logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
GLD Myscore
Charge to my card
2. (1 mins ago)
Today's Matchmaker of Sacramento LLC
Fraud and Deception
3. (2 mins ago)
Hyundai Motor Finance Company
Unsolicited phone calls
4. (14 mins ago)
Upworkptr.com
Stay away from these crooks
5. (20 mins ago)
american lottery sweepstakes company
won 2.5millions in the lottery

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Xbox live online charges Complaints & Reviews - Fraudulent charges

Xbox live online charges Contacts & Informations

Xbox live online charges

Posted:    Michele Lewis

Fraudulent charges

Complaint Rating:  93 % with 42 votes
Contact information:
Microsoft Xbox Live
United States
These charges showed up on our checking account, charged against one of our credit cards assigned to our account. We cancelled the card immediately, and located a toll free number to call: 800-469-9269. They could not locate our credit card number used with these charges...the perpetrator used the number to get the product, then erased the number. I have pasted the fraudulent charges here for your review.
06/17/2010
7569 POS PURCHASE MICROSOFT *BILLING BILL.MS.NET WA MICROSOFT *BILLI 19.99
06/17/2010
7562 POS PURCHASE MICROSOFT *BILLING BILL.MS.NET WA MICROSOFT *BILLI 19.99
06/17/2010
7641 POS PURCHASE MICROSOFT *BILLING BILL.MS.NET WA MICROSOFT *BILLI 29.99
06/17/2010
7568 POS PURCHASE MICROSOFT *BILLING BILL.MS.NET WA MICROSOFT *BILLI 29.99
06/17/2010
7639 POS PURCHASE MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE BILL.MS.NET WA MICROSOFT *XBO 49.99
Comments United States Credit Cards
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 30th of Jul, 2010 by   stroester 0 Votes
I have similar charges! I already called my bank to cancel my checkcard. They said I had to wait for the transactions to post before I could file a claim. I spoke with Xbox who said they couldn't find an account with my checkcard number. Trying Microsoft next. I'm glad I caught it soon after it was done.

Processing CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON
07/30/2010 -$49.99

Processing CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON
07/30/2010 -$49.99

Processing CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON
07/30/2010 -$49.99

Processing CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *BILLI BILL.MS.NET WA ON
07/30/2010
Amount may change - waiting for final amount from merchant $0.00

Processing CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *BILLI BILL.MS.NET WA ON
07/30/2010
Amount may change - waiting for final amount from merchant $0.00
 15th of Aug, 2010 by   alcal0383 0 Votes
The same thing happiend to me as well, did anyone visit Best Buy? casue that was the only place i used my card all week?

CHECKCARD MICROSOFT PASSPORT REDMOND WA ON
08/14/2010 -$1.00


CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON
08/14/2010 -$49.99


CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON
08/14/2010 -$74.99


CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON
08/14/2010 -$74.99


CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *BILLI BILL.MS.NET WA ON
08/14/2010
Amount may change - waiting for final amount from merchant $0.00


CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *BILLI BILL.MS.NET WA ON
08/14/2010
Amount may change - waiting for final amount from merchant $0.00


CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *BILLI BILL.MS.NET WA ON
08/14/2010
Amount may change - waiting for final amount from merchant $0.00
 31st of Aug, 2010 by   maddox52298 0 Votes
I just had the same thing happen to me today (8/31/2010), and the 2 people I talked to by calling the 800-469-9269 number will not give me or my bank any info about the charges. My bank cancelled my debit card to make sure it doesn't happen again.

I am curious about the Best Buy connection though, because we also used our debit card at Best Buy--that was actually the most recent purchase before the fraudulent charges happened!

