logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

2. (12 mins ago)
United States Postal Service
lies/poor service
3. (20 mins ago)
Wyndham Discovery Vacations
Overbooking of Resort
4. (22 mins ago)
Clayton Homes
Bad Construction - Failure to Follow Up
5. (23 mins ago)
Cub Cadet
mower drive belt keeps throwing off

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

HR Block Bank, Kansas City, Missouri Complaints & Reviews - Terrible experience

HR Block Bank Contacts & Informations

HR Block Bank

Posted:    Chrissy

Terrible experience

Complaint Rating:  89 % with 9 votes
Contact information:
HR Block Bank
Kansas City, Missouri
United States
Phone: 1-888-687-4722
www.hrblock.com
I don't know how many of you have used the H and R Block Emerald Card to receive your tax returns. I have. We can keep the cards for direct deposit or even load funds on it through Western Union or Money Gram. I loaded money on the card about three weeks ago so I could reserve a hotel and purchase amtrak tickets online. I loaded a little extra just do I wouldn't have to carry cash around. I decided to pay my cell phone bill and the company accidentally overcharged me, so they sent the money back to my account immediately, but told me to wait about 3 to 5 business for it show up. On the fifth business day it wasn't there so I contacted the phone company to make sure they sent my money back and they actually did the same day. I then contacted Card Services who said my money was returned but in order to release the hold the phone company would have to fax some information to them. I contacted the phone company and let them know what to fax and they did that immediately. I called Card Services back few hours later who said it would take 24 to 72 hours to post to my account. Well, on the third day I called again and then someone told me that they had to create a case and I would have to wait 3 more days for the holds department to respond. After 3 days, which was just Tuesday 8/26, they said they never received the fax. I told them that I had spoken with other representatives a couple of days before him who told me he had. He said to have them receive the fax and I had to wait another 3 days or to wait until the 29th, because the hold would fall off on it's on. I said forget it, I'll wait until Friday the 29th. Mind you all out there, the money was originally posted back to my account on August 11th. So, when the 29th came and my money wasn't on there, I called them back and they said the hold will fall off at midnight (CDT) or that I should just say the 30th and they were so confident. I just checked at 12:10 to give it a couple of extra minutes and it's still not there. Now I have to wait until Tuesday to talk to someone because of the holiday and I was hoping to have that money to use for the holiday. These people are full of crap!!!
Comments United States Banks
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 29th of Nov, 2008 by   Frank Ardito -1 Votes
Dear Sir's/Madams I always recieve my tax advance from H@R Bank every year for 3 years now.all of a sudden this year I can't get it because I filed bankruptcy 4 years ago and it denied me. My question is why did you people give it to me for the past 3 years and now I can't get it? Great way to to business-- it's my money. It's not like I'm borrowing it . Thank you Frank Ardito
 3rd of Dec, 2008 by   crystal burress -1 Votes
