logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (0 mins ago)
Qazzoo
Very frustrated
2. (2 mins ago)
Standard Chartered Bank UAE
Unjustified deduction from Account
3. (8 mins ago)
Restaurant.com
Bait and switch
4. (26 mins ago)
Crunchyroll.com
Waste of time and money
5. (29 mins ago)
Pure Med Spa
Beware of them

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Texas Direct Auto Complaints & Reviews - Fraud and scam

Texas Direct Auto Contacts & Informations

Texas Direct Auto

Posted:    Bobby

Fraud and scam

Complaint Rating:  88 % with 204 votes
Contact information:
Texas Direct Auto
United States
texasdirectauto.com
I purchased a car on Ebay, but actually not thru Ebay. I found the car on Ebay, and called Texas Direct Auto for details. After the salesman was extremely curious and helpful, I decided to give them a deposit and they took $800.00 off the price to do the transaction outside of Ebay. Mistake!!! I was emailed the paperwork and everything from the bankdraft on my end went smooth. Can't say the same for the other end. Car was supposed to ship on 2-24-2009, but didn't ship until 3-6-2009. the car was delivered yesterday and it is not the car pictured. Or something terrible happened to it after the pictures where taken. The transit company showed us the paperwork that stated the condition the car was in when picked up, so it wasn't their fault, I called Texas Direct Auto, and was told that the car was shipped in the condition sold, and the pictures where of the car in the condition I received it in. They will take no responsibility! I looked more closely at the pictures that were saved in my history and they didn't take pictures showing the damages, they left that out and out of the description. Which stated save thousands with one call, buy it now! There are no disappointments with this one! I tried to have Ebay deal with this, but since I purchased it outside of Ebay, They will do nothing. I took it to a local dealer this morning who offered me $9000.00 less than I paid and stated that the car needed around $5000.00 in repairs, just to get it to fair shape. I just wish there where more honest people in the world!!!


Comments United States Car Dealers
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 26th of Mar, 2009 by   Jane -2 Votes
I have heard alot of negative things about this company. I would not buy from them ever! neither should you!!
 22nd of Apr, 2009 by   Bill E. -2 Votes
I am an out of state buyer, and over the phone by credit card, I gave Texas Direct Auto the $500 deposit they asked for to buy one of their Ebay listed vehicles. The salesman thanked me and said I would receive a call from Scott Cobb, the Business Manager, who would discuss the rest of the details to complete the transaction. I waited until the end of the day (Saturday) and no call. They are closed on Sundays, so I called first thing on Monday morning, and was sent to voicemail. Called again Monday afternoon, voicemail again. Sent an email on Monday evening to have someone call me on Tuesday. No one called. I called again on Tuesday afternoon, and left a voicemail message again. No return call from them. Sent another email on Tuesday night. On Wednesday morning no call, so I called them again. Left another voicemail message. Finally, 15 minutes later, I received a call from the salesman who sold me the car. He said that the car was sold to another person who came into their dealership on Saturday, the same morning that I called and gave the deposit. I immediately asked to speak to the Business Manager, Scott Cobb. Got hold of Scott Cobb, but he said he had a customer in his office, and he would call me back in 5 minutes. That was over 2 hours ago, and I am still waiting for a return call. I will call him again soon, but I am not happy with the service from this dealership. And I am not happy with the fact that they sold the car to another person when I had already given a deposit on the car. It is now 4 days later, and they have not yet refunded my credit card deposit. The saga continues...I would be very cautious dealing wtih this company.
 23rd of Apr, 2009 by   Consumer_1 -2 Votes
TEXAS DIRECT AUTO SUCKS! Unfortunately, I found this out too late! I bought a car from them and I have not had the car a month and I found out today that it needs $1745.85 in repairs. I called my salesman, David Beuhler, and he did not care and then I talked to the manager, Gary Maze, and he was worse. I CANNOT believe that they are in business after doing this stuff to SO many people. Whatever I can do to stop them from doing this to someone else - I AM GOING TO DO!
 14th of May, 2009 by   Gregg Buchanan +1 Votes
About six months ago, I bought an '05 HUMMER H2 and dealt with Chris McClelland AND Scott Cobb and found them to be professional and above board in their dealings with me. The HUMMER was as presented. This broker delivers an average of 42 vehicles a day which DOES keep the scurrying quickly, which is something that you should be prepared for when dealing with them. Particularly the Sales Representatives. Scott Cobb, the business manager, was extremely courteous and helpful and Chris McClelland and TDA went beyond and above my expectations.