The following is from my bank statement:

8/31/2010 DEBIT CARD
MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE BILL.MS.NET WA 311160077880
2916
-$49.99 $416.67
8/31/2010 DEBIT CARD
MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE BILL.MS.NET WA 311160077880
2902
-$74.99 $466.66
8/31/2010 DEBIT CARD
MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE BILL.MS.NET WA 311160077880
2901
-$74.99
 1st of Sep, 2010 by   N_i_c_k 0 Votes
Showed up as pending in my account today:

POS DEBIT MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE 1800 469 926 WA $74.99
POS DEBIT MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE 1800 469 926 WA $74.99

Bought 400 XBL points over 2 months ago through my Xbox 360, it was late night and I did not want to run to the store for a points card so I used my debit card. My gold membership was a prepaid card and is good through 05/04/2011. Called the bank, they told me to call Microsoft Customer Service. They have no record of a charges for that amount on my card, and do not see another account with my card number. Called my bank (Chase) back, they said I can file a claim once the charges post (they are currently pending). Needless to say I canceled my current card and requested a new one, and removed my card information from my xbox live account. The bank says they will deposit the funds back into my account in 2-3 business days after the claim has been filed. Sucks.
 1st of Sep, 2010 by   ughintx 0 Votes
Happened to me as well on 8/31/2010. Four charges from *XBox Live and two from Microsoft Passport, totaling $296.90. I haven't visited Best Buy in a long time.
 11th of Sep, 2010 by   Cpatao1 0 Votes
The same thing happened to me at bank of america. on 8/3/2010
I''ve been on the phone for a few hours right now unable to contact Xbox.
I finished talking to a representative from Bofa and i think the best way to solve this problem would be to directly contact the bank's claims department rather than the Xbox itself.
I don't even own a xbox and i got charged.
 15th of Sep, 2010 by   KCHAN650650 0 Votes
HELP WAT THE HECK DO I DO THEN SO MAD I CANT EVEN REMOVE MY CARD FROM THE XBOX LIVE SITE ITS SAY I CANT IDK. SHOULD I START AT THE BANK OR WITH XBOX??
 30th of Sep, 2010 by   ashwalker86 0 Votes
Same here, except its charges from things like www.mts65.com www.route www.swizzle exc. 19.99-50.00 at a time. I called xbox & they said they didnt have the card info & it wasn't valid. BULLSHIT. I think they know whats going on
 30th of Sep, 2010 by   ashwalker86 0 Votes
BTW this has happened 3 diff times since Jan.
Had to get 3 new cards... something must be done
 3rd of Oct, 2010 by   XxAuReaLxX 0 Votes
CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON 10/03/2010 -$49.99

CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON 10/03/2010 -$74.99

CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *XBOX 1800 469 9269 WA ON 10/02/2010 -$74.99

CHECKCARD MICROSOFT *BILLI BILL.MS.NET WA ON 10/02/2010 Amount may change - waiting for final amount from merchant $0.00

This happened to me as well. This was with my BofA Check Card which I physically have. Luckily I picked it up right away. Contacted the bank and they put a block on my account and issued me a new card. I don't even own an XBox. Additionally there was another charge:

CHECKCARD Apple Asia LLC, Tai Taipei DE ON 10/02/2010 -$1.00

BTW I've been on hold forever on that 800 number for XBox.
 3rd of Oct, 2010 by   XxAuReaLxX 0 Votes
Update: I got off with a respresentative from Microsoft. The representative was really thorough and helpful and looked up my information in so many ways. However, the Checkcard number I have was not associated with any orders, purchases, or anything Microsoft related, globally, through all product divisions, or in their system. He did, however, notate this under my account and provided a reference number. Very helpful, but in the end, still clueless as to the transactions. Will see if these end up posting or dropping off.
 25th of Oct, 2010 by   Gwen091202 0 Votes
I have the same problem one charge from Microsoft *xbox live for 79.99 and on same company for 49.99 both on 8/16/2010. and I spoke with two different operaters and noone could find anything on this card number. I filed a police report and went to my bank cancelled my card and am awaiting a new card. However in July I used paypal and the state trooper who came to my house to file the report said that was a big issue when deling with fraud. However I also had two charges from vesta tmobile and they have the number and a whole devition that works directly with the police. So now i just have to wait for the bank and these companies seem very happy to work with the banks and the police.
 25th of Oct, 2010 by   Gwen091202 0 Votes
Just for peoples information my bank told me anything you are not firmiliar with that is a small amount is someone seeing if money is available. Within a few days from the small transaction going through there will be a heafty transaction following it. So people with $0.00 or $1.00 transactions I would call the bank maybe they can actually catch the theft or prevent it all together.
 18th of Nov, 2010 by   FierceDeityLink1 0 Votes
Got charged $74.99 from "CHECKCARD 11/18 MICROSOFT *XBOX LIVE BILL.XBOX.COM WA" and $1 (processing) from "CHECKCARD 11/18 APPLE ASIA LLC, TAIWAN TAIPEI DE" both from today (11/18/2010).