we have been customers there for the past 8 years and we have been doing the emerald advance for the past 3 years and we tried for the the emerald advance on 11-22-08 and was denied me and my husbnd forgot to take one our check stubs and i called nora at the princeton wva office and she said she sent an email to have it reset and i called her on 12-2-08 and nora told me that it was gonna b reset at the end of buisness day on 12-2-08.. on 12-3-08 i recieved a phone call from nora and she said the bank denied resetting ours so we cant go back and refile for the emerald advance.. i feel like they should have gave us another chance because we have been getting our taxes done at hnr block for a long time but since this happened we are very unhappy customers and we wil no longer file taxes with handr block again, , we was goona use the money to buy our kids christmas but now thanks to hnr block thye wont have a christmas... so hnr block needs to think about there customers a little more have a great day...
 14th of Dec, 2008 by   niecey -1 Votes
i tried to get my advance this year and they are saying i owe 400 dollars so i was turned down which i do not understand what in the world they are talking about.whoever the person i talked to said h&R NEVER got thier fee out.how is that when they get thier money before i get mines!!!i want that peace of mind insurance that i pay for every year to get to working like right now!!!how do i tell my 8 year old daugther i can't get her at least one thing for chirstmas you people need to stop playing with peoples many.
 21st of Jan, 2009 by   Y CONLEY -1 Votes
THERE IS NO WAY IN HELL I'M GOING TO TRUST THESE MORANS WITH MY $5000 TAX RETURN. I WAS APPROVED FOR A $900 ADVANCE THRU H&R BLOCK, WHICH WAS PUT ON THIS STUPID CARD AND I CAN'T USE IT ANYWHERE! ONLY TO WITHDRAW MONEY FROM ATMs WHICH OF COURSE CHARGES ME $1.95 EACH TIME PLUS WHAT EVER THE BANK CHARGES. I WAS ABLE TO USE IT FOR MY CELL PHONE BUT NOW THERE ARE SEVERL $1 PENDING CHARGES THAT STILL HAVE NOT BEEN RETURNED TO CARD. I CALLED TO LET THEM KNOW THAT THE "PENDING $1" CHARGES HAVE NOT BEEN RETURNED TO CARD. SHE STATED THAT I HAD TO CALL MY CELL COMPANY AND HAVE THEM TAKE THE "HOLD" OFF. I CALLED MY CELL COMPANY AND THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT. THEY CHECKED MY ACCT AND THERE WERE NO HOLDS ON THIER END. I CALLED H&R AGAIN TO LET THEM KNOW AND SHE TOLD ME THAT I HAD TO WAIT FOR THE HOLD TO EXPIRE. I ASKED TO TALKED TO A SUPERVISOR AND SHE FLAT OUT SAID "NO". I COULDN'T BELIEVE IT! SHE SAID I HAD NO REASON TO TALK TO A SUPERVISOR. I ARGUED WITH HER FOR 20 MINS. SHE JUST ENDED UP HANGING UP ON ME. THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I'VE EVER ENCOUNTERED. AFTER CALLING THE EMERALD CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE I'M GOING TO MAKE IT MY MISSION IN LIFE TO TELL EVERYONE I KNOW NEVER TO USE THIS CRAPPY EMERALD CARD. I'VE BEEN AN H&R BLOCK CUSTOMER FOR YEARS, I'M EVEN CONSIDERING CHANGING JUST BECAUSE OF THIS CARD ISSUES.
 22nd of Jan, 2009 by   roy white -1 Votes
i filed my tax return january16.2009 and still havnt got it yet.I applied for the 1-2 day return for my money.The person that did my tax return told me i would get the money monday or tuesday(19th or the 20th).i didnt get it then.I spoke t a person on the 21st, they said if i didn't get it by the end of that business day, i would get it no later than this morning the 22nd.Its been longer than 2 days, i should've already gotten it.I just want to know what the hold up is, when am i going to get my money.It is suppose to be deposited on the emerald card.


