logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
wortexchange
fraud
2. (17 mins ago)
Omegle.com
Omegle is a site that should be taken off the web as any similar site should
3. (18 mins ago)
x laser X-RGB706
no assistance no warranty
4. (49 mins ago)
Fake Passport Websites
Scam or Real?
5. (56 mins ago)
Mayoor School Noida
Poor teaching staff

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

CEX, England, Surrey Complaints & Reviews - Fraud / Refund

CeX Ltd. Contacts & Informations

CEX

Posted: 2012-03-28 by    coolzamana1234

Fraud / Refund

Complaint Rating:  100 % with 11 votes
I have had the worst experience of any company in dealing with CEX, there is no chain of command. No real complaint process and no organisation.

The customer service centre is email only and based in India. They take days to reply and refuse to deal with the complaint even after replying. I have even written to their CEO, who refuses to reply.
1) In Aug 2011 – I ordered a Video Camera and was sent completely the wrong model.

2) Last week (March, 12), I without thinking, again ordered HV40 UK Version from your website (Order No. 843642) and was sent completely the wrong Model. The US Version of the same camera (Vixia) The UK Version was advertised on the website (Legria).

3) I returned the Camera by Special Delivery and CEX confirmed they had received it.

4) I have written to your Customer Service representatives many times, who reply in 3 days and do not answer the question in anyway. Raj has written to me a few times without bothering to answer or read my question. The poorest service possible.

5) Yesterday Rxx, wrote to me confirming that I would be refunded yesterday, here is a extract from his email:

In a message dated 27/03/2012 16:31:56 GMT Daylight Time, wecare@webuy.com writes:

Dear XXXXX,

Thank you for your email.
The refund will be processed today.

Regards,
RXX
CeX WeCare Team
Buy Sell Donate
www.webuy.com


6) Nothing has been refunded and CEX have decided to not answer my emails even though they still have my payment. I have no choice but to take this further and complain to Watford trading standards and Watchdog, as a start.

Its clear from CEX's reputation online and in reviews and blogs, that Cex treats all their customers like horse manure. This is obviously a regular occurrence and I find it surprising that companies such as CEX can continue to trade in the UK with no Customer Service.

I hope you this goes towards warning other people from buying from these fraudsters.
Comments United Kingdom Computers & Accessories
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 13th of Feb, 2013 by   fcukcex -1 Votes
HOMEBLOGPHOTOSVIDEOSMEMBERS
ALL CEX SHOPS PHONE NUMBERS HERE!!!
Home
fuck.cex (Sign Out)
Manage Website
Inbox
Edit Profile
Invite
All cex Store Phone Numbers manager emails and more

i used to be a sales assistant for cex and i was instructed to do the following.

Swap parts from customers phones and replace them with broken parts and then say "it has failed the test"

if customers forget to come back in 14 days my old manager would keep the items for himself or sell them to cex for his own profit

knowingly sell broken stock to unsuspecting customers and refuse refund on thier return

lie to customers telling them their stuff is grade c and then sell it for grade a

knowingly buy stuff that we knew was stolen and the people who sold it would get less because they was stolen

cex is a scam company and why they havnt been shut down is a mystery, cex's internal communication is essential to their operations, please join me in spamming these emails. i have also added all the stores phone numbers and managers emails

have fun

If you want to email a store use the store name followed by @webuy.com (for example Aberdeen@webuy.com).

If you want to email the supervisor of a store just add .spv to the end (for example Aberdeen.spv@webuy.com)

CEX also use an online purchace system the call ecom, if you want to email a store ecom then use uk.ecommerce.STORENAME@webuy.com (for example uk.ecommerce.aberdeen@webuy.com

Note not all stores have ecom .. yet

You can also send what they call a mass email to all people in the CEX directory by using uk.allstores@webuy.com

If you wish to pester anybody high up in the company all you need is their name and their email address will be the first letter of their fist name followed by their last name (so john smith would be jsmith@webuy.com)

