logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (52 mins ago)
LK Jewelry Designs http://www.promolk.com
Horrible Quality Ring, Worse Customer Service, RIPPED OFF
2. (1 hr 9 mins ago)
Jenna, the Astrologer
Don't fall for her emails
3. (1 hr 35 mins ago)
PositionMEonline and Reeltime Media
Business in Trouble???
4. (1 hr 38 mins ago)
Business / Personal Loan Offer
Apply urgent loan offer
5. (2 hrs 17 mins ago)
SegPayeu.com
Unauthorized charges

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

National Magazine Exchange, Clearwater, Florida Complaints & Reviews - Scam for Sweepstakes

National Magazine Exchange Contacts & Informations

National Magazine Exchange

Posted:    Francine Jones

Scam for Sweepstakes

Complaint Rating:  90 % with 166 votes
Contact information:
National Magazine Exchange
PO Box 9084
Clearwater, Florida
United States
Phone: 1-800-207-8171
I received a scam notification concerning a sweepstakes I haha won that is sponsored exclusively by National Magazine Exchange. Prize to be awarded as 30 annual installments of $70, 000.00 or a lump sum payment of $1, 100, 000.00.

My ID# is 772623137 but I came to this site to check it out first. They even had the disclaimer down "There is no purchase required to enter or win and a purchase will not improve your chances of winning." And my contact date is by January 22, 2009.
Comments United States Magazines & Newspapers
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 19th of Feb, 2009 by   Smith 0 Votes
I just received the same crap in the mail... My ID# is 778408424... I always have to check up online for this kind of stuff because I know there are a lot of snakes out there trying to scam innocent people.

I don't even know how it's a scam or anything but I just know that no one is about to give me $2 million dollars for a sweepstakes that I never entered!
 20th of Feb, 2009 by   Michael 0 Votes
I got the same mailer telling me I potentially had won $2, 100, 00.00. What losers trying to scam people. My ID # 778744569, there is no way I am going to call 1-800-207-8171 that is listed on this official prize listing.
 5th of Mar, 2009 by   beastlee 0 Votes
Dude these guys are nothing but scam artists. Tried selling me magazines and watches on per week fee. I kept saying no, I better not get any charges.

If they don't award anyone 2, 100, 000 million dollars, it is fraud because they said it was a sweepstakes. Someone has to win.

I hope someone gets all their money then they go out of business. Those conniving scumbags.
 12th of Mar, 2009 by   annoyed1 0 Votes
I have been receiving the exact same thing...only they keep changing the date. I was close to calling but decided to look it up first rather than waste my time or money on a bogus phone call! Yea I potentially won 2, 100, 000, 00 too...if thats the case come to my door with a damn check for the amount! HAHA
 31st of Mar, 2009 by   physco219 +1 Votes
Received: March 31, 2009
$2, 100, 000 prize ID#784762239 April 9, 2009

fine print:

$1, 100, 000 lump sum or $70, 000 a yr for 30 yrs
drawing on or about 2/17/2010
Sponsor: Agora Marketing Solutions, Inc. DBA (doing business as) National Magazine Exchange, 8285 Bryan Dairy Rd. Ste 150, Largo, FL 33777

For a winner's list (90 days after drawing) send self addressed stamped envie by the end date listed above for prize to NME Sweepstakes Winner's List, PO Box 9299, Medford, NY 11763-9299

If you want to be removed from mailing list call: 1-800-690-3623
Privacy policy: www.nmemags.com

Upon looking up Agora, I found this address and phone number:

Agora Marketing Solutions, Inc.
16120 US Hwy 19 North
Clearwater, FL 33764
Main Number: (727) 524-3600
(If you want to fax their excetive office you can here: 727-536-7780)

Looking further they have a reported 11 offices through out the USA in order to circumvent differing laws regarding sweepstakes and mail requirements. It also seems that they have yet to find a winner for any prize which qualifies for it through all the legal hoops one would have to jump through to be awarded anything. Upon looking up the address Bryan Dairy Rd, at the present time according to the USPS there is no such address, although there is a forwarding in their system that redirects mail to a different address, also on Bryan Dairy Rd. The Medford PO box is forwarded to another Po Box in Florida, in which is forwarded to another address in Clearwater, FL.