Having run a real estate brokerage business for 30 years and dealing with lots of people of all types, I know that, particularly when doing TDA's volume, you are not going to be able to keep everyone happy. But, I am one that they did. I ALWAYS REGRET HEARING OF DISSATISFIED CUSTOMERS.
 26th of May, 2009 by   marineguy -1 Votes
Texas direct Auto is a 100% scam business! They should be put out of business right away. I gave a deposit for a Dodge Ram Truck that they said would be taken off of the website. I sent emails and called for the next two days after I gave my deposit and never had a returned phone call or email. This was very disappointing to me as they had my credit card number and a $500 deposit. I learned that they were trying to scam me with the price after doing the kbb and them not being able to take the taxes or plate transfers in my state. They did not tell me any of this and when I sent emails or voice mail messages they never returned my calls. Days later I finally got a hold of Gary who was a manager (totally unprofessional) who told me that my deposit is not refundable and that it was my LOSS! WHAT A JOKE... This is nuts. I will be reporting them to the BBB and also taking legal action against them. WARNING..do not buy from them or get hooked in!
 5th of Jun, 2009 by   Darrell G +3 Votes
I purchased a 1996 Corvette LT-4 from Chris McClelland and didn't have any problems with the transaction. When I went to pick the car up it did have a dead battery and the emergency brake wouldn't release but this was a 13 year old car so I took it in stride.

I left the car with them and they recharged the battery and adjusted the brake cable.

Their prices seem pretty reasonable and I can tell from being at their lot several times, they have a tremendous number of cars in stock. So many that they have to re-arrange them in order to get them out for a test drive. It is so crowded that sometime there is no place to park.

