dr. Assassa that the procedure did not work and that it was also very painful. I told him that I felt that I had been lied to and asked him if he would refund me my money for the procedures. Dr. Assassa said in a very arrogant tone, I do not guarantee anything, it looks like you have had improvement and maybe your expectations are too high. He then went on to call his secretary into the room. He told me that she remembered me from a few years back and that I had gone to her tanning salon and complained there as well. He said that this showed him that I have a pattern of complaining. I told him that it was absolutely absurd that he would bring my business dealings at a tanning salon year’s prior with his secretary into the conversation about the Celluraze treatments not working. I again asked for a full refund for the Celluraze and he again declined stating that I could take him to court but that I would never win. He then told me that he was going to refund me for the additional 2 treatments of laser hair removal that I paid for on the same day that I purchased the Celluraze because my expectations are too high and he did not want me complaining about that too. Before leaving the office, I asked for copies of my medical records only to be told that I had to pay a $30 fee to them to get copies. I did not have the $30 on me and have yet to receive copies of my medical records. I am now in the process of taking Dr Assassa to small claims court. And I have filed a formal complaint with the Medical Board of California.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare 0 Votes
30th of Jul, 2012 by Lucetreen -1 Votes

this so called "cosmetic surgeon" is NOT board certified, he did his residency on internal medicine and he has NO BUSINESS whatsoever pretending he is a certified plastic surgeon. Even in his website http://www.bhaesthetics.com/about-us/about-dr-assassa-los-angeles-cosmetic-surgeon/ read carefully where it says he is board certified it says ( I.M) which is internal medicine and this doesnt make you qualified to be a good plastic surgeon. If you are looking for a quality result, good service and a kind doctor with actual knowledge PLEASE go somewhere else. They will lie and tell you they have performed the procedure you wanted but instead do something different. I wanted smart lipo and 4 months after my stomach looks worse than before surgery, there are numerous other patients whose bodies have been destroyed by this awful doctor preparing a lawsuit. PATIENT BEWARE
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare 0 Votes
This doctor is a BULLY.
Just read the way he accuses his victims of hurting his reputation for no good reason as if we all have nothing better to do.
where there is smoke there is fire.
One day, like all bully's, Dr. Assassa will attract just the right thing to cause him to rethink his values as an MD. He took an oath to do no harm, and every week, if not every day, he is doing someone harm on an emotional, physical, and spiritual level just from the way he strips people of their dignity for speaking up about him. Just like all abusers, he makes it seem like the things he does to us are "our fault."
It is nothing short of shameful. Just read all of the things he says to people who are letting the public know of their personal experiences. He also provides free aesthetic services to people if they write a glowing review about him. He will stop at nothing with his unethical marketing. Sam Assassa is always in court, and always arguing with someone he has hurt. Just read on...it's everywhere on the internet.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   Sam Assassa +1 Votes
Human beings lose their logic in their vindictiveness. Be patient and understanding. Life is too short to be vengeful or malicious.
Forgiveness is the key that unlocks the door of resentment and the handcuffs of hate. It is a power that breaks the chains of bitterness and the shackles of selfishness.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   The Dr. Assassa Victim +1 Votes
I am responding to Dr. Assassas claim that I misrepresented the facts. I am not of that character nor do I have the time to fight for lies. Dr. Assassa actually lost his small claims case with me but appealed it. At the appeal he claims that Sam Assassa Md inc is not the correct entity to sue. He argued to the judge my agreement was with the AAAMS. But the AAAMS didn't charge my credit card. His office charged my credit card. My wife Chelsea NEVER FILLED OUT A FORM ONLINE. This is the real lie. Unfortunately the judge bought it. Because we live hours away Chelsea was tending to our new born and couldn't be at court to testify. His argument would be worthless if she had been there. We will be pursuing another go at the suit against him. At some point Dr. Assassa needs to stop hiding behind smoke and mirrors and realize he can't be offering to sell Botox to the public. My intention is not to slander or make up stuff. My intention is to post the facts as I know them. I am comfortable supporting these facts if push come to shove. I am sure Chelsea will help set the fact straight if Dr. Assassa needs help. By the way Sam you are the president of the company who took my money and lied to my wife. Don't try to pretend your a victim.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   The Dr. Assassa Victim 0 Votes
Excuse me. I made a misstatement in my last email. I meant to say pursue a lawsuit against Beverly Hills Laser and the AAAMS NOT Sam Assassa personally.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   The Dr. Assassa Victim 0 Votes
Dr. Assassas cell number is 310-801-3882 (since he likes to post personal contact info )

Spare me the quotes. Your not an oracle or Deepak Chopra. Those little quotes are coming across cheesy. Stick to being a doctor.