Finding these things I also found: http://specialdata.com/index.html and if you click the privacy tab you'll find the only way to remove yourself from their lists is via email at unsubscribe@agoramarketingsolutions.com and yeah I bet they won't add you to their spam lists accordingly. There is also much much more out on the web about this company and how they do business. I too have been being called by these people saying that the credit card number I provided is incorrect and because of privacy concerns they can not tell me what card I used and all that so they would like me to give them the number again and try re billing it. Yeah sure you do. The caller id always has no number attached to it, the people give out bogus names and or phone numbers. In close don't give this notice a second look, recycle it in you paper recycle bins, and if they call you, challenge them, hassle them and phone back the head office and see what they say. Good luck scammers, you haven't pulled the wool over my eyes and I hope this article will allow someone else to see the light of day that your trying to hide.

physco219
 14th of Jun, 2009 by   MISUNDERSTOOD REP 0 Votes
I just read all of your comments on this company and I find you guys to be misleading others with all your negativity. GRANTED there are alot of company's out there scaming people I kow I was one of the ones who got scamed by the offical looking check things. However eveything in life that offers you a possibilty is not a scam.

If you're goin to rant and rave about something get your facts straight. PHYSCO219 some of the things you stated are correct like the addresses. Companies can move and if you ever moved you know that mail forwarding can kinda consuming and a pAIn in the butt. That's for you house hold imagine a company that, mails all over the country. So what a company has different sweepstakes for different states abiding by that states guidlines. Is it a crime to be able to provide everyone with the chance to win some money that you really could use. Y knock someone else's plan becuase your stuck doing the same thing you hate. Number one the company doesn't make outbound calls, U call IN. Your entered in the sweepstakes and if the computer you should choose your entry number, yes you will get the oppurtunity to take advantage of the magazine offer which by the way isn't bad. Like you guys act like the are think abou the last time yuou went and bougt or picked up a magazine $5.95 or even $7.95 right? If you like to read 1.29 per week thru a monthly billing that I can have taken from my card or I can mail in a check. Hell it comes out less then movies or the monthly cable bill that I bet your kids sit in front oof all night long. U complain about a good activity for adecent price but I bet you when Verizon send u that postcard for an upgradde on your cable you called right in. It's the same thing. If people listened more than they talked they would here when a person says (YOUR ENTRY IS COMPLETE AND REGISTERED and then later in the conversation they give you offer) YOU response(See iI knew this was a scam the paper say's no purchase pr payment required and now you're trying to get me to buy, NO ASS- I'm giving you an oppurtunity to take advantage of something we felt was good if you don't like it, say no thank you and hang up. U probably called in and are mad now becuase it is a good oppurtunity but you don't have job to accept it, that's understandable but understand this. The agent you're speaking to has does have one. To enter your ungrateful ass in the sweepstakes. Don't be mad or rude understand and stop hating. Oh and another thing If you decide to call in don't start the conversation I'M NOT GOING TO PURCHASE ANYTHING. IF THAT'S HOW YOU FEEL THEN JUST GET ENTERED IN THE SWEEPSTAKES AND IF YOU'RE SELECTED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE PROGRAM HEAR WHAT'S BEEING SAID AND MAKE AN INFORMED DECISION NOT A HALF ASS DECISION CUZ YOU WERE TO BUSY TALKING TO HEAR WAHT WAS GREAT.

This post was not meant to be mean to anyone but it was something I needed to get off my chest and I can't say it you on the phone. -Misunderstood
 29th of Jun, 2009 by   shipe 0 Votes
I just received this letter in the mail stating that I'v won a grand prize of 2, 100, 000, 00 and I have to July 9, 2009 to claim my prize and you stated that this is my second notice when I did't get anything the first time .my ID#79770762 . and I would like to claim my prize .please email me to let me know how here my email shipenancy@ymail.com. you say there is no purchase to win .
 17th of Oct, 2009 by   Cro 0 Votes
This must be a scam. It was for my husband. It started in 2007 and my husband past in 2006. You can not inter something if you are not living.
 29th of Dec, 2009 by   juanitashe 0 Votes
I just received the same letter in the mail a few days ago.. but i ordered magazines from to colledge students who were selling magazines to help them earn $$$ to start thier own bussnesses. I had to pay $20.00 that day and then send $20.00 to the co. in the mail. I did get my magazines. i was a little leary because it took almost three months before i got them so I checked my receipt top see if it said anyting about when I should get them and it did, so I quit worring. The dudes who sold me the mags said that I would be able to enter thier sweeps.The letter ddi not say that I had won but I was selected to enter the sweeps.It also says thgat each winner will be notified by mail and will be required to complete, sing and have notarized an affidavit of eligiility. Release of liability. And where legally perissable. A publiucity release which must be received within 14 days of date printed on notification or an alternate winner will be chosen. It souns so lagit. I think I will call them but be very carefiul.
 13th of Jan, 2010 by   Vizonary 0 Votes
I got the same kind of notice. I refused to give her any personal information. Thewy knew my address, name and telephone number. They offered me 2 quartz watches with a real diamond in the 12 O'clock position and 3 magazines for $1.29 a month for a guaranteed price for 48 months. She kept repeating that this was a "remarkable deal." I just moved into this house less than 4 months ago! The letter says