If you have trouble reaching them or not having them call back then it is probably because they are that busy.
 24th of Jun, 2009 by   mjh1820 +1 Votes
I got a tremendous deal from them. Plus the car was nicer then I expected. If you wanted a new car you should have bought a new car. Quit your crying... You are an adult that bought something and didn't like it. Maybe you should have had it inspected first like any EDUCATED CONSUMER would do.
 7th of Jul, 2009 by   JessicaMO620 +1 Votes
I got a pretty fair deal from them, bought a 2006 hummer h3, 500 below blue book. I saw it on ebay, called, and put a deposit. We had a hard time with kyle the finance manager though, he never returned the calls to our loan officer the day we were scheduled to pick it up, by the time we got down there the bank was closed and couldnt drive our car home. Tim, another finace manager tried to help as much as he could, he admitted that it was kyles fault and offered to put us in a hotel for the night and pick the car up the next morning, or offer us discounted shipping. They were all very professional. I would buy from them again
 14th of Sep, 2009 by   dd04 -1 Votes
I went in to look at an 07 Tahoe, it looked super nice in the pictures. I delt w/ Chris McLelland, from the start he acted as if we were not worthy of his time. He made us feel as if we were just another call for the day, and yes that may be true but I am you customer at least give us a little respect.We had made an apt, b/c you have to witht hem, well we still had to wait almost 2 hours to look at the car, when i put the deposit down like a week ahead of time but this is the first they would have been able to get it for me to look at it. Sounded kinda fishy, but i was still giving them the benefit of the doubt. When we go there the car hand been wrecked, Chris tried to give us some bs reason on why it had not, little did he know my husband did body work for a living and the two colors of paint were not the same, the paint job was crap, and they forgot to paint a pc.!! This car is still on ebay! I did not want it, they told us they would take $200 off of the price b/c of these problems, that wouldnt even purchase the PAINT! Anyways, so we said no that wont work the manager comes out and says ok well we will just let you go give you your deposit back and call it good. Oh if it was only that simple...yah right! Anyways, we go inside and he said yah you will need to leave positive feedback first, and i was like umm like what b/c i had nothing positive to say. He said easy to work with! I thought well if this isnt a scam, that is why they have 100% feedback. I reported this to ebay, all i could do is go back and leave a follow up comment. I was very unhappy with my dealing with Texas Direct, hopefully you will have better luck if you do choolse to use them. Only warning i can give you is DO NOT GIVE A DEPOSIT! If it had not have been $500.00 on the table i would have left negative feedback, but i couldnt afford to just lose that!
 20th of Nov, 2009 by   MikeyLikesit +1 Votes
When I told my buddies I was flying to Texas to pick up a used car they all rolled their eyes...well, I just purchased a Cadillac XLR from Texas Direct, and it was by far the most pleasurable experience I've ever had with a used car dealer. From being picked up at the airport to the test drive and final paper work it was a breeze. The car execceded my expectations and I saved over $5, 000 from the best deal in metro Atlanta. I'm not sure what the negative reviews are all about, perhaps a little homework helps. I did the carfax report, bought the extended service contract, had the oil changed after picking up the car and drove it back to Atlanta. Thanks to Chris and Scott for their help. They're good guys, I would encourage friends to buy from Texas Direct.
 25th of Nov, 2009 by   Feedbackfine +1 Votes
I purchased a 2003 Audi in 2005 from Texas Direct via eBay. I flew in from out of state and everything was great. The car has been great ever since and I saved a ton. I'm looking at getting another car now and googled Texas Direct. Very surprised at the negative comments since I had no such issues. Again, I had no problems and I'm going probably go through them again since they're still around after four years. I did have my friend in Houston test drive it first, so I wasn't a site unseen buyer.
 14th of Dec, 2009 by   dewtimes 0 Votes
I purchased a 2007 Escalade from Texas Direct over a year ago...not only did I get a great deal on the vehicle, the vehicle is a dream!! Looks and drives as good as indicated on the listing. I paid $800 to have it shipped to Florida and we've been happy ever since. In fact, the carrier unloaded the Caddy in front of the local Cadillac dealership that was selling the exact same vehicle for $15k more!! Its great to win as a consumer when you get raked over the coals most of the time with your run-of-the-miller car dealers. Thanks TDA!! I'll be back in about 6 months for another vehicle. I recommend TDA to everyone I speak to concerning buying a car!
 27th of Jan, 2010 by   SWIVEL 0 Votes
THIS IS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE YOU SHOULD EXPECT FROM THIS DEALERSHIP WHEN ASKING FOR SOME PRICING? IWOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS DEALERSHIP


I realize that it is difficult for you to emphasis with our situation. If you can imagine returning upwards of 40 Emails a day, 50-60 phone calls and voicemails, all which increase drastically on Saturdays, and all that on top of delivering multiple cars to owners who have come in to the dealership to take possession of thier cars. Handling the multiple mini disasters that occur everyday with schedules, prep techs, and finance officers. We try not to be rude, or abrupt, but this job demands effeciency in all aspects. For me to go down to the 1st floor, put all the information into a finance officers computer, while he is trying to satisfy his customers, and pull up your info would not be feasible. We take our customers seriously, and the ones with money down on a car take priority. The sheer volume dictates that those who do not have money on a car are pushed to the bottom of the list. Thier questions are answered, although usually taking two to three days. Most people who deal with us take the small inconveniences in stride to save the money on the exact car they want. Most salesmen in most dealerships may sell 3 or 5 cars a week. I will sell up to 10 on a Sat, and around 5 a day the rest of the week. I am sorry for making you feel unimportant, it was not my goal. Good luck and God bless.