By the way I question your sincerity. I will pass on accepting well wishes from you.

Now here are the FACTS. The "email" you posted was not from Chelsea. What you posted is something generated from the AAAMS website by who knows?. Chelsea never filled out anything online. You can go up against her in court and explain it. My wife isn't a liar and does not administer Botox to patients. Nor did she ever indicate that she does. Diana sent my wife a registration form she filled out by hand and faxed in. But I think your in the weeds with this diversion of yours. The real question is why is your medical group, Beverly Hills Laser offering to sell Botox to non medical people and tell them to practice on friends and family to gain experience? How is it that I have an email from Diana quoting pricing of Botox your company sells to unlicensed people? Diana told Chelsea and I to purchase the Botox from your firm so Chelsea can go practice on non patients? If Chelsea followed your medical groups instruction we could have had major problems. Someone could have gotten hurt. Isn't Beverly Hills Laser your company? Isn't Diana your employee? The AAAMS did not charge my card your firm did. Do you understand we feel we cannot trust you. Do you understand that I agreed we were out side of the cancelation period?. Do you understand that my argument is that I had no contract with you because my wife was misled by your organization? Do you understand that you cannot sell BOTOX to nurses and tell them to go out and practice on people such as friends and family - actually encouraging it. If your that hard up that you need to fight a nurse from Fresno to keep a few bucks - your a joke. See you soon.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   Shaun'sSkye +2 Votes
Irregardless of the accusations by the complaintant and responder, if it is true that this dialogue is between a physician and patient, I am appalled at the information released by the so-called doctor in direct disregard to HIPPA regulations. That alone should pull his license. The patient has the right to release any information chosen, however a medical professional in any area NEVER has the right to release a patient's information without a signed release from the patient. which should include the reason and scope the release was signed. In this case, the doctor only has the right to release information in court, no matter what the complainant says. The fact that this dialogue has gone on so long shows the unprofessional actions of the doctor, He should be avoided at all costs.
 13th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare +1 Votes
Anyone reading this, please look to see that Sam Assassa MD (AKA The AAAMS) violates patient/physician confidentiality without bating an eyelash.
Read Sam Assassa's posts that publishes my private medical information, and his post to someone named Lucetreen, which also publishes my private medical information. It is one thing for "me" to share my personal experience with Sam Assassa, and it is quite another for HIM to publish my private medical information ANYWHERE.
Big No no.
 14th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare +1 Votes
HIPAA PROHIBITS RETALIATION - Under HIPAA an entity cannot retaliate against you for filing a complaint. You should notify OCR immediately in the event of any retaliatory action.
 17th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare +1 Votes
As you will see above, Dr. Assassa enjoys posting fictitious positive reviews about himself. Note how the two above just happened to both "pop up" on September 11, and 12, 2012. Also note, above, how neither name was a member before the dates they posted the fictitious reviews.
We also heard from one of Dr. assassa's staff members that Dr. Assassa offers free aesthetic procedures and cash to people who write positive reviews for him on various sites.
Dr. Assassa also brags above, about how he can get www.yelp.com to delete negative reviews about him. www.yelp.com is simply a yellow pages service that anyone can buy the results they want.
Further, , over the weekend, my Attorney informed me that Dr. Assassa published my medical historyon this site, and when I checked, I noted that he also published the history of others who used and paid for his services, to later complain about him on this site. Dr. Assassa quickly deleted the former patient/client medical history postings as soon as someone pointed out it was a HIPAA violation that could get his medical license revoked. Dr. Assassa's deletion of the postings won't help him, or us because the damage has already been done..
What legitimate doctor would spend their time doing this?
Being Dr. Assassa already let the cat out of the bag about my private medical details, and quickly deleted them after someone with a legal background objected, I will post them again beneath the comments of objection posted by Shaun'sSkye see just below::
*****************************************************************************************************************************************
13th of Sep, 2012 by Shaun'sSkye