/information edited/
 14th of Feb, 2013 by   Turk86 +1 Votes
What's your bone? Get over it dude.
 14th of Feb, 2013 by   Akramsdad +1 Votes
I think this fcukcex guy got sacked for stealing which is why it lead to this.
 9th of Jul, 2013 by   singhshawlion 0 Votes
I worked for CeX for several years whilst at college and university. During my employment I saw the company slowly decline in terms of customer service and general standards. From the closing of the customer service helpline to the opening of a repair department which regularly returned goods in worse condition than when they were sent. Chronic lack of quality control and a pass the buck mentality are now endemic; sadly the op has met with problems which seem to have become the norm in CeX, and which the company has been aware of for years.
 15th of Aug, 2013 by   Lauren.H 0 Votes
I had a horrible experience with CEX. The location was based in the USA. It seems to be everywhere that this place seems to be ripping people off. They first lied to me about the cost of a computer, then swindled their way into selling it to me for $70 dollars more than what it would have sold for brand new. I thought that I could trust them, being that it seemed as though they were a well established business, to later only find out there is no phone number unless you want to count Google Voice. In the end, I did end up getting a refund after I basically badgered them for days. I tried asking nicely at first but they weren't speaking the language. Check out the full story here. http://www.pureleverage.com/livingthegoodlife/cex-wecarewebuy-com-is-a-scam/
 28th of Nov, 2013 by   John__Boy 0 Votes
Lost £70 iPod order using Cex and there own packaging with postage costs even with it being tracked online they refuse to deal with it or reimburse me and this has been an ongoing complaint for 2 years?.

Reported them to Watch Dog and so should everyone else before its too late...

They offer no compensation or any type of help and they lied numerous times about the postage claiming they do not provide postage but then go onto to state they provide only free postage???

Well I got both postage and address labels and the post office gave me a tracking number to go with it all and I paid nothing but according to Conrad at CeX they provide none of this? I have been on and off at them for 2 years and finally got too stressed out with them to continue so have placed it all in the hands of Watch Dog and Trading Standards and added to multiple complaint threads on various websites on Google to let all know you will have a bad experience with the company CeX if not you will suffer a very bad loss and a great deal of stress caused to you.
 15th of Aug, 2014 by   TwinBEEuky 0 Votes
I worked at cex wythenshawe 2013 and was saked for a gross misconduct alligation.


I have police witness and securaty whitness proving my innocence on this alligation.


but behind closed doors they had plotted to get rid of me and never approached


my witness's, s. i have since been back to the store 2014 as its my local and


now have been informed that i am band.


I have evidence from investigation proving that they had manipulated the investigation


to make me look guilty.


Is there anything i can do about this to resolve the issue and get justice because at the moment


im so angry about this that i feel that i want to seek my own justice in a not so pleasant way.


people involved


chris round - manipulater
simon hosman - mupit
mathew cook - Instigater
blake saxton.- lier


Never will i shop at cex and i will make sure non of my freinds' family' nabours


Infact everybody i know.


Yes they steal, yes they lie, yes they manipulate and they do care who they make a victim of.


stay clear of cex.
 10th of Nov, 2014 by   andy olive 0 Votes
after a camera was bought from warrington it was found to be the wrong one for a collage course as it was only16 hours from purchase it was taken back to our local widnes store for refund only to be told go to warrington to deal with it 20 mile trip an hour wasted time and all warrington did what widnes could not a a full refund and to say sorry for the poor excuse of a manager at widnes complaint has been done to webuy.com just a shame this is not the first time the widnes store feels it doesnt have to work with cex as its a franchise store please note the review is for widnes store warrington should be 5 stars
 18th of Nov, 2014 by   hatecex 0 Votes
I have had the same bad experience. When I initially traded in my Nintendo DS, it was basically brand new, I had used it about 10 times in total and owned it for approx. 2 years, I knew it would not get the full £99 I had paid for it, but was astounded when they quoted me £23.00 for it. I took a voucher for this amount intending to use it for something else in the future.
Recently, I have decided to use it for digital photo frames, I have managed on 4 separate occasions to find items that match the amount of the voucher including delivery, but they are not in my locality so I have had to try and order it online. In doing so I came up against the ordering system, which is clearly faulty and clearly not being fixed no matter how much they reassure me that it is. I have had to try this system on several occasions, after I was assured that it was now working, each time losing the items that I had previously found to buy as they had been sold in the meantime. Each time it did not work, I gave practical solutions they could use to help me and they ignored them and just asked me to try again. I have lost my patience now and asked them to send me the cash instead of the voucher, which I have been informed is not possible, with no explanation as to why not. I agree with previous people on here who have experienced it taking a long time to get a response from the e-mails, generally it has taken 2 days plus to receive a response, in which time I have had to re-shop for the items I need because they are no longer available. The customer service people are very good at apologising, but this is the limit of their capabilities, they obviously have no power to effect any change. I feel quite ripped off and really encourage other people to boycott this company.
 27th of Dec, 2014 by   P**s takers 0 Votes
I ordered an Apple TV box for £144 December 4th I sent it straight back as it as getting one for chrostmas and didn't realise. I sent it back recorded deliver which they received 15th December I have emailed them a number of times and they are just saying that it is in progress surely it can't take this long to process it. It is shocking how there isn't a number you can ring. They even sent me an email to review the services so I said what I thoght and got an email back off them saying ' Alert! Alert! Your review has been moderated.' Surely they can't get away with what they are doing to people. It is a Discrase how they can get away with it.
 10th of Jan, 2015 by   omar.1993 0 Votes
Hi there,