Please call me with any other questions you may have, I would be glad to help you. Thanks for your interest and I look forward to earning your business. I hope to hear from you soon.
Kevin McBryde
Texas Direct Auto / www.TexasDirectAuto.com
281-410-6099 Phone
281-499-6749 Fax

$ FINANCE WARRANTY


Texas Direct Offers Competitive Financing Nationwide. Even if you already have financing, in most cases we can match or beat the rate, plus you get the added convenience of one stop shopping. Save money with your purchase and with your warranty. We have several warranty packages to choose from at prices to fit every budget and need.


-----Original Message-----
From: Shaun Ferguson [mailto:shaunferguson@msn.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 5:32 PM
To: 'Kevin McBryde'
Subject: RE: 2007 FORD EXPEDITION LTD 4X4 SUNROOF NAV CLIMATE SEATS VIN 1FMFU20557LA29102
Mr. McBryde,
Thank you for your response, I do respect your answer and the companies you mentioned are a lot bigger corporations and the way they deal with the public shows how may years they have been in business along with there professionalism to handle the public. The comments that I read and the rebuttals show that sales people at your company do not know how to work with the public and that when it is bubbled up to the top for a problem that most of the time it is resolved but a hassle for the customer. Ask yourself this, who wants to deal with a car company that there employees don’t handle the situation appropiaitely the first time. When you sent your first email it showed that you did not care for my business and you would not take the time to find out the information I requested regarding warranties. You did not delegate someone from your financial office to follow-up with me or giving me information on how I can get in contact with them. This is what a good salesman would do if they wanted to make a sale on a car. Can you see my concern with your company’s customer service. And that is why I won’t come to your car lot for business.
“I do not have specific information on the questions you asked, and am unable to leave my desk long enough to go and find out the actual facts of the matter. Our extended warranties are through MasterTech, and the costs associated with them are available through our finance office. “


Warm Regards


Shaun Ferguson

From: Kevin McBryde [mailto:kevin.mcbryde@texasdirectauto.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 3:23 PM
To: Shaun Ferguson
Subject: RE: 2007 FORD EXPEDITION LTD 4X4 SUNROOF NAV CLIMATE SEATS VIN 1FMFU20557LA29102

Mr. Ferguson,
I hope you would note that Wal-mart, Coca-Cola and other industry leaders have had complaints against them as well with the BBB. We may have 30 to 40 people who are displeased with our business dealings, but when you consider we have sold over 25, 000 cars they come to less than .5 percent. Not many companies can claim 99.5% customer satisfaction. If you have ever delt with the public, you know some people are unrealistic in their expectations, and are impossible to please. We go to great lengths to give good customer service, and most of the time we are successful. I regret that you have decided not to take advantage of our wholesale priced cars. We strive to deliver a great quality car, at a fairwholesale price. If there is anything I can do, or answer for you in the future, please do not hesitate to call on me. I hope this finds you doing well, and I wish you the best in your search for a good car.

Kevin McBryde
Texas Direct Auto / www.TexasDirectAuto.com
281-410-6099 Phone
281-499-6749 Fax

$ FINANCE WARRANTY


Texas Direct Offers Competitive Financing Nationwide. Even if you already have financing, in most cases we can match or beat the rate, plus you get the added convenience of one stop shopping. Save money with your purchase and with your warranty. We have several warranty packages to choose from at prices to fit every budget and need.


-----Original Message-----
From: Shaun Ferguson [mailto:shaunferguson@msn.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 2:47 PM
To: 'Kevin McBryde'
Subject: RE: 2007 FORD EXPEDITION LTD 4X4 SUNROOF NAV CLIMATE SEATS VIN 1FMFU20557LA29102
If to busy never mind I read reports from the BBB and won’t end up purchasing a suv from your dealership.