Irregardless of the accusations by the complaintant and responder, if it is true that this dialogue is between a physician and patient, I am appalled at the information released by the so-called doctor in direct disregard to HIPPA regulations. That alone should pull his license. The patient has the right to release any information chosen, however a medical professional in any area NEVER has the right to release a patient's information without a signed release from the patient. which should include the reason and scope the release was signed. In this case, the doctor only has the right to release information in court, no matter what the complainant says. The fact that this dialogue has gone on so long shows the unprofessional actions of the doctor, He should be avoided at all costs.
***********************************************************************************************************************************
6th of Sep, 2012 by Sam Assassa -1 Votes
Reply to My Smartlipo Nightmare
Dear Kate & John: "Don't allow your anger to transform you into someone you are not."
I’m writing this letter and so appalled by the false accusations that Kate and you are posting on
multiple sites. Your claims that Kate was treated in a very inhumane manner are absolutely absurd!
You have all the right to post an honest review about any business, but it should not be falsified or
malicious and purely written for the purpose of defamation, slander and libel.
I’m actively licensed physician and surgeon in California State. I have been practicing aesthetic surgery
since 1995, and have performed over 3000 liposcupture procedures, with zero serious complications
and great satisfaction rate. Prior to that I practiced Internal medicine for nine years. I’m board certified
in internal medicine. Kate was treated in the same professional, passionate manner that I have given to
thousands of patients I treated over the past 25 years. Yes I'm the President of the AAAMS and proudly
to say that since 2000, our organization have trained over 600 physicians and 400 nurses.
http://www.theaaams.com/Testimonials.asp. I have never claimed that I’m board certified in cosmetic
or plastic surgeon. (Refer to our website http://www.bhaesthetics.com/about-us/) Ask.com description
of my professional qualifications is their own wording not mine!.
Your accusations are contradictory and are far from reality, mainly coming from anger just because I
asked Kate to come to my office for evaluation for pain that supposed to be decreasing after surgery
instead of increasing. It was for her best interest personally and medically to be evaluated by me for
such a crescendo pain. You know very well that calling in a prescription to the pharmacy takes much
less time and efforts than a free medical evaluation. Why would I refuse to relieve her pain if I was sure
that it was not of a serious nature? It would have been a lot easier than trying to convince Kate to come
for evaluation. Still with her insistence, we called in your pharmacist with a pain killer (Vicoprofen)
that I felt will be more effective than vicodin, which Kate claims that she was allergic to, though there
is no mention of any allergies or history of bleeding ulcer in her medical history that she filled out and
signed. I will cover few important points that can delineate the real facts about your misrepresentation.
Before Kate ‘s surgery she was consulted twice over a period of 5-6 weeks. Everything was explained
thoroughly verbally and in writing, and covered by the consent forms that Kate throughly read and
signed after was given ample of time to cover any questions she might have had.
1- She claims that I did the surgery without numbing her at all is unfounded!
I'll cover the anesthesia part of liposculpting. We use a technique called tumescent anesthesia which is
a local anesthesia similar to one that dentist do to extract a tooth or do a root canal. This was explained
to her during the two consultations performed prior to surgery, and clearly covered in the informed
consent forms. Specifically I told her that the only part of the surgery that will be uncomfortable is the
12
introduction of the local anesthetic into the area, which is exactly the same discomfort you feel when a
dentist inject the anesthetic before any dental procedure. Prior to injecting the anesthesia she was give
oral sedatives (4 mg of Ativan which is a hefty dose) and was given laughing gas (nitrous oxide) to
enhance the sedation until we finish infiltrating the anesthesia solution. We injected a total of 2500cc or
little more half of gallon into her abdomen and love handles areas. This process took 35 minutes as we
injected the anesthetic solution very slowly and through a small gauge needle to minimize the
discomfort where most surgeons would have finished the process within 10-15 minutes as they use
large cannula (infiltrating hallow tube triple the size of our needles) with high flowing anesthetic
solution which is much more painful . Once the anesthetic solution takes effects the patient does not
feel any pain ( the nerves are blocked like dental block). Her Liposculpting surgery was started at 3:35
pm and ended at 5:15 pm. During this time she was pain free and in fact groggy and sedated. If she
