logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Smith Sights
Ordered, paid, never received
2. (9 mins ago)
CHEVROLET ONLINE LOTTERY
WINNING NOTIFICATION
3. (48 mins ago)
Pogo.com
Club Pogo Jackpots not paying!
4. (50 mins ago)
Empire Managed Investments
Robert Todd Wilson
5. (1 hr 6 mins ago)
Hair Cuttery
No customer service

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

RPM Complaints & Reviews - Fradulent Collection Agency

RPM Contacts & Informations

RPM

Posted:    Joni Fletty

Fradulent Collection Agency

Complaint Rating:  100 % with 59 votes
Contact information:
RPM
United States
Over the past year they have aggressively been pursuing our company for what they claim is a past due balance of $566.04 with Advantx.com.

We have never hired / done work with Advantx.com and pay all of our invoices net 32 days, if not sooner. We have a Dunn and Bradstreet rating of 3A1.

This company has a pattern when calling of refusing to provide back up documentation. Common excuses are a) that's not our job to provide b) we have sent this over a dozen times 3) we can't provide that to you, it was your responsibility to pay this on time.

We have been threatened that they will report us to Dunn and Bradstreet and ruin our credit. Again, we have never worked with the company they claim we owe.

In doing some searching on the internet, specifically /link removed/ (type "RPM collection" in the search line), I was able to find out that we are not the only company or individual that they are doing this to. This collection company sounds like a front to a company looking to make money off of companies and individuals who will pay up to stop the threats. During these hard economic times there could be many more victims of this fraudulent activity. They are very forceful and use very threatening tactics to intimidate people to "just pay up". In some cases, offering to "make a deal" to reduce the amount owed.
Comments United States Collections Agencies
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 12th of Feb, 2009 by   SheMad 0 Votes
OK This is scaring me. I called them last week because they told me I had an old Verizon bill for $253.00. Basedon the confirmations that I had from Verizon, this bill was only 179.00. I called them to make a settlemtn of $140. They accepted that offer and charged me a 10.00 fee for processing my payment through my checking account. I asked for a receipt and she told me that she has no way to get me a receipt and that I should watch for it in the mail. Well, so far I have not received this recepit. After reading all of the comments posted about RPM, I am really concerned. Joni Fetty, you are correct. In hard times like these, companies who try and manipulate the little guy really need to be dealt with on a federal level. I have an attorney who has been helping me with my credit ove rthe past couple of months. If I do not receive my receipt by next week, I am passing this one over to him to go after RPM. Let's see how a lawsuit makes them behave.
 21st of Feb, 2009 by   Everlasting Love 0 Votes
they have been calling me pretending to be another company asking to reinstate a car warrenty of which I have never purchased in the first place. I am not even the guy they asking for. the other day they called because I owe sprint money, 150.00, and i told them to wait a few days and they have been ringing my phone off the hook. I am poor and on limited income and I told them I was going to pay them but they arent hearing it. Plus to make matters worse, the reason why call it RPM is because they are threatening to do something to you car. Its kind of a legal way to terrorize you. i dont think its really legal, especially for such a low amount that I owe, but either way you look at it, its illegal to stalk people.
 23rd of Mar, 2009 by   John 0 Votes
I had outstanding bill from Sprint for 746.00. I get a call from RPM saying that I owe them over $900.00.
I don't even now where the extra amount came from. Even with that amount I offered to settle for $500.00.
They took the payment. A week later I get calls from them saying that I still owe them the rest of the balance.
When I told them that I had settled a week ago, they gave some nonsense that the payment was applied to the balance. Now I'm getting the run around from them. I'm trying to get the recording from the first call.
 18th of May, 2009 by   carl 0 Votes
These people are killing me. They are threatening jail over 47.50. They are yelling at me. They are calling me everyday 3 times a day. Verizon was 4 years ago in my life and Verizon knows NOTHING about this amount owed. I just bought a house last week and there is nothing on my credit report. Verizon cannot give me any information because I do not know the phone number or account number from an apartment I lived in 4 years ago! Do I pay this? They are scaring me and I want to press charges. I cannot get away from them. I tell them that my statement is that I am refusing to pay it and that is when they start yelling about jail. Makes me shake with anger and helplessness. Can I do that?
 19th of Jun, 2009 by   tmbr 0 Votes
I'm an accountant who does work in the client's offices. I had a client more than two years ago that had me do his accounts payable once a month, which took about half a day each time. If he received calls about bills he'd tell the caller my name and to call back on the day I'd be in the office.