ATTENTION: John Doe (addressed to me, but anonymity is important).

We are trying to reach you regarding your $1, 100, 000.000 prize entry ID#3xxxxxxxx. Your reply is needed by January 28, 2010 to be eligible for prize offerings.
If your prize entry is selected the winning number in a random drawing you will win $1, 100, 000.00. Call 1-888-JACKPOT (1-888-522-5769) to activate your prize ID#3xxxxxxxx by January 28, 2010.

Sincerely

E. Wright


And it was signed.

On the phone and on the back of the paper, it said that the drawing would be held in March of 2012. She said they sponsored this drawing and did it every 2 years. She also told me that there was a drawing happening this February. I told her I read about this sweepstakes on the internet and that people had posted that this was a scam. She told me that it was not a scam and that it was most likely an old customer who couldn't pay their bill and was "disgruntled" and wanted to get back at the company.

I told her I did not remember entering into this sweepstakes and she said that I was on a list of preferred customers because I owned a Visa, Master Card, Discover or American Express. She asked me if I still had one and which one it was. I told her I did, but would not tell her what it was. I asked her how I got on the list and she said I could write to some place; like their warehouse, or HQ or something...I dont remember. But she gave me this address:

8285 Bryan Dairy Rd Suite 150
Largo, FL 33777

I don't know if this was a real scam or not. I refused to give her any financial info and (REPEATEDLY) declined the magazines. She said my entry was complete but to get the watches as a free gift/prize, I had to partake in the wondrous magazine offer. I refused and then she connected me to an automated message that was talking about cruizes, healthcare, and vision care- I think. I stopped listening by then.

I guess if it was a real legitimate offer since this is a real company, I'll find out in just over 2 years. My notice was similar to those I have read about, but a little different. They scam you by taking something that is usually real and using it to scam people, like those emails about an expiring paypal account, or ebay- my friend got taken for like $12, 000 for entering his paypal info into the hyperlinked site that lookd exactly like the real paypal page. Its hard to be sure. I hope its not a scam, but if it is- IT DIDN'T WORK ON ME!! LOL = )
 16th of Jun, 2010 by   Powerhse74 0 Votes
Here is the link to the Better Business Bureau rating National Magazine Exchange a "F". This should be explanation enough proving that you should never do business with this company!