Warm Regards,


Shaun Ferguson

From: Kevin McBryde [mailto:kevin.mcbryde@texasdirectauto.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 1:40 PM
To: Shaun Ferguson
Subject: RE: 2007 FORD EXPEDITION LTD 4X4 SUNROOF NAV CLIMATE SEATS VIN 1FMFU20557LA29102

In order to get all your questions answered accurately, I would suggest you get an Independent Car Inspector to come and give a thorough report on this vehicle. They can be found here in Houston for around $75-$100. If you will Google 'Independent Car Inspector' for Houston you will get several to choose from. Call me and let me know when they are coming, and I will be sure to make the vehicle availible to them. I would caution against scheduling an inspection on a vehicle you do not have under deposit, as they will still charge you for an inspection, even if the car is sold to another person.
I do not have specific information on the questions you asked, and am unable to leave my desk long enough to go and find out the actual facts of the matter. Our extended warranties are through MasterTech, and the costs associated with them are availible through our finance office.

Please call me with any other questions you may have, I would be glad to help you. Thanks for your interest and I look forward to earning your business. I hope to hear from you soon.
Kevin McBryde
Texas Direct Auto / www.TexasDirectAuto.com
281-410-6099 Phone
281-499-6749 Fax

$ FINANCE WARRANTY


Texas Direct Offers Competitive Financing Nationwide. Even if you already have financing, in most cases we can match or beat the rate, plus you get the added convenience of one stop shopping. Save money with your purchase and with your warranty. We have several warranty packages to choose from at prices to fit every budget and need.


-----Original Message-----
From: Shaun Ferguson [mailto:shaunferguson@msn.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 1:20 PM
To: kevin.mcbryde@texasdirectauto.com
Subject: 2007 FORD EXPEDITION LTD 4X4 SUNROOF NAV CLIMATE SEATS VIN 1FMFU20557LA29102
Mr. Mcbryde,
I saw this 2007 Ford Expedition 4x4 on ebay and was wondering what condition the brakes pads are at, tread depth on tires, transmission shifting properly (color of fluid), Any noticeable problems? Also on warranty what company do you go through (Zurich) and the cost of purchasing an additional warranty? Thanks

Warm Regards,


Shaun Ferguson
 4th of Feb, 2010 by   deewils -1 Votes
I bought my car from Texas Direct Auto (off of Ebay) 5 years ago -- I was nervous about the whole experience- but did my homework and feel like I got the best service I could ask for. I plan on buying my next car from them--- but I am SO SATISFIED with my current one that I have no interest in a new car! They detailed every aspect of this car-- I did nothave ONE surprise!!! They opened early on a Saturday so I could pick it up... I have nothing but the highest regard for this company and would not even hesitate to do business with them again and recommend to friends and family!!!
 4th of Mar, 2010 by   Txgal08 0 Votes
We tried to buy a car from Texas Direct throughout the last 2 weeks and were very disappointed. We saw a vehicle we liked on eBay and since we live in Houston, we went to the dealership for a test drive. When we saw the car, we noticed there were significant scratches on the driver's side that were attempted to be touched up but looked terrible. Of course, this didn't show in the pictures. We decided to buy the car anyway and Texas Direct said they would fix it within a week. So we did the finance application and after waiting and waiting, Pat, with finance came out and said we would need to bring in $5, 000 cash because we were upside down on my car. That was fine but since it was Sat. afternoon, the banks were closed. So as my husband was talking to Pat, he literally turned and walked away from us. Wow. That should have given us a hint.