The owner closed his business in May of 2007 (25 months ago at the time of this writing) and that was the end of our working relationship.

So I got a call from RPM on my cell, I'm told I owe a bill to Verizon in the name of my former client's defunct business, that I'm responsible because Verizon says I'm responsible, that I can't talk to Verizon about it because once an account goes to RPM the original vendor won't discuss it, and (my favorite part) that if I don't pay up RPM will see to it that this goes on my credit report.

Then he hung up on me.

I've already written this up on several websites just to make myself feel better. I've also got a paper copy already addressed to my Congressman that I'll be dropping in the mail on the way home. And for the record, I don't expect any of that to do any good. I'm sure RPM could care less, and that my Congressman won't even see the letter. But I want to send it anyway.

What's funny is that I could probably have located the owner of the business. I could let him know Verizon is trying to collect a bill and he would be happy to pay it. But now that RPM has put their pitbulls on me there is no way I'll ever help them get the money. So it'll be on my credit report that I owe Verizon a couple of hundred dollars? Oooooooooooh, that's really going to cost me a good night's sleep. Not.
 21st of Jul, 2009 by   Rossetta Thorpe 0 Votes
I filed for B.R., notified my creditors over five years ago due to illness. I moved (downsized) and now have an unlisted number. Now they have started to call every am about 10:00am. I finally answered and informed them of the still pending B.R., which I never was a able to complete due to illness. Let's see if they go away.
Rossie
 26th of Jul, 2009 by   bamaboy1648 0 Votes
RPM now is calling actively relatives on a bill that I owed Verizon Wireless and they have zeroed out due to bankruptcy. I have notified my attorney and filed a Complaint with the FTC numerous times. I am shocked but not surprized that they are allowed to continue these illegal practices. Actually thinking about taking them to small claims or filing a lawsuit. This has gotten way out of hand and contacted family and friends is not legal at all or so the law says.
 30th of Jul, 2009 by   Biggerguns 0 Votes
RPM called me last night. I had disputed a bill with a creditor, they sent it to a collection agency. I then disputed it with the agency and advised them to cease calling my house, which they did..fine...But now a year later and the file was re-activated and sent from the first agency to this RPM collection agency.
So I get a call last night, I talk to a guy who thought he knew more about the situation than I myself.
I thoroughly explained my dispute. The bill is for $290. He offered me to pay $90 and they'd credit $200 and we'd be done. I told him I was paying it based on my dispute. He didnt like this and started to raise his voice, but I talk loud so I raised mine too..:)
Then he says "I dont think you know who you are talking too, I have your home address"...
Big mistake. I have written a letter to their company, sending a copy to them, the original creditor and to the states attorney generals office in both my state and the state RPM is in (Oregon).
 30th of Jul, 2009 by   Biggerguns 0 Votes
[EDIT] - Sorry, I made an error
I meant that I told the rep when he offered me to pay $90, that I WAS NOT paying the debt
 5th of Aug, 2009 by   Mangold 0 Votes
These guys keep calling my business for an unpaid Verizon bill - approx $220. Of course, they can't give me a copy of the unpaid bill after repeated requests, and continual lies that they mailed it. I told them to *%$# off several times - and was abruptly hung up on for being offensive :). Good effective tactic. Another good tactic is to tell them that the individual no longer is employed at the company.