My account number is : EC745935
order number is : 1760776

Previously I had purchased a HTC ONE M7 handset from yourselves just over 16 months ago, as i was in need of a new handset. I purchased it at the grade A standard, and as I expected, looked BRAND NEW!. No scratches, no blemishes, no wear and tear!. It was 2 weeks old I had been told and there was nothing wrong with it. It was all fine until I got home and tested the speakers by playing a music track for which the speaker started to make a popping noise. I immediately detected that there was a fault, so the next day i brought it back to the CEX store which I had purchased it from (Middlesbrough store), explained to the staff member what was wrong. He then went to test it out, and agreed that there was a fault. He informed the manager, and the manager pleasingly offered to drive down to another store to bring me another HTC ONE which would also be of the same grading. So as promised, I came back the next day, the manager presented me with another HTC ONE, as well as £20 cashback and a FREE CASE just to show his gratitude and apologies.

I have never had a problem with my HTC ONE ever since.

Based on the event I had mentioned above, I was not hesitant to shop at CEX again, as I knew that they would provide me with a great, reliable and efficient service.

Basically 2 days ago I had purchased the Sony Xperia M2 in Black EE A grade through CEX online.
I was hoping to receive it by Wednesday as it was my brothers Birthday then. I can happily say that I did receive it today (Wednesday), for which I thank everyone at CEX who made this happen. I was aware that it could have taken up to 5 working days however it came in 3 working days, so I am really impressed by the efficient delivery/dispatch service.

However the main reason why I am sending this email to yourselves is because I am disappointed with the item which was sent out. Moreover my brother is even more annoyed and feels let down by me as well as yourselves. I did not want to tell my brother where the phone was from as I wanted him to think I had purchased it directly from Sony (i.e. brand new). As I am on a budget I thought I would do the next best thing, which was to purchase the phone from a company just like yourselves who provide phones to customers like myself based on their grading condition (i.e A - being new/mint B - good condition C- poor condition).

So getting back to my original point, the reason why I am providing all of these details is because of the phone I had purchased from yourselves on the 04/01/2015. I bought a Sony XPERIA M2 (Grade A). Disappointingly, I believe I have been given a graded B Sony Xperia M2, based on the physical/internal condition which the phone had came in. I have listed the faults below:

came in its orginal box which appeared to be in a visibly used pre owned condition, basically not mint/new
has numerous groups scratches on the front and back side of the phone, as well as the lense
"Mint - Phone in as new/mint condition with charger, original box and all accessories" The phone came with charger and usb cable which seemed to have been used a few times as it is also bend a little. No earphones have been included either.
worst point of all... THE PREVIOUS OWNER'S CONFIDENTIAL DATA I.E PICTURES, VIDEOS ETC ARE STILL ON THE PHONE DATED BACK TO JULY 2014!!! If i am correct, that is a breach of customer confidential data, and is something no seller or buyer would be happy to hear
All of the above, as well as the fact that CEX have sold me a phone, with misleading info as I hoped to receive a min/new A graded phone. Instead I received a B-C graded phone, which has not even been factory/software reset, which is atrocious.

I have been let down for the first time by CEX, and hope no-one else has to be put in a similar situation, as it really is disappointing. Especially for my brother as it was his 16th Birthday.

I hope the staff at CEX can try to ensure that events like this do not happen again, as it is not professional in the slightest.

Last of all I hope CEX can once again, restore my faith in there services.

Kindest Warmest Regards

Omar Hussain


P.S I have printed of the returns label and have sent the phone back on friday 09/01/2014. I am also still waiting for a response from CEX as I have already sent this email 3 days ago!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

The "No Credit Card" Diet

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?