So we went back last Saturday with cash and decided to test drive a few more cars just to be sure. Well, the first one had transmission problems, as it was having difficult shifting. Then the second vehicle died on us while we were on the test drive and left us stranded. I called and called and called the dealership to try to get a hold of someone but no one answered. So we walked back to the dealership. When we found our salesperson, we told him what happened and he didn't even apologize. He seemed more concerned about finding the car than what had happened to us. We took this as a sign that this is not the dealership to buy from and left.
 16th of Mar, 2010 by   roah -1 Votes
Sorry to hear of everyone's complaints. We bought a Yukon Denali from Texas Direct Auto 4 years ago and didn't have any problems. We went through ebay so of course we had our reservations. The sales people were slow at returning our phone calls but I wasn't offended by it. The salespeople in my hometown are just as slow. We had the truck delivered to us being that we live in north central Illinois and it arrived 1 day later than stated. All in all it was a good experience and we are thinking of purchasing our next vehicle from them.
 25th of Mar, 2010 by   JimInAuburn +1 Votes
Wow, I was thinking about purchasing a late model Lexus RX from these guys. It had a great price. But after all these complaints, it makes me wonder what might be wrong with it. I think I am probably better off paying the few thousand more for a certified pre-owned one from a Lexus dealer. At least then I can feel more comfortable, and know that it has a warranty.
 11th of Apr, 2010 by   ONEmoreOpinion +1 Votes
In recent days, we considered buying a few cars from Texas Direct Auto (Lexus). Their descriptions on ebay DO NOT match CarFax reports that we purchased. Two vehicles said they had never been in a crash when in fact they both had been in significant crashes. Just some advice, they get their vehicles AFTER dealers pass on the the vehicle. You may get a bargain or you may get a rotten automobile. Be careful!
 4th of May, 2010 by   jdrai 0 Votes
I went to test drive a car I saw on Ebay. When I arrived there, they told me that the car had already been sold. They of course did not call me to let me know even though I had an appointment with them. I saw the car on the parking lot and went to look at it. The body condition was very bad with plenty of scratches and it seems it was in an accident and have not been repaired. The pictures showing the scratches and the damage back were not on the Ebay pictures. I then realized I should never try to buy a car from them... I am so happy I realized before it was too late...
 5th of Jun, 2010 by   Tundra 0 Votes
Well I fell into the Texas Holdem thing by finding the perfect Toyota Tundra with Texas Direct via Ebay. I am Canadian and wish to import a vehicle from the US because the savings is too good to pass up! I phoned them up and was approached by Phil Wright the salesman and was talked into putting a $500 down payment and not through Ebay. He promised to remove the Tundra off the Ebay to which he did right after, I was suspucious at first but went with it since he offered a discount. After agreeing and hanging up the phone, I thought maybe he talked me into this was to save Texas Direct the Ebay fees/percentage. Anyhow my wfe decided to Goggle search any complaints towards this company and found this forum; "OH MY GOD" went through my mind and "WHAT HAVE I'VE DONE!" also. So I immediately checked around all the Toyota dealers in the US for a fast replacement then the next day I phoned Texas Direct to try and cancel this deal and refund my deposit which I knew would go no where. Anyhow Phil the saleman asked why I would do this and I told him about this forum and the BBB rating the received... he went silent and did not dissagree but claimed they sell a lot of vehicles and not everyone will be happy with their purchase.
I checked around for another week and found nothing that would match Texas Direct's deal and asked them to drive this truck to the local Toyota dealership where it was to undergo a through verhicle inspection before I go further. I was pleased to find that the truck passed with flying colours and the Toyota dealership had faxed me the results. This made me feel more secure so I decided to continue with them on this deal. After Phil and the rest of the gang figured I'm going for it, they did not really respond to my emails so quickly maybe because they knew I was in and they moved onto getting more customers since they must receive lots daily. But no matter what, when ever I phoned them, they always responded so that I am satisfied.

At the present moment my original title papers with receipt are here now since Texas Direct happily FEDEXed to me to Canada before the truck arrived to the border. They provided me the ETA of when the truck will arrive and the phone number of the company who is responsible of transporting my dream truck.
I will be heading over this Monday to pick it up and up to now, Texas Direct has treated me very well and if my truck looks as good as the photo and what they have claimed, I will certainly buy another vehicle from them shortly. Fingers crossed now for Monday when I get to see this truck first hand and do my own inspection.

I think what anyone should do here is to get their vehicle checked out by a authorized dealership (thrid party) if they wish to buy from any used car dealership, for example a Toyota truck/car .. send it out to a Toyota Dealership, GM to GM, Ford to Ford etc. Well again I will post again after I pick up my Toyota Tundra on Monday and fill you guys/gals on what I think of Texas Direct Auto!!!

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

Avoid Holiday Charity Scams

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
 
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?