would have experienced pain during the surgery we had plenty of extra anesthetic fluid to infuse to
easily and safely stop that pain which we did not occur in her case, as she was pain free through whole
surgery. Your claim that we did not numb you at all during surgery is groundless. I can assure you no
one can survive or endure liposcultping surgery without the tumescent local anesthesia not only
because they can’t take the pain even for minutes (much worse than dental extraction without
anesthesia) but also because the anesthetic solution has adrenaline, which constricts the blood vessels
and without it patient will bleed to death. I have performed over 3000 lipo surgery cases, but never had
anyone complaining about not being completely numbed during surgery, as we can always add more
anesthetic if there is any pain present.
2- She claims that we refused given her prescription narcotic medications to control her pain after
surgery is also false and baseless.
Facts:
On June 27th, 2012, Kate sent m e-mail very early morning (around 4:30a.m.). She did not call me
though she was given my cell phone by my staff on June 19, 2012 (day of surgery) and was told to call
me anytime 24/7 if she has any issues or concerns. In Her e-mail she mentioned that she is
experiencing pain. She did not call me until later that day. I usually do not open the business e-mail,
somehow that day I did, and read her e-mail around 7:00a.m Having her addressing her issue with pain
through an e-mail instead of calling me on my cell phone I assumed that she is experiencing the usual
post operative pain and suggested through e-mail to have her taking advil for relief. Later that morning
she called our offices, and spoke to me. She told me that her pain is significant that she needed a
narcotic painkiller. I explained to her that an intense pain 8 days after surgery, specially after having
much less pain during her follow up visit with me 4 days after surgery is rather alarming, that I do not
feel comfortable prescribing painkillers over the phone until i see her in our offices, and evaluate her to
make sure that there is nothing serious causing her pain to intensify. I told her that pain after surgery
usually becomes less intense day by day, that having significant pain 8 days after surgery is very
alarming. Kate declined to come to the office despite my repeated explanations, so finally I agreed to
give her a prescription for few pills to hold her until she is able to come to the office for evaluation at
which cases she refused to come .
Later that day, Kate through an e-mail, informed me that she decided to discharge me as her doctor as
she felt that I did not meet her demands for pain killers. My response to her was as follows:
• You have the right to refuse treatment to the extent permitted by law. You have the right to know the
medical consequences that could result from refusing treatment. If you refuse care or treatment, you are
responsible for the results of your decision.
• You have the right to seek a second opinion to assess your pain.
13
• If your doctor decides that your refusal of treatment prevents you from receiving appropriate care
according to ethical and professional standards, the relationship with you may be terminated with
reasonable notice.
I advise you not to abandon my care at this stage for at least another week to assure that the healing
process is progressing in the right direction. You are always welcome to do so by calling our office
at310-551-9800. The least you can do is to seek a second opinion to assess your pain. The decision is
yours.
3- She claims we called in your pharmacy for a narcotic medication that’s detrimental to your health.
She asked for Vicodin which is Hydrocodone 7.5mg and Tylenol. For better relief I decided to give her
Vicoprofen which is hydrocodone 7.5 mg and ibuprofen. Your claim that I prescribed a medication that
she is allergic to and that could have caused her to die is again far from the truth. Her medical history,
which she signed on 5-2-2012 several weeks before surgery shows under ALLERGIES she personally
filled it with “ NONE”.
For all other claims I would say:“Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the
difference.” - Mark Twain.
Kate you have tried to post similar reviews on yelp and ratemds.com they were all removed see below.
I have no time to reply to every single post . I would like to resolve this conflict amicably. I ask you
kindly to stop this smear campaign against my businesses and me as doctor. Kindly edit all reviews to
reflect the truth with no falsifications, exaggerations, malicious and defamation statements.
JUL 10, 2012 We wanted to let you know we've closed K.'s account for Terms of Service violations.
Regards, Sierra Yelp User Support
San Francisco, California
RateMDs.com
7/11/12 SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed
6th of Sep, 2012 by Sam Assassa -1 Votes
Reply to Lucetreen (John)
Dear Kate & John: "Don't allow your anger to transform you into someone you are not."
I’m writing this letter and so appalled by the false accusations that Kate and you are posting on
multiple sites. Your claims that Kate was treated in a very inhumane manner are absolutely absurd!