http://www.bbb.org/west-florida/business-reviews/magazine-sales-departments/national-magazine-exchange-in-largo-fl-10292
 21st of Jul, 2010 by   cherripie8583 0 Votes
God people... Where on the mailpiece does it say you have ALREADY WON?? It's people like you who don't read the mailpieces that assume everything is a scam. If you google NME sweepstakes winners, you will see the winner was just recently announced. NME is a clearing house, and because they don't spend money on celebrities to do their bidding for them, you assume... Well... What about Publishers Clearing House... They offer 3 magazines for $5.00 a week... Hmmmm... And NME is $1.29 per week... RIP OFF ALERT!!! NME WILL SAVE YOU MONEY!!! And for those of you who bought magazines, and then tried to say you were conned... I'd love to know how you spoke to 2 different people, PICKED OUT YOUR MAGAZINES with the first, and then VERIFIED the information with the supervisor, then went to your wallet, PULLED out the credit card, READ the number aloud... then watied while the supervisor RECORDED THE CALL AND GOT A SECOND YES before charging you... yeah... it's their fault... IDIOTS.
 18th of Oct, 2010 by   KEEP IT REAL ALWAYS -1 Votes
HELLO I JUST WANT EVERYONE ON HERE TO KNOW THIS IS NOT A SCAM!!! I FIRST LEARNED OF THE COMPANY WHEN THEY CONTACTED ME... NOW I WORK FOR THE COMPANY, AND THERE IS SOMEONE WHO HAS WON AND THERE WILL BE A WINNER IN THE FURTURE. IF YOU THINK THIS IS A SCAM THEY YOUR A IDIOT...
 25th of Oct, 2010 by   Boot 2 0 Votes
Darrell Spears id 134686864
 9th of Dec, 2010 by   whoathebliss 0 Votes
This is not a scam, you call and enter the sweepstakes and then the offer you a day. Whether or not you partake in that offer, you are entered for the sweepstakes. BUT, the reason they have the sweepstakes is to get people to call in and register and then they will repetitively try and convince you to buy magazines. If you say no, they will keep asking and will then get the supervisor on the line and make a better offer to you. If you want the magazines, go for it! It is a good deal on magazines. But if you don't want them, just keep saying no. Afterward, thank them and then hang up. Like I said, they will keep offering it to you, but just keep saying no. Whether you buy or not, you are entered into the sweepstakes. Now, if you get far enough as to give them your credit card info, then you see a charge on your bank account and did not say you want any of the above, then that is the companies fault. But chances are, you did not listen to the agreement the person on the phone was saying, and missed the part about the fee up front. Either way, you can call their customer support center 1(800)308-6247 and verify that either they don't have your credit card or checking account number on file, or if they are charging your account for anything. So no, it's not a scam. But it is a clever scheme in getting you to call in and trying to convince you into buying magazines AFTER you have been entered into the sweepstakes. And one more thing, if you did not call and register your Sweepstakes ID Number, then you most definitely WILL NOT win the sweepstakes. So read your paper clearly and you will see that it says to register to win, you have to call.

If anyone has any questions, feel free to respond and I will answer as soon as I can. And NO, I do not work for them, but I am very educated and have read the Privacy Policy and disclosures for their company.
 9th of Dec, 2010 by   whoathebliss 0 Votes
and then offer you a magazine subscription***
 16th of Dec, 2010 by   traydog +1 Votes
if you were not so greedy you would not have called over and over! Think these people that you are talking to are there cause they need the work and for you to call and cuss them scream at them and talk to them like s it is bull. Every time you call and dont pick mags or buy mags you hurt the person that you are talking to, so think before you call. oh, think cause if it was your wife or husband that didnt get paid or got fired cause of people acting just like you! now is not the time to hurt or get people fired, we all need a home and a job to protect and feed our families
 11th of Jan, 2011 by   Toothfairy01701 0 Votes
I don't mind people trying to make a living, but I do not approve of giving away an expiration date to my credit card. Obviously, the date means nothing to them unless they already have your credit card number. I called the Better Business Bureau and I was told they were "phishing" for credit card information. First they enter you and then rush you into choosing and getting five magazineas at some very low subscription rate of 1.25 per week, and then they promise to send you diamond watches (BIG RED FLAG) but you must give them your credit card expiration date. BBB told me it was a SCAM. Call your Better Business Bureau and don't rely on anyone else!
 2nd of Mar, 2011 by   anjilkat 0 Votes
None of you mention "mailing" your entry in, which circumvents the call. My letter is similar to all others; however, it also states that I can mail my entry in before the deadline OR call the 800 number. I see the same deadline in a couple of the comments above, so it's sounding like at least they have the same rules. But we'll see, I suppose. I believe I can win a million dollars or more just like anyone else who's won millions...it do happen...but I don't have time to read magazines although seeing the comparison of price it does sound like a good deal as shelf prices have become way too pricey, so it's tempting. I haven't decided what to do yet...shred it or return it in the mail. The BBB isn't the most reliable source for finding out accurate business info in my humble opinion. I've looked some things up there and found them to be way off on their ratings for local businesses in my area. Anyway...good luck to all who enter!!!
 18th of Mar, 2011 by   Carolyn A. Johnson +1 Votes
National magazine Exchange is nothing but a scam. They called my house claiming that I had won $400.000 second place prize money and wanted me to pay them a insurance fee on the money of $4, 850.00, inorder for the check to be deliver to my house; I had to pay them this money up front or I would not receive the $400.000 prize money. They are not honest people.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Money Transfer Scam

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?