roy white

january22nd, 2009
 25th of Jan, 2009 by   darcell mcbride -1 Votes
im trying to do my texes at hnrblock but reading all theas comlaints i just might just not.thankyou for your honesty.
 30th of Jan, 2009 by   HSBC DENIED!! -1 Votes
Every year i file my taxes i am always approved for the 1-2 day loan. This year i decided to use h&r block and was denied. I am mad as hell because I am always approved and why the heck would they deny me like they wont get their punk ass money back. HHEEELLLOOO you guys have access to my damn federal check before I do. H&R block is gonna lose a lot of loyal customers of they continue to fool around with hsbc bank. And as far as that emerald card bullshit its a load of crap and listen to me people when i say DONT FUCK WIT THE EMERALD CARD!!!
 30th of Jan, 2009 by   red -1 Votes
I have always done my own taxes but decided that this year since they were doing the 1 day thing that i would go ahead and pay the money and try to get it that day. Well they said i couldent get it that day that i was approved for the 1-2 day so i was like fine thats cool. So when i try to go get my money after that weekend she said i had wasent apporved to get it in 1-2 days that i would have to wait 8-15 business days. I am mad as hell i will never in my life fuck with these motha fuckas ever again. This bitches have reunied people lives and i am going to really and truly do something about it. I hope no one ever goes to these stupid ass people again becuase i damn sho aint. I filed mine 01-24-09 and cant get my money till 02-06-09. and trust me iam calling them everyday to see they gone get sick of me but i dont give a damn. An if they dont have my money then they better have it on the 6 or iam gone act a straight fool fa sho. So take it from me please do not go to these slow stupid non careing as motha fuckers
 10th of Feb, 2009 by   rick n -1 Votes
THE EMERALD CARD IS A JOKE BEFORE WE DECIDED ON USING IT WE ASK ARE AGENT IF THERE WAS ANY HIDDEN FEES THAT THEY WOULD CHARGE US, WE WERE TOLD THAT THERE WASN'T.$3.95 EVERY TIME WE USED IT, 1.00 FOR AN INQURRY AND I CALLED THEM TO GET A STATMENT SENT TO ME AND WAS CHARGED FOR
THE CALL.
WE HAD AN $8, 000 RETURN AND HNR BLOCK GOT 2TO 3 GRAND OUT OF US.
THEY PREY ON PEPOLE LOOKING FOR A FASTER RETURN IT'S NOT WORTH IT AND THEY WON'T TELL YOU THAT EVEN WHEN YOU ASK WHAT THE DOLLAR DIFFERENCE WOULD BE.
NOW I'VE DISCOVERED THAT HNR BLOCK IS A BANK, IF I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS I WOULDN'T
HAVE GONE THERE.I DON'T TRUST BANKS.
NEXT I'LL PROBALY FIND OUT THERE OWNED BY BANK OF AMERICA WHICH WOULD NOT SURPRISE ME, B OF A IS THE BIGGEST THIEFS THERE IS!
 11th of Feb, 2009 by   corey -1 Votes
I filed my taxes jan 23rd 8-15 days to trach my emereald card its now the 11th of feb. no money yet..But when I hit into the irs link give all my info it tells me they have no info on it yet ...whats that bull shit ...it should have all ready been processed whats going on any help please...thank you
 22nd of Feb, 2009 by   chrissie -1 Votes
i so agree with every1 on here. the emerald card is a load of crap. she (being the tax pro) said we get our money on the card within 2 days. so of course when that time expired i went into the office to find out why it wasnt there. "O" she says, a diff tax pro...she must of failed to mention since my hubby is active duty military we cant get the RAL( the loan) because of the intrest rate. the irs put out a thing saying it was wrongful to charge such obsene intrest rate...if it is so obsene why are other ppl suffering the wrong doing? hmmm! then finally we get our money and i admit i misplaced my card so i called to report it and the operator was an ASSHOLE! i asked him which would be cheaper transferring funds to my personal account and call it a day or to replace the card. needless to say i never got my answer. but i did get the transfer of funds paper work...but since i dont have my balance how am i suppose to fill the paper out correctly. so i call back and they refuse to give me the balance because im the primary account holder. WHAT THE FRENCH!!! did i not sign along with my husband on a JOINT return...but that doesnt mean nothing!! STAY AWAY from this!! i wish i found this blog 2 weeks ago!
 9th of Mar, 2009 by   rachael -1 Votes
i have been using hr block for 10 years in2006 my husbend took out a loan for 577 and the took 1800 to pay back the loan we did not know this we had a large tax retern that year in 2008 i took out a loan for 600 i payed my loan and they made me pay the 577again thats when i found out they took in2006way more money not only did i pay it 2 times they will not give me my money back they owe me 1800 dollars and my card sites at a- 350balace there saying i owe them more money they stell money from people im not giving up i will fight
 17th of Mar, 2009 by   Jenrob -1 Votes
I have been a customer for 10 years +. or the first time I did the advance loan. Yea, well, NEVER AGAIN!!