You have all the right to post an honest review about any business, but it should not be falsified or
malicious and purely written for the purpose of defamation, slander and libel.
I’m actively licensed physician and surgeon in California State. I have been practicing aesthetic surgery
since 1995, and have performed over 3000 liposcupture procedures, with zero serious complications
and great satisfaction rate. Prior to that I practiced Internal medicine for nine years. I’m board certified
in internal medicine. Kate was treated in the same professional, passionate manner that I have given to
thousands of patients I treated over the past 25 years. Yes I'm the President of the AAAMS and proudly
to say that since 2000, our organization have trained over 600 physicians and 400 nurses.
http://www.theaaams.com/Testimonials.asp. I have never claimed that I’m board certified in cosmetic
or plastic surgeon. (Refer to our website http://www.bhaesthetics.com/about-us/) Ask.com description
of my professional qualifications is their own wording not mine!.
14
Your accusations are contradictory and are far from reality, mainly coming from anger just because I
asked Kate to come to my office for evaluation for pain that supposed to be decreasing after surgery
instead of increasing. It was for her best interest personally and medically to be evaluated by me for
such a crescendo pain. You know very well that calling in a prescription to the pharmacy takes much
less time and efforts than a free medical evaluation. Why would I refuse to relieve her pain if I was sure
that it was not of a serious nature? It would have been a lot easier than trying to convince Kate to come
for evaluation. Still with her insistence, we called in your pharmacist with a pain killer (Vicoprofen)
that I felt will be more effective than vicodin, which Kate claims that she was allergic to, though there
is no mention of any allergies or history of bleeding ulcer in her medical history that she filled out and
signed. I will cover few important points that can delineate the real facts about your misrepresentation.
Before Kate ‘s surgery she was consulted twice over a period of 5-6 weeks. Everything was explained
thoroughly verbally and in writing, and covered by the consent forms that Kate throughly read and
signed after was given ample of time to cover any questions she might have had.
1- She claims that I did the surgery without numbing her at all is unfounded!
I'll cover the anesthesia part of liposculpting. We use a technique called tumescent anesthesia which is
a local anesthesia similar to one that dentist do to extract a tooth or do a root canal. This was explained
to her during the two consultations performed prior to surgery, and clearly covered in the informed
consent forms. Specifically I told her that the only part of the surgery that will be uncomfortable is the
introduction of the local anesthetic into the area, which is exactly the same discomfort you feel when a
dentist inject the anesthetic before any dental procedure. Prior to injecting the anesthesia she was give
oral sedatives (4 mg of Ativan which is a hefty dose) and was given laughing gas (nitrous oxide) to
enhance the sedation until we finish infiltrating the anesthesia solution. We injected a total of 2500cc or
little more half of gallon into her abdomen and love handles areas. This process took 35 minutes as we
injected the anesthetic solution very slowly and through a small gauge needle to minimize the
discomfort where most surgeons would have finished the process within 10-15 minutes as they use
large cannula (infiltrating hallow tube triple the size of our needles) with high flowing anesthetic
solution which is much more painful . Once the anesthetic solution takes effects the patient does not
feel any pain ( the nerves are blocked like dental block). Her Liposculpting surgery was started at 3:35
pm and ended at 5:15 pm. During this time she was pain free and in fact groggy and sedated. If she
would have experienced pain during the surgery we had plenty of extra anesthetic fluid to infuse to
easily and safely stop that pain which we did not occur in her case, as she was pain free through whole
surgery. Your claim that we did not numb you at all during surgery is groundless. I can assure you no
one can survive or endure liposcultping surgery without the tumescent local anesthesia not only
because they can’t take the pain even for minutes (much worse than dental extraction without
anesthesia) but also because the anesthetic solution has adrenaline, which constricts the blood vessels
and without it patient will bleed to death. I have performed over 3000 lipo surgery cases, but never had
anyone complaining about not being completely numbed during surgery, as we can always add more
anesthetic if there is any pain present.
2- She claims that we refused given her prescription narcotic medications to control her pain after
surgery is also false and baseless.
Facts:
On June 27th, 2012, Kate sent m e-mail very early morning (around 4:30a.m.). She did not call me
15
though she was given my cell phone by my staff on June 19, 2012 (day of surgery) and was told to call