Verizon is just as much of a scum bag company since they apparently sell their old "shady" debt to some third party group for pennies on the dollar. Anyway, Verizon has no record of my firm's unpaid amount (it apparently related to their "committment deal" for a three year phone contract which was cancelled after two years). These verbal deals are not in any written contract form, and I would assume hold very little legal recourse - so verizon just sells it off since they figure it is a losing battle to collect from a pissed off customer.

Advice to everyone - never settle over the phone and give out a credit card # to any company that you are not comfortable with - especially if they are verbally abusive. Pay by a check through the mail with a copy of the bill. If the company can't give you a copy of an unpaid bill, don't pay.
 2nd of Apr, 2010 by   splinx 0 Votes
RPM keeps calling me to settle a collection for $112.00 its not that much and I neeed to have it payed off so i can refi my truck. That was 2 months ago the bank needs a letter saying that it is payed off no big deal right they said they would mail it and it would be 30 days and if i did not recieve it then they would fax the confermationn letter to me. Well guess what it has been 2 months a letter was never sent they absolutley refuse to fax it to me i have spoken with at least 15 different people including supervisors and managers supposedly. I am still unable to refi my truck and they think that it is ok for me to wait another 30 days. But they were harassing me 3 to 5 times a day to collect this debt for 8 months they said it was for an electric bill that i owed from when i lived in AZ 6 years ago and now it is on my credit after 6 years of not being there.
 27th of Apr, 2010 by   pharmacist 0 Votes
I have been getting calls from RPM for a non-late Century Link bill that is now paid. They call my cell every day as well as the office phone number. Since Century Link would use such a service, I would recommend never using Centruy Link. This whole issue was initiated by Century Link because we switched to Cox Communication. Be carful who you do business with.
 25th of Jun, 2010 by   Kent H. Smith 0 Votes
I just got a call from RPM falsely alleging that I owe them money. I dont. They were really nasty. I said I did Civil Litigation for a living and they should leave me alone - they didnt, and if they didnt listen to me and stop bothering me, we would go before a Superior Court judge downtown Sacramento and discuss it. They ignored me, I am going to file suit against them. If anyone wants some inexpensive help with legal action against RPM call me at 916-486-4278 or email me at hart@cwnet.com I would really be glad to help you