I was told I had to make my payment of $40.00 because the IRS hadn't deposited the funds by the payment due date. I went ahead and made my payment, I was told I would be given the money back- because the payment coming out of my actual return was greater than the balance I owed. This was late Jan. So, I gave it a little time, waiting... I have never in my life spoke to such ignorant customer service agents. No a single person could give me an answer on when my $40.00 would be credited to my card. I was told call back in 2 days. Ok(charged $2.00 for every call that requires me to speak to an agent) I called back on the 2nd day- It would be credited within 2-3 business days. This was the spiel I got everytime I called. When in frustration I demanded to speak with a supervisor- I was put on hold for 83 MINUTES!!! Still, my answer was 2-3 business days. Here it is March 17- still no $40.00, did I mention now the account is negative because everytime I called- yes, they charged me the $2.00. I do believe this has left a sour taste for HR BLOCK- I will no longer be using them- nor will I make referrals as I have in the past.
 5th of Apr, 2009 by   eus -1 Votes
I am a seasonal employee of H&R Block. My position is Client Service Coordinator, which is essentially a receptionist position. I have a friend that does taxes for them, and she told me about it. I needed a part-time job, so I applied and got hired. I worked from January 15 until February 21, because they don't tell you that after the big "crush" of W-2's coming in, they don't need a receptionist anymore. I don't get my taxes done by these people, and they charge a fortune. $89 for one W-2 that you can do yourself, is a big ripoff. I don't like the was they try to "push" the clients into more services so they can make a larger commission. I won't work for them again.
 12th of Apr, 2009 by   Tonya -1 Votes
I have used HR Block for MANY years to do my taxes. Now that they have the Emerald Card, I've been getting my refund put on there. It is ok if you get your taxes on it, use the money and are done with the card. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND NOT USING IT FOR PAYROLL DIRECT DEPOSITS OR ANYTHING ELSE. They don't mail statements. I've tried to be able to view them online and can't. I've had money transferred to the card on the two dif. occasions where the first time they "rejected" the funds and this time my money was stupposed to be on it yesterday and STILL isn't. The customer service is HORRIBLE. You get foreignors who don't comprehend anything you say, don't resolve your question and then you get charged $2 FOR EVERY PHONE CALL YOU MAKE TO THEM. Even if THEY srew something up which makes you call them, they still charge you!! I call there and they NEVER know what they are talking about, they always give me wrong information, I've had dif. reps all tell me something dif. on the same day, I've asked for a supervisor and been hung up on. After MANY years of giving them my service and paying a ton of money in filing fees, I'm going elsewhere next year because I am tired of their poor customer service which could care less about resolving issues.
 8th of May, 2009 by   xJdKxZomBie -1 Votes
i lost my old emerald card a while back right, called in and them fools said oh certainly sir a card will be right out to you, this was jan 3rd 2009. no lie i didnt recieve that mother for a month. constantly it either got lost in the mail, someone didnt take care of their end, somehow it was my fault, i had 600 bucks on the mother, and guess what the balance was when i got it...87 dollars. you can bet i spent the next 2 hours arguing with some mother fucker on the phone about the lack of said 600 dollars and i made them give me my money back, which they did...in FUCKING INSTALLMENTS!!! cock suckers. its a good thing my credit sucks so bad i cant get a bank anywhere else otherwise id walk into the nearest hnr block tax office and insert this dumb ass card into someones rectal cavity.
 29th of May, 2009 by   Jan L. +1 Votes
I got my Emerald card 3 yrs ago. I use it for my Direct Deposit and I have NEVER had ANY PROBLEMS!!! It's convienent...ppl don't take the time out to READ the paperwork that comes with it. It's been the easiest way to get my payroll and I USE IT EVERYWHERE!!! Jan L
 20th of Aug, 2010 by   Stantonrichard2 0 Votes
I too have had it with HR BLOCk. I have an emerald card which I have used many times. Suddenly, my card is blocked at 8:00pm on Aug 20th 2010. I call customer service to find out why and a recording states they are closed. and hours are mon to friday 8am to 8pm. I tried to check the balance online and a message pops up that I have exceeded my pin attempts Funny, I used the card at 7:30pm with no problem and tried again at 8:00pm and the card was declined. Tomorrow is my daughters 11th birthday and all my funds are on this card. It is absurd that a company can freeze your card after hours with no way of contacting them. Oh, did I fail to mention we are connecticut residents on vacation in FLA. and now have no way to pay the horel bill? I have to have my brother wire me money for the bill and a gift and probably gas money to drive home. These people should be sued and put out of business. I WILL NOT LET THIS GO! contact me at stantonrichard2@yahoo.com if you are interested in joining a c lass action suit against them.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Several Tips How to Avoid Internet Scams

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?