Called Bank of America and canceled my debit card and requested a new one (should take 5-7 days). BofA said that they can't do anything until the charges are processed and told me to call Microsoft.

Called Xbox Live support, they couldn't find anything related to my debit card number (like others have said), but they put a note on my account and gave me a service request number to give to BofA. The $74.99 was said to be for 6000 Microsoft Points. They told me that I had no debit/credit card associated with my Xbox Live account (since I always buy the renewal cards from the store or online).

Haven't turned on my 360 in months and no one's had physical access to my debit card. Could have been Best Buy. My parents recently had a $1000 fraudulent charge on a plasma HDTV through Best Buy/BofA with no explanation how someone got their CC #.
 13th of Dec, 2010 by   soilpaws 0 Votes
It happened to me on Saturday Dec. 4th 2010. ! I wanted to make a purchase and my bank card was denied. I knew there was money in the account and found it puzzling.
About an hour later I get a call from my bank saying they closed my account due to the suspicion of a online charge. They were the same purchases so many of you had. I verbally told them I didn't authorize this charge. The bank thenbank mailed me an affidavit to sign.just stating, again, that I did not authorize those charges. I wonder, since so many people seem to be affected, if banks are notified with a "red flag" list of phoney online charge company. Also, I wonder if the call center was really an XBOX number and not a fake number set up by whoever is doing this. They all seem to be saying the same things.
 15th of Dec, 2010 by   Anne S. 0 Votes
Have had this happen also. I had 3 charges go through on the same day!
 28th of Dec, 2010 by   Will the Broker 0 Votes
I have almost the same charges on my account. I did go to Best Buy and used my credit card in Vallejo CA on 10/21/2010 and the fradulent charges were made shortly after on 10/29/2010. Here are the charges. Microsft XBO $49.99, $49.99 and $74.99. I wonder if Best Buy and Xbox live have some sort of connection? Or the workers at best buy are the ones committing the fraud. I called xbox live and they did find the charges and told me that who ever made the charges knew my credit card number and home address and name. Canceled the card which sucks because it was linked to other accounts. I hate it when this happens. It is still a good life though.
 11th of Jan, 2011 by   chrislord 0 Votes
Totally agree. My son has an xbox account, never bought points or membership with my debit card. Always buy them from a games shop. To my surprise £29.99 was taken from my account for a game down load. I never authorised this and we already have the game on disc. I called the customer support and was told they don't give refunds for game down loads. where do I go from here?
 16th of Jan, 2011 by   Bunker25 0 Votes
Same thing happened to my credit card for $79.99 charge xbox live. I haven't shopped at best buy or even have a xbox account. But I do have a iTunes account and I have narrowed it down to iTunes since both my debit first was hit and than my credit card was hit. I had failed to change my password the first time. This all happened in two weeks, had to change both cards. Needless to say I took all card off iTunes and just using gift cards for now on.
 23rd of Jan, 2011 by   The Michael Wilkes 0 Votes
The same thing happened to me today 5 different charges totaling 198.00 I call ed Microsoft they did sees where the charges were coming from and notated that is was fraud, I also called the bank and they cancelled my card ans said they would research everything and get back to me. If they obtained my info I only went to 1 of 2 places Target (which I see a lot of people stating they had been prior to the fraud or Long John Silvers... this really freaks me out, because I am extra carefull about my information. I was told to never run the card as debit and I never do, now it seems you can't run the card as credit either... Anyway just want the issue resolved and the person arrested and I would only hope that I get to meet them..

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Samsung Mobile Unpacked - CTIA 2011 Conference Highlights

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?