Kent
 14th of Aug, 2010 by   cdavis1982 0 Votes
I received a call from RPM today. The rep on the phone told me I owe Verizon over $400. I was flabbergasted because I pay that bill - all my bills for that matter - online and I always pay on time. I told him that it was a mistake and that I would take it up with Verizon directly. I immediately checked my account status at verizon.com. Lo and behold, my account was in good standing and my upcoming bill is nowhere near $400. I called RPM back to let someone know that there was a mistake. In order to try to verify my account, he asked me if I had lived at a certain address in a town that I've never even been to. Then he asked me if the last four digits of my SSN were "XXXX" - not mine. I am concerned about this. How on earth, if Verizon had discharged an allegedly past due account in my name to RPM, could RPM turn around and get the name and telephone number right but not the SSN or address? Are they simply flipping through the phonebook looking up other people named Christopher Davis hoping they'll come across the one who actually owes money? This is a minor complaint by contrast, but when I received the phone call I was greeted by an automated greeting letting me know that I would have to hold for the next available rep. WTF.
 30th of Sep, 2010 by   JonesyQ 0 Votes
I just got a letter from RPM stating that I owe $3499 to Sprint. WTF? I don't even have an account with Sprint. What do I do? Am I a victim of identity theft? How does one even get a Sprint bill that high? Any advice greatly appreciated.
 17th of Nov, 2010 by   KAAllen 0 Votes
I am flipping furious!! When my daughter was 14 she had a leased PAGER from MCI. That was 16 years ago. The pager broke, it was returned, MCI kept billing me for it, $68.00, and then they more or less when out of business. Over the years I would get a bill from some collection agency, a different one each time. A few times I found it on my credit report and I filed a dispute with the credit bureaus who always determined that it was not a legitimate bill and took it off my credit report. Didn't hear anything for a couple of years, then last week I get a bill from RPM for the MCI bill again!! I just threw it away because I heard that if you even acknowledge the bill with these collections agencies it can start the clock all over again on your credit. So today they called my home and got my husband, who is not well. and told them they needed to collect $68.00 on the "phone bill" or it w0uld be "sent to collection". So my husband paid them. I immediately called my bank and tried to stop the transaction, but since it was a debit card transaction, I have to wait for it to clear my account then dispute it. Plus they charged an extra $10! It's not the $78 that I care about, it's that I went to a lot of trouble to keep this off my credit and now it's there for another 7 years. That's a total of 32 years since we returned that stupid pager.
 4th of Feb, 2011 by   _John_ +1 Votes
guys... i have an idea... if anyone ever finds out last name or phone number of people that work there (president or owner would be nice) post it here, we'll call them for some unpaid bills for our posting time here :)
 5th of Feb, 2011 by   _John_ +2 Votes
update:
here are some of RPMs employees, have fun
Howard George - CEO, founder
Mike Frazee - high ranking IT guy, used to work for sprint
Sandeep Yenireddy - some high ranking geek
Andy Erpelding - sn. director, used to work for sprint
Mike Sohns - gen. manager Bothell, WA
Bob Polus - dir. of ops. in WA, telecom and utility guy
Keith Brammer - dir. of ops., denver? <- your cell bill nightmare :)
Chris Chin, Vice President of Finance
Aimee Walker-Quantz, corporate Services
Keith Hendricks, Director of Business Development, Tampa, FL
Melinda Siler, VP of Business Development, Seattle area
Katherine Gibons - V.P. of HR
Jerry Higgins
Talitha Bagtas
Kim Reed << actual collector i believe
Alma Kahrimanovic << actual collector i believe
Jennifer Hansen - Director of Finance (Portland Branch)
Bonnie Baker
Jessica Snyder
Phil Thomas - Portland branch
Jack Tarasewicz - manager of HR
Ben Carpenter << "client services"
Gabriel Bigger << "client services"
Chris Malsbury << "client services"
BreAnna Stockdale << "client services"
Chris Vittoz - VP of operations
Juan Parraj-Chico - portland office
Brittany Smith - Lynnwood office
Jasmine Wallace - collector, lynnwood, WA
Vinita Malla - collector, lynnwood, WA
Jason Edwards - collector, lynnwood, WA
Carlos Santiago - collector, lynnwood, WA
Rita Moraga - collector, lynnwood, WA
Tyrone Lawrence - collector, lynnwood, WA
Tania Romero - collector, lynnwood, WA
Richard Amado - collector, lynnwood, WA
Cynthia Brooks - collector, lynnwood, WA
Bryson Wilson - collector, lynnwood, WA
Tim Greenwood - collector, lynnwood, WA
Lori Brown - collector, lynnwood, WA
Brandon Steward - collector, lynnwood, WA
Steve Sabathie - collector, lynnwood, WA
Antonio Bell - collector, portland
 9th of Mar, 2011 by   Hunter[NIU] 0 Votes
My dad a call today 3/9/11 looking for my wife. Eddie Garcia (RPM Rep) left his number and so I called them (not knowing what RPM was) to get more information and/or handle it for her. They refused to give me any information beyond they "are accounts receivable" without proof of power of attorney.

Luckily I called them with my Google Voice number (and I recommend everyone that contacts them does this) because now any time they call back I can record the call easily. Also, it will allow me to flat out block their number(s) so I don't get their calls at all.

I'll let you know how things unfold after I fax them proof of power of attorney.
 10th of Mar, 2011 by   TB_ 0 Votes
These morons keep calling me for an overdue Sprint bill. They indicated the amount was $59+. The current balance that I had was $16 something. I paid the balance off and received a statement which indicated $0. I informed them of this and they continue to call and harass me. I tried to fax them the $0 balance statement but of course their fax did not work. They are idiots.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Time to Cut the Cable?

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?