me anytime 24/7 if she has any issues or concerns. In Her e-mail she mentioned that she is
experiencing pain. She did not call me until later that day. I usually do not open the business e-mail,
somehow that day I did, and read her e-mail around 7:00a.m Having her addressing her issue with pain
through an e-mail instead of calling me on my cell phone I assumed that she is experiencing the usual
post operative pain and suggested through e-mail to have her taking advil for relief. Later that morning
she called our offices, and spoke to me. She told me that her pain is significant that she needed a
narcotic painkiller. I explained to her that an intense pain 8 days after surgery, specially after having
much less pain during her follow up visit with me 4 days after surgery is rather alarming, that I do not
feel comfortable prescribing painkillers over the phone until i see her in our offices, and evaluate her to
make sure that there is nothing serious causing her pain to intensify. I told her that pain after surgery
usually becomes less intense day by day, that having significant pain 8 days after surgery is very
alarming. Kate declined to come to the office despite my repeated explanations, so finally I agreed to
give her a prescription for few pills to hold her until she is able to come to the office for evaluation at
which cases she refused to come .
Later that day, Kate through an e-mail, informed me that she decided to discharge me as her doctor as
she felt that I did not meet her demands for pain killers. My response to her was as follows:
• You have the right to refuse treatment to the extent permitted by law. You have the right to know the
medical consequences that could result from refusing treatment. If you refuse care or treatment, you are
responsible for the results of your decision.
• You have the right to seek a second opinion to assess your pain.
• If your doctor decides that your refusal of treatment prevents you from receiving appropriate care
according to ethical and professional standards, the relationship with you may be terminated with
reasonable notice.
I advise you not to abandon my care at this stage for at least another week to assure that the healing
process is progressing in the right direction. You are always welcome to do so by calling our office
at310-551-9800. The least you can do is to seek a second opinion to assess your pain. The decision is
yours.
3- She claims we called in your pharmacy for a narcotic medication that’s detrimental to your health.
She asked for Vicodin which is Hydrocodone 7.5mg and Tylenol. For better relief I decided to give her
Vicoprofen which is hydrocodone 7.5 mg and ibuprofen. Your claim that I prescribed a medication that
she is allergic to and that could have caused her to die is again far from the truth. Her medical history,
which she signed on 5-2-2012 several weeks before surgery shows under ALLERGIES she personally
filled it with “ NONE”.
For all other claims I would say:“Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the
difference.” - Mark Twain.
Kate you have tried to post similar reviews on yelp and ratemds.com they were all removed see below.
I have no time to reply to every single post . I would like to resolve this conflict amicably. I ask you
kindly to stop this smear campaign against my businesses and me as doctor. Kindly edit all reviews to
reflect the truth with no falsifications, exaggerations, malicious and defamation statements.
JUL 10, 2012 We wanted to let you know we've closed K.'s account for Terms of Service violations.
Regards, Sierra Yelp User Support
San Francisco, California
RateMDs.com
 17th of Sep, 2012 by   My Smartlipo Nightmare 0 Votes
At the top of the page at this link; http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Sam_Assassa
Dr. Assassa wrote a glowing review about himself, and he had two other people write glowing reviews about him just below that on the page.
If you take a close look at the rest of the page, it will not be difficult to see that, other than the 3 fictitious glowing reviews at the top of the page (that are from Dr. Assassa, and "his staff, ") the reviews on this site page are 90% negative about Dr. Assassa for GOOD REASON..
What legitimate doctor would spend time, money and energy on writing their own reviews and paying others to write them, as well as fighting with disappointed former patients on the internet if their work speaks for itself?
See link just below:

http://www.vitals.com/doctors/Dr_Sam_Assassa

Fictitious reviews are as follows:

THANK YOU DR. ASSASSA AND YOUR STAFF FOR GUIDING ME ALONG THIS PROCESS. Sep 15

Read more: http://www.vitals.com/doctor/profile/9313918695/reviews/9313918695#ixzz26liplYrt

I WOULD RECOMEND THE GREAT CARE AND ATTENTION THAT DR. ASASA AND HIS STAFF OFFERED. Sep 12

Read more: http://www.vitals.com/doctor/profile/9313918695/reviews/9313918695#ixzz26lhyjxeX

GLAD TO HAVE COME TO YOU, DR ASASA Sep 12

Read more: http://www.vitals.com/doctor/profile/9313918695/reviews/9313918695#ixzz26lhlQ1Zs

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Bank Cards Scams 2

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?